Image of Aurora

Aurora

1 of 9 P & O ships

A large vessel of superior rating. Built in 2000. The Aurora carries a maximum of 1950 passengers in 939 cabins, 410 of which have balconies and 245 having ocean views. 22 cabins are accessible to disabled passengers.

Cabins are of reasonable size and feature twin beds which are convertible to Queens size, TV, fridge and air conditioning.

Entertainment features two show lounges, library and casino. Sports facilities include fitness centre, steam room and sauna as well as golf driving nets, basketball and volleyball.

38 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    26
  • Very Good
    9
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
H Bancroft MBE
5 years 3 months ago
We were kept waiting in the Mayflower Terminal for over 1 hour before we could board the vessel.
When we finally arrived on board, as usual with P & O, the cabins were not ready, When finally we reached our balcony cabin we found it to be quite roomy, but rather dated and in need of some maintenance. The balcony was small and not very clean, there were biscuit crumbs in the floor covering, the chairs had old wooden frames and the cushions were faded & grubby.
The ship seemed to be showing it's age, two public toilets were not in use throughout the cruise,in the theatre some seats were broken there was constant painting going on around the ship.
The food was the biggest problem, we dined in the Alexandra Restaurant and at times the food was reminiscent of school dinners, Baked Rice Pudding with Jam, Baked Apple, Stuffed Marrow were on the menu and there was Shoulder of "Lamb" which was so fatty that most people could not eat it. The food itself was poorly cooked, Chicken Breast was chewy and the steak was almost too tough to cut.
The Orangerie was shabby and there Semolina Pudding was one of the desserts on offer!, the choice of cold dishes was very limited and altogether the food was inferior to food we have had on any cruise ship.
The staff were all brilliant,especially the Table Waiters who were always willing to change dishes when they were not very good.
The entertainment in the theatre was the usual cruise
standard, the one bright spot was the singer Will Martin, he was the best entertainer we have seen on any cruise
We would not sail on this ship again.
We had been booked for a year and had paid the full priceof over £6000 for our 3 week cruise, and we felt we did not receive value for money.
We were told that some of the passengers had come on "special offer deals" two for the price of one etc.if this was the case then I suppose they would not grumble
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Gilli
5 years 6 months ago
world cruise. We booked 18 months ahead and greatly enjoyed the preparation , choosing trips at our ports of call which proved to be good value. We went the whole way round and did suffer home sickness from time to time but the wonderful staff and fellow travellers made this a trip of a life-time.

The entertainment staff team worked tirelessly and had us laughing and clapping and dancing at every sail away. meals we usually took in the alexandria restaurant the service was good but a little slow the food really good especially the puddings.

The horizon self service was handy , we did complain about undercooked bacon but found that comments were taken on board and improvements happened quickly.

The headliners shows were brilliant, they just seemed to get better and better. some of the seats were past their best and to be sure of a seat we needed to get there 20 minutes early or sit on the floor.

Our state room was adequate but a little more hanging space would be welcome on a 95 day cruise.

to us the tea/coffee making facilities were essential and one of the reasons we chose P&O for our Grand Tour-

