12 independent reviews of the Almond Smugglers Cove Hotel
Address: Castries-Gros Islet Hwy, Cap Estate, Saint Lucia
Almond Smugglers Cove Hotel
Almond Smugglers Cove Hotel Location
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Gros Islet


3/5
Almond Smugglers Cove Hotel Almond Smugglers Cove Hotel is rated 2.75 out of 5 from 12 Reviews
42% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (12 reviews)

Cleanliness 3 stars
Entertainment 2 stars
Food 3 stars
Service 3 stars
Location 2 stars

Almond Smugglers Cove Hotel Reviews

3/5
3

Ken and Sue Norris stayed at Almond Smugglers Cove Hotel in November 2009
The hotel was kept very clean and the rooms were cleaned every day
We were very dissapointed in the food as not all of the restaurants were open every day and if like us, you stayed for two weeks, the menus did\'nt change often enough. We were expecting lots of fish and fresh fruit but that was not to be
We did not watch much of the entertainment as neither of us could have a drink(medical reasons)

Tour Operator: Virgin
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
1 stars

4/5
4

Richard stayed at Almond Smugglers Cove Hotel, Gros Islet, Caribbean in July 2008
Hotel now taken over by the Almond Resorts group.



Hotel is being done up, much work taking place and staff working very hard to make visitors feel welcome.

Rooms that have been done up are good as well as nice and clean

They have brought in a new Head chef and he is taking the food to another level.

The hotel is set in a large amount of private land, so you never feel that you\'re sitting on top of the next family.

Looking forward to going back in July this year.



Tour Operator: Virgin

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

1/5
1

Angie Stephens stayed at Almond Smugglers Cove Hotel, Gros Islet in August 2006
What a sorry state this hotel is in. Delapidated and very tired, needing some TLC.

The room was okay, a little dark but in dire need of a very good scrub. Bedlinen stained with blood and and body hair.

We stayed on an all inclusive basis, but the food was disgusting. The International Grill restaurant was the only non booking restaurant and always full. I witnessed children tasting food and placing it back into the tureens. One man was seen washing his hands in the large ice bucket and washing his glass. Breakfasts queues were massive, waiting over twenty minutes for an omelette to be cooked.

The best restaurant was the Thai. Very pleasant staff but did get boring eating there as the only really edible food available. The Smugglers ...
needs to be demolished, cooking facilities need a visit from Kim and Aggie. Most of the staff not interested in their jobs, some very rude.

Felt very sorry for our chambermaid, very tired and she had been working there for 18 years. She even said how the place had gone to ruin since she had worked there.

Not impressed by the entertainment, could not get a decent drink, alright if you liked the local rum though.

Read More

Tour Operator: Virgin Holidays
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
2 stars

2/5
2

Nazari visited the Almond Smugglers Cove Hotel in June 2006
When we arrived it was obvious the hotel was in desperate need of renovation. The grounds were shabby and dirty and not at all luxurious.

The rooms were clean and spacious, but again shabby, with paint peeling off the walls, chipped paintwork etc. We had a family saver room which had a separate area for the kids to sleep on a double sofa bed, which was fine for our children aged 6 and 2. This room just had a ceiling fan and was very, very hot at night. The main bedroom had air conditioning which was pretty powerful. We were lucky to get a room near reception, as the hotel is so large some people had to get a golf buggy to their rooms it was so far from the main areas.

The food was very poor ...
and I certainly did not put on any weight on holiday! There was limited salads, limited fruit options and very boring options for the children. The queues were very long for food as the restaurant food area was too small for the amount of people at the resort. The additional Thai, Italian and Fish restaurants were OK for a change, but nothing outstanding.

Beach at the hotel was not great, pebbly and black sand. The snorkelling was rubbish and a real let down.

Entertainment was very Butlins style ie: getting people up to make a fool of them. The children loved the kids mini disco at 8.30, after that though it was the hotel staff miming to songs and dancing.

The kids clubs were good, children could go for whatever length of time they wanted, for whatever interested them. They did a wide range of activities.

Overall we were very disappointed with our stay, the island is beautiful but the hotel was noisy and unfriendly and I for one couldn\'t wait to come home!

Read More

Tour Operator: Virgin
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
2 stars

4/5
4

myers had a holiday at Almond Smugglers Cove Hotel, Gros Islet in April 2006
We stayed here over Easter on first impressions I thought we had gone to Butlins in the Caribean. Within a few days we settled in and enjoyed our holiday. We had a family room outside parrots nest which was cleaned every day and fresh towels every day. The rooms were very spacious. The kids club was excellent and went from 9am to 9pm most nights showing a movie at 7.30pm.This was great so we could have dinner on our own.

The pools were cleaned every day. The watersport provided by hotel are good plenty of Water sking for free. We also hired ringoes and a jet ski. The slide in the pool was great my kids 5 & 7 were never off it.

The staff were generally friendly and were happy to help.

The weather was great very hot. A high ...
sun factor is a must!!! my children burnt on the first day on 30 I then bought 45 and still burnt and then bought factor 70.

Read More

Tour Operator: virgin

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
3 stars

3/5
3

gail visited the Almond Smugglers Cove Hotel, Gros Islet, Caribbean in April 2006
We stayed in Club St Lucia by Splash.

It was basic but let's face it you only sleep in your room and the beds were clean.

Kids club was fantastic as well was the food never had the same meal twice. Great.

