37 independent reviews of Costa Dorada, Caribbean
Costa Dorada Location

4/5
Costa Dorada is rated 4 out of 5 from 37 Reviews

Costa Dorada Hotels

Costa Dorada Reviews

4/5


Michelle Barclay visited here on November 2004
We loved everything about our holiday, the only thing that did disapoint me was the beach.

There was no white sand or clear blue waters, it was a nice beach but not what i expected from the carribean.The whole hotel did not let me down,there is something there for everyone.

The full 2 weeks we were there we were treated like royalty!.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
4 stars

5/5


kelly visited here on September 2004
The resort was really nice and the people are amazing and friendly.

Beach was cleaned every morning and even though there was a lot of seaweed and the sea was quite rough it was beautiful and clean.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
5 stars
Beaches
5 stars

4/5


markus visited here on August 2004
The hotel it self was always well maintained the gardens were well attended, although i must say come late in the afternoon you will always find a film of what can only be discribed as suntan lotion and dirt floating on the pool surface, the beach was ok but you did get blown around a bit by the caribean wind.

i would say that i have been to quite a few 4/5* hotels around the caribean and mexico and this was more of a 3*, not a resort for couples wanting a relaxing holiday.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
3 stars

4/5


Phill & Sue visited here on July 2004
Costa Dorada were we stayed had two hotels next to each other Iberostar and Corel Beach. Not much else around. Playa Dorada hotel complexes were about 20 minute walk down the beach to the right of the hotel. The Playa Dorada complexes have a shopping mall with souvenir, clothing, cigar shops and a couple of bars. Golf course is at this resort.

On the beach between Costa Dorada and Playa Dorada is a shack town selling souvenirs. There is also another shack town selling the same souvenirs on the opposite side of the beach to the left of the hotel.

Main road outside hotel links to Playa Dorada to the left and to Puerta Plata town to the right.
We walked from ...
Playa Dorada to the hotel along this main road. There is a pavement but you will get people carrier vehicles pipping there horns or stopping asking you if you want a lift, for a fee. Be aware many have missing lights and probably no brakes.

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
4 stars

5/5


mike catterall visited here on June 2004
beach looks nice. not as good as negril in jamaica but not that far off. at first sight i thought there was loads of grotty looking sea weed...ended up being small reefs which teem with fish...great!!!
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
5 stars
Beaches
4 stars

5/5


Claire visited here on June 2004
The resort was very clean with plenty of activities taking place either at the pool or the excellent beach.

The beach was extremely clean as there was always someone raking up the leaves and seaweed.

I had such a great time here, I have booked up to go back in June 05 to the same hotel and I can\'t wait!!
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
5 stars
Beaches
5 stars

3/5


Vicky visited here on May 2004
Costa Dorada was so much better than I expected, we went out of the hotel and walked to the shopping precint at Playa Dorada and had no problems. We didnt go out on a night as we were all inclusive and entertainment was hotel based so cant really comment on anything outside. I thought the beach was fine, quite a lot of seaweed, but the staff were out raking it up and we didnt really have any problems with it. We saw a couple of Rays in the sea and brought some snorkel masks which was very good. Would definately go back to Costa Dorada
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
1 stars
Beaches
4 stars

4/5


Joanne Smith visited here on August 2003
The resort was really nice and everyone was very friendly.

And so were the taxi drivers, we happened to go when there was an england match on and there were about 15 other english people also wanting to watch the match so about 5 taxi drivers did there best to find somewhere that was playing it! We ended up down a dirt track into some fields which at this point I started to get alittle nervous but it all worked out and there was actually a bar in the middle of nowhere playing it on a radio!!!

Also the taxi drivers came back to pick us up after it had finished! Absolutely fantastic!
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
5 stars

3/5


Samantha Gidley visited here on August 2002
Playa Dorado is situated on the north side of the island and is surrounded by the Atlantic Ocean and not the Caribbean sea and therefore the beaches are not as nice as those on the south side of the island, however what the north side does offer is extremely good value for money. There is not much to do outside the immediate vicinity of the hotels, there is a shopping centre which we did not visit and also a golf course.

Outside the hotels the island is quite poor however the people are usually fantastic and I would definitely recommend participating in organised trips. Two I found to be particularly good were the waterfall trip (great guide) and quite an ...
experience and the Beach trip which is something like you will NEVER see again I am sure, a small pure white sandbank island in the middle of the sea surrounded by crystal blue waters, coral reef and tropical fish, this really is heaven!

P.S. Good idea to take toothbrush, toothpaste, sweets, hair bobbles etc to give to kids if you are going on any trips!

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
2 stars
Beaches
3 stars
Quick hotel find:
5/5
Iberostar Costa Dorada Hotel  stars Iberostar Costa Dorada Hotel
Set on a wonderful beachfront location, this is a truly luxurious and first class 24 hour All Inclusive hotel. Relax in the gardens, enjoy the lagoon-style pool and its unique jacuzzi or be pampered in the hotel's own spa.

Latest Review: Sep 2012

Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Costa Dorada
Share