42 independent reviews of the Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
Address: Posidonos Avenue Cy 8102, Paphos, Cyprus
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel Location
Ranked #8 of 61 hotels in Paphos


4/5
Alexander The Great Beach Hotel Alexander The Great Beach Hotel is rated 4.17 out of 5 from 42 Reviews
88% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (42 reviews)

Cleanliness 5 stars
Entertainment 3 stars
Food 4 stars
Service 4 stars
Location 5 stars

Alexander The Great Beach Hotel Reviews

5/5
5

Gina Ioannou stayed at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel in May 2010
one of the best hotels in cyprus. amazing place, very nice and a staff always smiling and polite, available to help you with anything, any thime of the day! cleaned 3 times in a day the room!!!!!!!! each time serve either fruits, drinks and chocolates as a welcome \'\'gift\'\'! great food, warm and fresh! excelent hotel!

Tour Operator: top kinisis

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Lisa visited the Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, Paphos, Cyprus in June 2009
We were planning our wedding in cyprus and originally intended to stay in the Nissi Bay area. We discussed our plans with our travel agent who has relatives in Paphos. She suggested the Alexander the Great Hotel and said it was a perfect choice for a wedding. My Husband and I are extremely indecisive so decided to go for it as we were only basing our choice on a brochure!
We are so glad we chose this hotel for our wedding as it couldn\'t have been any better. The staff were helpful, but not intrusive. The wedding itself was out of this world. All of our family and friends commented on the setting and food provided. Yiannis, the food and beverage manager catered for our every need. We had a complimentary meal from the hotel in their a la carte restaurant ...
which was excellent.
The location, staff, weather, food and experience of this holiday was the best of our lives.
Anyone considering Paphos for a wedding should go here, you will not regret it!
My only negative comment would be that is not really a hotel for kids. My 4 year old did enjoy it but there were not many other children at the hotel.

Read More

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Alexander visited the Alexander The Great Beach Hotel in March 2009
We stayed in the Alexander the Great for the first time and we had a great holiday.
I had lost my father not long before and just wanted a peaceful break with nice surroundings / people and the hotel provided all of this.

It is very central with geat staff but the one big problem is the openair disco across the road and the boy racers with loud cars until 4am.

I would stay again but only with a seaview away from the noise.

Tour Operator: Thompsons

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Andy & Alison Gratton visited the Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, Paphos, Cyprus in December 2008
Visited this hotel for the second time last year. We have been to this are many times before. The Hotel is very good and cannot be faulted. It is ideally located; convenient for everything; Bar Street if you like that sort of thing, and the harbour area which is excellent.
there are lots of very good restaurants nearby - but you may have to walk a few hundred yards for some of them.
Unfortunately there is a disco accross the road which plays very very loud music until about 4.00am. When we were there we were woken by this. In the morning we were told by staff that the police had been called because of complaints about the noise.
As far as we are aware, this nuisance has not gone away, consequently we will not be staying here again. Very sad.

Tour Operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

Bayliss had a holiday at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, Paphos, Cyprus in July 2008
Alexander the Great. Arrived late sat night and had the lovely sound of the open air disco across the road. Dont ask for side view or front view as you will definatley hear the disco at least 4 nights it was in use over the week we were there. Sea view is best.

Balcony was small but room was lovely and clean and the beds very comfortable. We ate out everynight and recommend you buy nibbles/ice creams across the road as the pool bar expensive.

Out door pool very warm indoor one was used to keep cool in. Liked the idea of keeping the same sun bed all week and having clean sun bed towels from the hotel everyday. Sadly die to the disco it has put us off choosing this hotel again.

Tour Operator: Olympic
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

Pip & Linda had a holiday at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, Paphos, Cyprus in June 2008
With the departure of Onoufrio (General Manager), Kanika have promoted Fanos (Assistant Mgr) to take his place. The result is a General Manager (who unlike his predecessor) cannot be bothered to talk to or even acknowledge the hotel guests, and doesn\'t inspect the hotel to ensure it\'s high standards are being maintained,(much the same as when he was assistant mgr).
The result is over-growing plants and hedges, the glass roof of the indoor-pool is filthy dirty, and all the little touches that made this hotel a great one are starting to disappear. This was my 18th consecutive year in this particular hotel, and now may be my last as standards are now beginning to drop due to the aforementioned managers (in my opinion) incompetence.

