Brilliance of the Seas
Ranked #52 of 133 cruise ships

This new ship offers a lively cruise experience in a wide range of bright and cheerful public rooms including the Viking Crown lounge high amidships. Half the external structure is glass. It features a nine deck high atrium with glass lifts. Passengers on the Brilliance of the Seas tend to be all ages and mostly American but more Brits/Europeans in Europe. When all cabins have double occupancy, the ship provides a space ratio of 41.2 tons per passenger and a crew to passenger ratio of one for every 2.5 passengers. At full capacity the space ratio is 26.8 tons per passenger and the crew ratio is one to 3.9 passengers.
4/5
Brilliance of the Seas Brilliance of the Seas is rated 4 out of 5 from 13 Reviews
69% of users recommend this cruise ship
Review Overview (13 reviews)

Cleanliness 5 stars
Entertainment  stars
Food 4 stars
Staff 4 stars

Brilliance of the Seas Reviews

4/5
4

Ann cruised on February 2012
We were 2 couples on this cruise,3rd cruise on RCI for us and 1st for our friends who normally cruise with P &O or Princess.
Had read reports that this ship was tired but was surpised how fresh
And clean it was,only part that needs a refurb would be the Theatre.
Staff at My Time dining were excellent,we were lucky to keep the same table every night 7:30 pm so were able to make the 9:15 show
,shows were quite good excellent singers and dancer,s.
Enjoyed Dubai pre cruise,also had 2 nights in port while on the cruise
Had excellent tour in Oman booked with Mark Tour,s 6 seater car for the 4 of us ...
excellent driver/guide ask for Nasser if ever you use them
Our day in Abu Dhabi was cut short owing to a Triathalon taking place and all roads to and from the port were being closed,the weather was super we enjoyed seeing the huge Malls one with a skating rink and another with a huge ski slope and run,We missed out seeing the fountains in Dubai owing to there being a sand storm.
Have booked Panama Cruise with Celebrity for October so will compare RCI 4 star. To Celebrity Millenium,s 5 star.
The tea and cofee

Read More

Tour Operator: Royal Caribbean

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Staff
 stars

5/5
5

Philip Utley cruised on November 2011
1st time on Brilliance of Seas and would definately sail with them again just returned from 7day cruise round Dubai ship in very good order to say how old it is was surprised to see that we had tea/coffee facilities in our cabin(did not get that on Crown Princess in June)our cabin was inside in forward section midship nice and quiet,cabin steward excellent infact all staff were very good and polite, did not find any bar staff pushing for sales for drinks as you get on other cruises,food was excellent, shows very good although do not seem to have any comedians on, a couple of niggles My Time Dinning ...
was a bit of a let down I thought when you booked this it was when you wanted to eat not so you had to report every day to pre-book your meal for the evening only to be told a given time really waste of time in future will book set dining.Of course the Drinks well not just us the Brits but even many Americans were complaining of the extortionate prices they were charging for a bottle of Chardonnay priced at $26 did not have any but gave me Soave same price plus the usual 15% gratuity=29.90 or 19.15 I dont mind paying for bottle of wine but at this price no way, only proves how many drank water at meal times.
We had a daily report of what is happening on ship and activities found not only on this ship but on others they do not want you to know whats is going off when you go onshore any special events whilst we were in Abu Dhabi On 2 December 1971 Dubai, together with Abu Dhabi and five other emirates, formed the United Arab Emirates and they were celebrating big style surely something as big as this would have been mentioned on board the ship,but no we found out next day when most of places were late in opening up ah well did not mind too much we were on holiday and the sun was bleating down at 31c.I know cruises like to sell their tours and very good they are but some of us like to go independant this ship came up 100% told us night before(except not on 1st December about the celebrations what would be happening in the evening of the 2nd Dec)that as we were docked shuttle buses were available to the port terminal as we were always docked in the commercial section, beautiful place nice and clean very friendly people will go again one day to Dubai

