Image of Polyusi Hotel

Polyusi Hotel

57 of 102 hotels in Sunny Beach

3 out of 5 from 32 reviews
3 stars
Sunny Beach, Iberostar Sunny Beach Resort, 8240 Burgas (Bourgas), Bulgaria, Bulgaria

32 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    15
  • Good
    11
  • Average
    5
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Colin Potter
not the best of holidays
3 years 1 month ago
Last year my husband and I stayed in the Polyusi Hotel. Despite the fact I had been told it was wheelchair accessable it was far from that. But after looking at a few options, the management where very helpful, we settled on the best one we could manage.

We fell in love with Bulgaria and bought a studio. So this year our sons and granddaughter wanted to come over with us and I decided the Poluysi Hotel was a good option as we stayed in a family room. Unfortunately they were on the opposite side to where we stayed and had to endure an all night nightclub right under the family rooms. They were also given one towel to use between the three of them. When they complained about the noise they where shown a room with two single beds, 3 people 2 beds? Then they asked about the towels and they where accussed of stealing towels. My sons told the management if they wanted to check their luggage they did not have a problem of course the management did not take them up on that. So if you want a place that is reasonably clean and you get what you pay for be careful where they put you.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Great Accomodation
4 years 1 month ago
Just home from Polyusi, was sceptable after reading some reviews but was pleasantly surprised. The staff were all fantastic and very hard working, the room very clean with fresh towels daily, lovely pool area with ample sunbeds/tables and chairs. The restaurants were all very good my favourite being the pizzas :), although other than bingo there was no entertainment but in Sunny Beach it isnt a problem as there are so many bars etc to choose from.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Graham And Margaret
7 years 10 months ago
we arrived at 4 in the morning greeted by receptionist and given directions to our room.it was clean ,maid cleaned room each day,clean towels and bedding every other day.breakfast was good but the same,indian very poor menu other restaurants not open,enterainment only bingo during happy hour ! non stop music in bar unless sport was on. inter net cafe was closed. remember to take a torch as lights are on timer.
staff always helpful spoke good english,most worked 15 hour shifts but still cheerful.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Ian & Anne Laing
7 years 11 months ago
Just back from our first visit to Bulgaria. Stayed in the Polyusi Apartments. If you go Self Catering all you get is a kettle and a microwave, could really have been done with a toaster as well!! Room was cleaned every day, bedlinen replaced and towels. Although we were Self Catering we ate in the hotel a few times, every meal we had was fantastic, definitely recommend the Chinese. Hotel staff couldn't do enough for you, they were really helpful and very polite. Entertainment at night was pretty dull, consisted of a singer and a keyboard, after two weeks we could time what song she would sing by the clock!! Prices were a wee bit more expensive at the hotel, 4 lev for a large bottle of beer, where as you can buy the same bottle at the supermarket for 1 lev. A ten minute walk away from the hotel, would find meals cheaper, but as I said the meals were fantastic.
Would definitely go back to this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
7 years 11 months ago
Just returned from our first holiday to Bulgaria, and we stayed in the Polyusi Apartments. We were Self Catering and the only fault I have is that all there was for cooking was a microwave, they should really have had a hob and toaster. There is a kettle, so at least you can have a coffee in the morning. Apartment was cleaned every day, bed linen and towels changed also. We ate in the hotel's restaurants a few times and had excellent meals, highly recommend the Chinese. The meals at the hotel are a bit more expensive but it's handy. Hotel staff were very friendly and polite, and would do anything for you. The pool was very clean and they take away the sunbeds at 6pm and put them back out at 9am, so if you want a sunbed, be at the pool for 9am.
We drank at the Pool Bar and found that it can be more expensive than drinking in the bars just 10mins from the Hotel. Entertainment was poor, a woman and a keyboard everynight, after 1 week we could time when she would sing a certain song!! There is Bingo in the Cocktail Bar every night, with a Happy Hour from 7pm -8pm. I would highly recommend this hotel as the location is just a 10 minute walk from the main strip.
Would definitely use this Hotel/Apartments again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
7 years 11 months ago
Forgot to add that the pool was very clean and they take away the sunbeds at 6pm and put them back out at 9am, so if you want a sunbed, be at the pool for 9am.
We drank at the Pool Bar and found that it can be more expensive than drinking in the bars just 10mins from the Hotel. There is Bingo in the Cocktail Bar every night, with a Happy Hour from 7pm -8pm. I would highly recommend this hotel as the location is just a 10 minute walk from the main strip.
Would definitely use this Hotel/Apartments again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
7 years 11 months ago
we just back from sunny beach bulgaria,staying at the polyusi. very impressed with the apartments size and layout. not self catering other than microwave and kettle. rooms were cleaned everyday and the staff were really friendly and helpful. The entertainment was so bad it was quite entertaining! The food in the hotel was ok but more expensive than in the resort. thou we thought the breakfasts were poor. Beer was more expensive too. all in all it was a nice hotel to stay in but not to eat, drink, or be entertained. One word of advice any loose change put it away as the cleaners seem to think its a tip!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
7 years 11 months ago
After reading reviews about the Polyusi Hotel/Appts I was very anxious about our holiday. On arrival though, we were greeted by a very cheerful receptionist & shown to our rooms by the porter.(the lift is far too small & this took 4 trips up & down to/from 3rd floor to get us & all our luggage up!- minor problem though) When we saw our appartments we were delighted! They were spacious, very clean & very tastefully furnished. The kitchen is lacking in appliances (kettle, fridge & microwave only)but for us this was not a problem as we had not intended to self-cater in the real sense of the word!After dumping our bags we went down to Brothers pub & again got a cheery welcome from Nicholas, the bar man.This attitude was the same from all the staff for the whole of our stay & they work incredibly hard & long hours so they would be entitled to an off day occasionally. The hotel & pools are kept very clean.Food is ok but not the best & its more expensive than elsewhere as are the drinks.One real negative is the 24 hr medical centre, when we needed it was closed! The receptionist didn't seem to know anything about it but did offer to call a Dr for us so again, as helpful as she could be.All in all pleasant surprise & very enjoyable stay. If we do go back to Sunnybeach we would stay at Polyusi again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Alison
8 years ago
Hi. Stayed in this hotel (now called the Polyusi in the brochures)for the fourth year running and still find it excellent for my needs (see my previous reviews). It's basic but clean and good value for money. This year they have opened the new apartments and pool and a new bar by the apartments. They have also done some more refurbishment on small details like the reception counter and the lift interior. Staff on the whole are fine. Do not stay in this hotel if you like a hotel based holiday where you eat in the hotel every night and then expect a night's entertainment because the food isn't fantastic (though breakfast is OK) and the entertainment is rubbish. If however you are like me and just use the hotel to sleep in and you like to go out and about every night to try new places to eat and to enjoy all the entertainment that the resort has to offer then it is ideal. I really cannot complain for the price I paid.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Janet &ian
8 years ago
the hotels breakfast was ok had all variations of food. The hotel was kept very clean our room was cleaned every day.The staff are very miserable,the younger staff are not to bad.Pool area is always full you can never get a bed they must come down really early to put their towels on their beds.There are mainly irish and scottish people there.Entertainment was pathetic same woman doing most of the things karoke to bingo.Takes about 5mins to walk to the main area and beach,good restaurant on the way though called tanya.If you just want a base hotel it would be ok.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: