Flight Only / Airline and Airports

Discussions relating to flight only, airlines and airports.
Re: Thomson 787's
7548 Posts
That is the norm for any airline, only able bodied passengers are permitted to seat in emergency exit rows. this does not include overwing or secondary doors/exits.
Whomenever wrote:
BY-TOM-AMM-FCA wrote:
Row 11 is sold as extra leg room but is also allocated as welfare seats when needed, I am not aware of any instance when someone has been moved out after paying to accommodate a welfare passenger. However (I'm no expert in this matter) Thomson would be required to move you out to accommodate them by disability law if not sitting in those seats meant not being able to travel. Disabled travelers can sit in row 10 there is absolutely no restriction similar to exit rows as it has a bulkhead, the person you spoke to was wrong in that however row 10 would not be free and would be chargeable to sit in and not allocated automatically as a welfare seat, row 11 is.

The travel rep who told mum this information said the reason she could sit next too the rest of her family on row10 was that "only able bodied passengers were allowed to sit near an emergency exit" ? Thomson customer service allocated mum and her seat before we got ours via the phone. We paid extra (£65) for legroom on Row10 seats DEF, mum and Carer for mum had nothing to pay for row 11 seat D&E,hence the query ?

Seems a bit odd ?

Both rows 10 and 11 are extra legroom rows, so both are sold at a premium. You paid for row 10, but row 11 seats were allocated to your mum and carer as welfare seats, so they weren't charged for them.
Hi , can anyone advise what aircraft Thomsons are planning to use for Flight TOM722 Glasgow - Jamaica on 6th Jan 2015 ??
Thanks
Smurf1873,

It's likely to be a Boeing 787-8 but i'll be able to confirm it closer to the time.

Darren