Thanks P&O

We look forward to booking another cruise asap.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Karen Cooke
5 years 7 months ago
Just got back from Christmas cruise to the Caribbean on the Aurora. Had a fantastic time a she is a lovely ship. The weather wasn't as good as I had hoped but that wasn't the ships fault.
The ship was very clean and they were always painting bits as we were going along. The food in the Medina restaurant was great. Breakfast in the Orangery was OK but sometimes a bit busy, lovely cakes here in the afternoon. The food in Cafe Bordeaux was good but the service was slow.
I thought the entertainment team worked hard. The theatre shows were good, lots of things going on such as craft, singing and dancing classes. Did some good quizzes in the afternoon and joined the Aurora vocalists which was fun.
One or two gripes though. Everything finished too early in the evening especially New Years Eve. You were just getting into things and then they wrapped up at 12.15am which isn't long when you are on late sitting for dinner. Sometimes the guests were really enjoying themselves but the entertainment still finished and all you had then was the night club (not my cup of tea). Also they were a bit mean in your cabins. The soap was wafer thin before it was replaced and shampoo etc wasn't re stocked. Also a poor beverage tray (tea & coffee only)nice biscuits though. Also people reserving deck chairs got me down sometime a book & a pair of sunglasses enjoyed their rest on one for hours (while their owner was probably having lunch)a notice was put in the ships magazine about not doing this but it did not make any difference.
Overall though had a fantastic holiday and if you haven't cruised before they are good fun.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Anon.
6 years ago
right all you negative commenters, i had a FANTASTIC time onboard Auroura, they work damm hard to ensure your holiday is the best it can be and all you can do is complain. it's stupid the amount of people that go on holidays only to find the negatives. The food was excellent and the waiters and chef were superb. Even when passengers drive them crazy they still put on a smile.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Jane
6 years 2 months ago
My mum and I had not previously sailed with P&O (both previous cruises were with Cunard). We had heard bad things from some people about standards, but we were pleasantly surprised. The food was very good especially in the Medina and Cafe Bordeaux. The buffet was nicer in the evening when it was quieter than at lunchtime when far too many people in there. The onboard entertainment was superb too - especially the Headliners' shows. All of the entertainment crew made sure we had fun and we enjoyed spending time with them and the friends we made at the quizzes and line dancing. Some of the people who go on these cruises seem to like nothing better than to find fault and to moan about anything and everything - my only complaint would be far too many old and miserable English people.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Johndoe
6 years 7 months ago
hi...we sailed on the aurora on the 19th of dec till the 5th of jan (christmas/new year).
the ship in most places was very clean there was however certain places that had not seen a brush or cleaning cloth.
the food in the medina was quite good, but the same cannot be said for the orangery,the buffet food served there was of a very poor standard,the breakfast fried food was nearly always look warm and the presentation was very poor,.
the lunch was very poor also (why oh why)cant they have food that should be hot be served hot, the night dinner served in there when we used it was as bad .
what is the matter with p.and o. they used to be suberb,they have some of the worst meals we have ever had on a cruise ship.
the ship crew were very good always ready to help cannot praise them enough.
the on board entertainment was also poor,the day time hosts were just not interested in making sure you had a good time ,the way thet spoke to some of the passengers whilst doing the quizzes or the whist e.t.c was terrible it was like they were talking to unruly children instead of grown people .
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Entertainment:
Reg Briggs
6 years 7 months ago
I AM 77 WIFE 72 BOOKED ON AURORA FOR CHRISTMAS AND NEW YEAR CRUISE 2009/10.DONE P AND O CRUISES BEFOR BUT THINK THIS SHIP IS THE POOR RELATION OF THE FLEET.
WE HAD CABIN C101 NO ONE TOLD US THIS WOULD BE NOISEY,AFTER FOUR DAYD THE NIGHT SUPERVSOR INFORMED US IT WAS FROM THE CURZON THEATRE,THE BAND,NEW YEARS EVE NO SHOW INSTEAD THEY PUT ON A FILM.DECK PARTY,RUBBISH,BAND COULD NOT CONNECT EQUIPMENT.WE OBSERVED PARTY FROM 2ND LEVEL,AFTER ONE AND A HALF HOURS NO WAITED HAD BEEN NEAR US TO ASK IF WE WANTED A DRINK.ON LEAVING NEAT THE LIFTS WE INFORMED OTHER PASSENGERS IT WAS ROTTON,A WELL DRESED LADY THEN SAID THEY SHOULD SHOOT THE CHEF,THE STANDARD OF FOOD WAS FAR BELOW THAT OF OTHER P AND O CRUISE LINERS.NOISEY CHILDREN,INFORMED TO SING LOUDER WHEN PASSENGERS WERE DRESSED FOR DINNER IN THE PUBLIC AREARS,NOISEY CHILDREN IN THE SHOWS.JUMPING ON THE STAIRS,CHANGING SEATS,NO I AM NOT A CHILD HATER WE HAD FIVE OF OUR OWN.DIRTY DECK AREAS,DOORS SECURED ALL THE TIME,SUN BEDS AND DECK CHAIRS SECURED SEEMED TO BE A LACK OF DECK CREW.COMPLAINED TO PAND O ON RETURN WAS OFFERED £270 SO WILL REPORT MATTERS TO ABTA.we like this cruise line but a lot went wrong on this cruise,maybe because there was a lot of oldies on board.i could go on and on but does it do any good.i have never heard so much adverse comments as on this cruise against PANDO
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Michael Johnson
7 years 2 months ago
My wife and I loved our first cruise and look forward to another. The crew were excellent as were the waiters in Alexandria (especially Clive and Vinay).