Read More

Tour Operator: Cooperative

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Staff
 stars

3/5
3

Jenny Haggis cruised on April 2010
Food debris every morning in the windjammer, Stained plastic mugs with lipstick stains. We had to check plates before we used them to make sure that they were clean. Main dining room food was poor with a lot of food being returned to the kitchen on a regular basis.We took this reposotioning cruise as a way of getting home whilst flights were dusrupted by the ash cloud Our first week on the ship (the 7 night cruise)was not as bad but standards dropped every day on the way back to Barcelona. We were very angry to find out that we had been charged twice as much as other passengers on ...
the ship. Royal Caribbean took advantage of us at a time when we were very vulnerable. We have always cruised with Royal Caribbean in the past but I doubt very much if we will go again after this very bad experience.

Read More

Tour Operator: First Choice
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
2 stars
Staff
 stars

3/5
3

Mike Cunliffe cruised on February 2010
Sailed out of Dubai on a 7 night cruise around the Persian Gulf - plus Muscat, Oman - departed mid Feb 2010.

This is our first time on Brilliance, fifth time with RCI. The past three cruises have each been of a lower standard (in all respects) than the previous cruise. I was disappointed with the service in the main restaurant. Their wine service was terrible even when we had purchased a wine package - several choices being unavailable.
Food quality and choice is not as good as on previous cruises, entertainment also poor. Prices for drinks seems to have rocketed (not just down to sterling weakness either). Cost of tours is ...
very high, and those we took, the itinerery was pretty dire. Honestly, a stop-off at the fish market in Abu Dhabi on a Friday (holy day) is not ideal - what the hell are we supposed to do, buy some and barbecue on the balcony?
Guest relations desk were unhelpful, they tried to convery my on-board spend account in sterling - against my written instructions.

All in all I would be loathe to sail with RCI again. I\'d also not return to the Gulf area on a future cruise as the ports of call are pretty uninteresting - apart from Dubai which is probably best enjoyed on land.


Read More

Tour Operator: Unsure
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
3 stars
Staff
 stars

4/5
4

Tony and Debbie O'Connor cruised on February 2010
As this was a new cruise,we were unable to find out much prior to booking however we did find some reviews that gave very mixed points of view.The flight from Heathrow took 6 hours to Dubai and was with Emerates superb service and plane.The biggest moan from people was the long wait at a holding area before going to the port then another wait to get to the cabin, although unpleasent it was understandable as the cabins have to be made up for new passengers.
Having done what research we could we had decided we were going for the weather and the ship all the rest we would take in our ...
stride.
The weather was the best we have ever had on a winter time cruise, seldom much below 80f and dry for the entire cruise. I should mention that the first and last days the ship is parked up in Dubai with casino and shops closed so it is really a 5 day cruise. We did not get off the ship so I cannot comment on excursions but it was nice to view Eastern culture from my western floating hotel. We dined in the buffet every night and the food and presentation was excellent, this was cruise number 20 for us so we have seen many ships buffets this was up amongst the best.
Show were a little sad but it is up each persons taste a soul group was so good it made up for the rest. Drinks are expensive around $11 for a glass of house wine. The cabin was a tad small but more than adequate we had a very large balcony and the room staff kept everything emaculate. We found all staff very friendly and the ship excellent, one review I saw complained about rust around the anchor chain, although we did not carry out the white glove test we found the ship beautiful we have been on the Independance and other RCI ships but could not fault the Brilliance.
In conclusion a very enjoyable winter get away we will certainly do this trip again.

Read More

Tour Operator: Ideal Cruising

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
4 stars
Staff
 stars

5/5
5

Ryan Bishop cruised on April 2009
We choose a 10 night cruise from Barcelona to the canary islands.

Brilliance of the seas is a fantastic ship. From the star we were looked after and it was magical.

Our balcony stateroom was immaculate and so was the ship. Everytime that we docked in port, the ship\'s glass and windows was cleaned so much that you could see your face in it. IT WAS FABULOUS.

Our room steward was great and kept our room today for us. Our two dining room waiters, BENERDATH and MOSES were fantastic and you couldnt fault them at all. Actually, we did not fault any of the cruise apart from the expensive shore excursions but that is with any ship and any cruise line.