Tour Operator: Portland

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Miss W had a holiday at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, Paphos in October 2007
We arrived at the hotel late afternoon and were greeted by a welcome drink whilst we filled in the usual forms. We were then shown to our room which was luxurious with 2 double beds a tv phone hair dryer and a balcony which looked onto the road. We often sat around the pool or if you spoke to the kind deck chair man you could reserve a sun lounger for the week which over looked the sea view.Across the road was a lovely bakery which sells lovely bagettes for lunch and cakes! The entertainment was good with a pool side quiz during the late afternoon and karoke in the evenings in the bar next to reception. Happy hour was also great between 8-9pm and 3-4pm at the pool bar. The walk into town isnt too far either walking on ...
the sea front or the main road. There are lots of nice resturants in the town centre and the usual burger king and KFC. The weather was average for october but we had the odd spell of showers. i would defentatly return back to Alexander the great hotel great for families and couples i wouldnt reccomend the hotel for the elderly or disabled.

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Catherine & Phil had a holiday at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, Paphos in August 2007
The hotel is in a prime position for Paphos town and Bar Street and we would definately return there. I didn\'t like the pool bar and found we could eat in the Laminaki restaurant in lovely srroundings for about thesame price. My only gripe was about my room allocation. We paid for a full sea view and ended up in room 11. Room 11,13,15,17 are situated above the indoor pool which has a plastic dome covering it. as the rooms mentioned are on the ground floor, unless you stood up on the balcony, all you could see was the dome.....not very happy. Also the balconys are tiny and only just big enough for 2. Apart from that, great food and staff and really relaxed. The kids club didn\'t make much effort with the children, basically dvd\'s and t shirt painting once.

Tour Operator: Olympic

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Jane visited the Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, Paphos, Cyprus in July 2007
Hotel was clean and friendly, Food was good in restaurants of a lunch time,(big portions)if you want small amount share one meal or get a starter. The food in the evening was good if it was a buffet which was outside, but the sit down menu was poor,so went out to eat those nights. The out door pool was hotter than the indoor pool, so spent a lot of time in the indoor pool to cool down. Sun beds were around the pool area, or overlooking the sea on the grass, or a few on the beach, you keep the same sunbeds for the time you stay. Hotel rooms were kept clean, bath towels were changed every day, and pool towels were changed every day as well.

Tour Operator: Thompson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Sara and Denny visited the Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, Paphos, Cyprus in April 2007
Stayed at this hotel on bed/breakfast basis.

The hotel was always kept to a high standard of cleanliness in all areas and the rooms to were of a good standard plenty of space fabulous views from sea veiw rooms book these if you can it will be worth it fab sunsets.

The breakfast at this hotel is an amazing experience you name it they had it also free flowing coffee bought to your table instead of carrying through a busy breakfast room its so much better this way, other hotels should follow suit. Didn't have any other meals at the hotel as there are so many great places to eat out every night

Great location as you are near to all local amenities,central position.

The staff are all very friendly and helpful they are there to please you after all.

We didn't attend any entertainment ...
that was laid on for guests as we prefer to go out in the evenings for nice meal and a good walk after to burn off all the calories!
Places to eat ZA-ZA, SUNBOW for that special meal with lots of attention to detail these are the best in my opinion. Towards the harbour area you will find ADELAIDA the portions are massive and very good value for money set meals include a free bottle of wine even this was very enjoyable. At lunch time we always went to OASEN very good choices on the lunch menu good value to.

For all your day trips use WEST END TRAVEL all trips 50% cheaper than reps.

A very good tip exchange your money in Cyprus you get more for the pound opposite the hotel best rates.

I would visit this hotel again as we had such a wonderful time with no problems at all, you even get to pick your own sunbeds, brilliant idea.

IT\'S WORTH EVERY PENNY.

Read More

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

U2fan stayed at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, Paphos, Cyprus in October 2006
Our first impressions of the hotel were good - the staff were friendly and organised; and the Reception area was very nice, with lots of comfortable sofas and chairs overlooking the pool/sea.

