15 independent reviews of the Akti Beach Tourist Village Hotel
Address: Hadjiefstathiou Street, Paphos 8060, Cyprus
Akti Beach Tourist Village Hotel
Akti Beach Tourist Village Hotel Location
Ranked #51 of 61 hotels in Paphos


3/5
Akti Beach Tourist Village Hotel Akti Beach Tourist Village Hotel is rated 2.93 out of 5 from 15 Reviews
60% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (15 reviews)

Cleanliness 4 stars
Entertainment 3 stars
Food 3 stars
Service 4 stars
Location 2 stars

Akti Beach Tourist Village Hotel Reviews

3/5
3

Mr Walker visited the Akti Beach Tourist Village Hotel, Paphos, Cyprus in August 2008
We stayed at the Akti in august \'08.

BEFORE I START REVIEWING THIS I HAVE TO SAY A HIRE CAR IS A MUST!

We stayed for 1 week as an extra holiday from cruising the Caribbean in march, The rooms we very clean and tidy with lots of space. It is a very nice complex with two very nice swimming pools and a tennis court that is lovely.

The receptionist was very helpful and the reception area was very spacious. A big TV showing whatever you wanted to watch but most of the time Sky Sports news was showing for all the English speaking visitors.

Entertainment was average/good with entertainers planning things for both the adults and teenagers with a kids club open for the children.(The children are also welcome to join in with the teenagers activities)

Food was average/good with different theme ...
nights catering to most peoples choices. George the head waiter was wonderful, he was kind, friendly and looked after anyone who needed help. He made jokes with everyone, and little things like remembering your name made our holiday so special.

The pool/sunbead area was very nice with room to spread about. Not one day of our 7 at the Akti did we have to fight or even search for a sunbead there were plenty of sunbeads for all guests.

Just around the corner was a bar DIMMA BAR this had sky and with not many visitors you could ask for basically any programme you wanted. The prices at this bar were very cheap serving food and drink. In the daytime I would NOT recommend walking up to the main road as it is only a 15-20 minute walk at night but in the day it is exguisting due the temperature during the day.

The miny mart was very helpful as it gave you your basic daily needs including a daily newspaper (tabloids and broadsheet, such as the mail,).

So overall our holiday was a nice get away and we would go again. Big Mamas is a nice place to eat though I recommend booking as it is very popular , the meals are massive and quite expensive. As I said before a hire car is a must!

p.s many people say coral bay beach is a must but have seen many beaches such as Fig Tree Bay (protarus) tht are 50 times better than coral bay!

Read More

Tour Operator: Olympic

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
2 stars

2/5
2

rainey visited the Akti Beach Tourist Village Hotel, Paphos in June 2008
Like a lot of the commentators on this page I could find no fault with the general facilities here as regards lounging around during the day etc. Plenty of sunbeds and shades and the pool area is very good. The buffet breakfasts and evening meals were also quite good with the staff being very attentive.
However ants and other insects can be a big problem in the rooms and I am not just talking about the odd one or two that may scuttle across the floor. You can literally have hundreds of them at any one time and they dont just content themselves to areas around cooking areas or entrances to rooms as they also turn up in cupboards, wardrobes and drawers and in the bedding. Hotel management seem rather casual about this issue stating that an insect problem ...
is a \'fact of life\' on Cyprus before issuing you with a yellow can of insect repellant ( spray it and two hours later they are back!)Oh, and a piece of advice to keep the rooms \'free of crumbs\' as this is what attracts them. Unfortunately as there are no brushes and dust-pans provided in the rooms this can prove to be awkward!
In my opinion one of the most cynical ploys by management at the akti is the issue over air-conditioning in the complex\'s public areas. The main public area in reception is like most public use areas in holiday hotels throughout the Med, plenty of soft seating for people to relax, read or chat or just to unwind; there is even a large screen TV. Also, as is normal in most complexes in the Med these days this area is provided with full air conditioning.Unfortunately during periods of extreme heat it is not turned on e.g. during the day! The Euro final was being shown in this area on our first night and the room was full of guests. The heat was unbearable and the only concession to this seemed to be that all the windows in the area had been left fully open which had no effect whatsoever except to let hot air in from the outside. Only after a number of guests complained did someone eventually come out from behind reception to switch on the air con. Incidentally the one area adjacent to reception where the air con. is always switched on is the hotel bar - so draw your own conclusions!
On check-out day people have to vacate their rooms by mid-day and as is the norm people sit around reception with their luggage waiting on their pick-up coach. When we were leaving it was particularly hectic with a large number of people crowded into the reception area. Most will agree that this can perhaps be the most stressful part of your holiday as your only thought is to get yourself and your family home with the minimum of fuss!
Once again the air con. had\'nt been switched on and with the place being crowded the heat was particularly bad. People were extremely uncomfortable and sweating heavily and young children in particular were feeling the strain. A number of women complained to the owner/manager that we were hemmed in like \'cattle\' in the extremely humid conditions of the reception area and asked that he ease the situation by switching on the air con.His response was to open the terrace doors and windows which as before simply made things worse in the mid-day heat!He also said that to put on the air con.in reception during the day would mean that the air con.in people\'s rooms would\'nt work!- and this in a four star establishment!
In my opinion this attitude showed disdain to people who were at the end of their holiday.Obviously running air con. in a large public area costs money and I would suggest that this is a major factor in the running of this family run complex.The downstairs restaurant which caters for the breakfast and evening buffets similarly has full air con.but as is the case in reception it is never switched on.

I have written at length about this issue because I feel it shows the arrogance of the owners towards the customers who are paying good money for what should be a four star experience but which sadly isn\'t.The fact that you should even have to pay extra for air con. in your room in this day and age is an indication of what lies behind the way this place is run.There are other matters which will be familiar to other people who have stayed here and which will be picked up on by people who have yet to experience it.For example the daytime receptionist who is a cross between a female version of Basil Fawlty and the ice queen and the waitress who constantly badgers you to buy a drink in the reception area every five minutes even when it has been made clear that you dont want one!I refused her seven times one evening while trying to watch some wimbledon tennis and she came back an eighth time to ask me did i want to \'order a drink now\'!She must be on bonus because the other two waitresses dont hassle the guests.
I am aware having read the comments that some people think that this place is without fault and I am happy that they enjoy their time there;everyone has an opinion but for me a holiday should be for the most part an enjoyable and relaxing experience and not one where you imagine that you are involved in a battle of wits with the management.Good luck to anyone who has yet to go there and be sure to stand your ground on the air-con in reception.
Perhaps then, management will take customer sastifaction more seriously.

Read More

Tour Operator: Olympic
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
2 stars

2/5
2

Peace had a holiday at Akti Beach Tourist Village Hotel, Paphos in May 2007
The hotel is situated someway off the main road, there is however a track that leads off by the side of the hotel and it takes about 5 minutes at gentle pace to reach the main road, buses to and from local towns were very regular.

Our room was spacious and situated away from the reception area but in an ideal quiet location.

The staff were very helpful and polite.

The food varied according to which theme night, the Italian night was good as was the barbeque but the Cyprus night was easily forgetable.

The entertainemnt was slightly over the top and very loud which sometimes did get through but it was a family hotel and catered for all.

It was not our normal hotel as it was a last minute deal but it was enjoyable.

Tour Operator: Olympic
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
3 stars

2/5
2

Terry had a holiday at Akti Beach Tourist Village Hotel, Paphos, Cyprus in September 2006
This hotel was very basic, the rooms were pretty big and spacious though which made up for it. It was clean enough but nothing extraordinary.

The food was also very basic and every time u ordered food it was like a burden for them, they made u feel bad for ordering food. The location was miles away from the main resort but there were a few nice restaurants and bars to go to locally.

Fat Mammas was across the road and it is honestly a must for anyone who goes to Paphos. If u love good food in a massive and I mean massive portion then please visit it.

Me and my friend also got money and his wedding ring stolen from room, his wedding ring was lying on table and my money was hidden at bottom of suitcase in between ...
socks etc.

Staff were very unfriendly and unhelpful in this matter especially since it happened the only day we went on an excursion. HMMMM! Overall I would never recommend this hotel to anyone.

Read More

Tour Operator: airtours
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
2 stars

4/5
4

Michael stayed at Akti Beach Tourist Village Hotel, Paphos, Cyprus in June 2006
I enjoyed this holiday in the early summer 2006. Cyprus weather at this time of year is great.

The hotel for me was situated well as I like a nice walk during the day and as it takes over 2 hours to Paphos and back that suited me fine.

The hotel itself has wonderful views of the surrounding bays and a lovely grassy area with sunloungers and a beautiful pool area.

The staff were excellent, very helpful and pleasant.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone who doesnt mind being out of the town centre and as local transport is fairly cheap that\'s not problem anyway.

Interesting fact: the boat stranded on the rocks about 300m out to sea from the Akti is used by the military to drop troops onboard during training exercises.