We have no complaints whatsoever and would love to go again!

One Tip = YOU MUST GO ON BRILLIANCE OF THE SEAS!

Tour Operator: Royal Caribbean

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Staff
 stars

4/5
4

lee cruised on January 2009
arrived first day very impressed by the appearance of the ship (remember the saying never judge a book by it\'s cover)

travelled from barcelona to sicilly athens rhodes alexandria malta then barcelona. 11 nights
roomm service was prompt but food a little on the cold side but convenient. cabin attendant was helpful whan ever you requested any thing .

dining room meals lacked variety and some of the soups were so salty it must have been made from sea water. everything about his ship was about making money we spoke to quite a few people some trips were over priced and there was not enough time to view some of ...
the sights they had paid to see.
all drinks will have 15% gratuity added on . the entertainment was not that impressive . the one thing that did really annoy us was the constant bing bong annoncement for bingo and the captiains continuous up date on a storm with 10 metre high waves which he said would prevent us going to cyprus. One lady was in you words pertrified now lets be fair if your on a plane the captain will tell you about turbulance but you are in the plane .be aware the the rstuarnts in rhodes tend to open for the purpose of the cruises coming and be aware of them in the suare in old rhodes town because some of the drinks are extortionate 3.5 pints & 2 glaases of wine 37
When i phoned about travel motion tablets I was redirected from the reception to my cabin steward to the medical centre. Tv in room ran the same films that you could see in the cinema and you can keep track of your account on your own channel which was handy. One night in the dining room I did noticed that our table cloth had old faded stains on them and the dress codes are a farce people would come in inn hoodys the formal nights were a waste of dressing up for as there was n\'t any thing going on in out area of the dining room. All in all the first 5 days were ok but there after it became quite tedious and with the bing bongs it was like hi hi hi on the seas.
this will probaly be our first and last trip with the royal caribean (more suited to our american friends) .bottle of beer $5 +15%

bottle of cheapest $22 +15%
pint beer $7-$8 +15

advice pay your tips to people you want to give to as you may be tipping people you haven\'t even seen

Read More

Tour Operator: thiomas cook
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
4 stars
Staff
 stars

5/5
5

J Cooke cruised on September 2008
Our trip 1/9/8 > 12/9/8

Please read the following and ask your booking Co what the \"hidden charges\" & typical ships prices for your type of purchases are before commiting, you may find that a more expensive cruise is actually cheaper.

Price of a drink (Boddingtons under a pint Can) $6-50 plus compulsory 15% service charge.
Watch your drinks they will \"clear them away\" if you leave the table for a moment!
They will pour your wine liberally into your glass at the dinning table despite you politely informing them that you only have one glass with your meal.

$25-00 per person charge each occasion to dine in one of the other ...
more \"exclusive\" dinning areas
(15% Service charge?)

Fresh squeezed orange in the morning $3-95 plus compulsory 15% service charge.
Glass of Champagne at breakfast $6-95 plus compulsory 15% service charge.
Bottle`s of Champagne cost me $62-00 plus compulsory 15% service charge.
(What the \"heck we`re on holiday\" but the \"Plus 15%\" gets me!)

\"Nominal charge\" from Industrial Port in middle of nowhere, $10 per person each way
(Repeatedly described by staff as \"Complimentary\")

Trips & their \"Companion\" designer shops ashore \"pushed, pushed & Pushed\"

$95-00 per person trip on coach (1 1/2 Hr jouney) to Rome could have been purchased for 9Euro return per person on the train that drops you off by the Collesium (Same location as the coach)

The Holiday information leaflets that you receive in your cabin the night before give little or no travel information about finding your way around, the location maps do not always have the road names so are of no use, the \"lady\" giving the travel information talk knows nothing about the local transport locations because: Quote \"we only arange Trips\"

Tips for staff: Room attendent; $6-50 per person per day, Table Waiter;$6-50 per person per day, Assistant Table waiter; $3-50 per person per day and the Maitre`de
$0-75 per person per day.
The ships TV channel will \"advise\" you of the \"Tips\" persistantly in the final days of the cruise, Plus you \"can give more than the advised!\"

You are not advised of the \"themed\" nights before you leave home, so are un-likely to have packed for it, but they will advise you where you can purchase items that you may require for it.

