Turkey Discussion Forum

Discussions regarding holidays in Turkey.
theres the huge market there on a tuesday, and also a some nice shops ,
and restaurants just left of the place where the traffic turns (near the harbour ) does this make any sense :? i am by no means an expert but i was there back in may for the day and our rep ( who has lived in turkey for 17yrs ) showed us around this area.
I remember thinking much the same thing when I first went there. Since then we have been a few times and really enjoyed it, once with my daughter turkish boyfriend, who took us to the fish market. This is to the left on the main market if you have your back to the sea. There are fresh fish stalls where you can choose your fish, prawns etc and then take them to any of the restaurant that surround the square and they will prepare and cook it for you. There are plently of helpers around to guide you to there restaurant. The evening is obviously the time to go there. We have had a couple of fabulous evenings there, sometime you get musical accompanyment.

Also in the main market, just near entrance opp harbour is a antique shop. We spent ages looking at the stuff in there. Antique weapons and stuff that was really fascinating.

There are plenty of bars dotted around to either site outside to drink or go inside for a dance. I think the later you visit the better. Then it all gets going.

Wendy
Do you buy the fish immediately prior to going to the restaurants to have it cooked. Say you want to eat at 8pm is the fish market still operating that late, or do you have to buy earlier in the day and get the restaurtant to keep it for you.
:oops: Sorry can't get my head round how it works.