With Portland Direct, you automatically get a \"Side Sea View\" room. I\'d read that these are at the back of the hotel adjacent to a busy main road, so as Portland Direct weren\'t able to upgrade us to the full \"Sea View\" we emailed the hotel direct to see if they were able to upgrade us. The hotel emailed back within a few hours to say that they were fully booked but they\'d try to accomodate our request when we arrived. When we checked in, they informed us that we\'d be able to upgrade us to a \"Superior Sea View\" room the following day for

Tour Operator: Portland Direct

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Mrs Alexander had a holiday at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, Paphos, Cyprus in October 2006
The hotel is in a very good location, and if you have a sea view room you can see the castle from your balcony. You are able to walk down the beach path at the back of the hotel that takes a 20 minute walk to the harbour.

The food was reasonable, but there was no wow about it.

Entertainment was good, however I did feel that they catered for adults only, and not families. It would have been nice if they had some type of entertainment outside to cater for families.

This was our second stay at tehe hotel. The first time was as honeymooners, and the second as a family. Altough it may be a while before we stay at the hotel for a while, because of the entertainment. My husband and I will definately go back ...
in years to come. We found it to be a really good hotel, and one to recommend, because of its location, cleanliness, and most of all allocated sunbeds.

Read More

Tour Operator: Portland

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Diane Walker Farrar visited the Alexander The Great Beach Hotel in July 2006
We stayed in hotel Alexander the Great during the summer 2006 and it was quite possibly the best holiday our family have ever had.

Everything about the hotel was just perfect : the location, the staff, the views, the pools, and sunbeds etc - these were allocated on arrival and you kept the same ones all holiday.

The hotel was suitable for all ages and our two teenagers enjoyed bar street in the evening. The location is such that you can either walk into Paphos or along the coastal path in the opposite direction.

There is a fantastic selection of very good quality restaurants within a 10 - 15 mins walk in either direction and the evening entertainment was good.

All the members of staff in all departments were very pleasant and to be honest there wasn\'t anything that we ...
could fault with the holiday and are booking again for summer 2007

Read More

Tour Operator: travelcare

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Ian had a holiday at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, Paphos in June 2006
The best things about this Hotel are: - the Sun bed allocation system which takes away the annoying early morning race for Sun beds.

The countless staff who are very nice, and the close proximity of both Beach and Shops.

The worst things are: - It is extremely noisy at night if you get a \'side sea view\' because there is an open air rooftop Nightclub opposite, and the local \'Boy Racers\' burn up and down the main road constantly. Also if you want some evening entertainment with the special themed evening meal, which is not cheap, with it being outside there is not a No-Smoking area.

The Gym could do with some maintenance and decorating, as there were a few \'broken\' controls on machines and the Air Con.

Tour Operator: Portland

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Adrian Smith stayed at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel in April 2006
My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks over Easter, from the 8th to 22nd of April.

Having read all the reviews on this site I agree with points in most of them, but people must take into account differing tastes and age groups.

Firstly, I think that this hotel is absolutely excellent but is probably best for middle aged and older people rather than young families. I say this largely because the entertainment, despite what some people have written, is excellent for hotel entertainment but is definitely aimed at the older generation.

The hotel is beautifully furnished and decorated,and although from the front it is nothing special to look at from the back the architecture is great, with imitation ancient greek features. The huge lobby is very opulent and opens onto a nice terrace and a good bar.

The ...
sunbathing and pool area is beautifully landscaped, with grassed areas, paved paths, fountains and artificial waterfalls. There are both an inside and an outside pool plus a childrens pool. The idea of allocated sunbeds is a good one as it means you have beds available whenever you want in the same place and nobody else can claim them. The sunbed attendant was friendly and cheerful as were all the staff, but we felt that some of the beds and chairs were well in need of replacement, though all were seviceable.

There were several eating places. We went bed and breakfast but chose to eat most nights in the buffet restaurant. The breakfast dining room was seperate from this and one could eat outside too at breakfast. This place was also used at lunchtime, and there was a pool bar too, or one could order food on the terrace or in the lobby, the waiters and waitresses patrolled constantly and were very efficient.

All the staff were very friendly and cheerful.I noticed the housekeeper Sofia mentioned in an earlier review and agree with everything said about her, she was delightful and one of the few true Cypriots working there. Most of the staff were immigrant workers, Polish, Russian, Greek etc, and all very good.