Tour Operator: Olympic Holidays

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

3/5
3

Elaine had a holiday at Akti Beach Tourist Village Hotel, Paphos, Cyprus in May 2006
We were pleasantly surprised by the standard at the Akti Beach, although it is not a 4 star as stated in the brochure, I would say this hotel was a good 3 star.
We stayed on Half-Board basis and found the food OK, there was always something to eat and it was all well cooked.

Obviously eating in the same place for a week can get a bit tedious but the hotel did try to offer a variety to suit all tastes. We only ate out one night, we went to Fat Mamma\'s which was very good, huge portions!
The cleanlieness of the hotel was generally very good, the rooms could do with a bit of a freshen up though.

We found the staff at the hotel very helpful & never had any problems at all. The public areas were ...
very well kept, the pool area was especially lovely with nice views out to sea.

We only watched the hotel entertainment once which was average, karaoke, bingo, quiz nights etc. You can sit out on the terrace looking over the pool and enjoy a few quiet cocktails if you want to give it a miss.

The only problem with this hotel is its location. It is quite a trek from the resort centre. You are best to use the bus during the day (80p each way) and a taxi at night (

Read More

Tour Operator: Olympic Holidays

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
2 stars

3/5
3

Ruth had a holiday at Akti Beach Tourist Village Hotel in March 2006
We stayed a week half-boad in a self-catering room which was spacious but bare.

Food in the restaurant was buffet style and ok if you eat meat but as a vegetarian i struggled to find anything to eat each night except for soup & salad, although I do like salad it does get a bit boring after 7 nights! Breakfasts were generally the same every day.

The location of the hotel leaves a lot to be desired. Although we had stunning sea views from our balcony it is pretty remote and Paphos centre is about an hours walk away if you\'re feeling energetic! The bus runs about every 20 mins from Coral Bay to Paphos and vice versa and you can go the whole way for 80 cents. Unfortunatley the bus stops running at 7pm so if you do want to ...
venture out at night you either need to get a taxi which costs about C

Read More

Tour Operator: Olympic
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
1 stars

5/5
5

Kenny & Kath & kids stayed at Akti Beach Tourist Village Hotel, Paphos, Cyprus in March 2006
Fantastic hotel that couldn't be faulted. We had an amazing cheap deal with a hire care thrown in as it was just the start of the season.

Weather was abit iffy so we didn't use the 2 outside pools but tried the inside one. Our apartment was spot on very spacious and very very clean.

If you just want to relax and not do very much on your holiday I would recommend this hotel.

Because we were selfcatering we only had a meal once there on our first night and it was okay.

The guy that did the entertainments was called Fifi and was absolutely lovely. so have a nice holiday, and yes I would most definitely stay here again

Tour Operator: Olympic

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

2/5
2

smith stayed at Akti Beach Tourist Village Hotel, Paphos in October 2005
My accommodation in particular had a very poor standard of cleanliness which my olympic rep told me it was only of local standard but got it cleaned anyway I only went bed and breakfast but the breafast left alot to be desired.

The location of the hotel is 400 meters down a dirt track which at night time is unlit. The hotel staff barely cracked a smile apart from the bar staff who were very freindly.

Entertainment very poor with the highlight being a karaoke and I would not recommend this hotel as there are far more desirable hotels in a very nice resort such as paphos is.

Tour Operator: olympic
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
1 stars

2/5
2

shearer had a holiday at Akti Beach Tourist Village Hotel in October 2005
We took our grandchildren to this hotel and we upgraded to B/B.

The breakfast never varied and when the normal cook was off at the weekend the food was awful.

The rooms were OK but do need a good spring clean and a paint.

The location well unless you hire a car you are in for a hike.

The bar staff were great the entertainment we thought was poor.

Tour Operator: Olympic
Review Rating

Cleanliness
2 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
1 stars

4/5
4

Tracy Jones stayed at Akti Beach Tourist Village Hotel in September 2005
Just got back from my stay at Akti Beach. Room was very clean and very very spacious. Recommend air-con as it remains hot all night as well as the day but you do have to pay for it.

Restaurant on sight I found very basic I was half board but recommend bed and breakfast instead.

Location of hotel is poor however there is a great bus service which goes almost everywhere in Paphos for 70 cents.To get to the bus stop is tricky for anyone with walking difficulites as you have to walk up a dirt track which is not lit up at night. Its very dark and the track is sandy and rocky so take a torch! Taxi service is very good but can be anything from 5 TO 7 Pounds to the harbour you will definitley need the bus or ...
taxi to get about as Akti Hotel is out of the way from anywhere.

Don\'t let that put you off though its a great hotel and waiters and waitresses cannot do enough for you.

I reccommend you shop around for your meals and drinks as the Akti is higher priced than in the main town.

Overall though excellent hotel

Read More

Tour Operator: Olympic

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
1 stars

3/5
3

Clare visited the Akti Beach Tourist Village Hotel, Paphos in September 2005
We stayed in a one bedroomed self catering apartment. It was spacious, clean, & comfortable with the basics you would expect for self catering, although there was no microwave so quick ready meals were a no go, you had to wait for the oven which was only a small table top one.

The hotel was always clean & our apartment was cleaned everyday, with clean towels being supplied.

The hotel staff were always ready to help & very polite.

The food was good & at a fair price but wasn\'t anything special although the al a carte was better.

The entertainment was also a little poor, we ate down in pafos most of the time & found a bar or tavern with entertainment on. Sid\'s bar on Tomb of the Kings road offered some very unusual entertainment for everyone to enjoy which I ...
have never seen anywhere else so feel it is a must if you visit Pafos.

We felt the hotel location was very isolated though & it was a good hike to the main road to catch a bus. Also on one particular occasion we stood for over 45mins for a bus & although two went passed not one of them stopped so we flagged a taxi, we were later told that in the day it was often the case for the buses to be full so they would not stop. I future will will us the taxi\'s or hire a car.

We probably would visit again although next year we are going to a different resort, 5*


Read More

Tour Operator: Olympic

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
1 stars

3/5
3

Catherine Rodgers had a holiday at Akti Beach Tourist Village Hotel, Paphos, Cyprus in August 2005
We travelled to Paphos in August 2005. There was 17 of us in total as we had gone out there to be married. We had 3 one bed apartments and 3 studios between us.

Both the apartments and studios were spacious, clean and tidy and the maid came every day but for wednesdays and sundays. We did have the air conditioning on every day (this was an extra charge) as it was extremely hot in August. One of our apartments did experience air con problems but the staff did deal with this within the day.

We were all self catering but we did eat in the bar on a few occasions we were always satisfied with our meals they were a bit more expensive than in the resort itself but the portions were huge. We did have breakfast as well a ...
couple of times (which you can have if you pay) as said before it is not very varied but was nice enough.

The bar staff were always pleasant but there isn\'t much entertainment on but when there are 17 of you we entertained ourselves.

The pool areas were clean and tidy the beach on the other hand is a little to be desired it is really tiny and pebbly and 6 people fill it but on the other hand it was hard to find a nice beach in paphos anyway.

We travelled with Olympic and had two reps Ann the wedding rep was fantastic with us but the main rep was rude and unhelpful.

The main down fall about Akti it that it is so far away from anywhere and you do have to travel to the centre but we found a great taxi company that sent a mini bus every night big enough for all 17 of us and with so many of us being in it it kept the cost down but when you go in a taxi it was approx

Read More

Tour Operator: Olympic

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
2 stars

4/5
4

shirl and steve had a holiday at Akti Beach Tourist Village Hotel, Paphos, Cyprus in June 2005
We stayed in this complex for a week. On arrival the reception staff were really helpful. we loved the windy walkways of the complex to our room, there were flowers everywhere.

Our room was very spacious with plenty of kitchen utensils if we had wanted to cook for ourselves. It was spotlessly clean , and our maid was very courteous, as were the rest of the staff, except for a couple of the waiters at breakfast who were a bit on the grumpy side but not everyone is a morning person!!!

The food was pretty good most of the time, with a good selection. The pool area was really lovely with a grassy lawn for those who wanted it.

The complex also had a smaller separate pool in a different area ,which was nice later in ...
the day if you wanted some peace and quiet. Location was well out of Paphos, and would not be suitable for anyone who wanted to be in the heart of the resort every evening, but getting a taxi was no problem.

There was varied entertainment on most nights - some good some bad. we would recommend this complex if you don\'t mind being well out of the main resort.

Read More

Tour Operator: olympic

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
2 stars

2/5
2

Kerry had a holiday at Akti Beach Tourist Village Hotel in May 2005
We stayed at the Akti Village for a week and the room was clean and spacious but quite basic. The room was cleaned every other day and clean towels etc. The hotelcomplex was very nice - the pool at the front was lovely and there were plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas. Lovely view of the sea while lying on sunbed and relaxing!

The only real problem we had with the hotel was it\'s location - it is quite far out of Paphos town and harbour, which is a real shame. There is a bus service until 6pm, but you have to walk up to the main road otherwise it\'s taxis, which are quite expensive - about

Tour Operator: Boyfriend

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
1 stars
Share