32 independent reviews of the Polyusi Hotel
Address: Sunny Beach, Iberostar Sunny Beach Resort, 8240 Burgas (Bourgas), Bulgaria, Bulgaria
Polyusi Hotel
Polyusi Hotel Location
Ranked #56 of 103 hotels in Sunny Beach


3/5
Polyusi Hotel Polyusi Hotel is rated 3.38 out of 5 from 32 Reviews
69% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (32 reviews)

Cleanliness 4 stars
Entertainment 2 stars
Food 3 stars
Service 4 stars
Location 4 stars

Polyusi Hotel Reviews

3/5
3
"not the best of holidays"
colin potter stayed at Polyusi Hotel, Sunny Beach, Bulgaria in July 2013
Last year my husband and I stayed in the Polyusi Hotel. Despite the fact I had been told it was wheelchair accessable it was far from that. But after looking at a few options, the management where very helpful, we settled on the best one we could manage.

We fell in love with Bulgaria and bought a studio. So this year our sons and granddaughter wanted to come over with us and I decided the Poluysi Hotel was a good option as we stayed in a family room. Unfortunately they were on the opposite side to where we stayed and had to endure an all night nightclub right under the family rooms. They were also given one towel to use between the three of them. When they complained about the noise they where shown a room with two single beds, 3 ...
people 2 beds? Then they asked about the towels and they where accussed of stealing towels. My sons told the management if they wanted to check their luggage they did not have a problem of course the management did not take them up on that. So if you want a place that is reasonably clean and you get what you pay for be careful where they put you.

Read More

Recommended: No
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4
"Great Accomodation"
Joy Grady stayed at Polyusi Hotel, Sunny Beach, Bulgaria in July 2012
1 reader found this review helpful

Just home from Polyusi, was sceptable after reading some reviews but was pleasantly surprised. The staff were all fantastic and very hard working, the room very clean with fresh towels daily, lovely pool area with ample sunbeds/tables and chairs. The restaurants were all very good my favourite being the pizzas :), although other than bingo there was no entertainment but in Sunny Beach it isnt a problem as there are so many bars etc to choose from.

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

graham and margaret stayed at Polyusi Hotel in September 2008
we arrived at 4 in the morning greeted by receptionist and given directions to our room.it was clean ,maid cleaned room each day,clean towels and bedding every other day.breakfast was good but the same,indian very poor menu other restaurants not open,enterainment only bingo during happy hour ! non stop music in bar unless sport was on. inter net cafe was closed. remember to take a torch as lights are on timer.
staff always helpful spoke good english,most worked 15 hour shifts but still cheerful.

Tour Operator: thompson/first choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Ian & Anne Laing had a holiday at Polyusi Hotel, Sunny Beach, Bulgaria in August 2008
Just back from our first visit to Bulgaria. Stayed in the Polyusi Apartments. If you go Self Catering all you get is a kettle and a microwave, could really have been done with a toaster as well!! Room was cleaned every day, bedlinen replaced and towels. Although we were Self Catering we ate in the hotel a few times, every meal we had was fantastic, definitely recommend the Chinese. Hotel staff couldn\'t do enough for you, they were really helpful and very polite. Entertainment at night was pretty dull, consisted of a singer and a keyboard, after two weeks we could time what song she would sing by the clock!! Prices were a wee bit more expensive at the hotel, 4 lev for a large bottle of beer, where as you can buy the same bottle at the supermarket for ...
1 lev. A ten minute walk away from the hotel, would find meals cheaper, but as I said the meals were fantastic.
Would definitely go back to this hotel.

Read More

Tour Operator: Balkan Holidays

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Ian & Anne Laing visited the Polyusi Hotel in August 2008
Just returned from our first holiday to Bulgaria, and we stayed in the Polyusi Apartments. We were Self Catering and the only fault I have is that all there was for cooking was a microwave, they should really have had a hob and toaster. There is a kettle, so at least you can have a coffee in the morning. Apartment was cleaned every day, bed linen and towels changed also. We ate in the hotel\'s restaurants a few times and had excellent meals, highly recommend the Chinese. The meals at the hotel are a bit more expensive but it\'s handy. Hotel staff were very friendly and polite, and would do anything for you. The pool was very clean and they take away the sunbeds at 6pm and put them back out at 9am, so if you want a sunbed, be ...
at the pool for 9am.
We drank at the Pool Bar and found that it can be more expensive than drinking in the bars just 10mins from the Hotel. Entertainment was poor, a woman and a keyboard everynight, after 1 week we could time when she would sing a certain song!! There is Bingo in the Cocktail Bar every night, with a Happy Hour from 7pm -8pm. I would highly recommend this hotel as the location is just a 10 minute walk from the main strip.
Would definitely use this Hotel/Apartments again.

Read More

Tour Operator: Balkan

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Ian & Anne Laing visited the Polyusi Hotel, Sunny Beach in August 2008
Forgot to add that the pool was very clean and they take away the sunbeds at 6pm and put them back out at 9am, so if you want a sunbed, be at the pool for 9am.
We drank at the Pool Bar and found that it can be more expensive than drinking in the bars just 10mins from the Hotel. There is Bingo in the Cocktail Bar every night, with a Happy Hour from 7pm -8pm. I would highly recommend this hotel as the location is just a 10 minute walk from the main strip.
Would definitely use this Hotel/Apartments again.

Tour Operator: Balkan

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

Paul & Gill stayed at Polyusi Hotel, Sunny Beach, Bulgaria in August 2008
we just back from sunny beach bulgaria,staying at the polyusi. very impressed with the apartments size and layout. not self catering other than microwave and kettle. rooms were cleaned everyday and the staff were really friendly and helpful. The entertainment was so bad it was quite entertaining! The food in the hotel was ok but more expensive than in the resort. thou we thought the breakfasts were poor. Beer was more expensive too. all in all it was a nice hotel to stay in but not to eat, drink, or be entertained. One word of advice any loose change put it away as the cleaners seem to think its a tip!

Tour Operator: hays

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

gillian visited the Polyusi Hotel, Sunny Beach in August 2008
After reading reviews about the Polyusi Hotel/Appts I was very anxious about our holiday. On arrival though, we were greeted by a very cheerful receptionist & shown to our rooms by the porter.(the lift is far too small & this took 4 trips up & down to/from 3rd floor to get us & all our luggage up!- minor problem though) When we saw our appartments we were delighted! They were spacious, very clean & very tastefully furnished. The kitchen is lacking in appliances (kettle, fridge & microwave only)but for us this was not a problem as we had not intended to self-cater in the real sense of the word!After dumping our bags we went down to Brothers pub & again got a cheery welcome from Nicholas, the bar man.This attitude was the same from all the staff for the whole ...
of our stay & they work incredibly hard & long hours so they would be entitled to an off day occasionally. The hotel & pools are kept very clean.Food is ok but not the best & its more expensive than elsewhere as are the drinks.One real negative is the 24 hr medical centre, when we needed it was closed! The receptionist didn\'t seem to know anything about it but did offer to call a Dr for us so again, as helpful as she could be.All in all pleasant surprise & very enjoyable stay. If we do go back to Sunnybeach we would stay at Polyusi again.

Read More

Tour Operator: hats travel

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Alison visited the Polyusi Hotel, Sunny Beach, Bulgaria in July 2008
Hi. Stayed in this hotel (now called the Polyusi in the brochures)for the fourth year running and still find it excellent for my needs (see my previous reviews). It\'s basic but clean and good value for money. This year they have opened the new apartments and pool and a new bar by the apartments. They have also done some more refurbishment on small details like the reception counter and the lift interior. Staff on the whole are fine. Do not stay in this hotel if you like a hotel based holiday where you eat in the hotel every night and then expect a night\'s entertainment because the food isn\'t fantastic (though breakfast is OK) and the entertainment is rubbish. If however you are like me and just use the hotel to sleep in and you like to go out and ...
about every night to try new places to eat and to enjoy all the entertainment that the resort has to offer then it is ideal. I really cannot complain for the price I paid.

Read More

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

janet &ian visited the Polyusi Hotel in July 2008
the hotels breakfast was ok had all variations of food. The hotel was kept very clean our room was cleaned every day.The staff are very miserable,the younger staff are not to bad.Pool area is always full you can never get a bed they must come down really early to put their towels on their beds.There are mainly irish and scottish people there.Entertainment was pathetic same woman doing most of the things karoke to bingo.Takes about 5mins to walk to the main area and beach,good restaurant on the way though called tanya.If you just want a base hotel it would be ok.