No shower cap for the girls unless you ask for one, this ship may be 5 star afloat but without the small 5 Star extras you receive as standard at a hotel.

The room is not cleaned as good as on the smaller ships (500>600 Guests), i found ear plugs & a sock! in our state cabin. (We had a Deck 10 Double suite)

This ship is absolutely wonderful and if the penny pinching & hard sell don`t bother you the go for it! (We had 12nights for about 3400-00 for 2 adults)
The food, service & the main theatre`s entertainment is first rate.

BRING PLENTY OF MONEY YOU`RE GOING TO NEED IT! ENJOY

PS, DID YOU EVER PURCHASE A CAR AND THEN RECEIVE ENVELOPES FROM FORD MOTORS FOR TIPS FOR THE ENGINE FITTER, PAINT SPAYER ETC
NO ME NEITHER!

Read More

Tour Operator: Co-Op
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Staff
 stars

4/5
4

j Chambers cruised on May 2008
We have just returned from a trip round the med.The Brilliance of the seas is a beautiful ship and the cleanliness was outstanding.There was plenty of choice in the dining rooms but in the main dining room the food was often not hot enough and had to be sent back. However the staff dealt with this problem efficiently.The shows were good but the main entertainment area that is the Colony Club was too small and smelt of smoke as it had a smokig area.Thechampagne bar was excellent abd that too needed to be bigger because it was so popular! The cabins were very comfortable and clean and it was well worth having a balcony. I would definitely go on this ship again.

Tour Operator: royal caribbean

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Staff
 stars

5/5
5

J Raeburn cruised on July 2007
This was our second cruise but our first with Royal Caribbean and we loved it.

Everything about the cruise was amazing. We sailed from Barcelona and everything was fantastic we had no complaints at all.

However the only thing I would consider when booking with RC is we had indirect flights which was so frustrating as we had to go Edinburgh/Frankfurt Frankfurt/Barcelona. So on our return journey we actually booked our own direct flights, which made our wait at Barcelona Airport much less as you are off the ship early on your departure date.

We are crusing again in 2008 but we are booking our own flights to make sure we go direct.

I would highly reccommend a cruise to anyone as it has something for everyone young or old with kids or without.

Tour Operator: Royal Caribbean

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Staff
 stars

5/5
5

Sarah cruised on September 2006
we are just home from the Brilliance of the seas and we had a brilliant time. The food was excellant and we could find no fault. Our cabin attendent was great. We hardly saw him. He seemed to know when we left our cabin and had it all shipshape for us by the time we returned. We had a large table in the dining room and had so much fun with them. Royal Caribbean placed us well. All our excurcions were with the ship and were very well run.

Tour Operator: Royal caribbean

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Staff
 stars

5/5
5

Karlah Sinclair cruised on June 2006
This was my first cruise, and I absolutely loved it, never had a holiday like it before. We boarded from Barcelona, and travelled around the Med going to Italy, Greece, Turkey and France. The food was brilliant and always fresh, the staff were the best and so polite you will make a lot of friends. Entertainment on board was brill, as there was a different show every night, then onto the bars for Karaoke etc. The excusrions were a little pricy but worth it, plus everything onboard is priced as American Dollars. The best thing was that when you go back to your cabin you can see how much money you have spent in the day.

I would recommend a cruise to absolutely all ages, as I had the best time of my life and I was only 20.

Tour Operator: Royal Carribean

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Staff
 stars

4/5
4

Janette Watt cruised on June 2006
Have sailed twice on the Brilliance and enjoyed every minute of it in Europe and in the Caribbean. We have done 15 cruises and this is without doubt our favourite ship. Wonderful to sit in the champage bar and watch the sun go down. The waiters were great fun, the food was okay and cabin staff certainly knew their jobs. We have been on british ships, but the good and entertainment is much better on the american ships.

Tour Operator: Sco. Cruise Centre

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
5 stars
Staff
 stars
Share