Cruises

Discussions relating to Cruising holidays
Hi Steve

I would suggest also posting your question in the Turkey forum, stating which resort it's in, as you may get a better response there.

luci :wave
Hi everyone,

I have been reading the posts about DIY tours and and I am hoping to use the advice I have seen so far. We are cruising in July this year on the Grand Princess and have so far found help for some of our ports of call (Rome, Florence/Pisa, Barcelona). We are also going to Gibraltar, Alicante, Cannes, Alghero (Sardinia) and Seville (from Cadiz).

Has anyone ever been to these places on a cruise? If so can anyone a) recommend the best things to spend our time doing, b) if you would advise DIY tours and how best to go about them in these ports?

Thank you in advance to anyone who can help as I am a novice at this forum stuff :que

Suzanne :sun2
Gibraltar, most people do the rock to see the apes and the views....it is fine but not exactly a must do. Best way to do this is to use the minibus taxis at the cruise terminal exit. Basically they fill them up i.e. normally 8 people, which keeps the cost down. The town itself consists mainly of the high street, where you will get all the jewellery/booze/tobacco that you could ever need at extremely low duty free prices. Because Gibraltar is UK, the amount you can take home (officially) is limited. There is an area at the bottom of the high street which is like a "town square" with a number of eateries and is quite attractive. Otherwise not really a great port of call.

Alicante is worth a stroll around, and has an open-top bus with a stop at the port gates. If the weather is good, there is a decent beach with all the normal pavement cafes etc. There is a castle up on the hill, which is worthy of a visit and is on the open-top bus route.