Tour Operator: first choice
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
3 stars

2/5
2

Garry Baker visited the Polyusi Hotel, Sunny Beach, Bulgaria in June 2008
Just got back from bulgaria yesterday. Very dissapointed by the hotel.

Got to the hotel early in the morning to find there was only 2 beds, there is four of us. Went down to ask whats going on, a lady came up and pulled a drawer from under the sofa. Very uncofortable. The lady could speak little english and didnt crack her face. On the monday a group of irish came drinking all day all night, never left hotel. early hours in the morning the brothers pub in the hotel played irish music till about 4 in the morning. On the thursday at about 5 in the morning a drunken old man was trying to get in our room, left the kids shaken. The staff at the hotel were only bothered about money. Last day reception tried to accuse us ...
of pinching a small towel and tried to make us pay for it. HOTEL FROM HELL

strongly would not reccomend it, 08 !!

Read More

Tour Operator: First Choice
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
3 stars

3/5
3

Sinead had a holiday at Polyusi Hotel in July 2007
Me and my family stayed in the Sever Yug hotel for 2 weeks this july, we went self catering and arn\'t we glad that we did. The hotel cleanliness was ok, few things in the rooms went missing, blame the cleaners as they are the only other people in the rooms. We were lucky if we got our bedsheets changed twice in the whole 2 weeks which we thought was unacceptable. The towels were only changed once a weeks and started to stink the room out abit. There was a choice of 4 restauraunts in this hotel and all four were not up to standard. The only thing on all menus for the children was margarita pizza\'s which everyone wants a change now and again. The hotel\'s location was great, as it was like a 5 minute walk from the ...
promenade, which was filled with bars and niteclubs & a selection of restauruants. The staff at the hotel were very ignorant and not really willing to help at all, there was maybe 2 staff in the place that were nice to you. The entertainment was nothing to wite home about at all, they only had a hotel nite once a week and the dancers done the same thing over and over again. On the brochure it stated that reception lounge had chairs and tables to sit on, but the kids were not aloud to sit on them, they also had to be sent to bed at 12.00 and were not aloud to play the games in the reception which are set up for kids. The television in recepiton and inside bar only played sky news and noting else, stating on the brochure that they played football & music channels. Me and my family will not visit this hotel again as the standard was just not acceptable.

Read More

Tour Operator: Balkan Tours
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Chris visited the Polyusi Hotel, Sunny Beach in July 2007
Hi, stayed in Sever/Yug in 2006 and again this year. Hotel nice and clean, entertainment was awful, same thing EVERY night!
Apparantly the hotel is owned by a group of Irish people and the majority of people there where from Ireland. Now I am part Irish so have nothing against the majority.
Really disappointed this year, fighting and shouting in the corridors in the early hours, vomiting at the bar, during the day. The majority of people there only put there drink or ciggarette down to smack there kids! Heard someone say that they where like the audience from the Jeremy Kyle show!
Will not be going back, if you are thinking of a family holiday I would steer well clear!

Tour Operator: Balkan Holidays
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
5 stars

2/5
2

big mick stayed at Polyusi Hotel in July 2007
on arrival our party was greeted by the most ignornant receptionist we have ever met on holiday!all she wanted was money.following that we were all left to make our own way to our rooms these were spread over the 3 blocks.the staff but for 2 were stanf offish the waiter in the small bar was pure ignorant,7 lev for a cup of tea a drink and a thimble of milk.the hotel put the prices of their drinks up after a couple of days,food was ok in the complex but at times they forgot the order.the other guest were able to let their kids run amok whereas ours were chastised by the owner just for sitting on the seats!other younger guests there were only there for the drink and were more or less allowed to do what they wanted,drinking in the ...
pool being sick breaking windows not a thing was ever said!entertainment was woefulno internet and only sky news on tv.i would recommend anyone with a family to give this hotel a wide berth and we were not alone on this thought.scots english and irish had been going there for years and will not be back!only thing going for the polyusi as it is known is the location oh and by the way we had bits and pieces going missing from the rooms and the sheets were only changed 3 times in 2 weeks!!!

Read More

Tour Operator: balkan tours
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

ian had a holiday at Polyusi Hotel, Sunny Beach, Bulgaria in June 2007
Hi We stayed here in june 08. generaly very clean hotel close to beach and shops etc. the breakfast was ok. I found the staff to be very unhelpful.