Tour Operator: virgin

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
2 stars

4/5
4

Marshall stayed at Almond Smugglers Cove Hotel, Gros Islet, Caribbean in December 2005
We had our wedding booked at the Club St Lucia during our stay here for 2 weeks.

The family rooms in the magic parrot village are excellent and are def worth the extra as you have a spearate room for the sofa bed so you can have some privacy.

The beach is ok but not the white sand stuff as St Lucia is a volcanic Island so sand is quite dark.

There a plenty of pools for the kids and there is always pool volleyball in the larger pool near the piton bar for the adults.

The piton bar is where the evening entertainment is held and is where the kids are allowed to go.They are not allowed in other bars in the complex.

Check before booking as most of restaurants are closed on alternate evenings so book your evening meals as soon as you ...
arrive in the Irish Bar to avoid disappointment.Please beware that one of the restaurantsa only allow children over 13 years of age which i trhink is either beaches or smugglers Haven.

Check your Virgin Holidays brochure also as some of the descriptions are misleading and we have writtent o Virgin Holidays about this.

One thing also we also found was that after a few hiccups from Virgin Hoils regarding our wedding aspect and after speaking to the rep Natalie, we didnt find her at all helpful, but maybe she was having a bad day.




Read More

Tour Operator: Virgin Holidays

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

2/5
2

Daynes had a holiday at Almond Smugglers Cove Hotel, Gros Islet, Caribbean in November 2005
We went in Nov 2005. The hotel is awful.

There were large holes around the pool area, the majority of the loungers were broken. The sand was black (not due to volcanic sand but probably caused by the large sewage pipe at the end of the beach.). The water was dirty and definitely not the crystal clear waters you\'d expect from this region.

The rooms are falling to bits. We had 3 rooms in all (The first flooded, The second had a faulty Air-con unit that was pumping gases into the room that made us ill, and the third the bathroom ceiling had collapsed.)

The majority of the hotel staff were very friendly, especially the children's entertainers.

The adult entertainment was very poor with most people including ourselves heading back to our rooms at about 10pm as everything had stopped.

Talking ...
with the locals, this hotel has been in receivership for the past 7 years. The owners have tried to sell it for the past 2 years but there are no takers as the resort needs too much money being spent on it.

This was a Virgin holiday that cost over

Read More

Tour Operator: Virgin
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
1 stars

4/5
4

Michelle stayed at Almond Smugglers Cove Hotel in August 2005
We are about to return to Club St Lucia for the 5th time. We are well travelled and understand that it\'s a 3 star resort not a 5 star, which is reflected in the price. The hotel is quite old and is contantly being updated, but with such a large complex it\'s a never ending task. We have always found the hotel to be spotlessly clean and the food varied with something to suit everyone. The staff are superb and provided you treat them with the respect they deserve, you couldn\'t wish to meet nicer people.

Just one thing to mention, the sand is black because the island is volcanic. I have heard it mentioned that there are sewage pipes running onto the beach which is absurd. The hotel has a natural gully running through it\'s grounds which fills with rain ...
water and the large pipe at the far end of the beach is to channel that water into the sea. I am amazed that anyone really believes this is a pipe containing raw sewage!! The hotel installed a new sewage treatment plant just last year.


Read More

Tour Operator: Virgin

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

3/5
3

Terri stayed at Almond Smugglers Cove Hotel in May 2004
We visited this hotel as guests at our friends wedding. After a one and a half hour journey from the airport, we were horrified to arrive and find somewhere that reminded us of Butlins. The rooms are chalets spread out in \'villages\' and each village is painted a different grotesque colour.
The rooms were clean inside, had a good strong air conditioning system, comfortable beds and a television. A big disapointment was the lack of the fridge that meant any food and drinks brought back to the room didn\'t stay cold for long. The bathroom was outdated and could have done with some TLC.

We walked down through our village to get to the main complex which houses the main pool, the Irish \'pub\', the piton bar and the entertainment area. It is also the home of the \'International Grill\', the main ...
self service resteraunt of the resort. The selection of food was vast, which unfortunately led to poor quality during evening mealtime. Breakfast was, however, an excellent selection with fresh friut, cereals, cooked breakfasts, pancakes etc.
There are 4 other resteraunts in the resort, which you can visit once per week you are there. A chinese, with the worst service i have ever encountered, a beach BBQ with beautiful fresh meat and fish, a good quality Italian, and an adults only waterfront cocktail resteraunt, very romantic.

There was plenty for kids to do both day and night, and some adults activities during the day kept my easily bored husband busy for a few hours. The sun shone for the first week and we began to forget that we were in a hot butlins. A really annoying factor about this holiday was the lack of entertainment for adults. At 10pm, when the kids activities were over there was nothing to do. We found a bar at the waterfront were we were left to serve ourselves as the barman wanted to go home, but if we hadn\'t been in a big group we would have got very bored just sitting and drinking on our own every night.

Our friend\'s wedding took place and was stunning, a truley tremendous and unforgettable experience that I was honoured to be a part of. A beautiful picturesque ceremony, followed by a boat trip round the island to see the sun set, and on to a delicious meal at a nearby reateraunt called the Great House.

On the 10th day, the rain arrived. Not just any rain, continuous rods of hard, heavy rain fell solidly for 3 days.

All of a sudden, Club St Lucia became the most boring place on earth.

In summary: staff were friendly, rooms weren\'t dirty, food was ok, entertainment was poor. If i was going to pay for a Carribean holiday again, I really wouldn\'t come back here.

Read More

Tour Operator: Virgin
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
3 stars
Share