Spain - Balearics - Majorca Discussion Forum

Discussions regarding holidays in Majorca.
Puerto Pollensa
32 Posts
I went there earlier this year, but it was my first time so I'm no expert. I thought it was charming and due to the vast amounts of self catering still around has an active restaurant and bar scene, unlike places where AI has killed a lot of them off. You are spoilt for choice if you like to eat out.

We stayed in a villa/old farmhouse out in the countryside about 1.5 kms from the Port and Old Pollensa (also gorgeous and worth a visit to sit in the square and soak up the atmosphere) so can't recommend any accommodation.

However I do know that the front-line apartments that look at the water can be expensive in
peak season, and if you go one street back it is less expensive.

The end near what is termed the Pine Walk is the best bit and has an upmarket feel to it then as you go further along the bay towards Alcudia it seems to be considered less desirable, but we didn't walk up that way so can't verify that and it is probably fine and easier on the budget.

I have booked flights to go back next year, and am dithering between going in a villa which is a bit extravagant for the two of us or an apartment.

I have looked at the apartments that are attached to the Illa D'or hotel on booking.com and direct with the hotel and am pretty keen on them, they are second line and at the Pine Walk end but coming up as much as a villa/farmhouse probably due to their location and reputation.

The beach and scenery in this area is stunning.

You should have no trouble booking as all the big operators go there, thomson, Thomas Cook, Cosmos if you like the security of a package and if you DIY there are loads of flights to Majorca and lots of accom only sites.

It's the kind of places where you hear people saying this is my 20th visit :tup
  • Edited by doe 2014-10-14 17:54:36