The same entertainment was on every night alough the singers were good after a few nights its a bit boring as they sung the same songs over again.

Our travel rep was very helpful to us as our daughter fell ill and had to be taken to a local hospital they told us that we had to pay the medical bill and reclaim the insurance when we got home (

Tour Operator: balkin

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

carla stayed at Polyusi Hotel, Sunny Beach, Bulgaria in May 2007
Hi!
I stayed in the Server Yug on the 12th of May 2007 and went for a week.

The hotels cleanliness was ok but for 1 week we did not get our bed sheets changed.

Although the hotel staff were excellent, they helped with every need.

I must admitt the entertainment in the hotel was not up to standard as there was no shows just bingo etc.

Yes I would visit the hotel again because it is close to other entertainment and the town and it has nice food.


Tour Operator: My travel

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Alison stayed at Polyusi Hotel, Sunny Beach, Bulgaria in July 2006
This is just a quick update to my review from July of last year. This is still a great budget hotel. Spotlessly clean with pleasant staff.

The pool area has been refurbished with new tiles and covered seating areas.

Nobody seemed to eat dinner in the hotel last year, but they did this year (though we didn\'t) and I am assuming that this improvement made eating there more attractive. I also think the reception and cocktail bar areas had a bit of a refurb too - I\'m sure the seating had been re-upholstered.

We had a larger room this year with a bath. The trade off was that the shower wasn\'t as good as in the smaller room and the shower head didn\'t fit into the bracket over the bath so you had to hold it yourself. Also new was ...
a TV in the rooms. No great choice of English speaking channels - just BBC World and a cartoon channel, but OK to check up on the news and keep the kids amused (and who goes on holiday to watch TV anyway!).

If I go back next year, I will definitely stay here again.

Read More

Tour Operator: Balkan Holidays

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

badger had a holiday at Polyusi Hotel, Sunny Beach, Bulgaria in July 2006
Very basic room with 2 beds and a very very small fridge and a small TV. The bath was a death trap as there was quiet an amount to jump(serious) to the ground.

The nightly entertainment was not great unless you like to listen to the same music every night and from what we could tell it did not seem like they were really singing or playing the keyboard!

The seagulls were very noisy at all hours of the morning. No air conditioning in the room so very warm.

The one thing that really got on my nerves was when you ordered food the bill was given to you before the food even reached the table and they all ways waited in the background if not on the table cause of this we only ate at the hotel twice.

The bar staff ...
were nice and quick to serve, not so friendly at the reception...would not go back to this hotel again.

Read More

Tour Operator: balkan tours
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

palmer/cairns had a holiday at Polyusi Hotel in May 2006
This was our first time in Bulgaria and we were very glad we had chosen this hotel sever/yug. It had been done up since the brochure we had read and it was lovely.

Bobby's bar was open for as long as people wanted to drink and there were no children when we were there in May for 2 weeks.

Rooms were basic but v v clean and lounges, diner etc was immaculate. You could get any amount of different food as there was a chinese/pizza/b b que all in the grounds new for 2006.

Sadly the only entertainment when we were there was bingo but we won nearly every night so we had v v cheap holiday. stall were brilliant especially VAL, TOMMY and the bingo girl.

So funny we would definintely go back, we never had a bad meal there ...
the only thing that spoiled it was rowdy people who came last few days of holiday.

Read More

Tour Operator: panarama

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

3/5
3

darren,jacqui and family visited the Polyusi Hotel in August 2005
Just got back after a 2 week stay at this hotel and I can honestly say it does\'nt live upto the reports I read on it.

The cleaners never stopped thats why it gets a 4 rating. We only had breakfast once in the restaurant but the food was ok in the hotel lounge,the location was in walking distance or were you need to be.

The hotel staff were very friendly especially Carlos,Val and Jimmy but as for the entertainment,there was nothing for the kids(or adults) during the day round the pool,the entertainment at night was the same every night(the paddies made there own entertainment which was fun).

The poolside bar(bobbys bar)blasted music out all day even sometimes until 4 and 5 in the morning which some guests complained about.the hotel is pretty basic with nothing in the rooms unless you pay for it.

Tour Operator: balkan
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
3 stars
Other hotels in Sunny Beach

5 star Hotels
4 star Hotels
3 star Hotels
2 star Hotels
Share