Africa/Middle East Discussion Forum

Discussions regarding holidays in Africa/Middle East inc.Dubai
HI,The GAMBIA for me is great and I have a wheelchair,how much more open it can be for able bodied I can only imagine,I never stay in what I refer to as white mans africa, ie SENNIGAMBIA .I use guest houses,however many teenagers seen there,the fishing is good,the scenery tremendous,local are great,many friendly, I have no knowledge of goa so cannot compare,If you are willing to use only tourist areas it is expensive relative to costs and wages paid(average waiter maid security wages are 14 -20 pounds a month) taxis are a rip off for distances taken. tourists taxis are the worst and dont assume the driver has sat a test many have not,of this I have personal knowledge to his cost,Why not take a chance and go its a beautiful winter break,cheers maxie
I have been to The Gambia and to Goa and much preferred Goa to be honest. (I stay in South Goa which might make a difference). I also travel with teenage children.

Positives

I do think Gambia makes a great winter sun destination and is of course only 6 hours flying time due south which is brilliant. I also found plenty to do in The Gambia and for a first time visitors there are a wealth of trips you 'need' to do.

Negatives

Generally I found The Gambia more expensive than Goa particularly in the tourist areas. The hassle (bumsters) in The Gambia was much worse than anything I have encountered in Goa and can be quite intimidating. And the begging much much sadder - many, many beggers with birth defects and bare bottomed toddlers in t shirts chasing your car,coach, bus, taxi with their hands out whilst literally running in gutters full of efluence (sp?).

I found both Goa and Egypt very easy by comparison.