Our only grouse was the fact that having paid for an outside cabin with a balcony (C248) we were unable to enjoy sitting out on it as the people in cabins both sides of us smoked liked chimneys. We therefore had to keep our Patio door closed as their smoke invaded our cabin!! Incidently I have since complained to P&O about this and so far NO RESPONSE!!!
I am not sure if I agree with the tipping policy onboard as I would have hoped that P&O would have paid their employees good salaries. They definately deserved good recompense, all of them.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Rod Pettet
7 years 5 months ago
Despite the major breakdown and consequent hold up in Auckland, the Aurora is a fine seaworthy ship, taking the heaviest seas with aplomb. It is a very clean ship indeed and the staff could not have been better. The Captain was first class juggling all sorts of conflicting demands with good grace.

Smoking was still allowed on the portside of the crows nest bar, which spoilt things for the majority of patrons who were non smokers. I hope this has been rectified by now. Also the Crows Nest used to close too early at night. Odd for such a fantastic venue.

I sailed from Brisbane to Southampton via the Panama Canal, an experience not to be missed. I would like to do the voyage the other way via Suez someday.

On a short trip the food no doubt would be considered excellent, but on a half world trip I found it and the formality all a bit too much in the last few weeks.

If you like club type entertainment it's there every night for you. Not for me. Once again it was obvious the Aurora was really intended for short cruises as the inship TV entertainment was repeated and repeated and repeated.

DIY laundry facilities were often crowded but the ships laundry service was excellent and not too expensive.

On a shore visit I contracted a nasty virus and can testify to the excellent and doctors and medical staff in the sick bay!

There was quite a good gym, but I seemed to be the wrong sex/age for the instructor to bother with me. I would also recommend not paying extra for the health club which I thought represented poor value for money.

The practice of tipping staff at the end of a trip or 'leg' needs looking at. Some very deserving staff get easily overlooked. Some other cruise lines don't have tipping. A better idea for all.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Kate
7 years 7 months ago
Went on the Aurora Christmas and New year Carribean cruise - this was a lovely cruise... across the atlantic was a bit hairy on the way out. We had a suite which was great in the fine weather but If you are prone to sea sickness ONLY get a suite at the midships it seems crazy that they have put the suites and penthouses at the front ( the butler told us that in bad weather EVERYONE gets sea sick in then front suites).
Butler was brilliant.
Food was nice and plenty of it (not 5 star).Cafe Boudeaux was vey nice and service was good. I hated the orangery chips and sliding your tray along not my idea of fine food (canteen food)
Was VERY dissappointed in the kids club for 2-4years as the girls that ran it seemed more interested in the older kids and often grouped my 3 year old in with 5-7 year olds which was crazy - but as they were busy braiding each other hair and eating ice creams who has time to look after 3 year olds
It was a lovley cruise but if your used to the relais chateaux type service and dining you might be dissappointed.
One formal night they let children wearing football shirts and shorts into the main resturant made me glad i'd spent £500 on my dress (ha ha)
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Entertainment:

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question