Niggles are minor.The food was not as good as some places we have stayed but was still OK.One of the managers, reception area I believe, was rude to a couple we had made friends with because they asked to change to a sea view room. He told them bluntly that these rooms were for people who had pre booked and payed extra, although they had never been told there was an option to do this and had already said they were willing to pay extra. He butted in when one of his staff was already dealing with them and was quite rude, then refused to offer any apology. I think he was the exception rather than the rule but even so it only takes one bad apple.

The road outside is very busy and bad to cross safely. Not the hotels fault but be warned.

The sunbed area ends in a sheer drop to the beach, only about 20 feet or so but high enough to injure someone if they fell over and there is no railing of any kind. Again, not the place for young children.

At dinner time you have to stand at the door of the restaurant and be shown to a table. That\'s fine by me, but they also expect you to do it at breakfast, which is annoying and unnecessary. I felt that the hotel had too many chiefs and not enough indians at times.

There are a large number of cats living in the hotel grounds, many very friendly. This is not the place for you if you have a cat phobia or allergy, but great if you are a cat lover. The hotel asks guests not to feed the cats but many do as there is no sign they get fed elsewhere. The supermarkets across the road sell dry food quite reasonably priced.

We would definitely stay here again. We were very impressed with the place. It\'s walking distance to the harbour and the archeological site where you can see stunning mosaics from 1700 years ago, and a quick bus ride to the old town and the market. The hotel also runs morning trips, very cheaply, to places of interest. Check these out as they go to many of the places the more expensive trips take in. I particularily recommend the one to the mosaic workshop and the winery, but the one to Yeroskipou to see the pottery and the sweet factory is also very good.

A hotel for older people in my opinion but a really good one. Disabled are well looked after too.Well worth it\'s 4 stars

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5

Angela visited the Alexander The Great Beach Hotel in April 2006
WOW! This hotel exceeded our expectatations by far. The Alexander the Great Hotel is situated close to Kato Paphos (the tourist area), and bars, restaurants and clubs are within 5 - 10 minute walk.

The hotel was throughly clean, and the maids were always polite and friendly. The night service come in and turn down your beds, and lay out your pj\'s etc, leaving alittle chocolate or sweet on your pillow every night - the kids loved this.

The food was excellent, the only disappointment was that we booked half board buffet meals, and the meals were buffet on occasional nights and table d\'hote on other nights. We would have preferred buffet meals for the duration of our stay. That said, with the numerous bars, cafes and restaurants on your doorstep, I would definitley recommend B&B. If ...
you decide one night not to go out then you can always eat in the hotel at a cost of 12.00CP

Situated just 10 minutes from the harbour and fort, it really is in an xcellent location. Taxi\'s are cheap enough with an average cost of a taxi from one end of Paphos to the other (along the strip) costing approx 4.00CP but get a price before you jump in. Buses are frequent, clean and cheap. Again one end of the strip to the other 0.70c

The staff at the hotel were brilliant, and I would like to mention the following staff.

Chris (down by the pool) sorts out the sunbed allocation system. You see Chris the day after your arival and he will show you a map of the pool and beach area, depending on what is available he willallocate your sunbeds, and parasol, and put your room number on them. These are yours for the duration of your stay, unless you want to move of course! This is a brilliant system, and I wish other hotel would introduce this system. We went off to the harbour for a morning stroll as it was a bit grey. We got back to our sunbeds and 12.30 and they were empty! FANTASTIC!

Monica - Pool Bar, always a smile and time for a chat

Restaurant Staff - Nikkos, Constantina and Stavros, all happy and cheerful.

Reception - Yiannis, who helped me out of a tricky situation.

The entertainment was limited for children, although we were slightly out of season. The adults were taken care of.

Read More

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

R Csatlos stayed at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel in October 2005
The Hotel location was fantastic and well worth paying extra for a full sea view room. Sun Bed allocation brilliant idea - and we changed our beds, by the pool the first week and sea view the second!

Our chambermaid definately needs a mention - Sofia. She was lovely and really helpful and proud of her work.

Breakfast was enjoyable - I loved the waffles and my son loved the pancakes (on alternate days)!

Outside pool was a bit chilly for my liking, but the indoor one was fine.

Not a lot of entertainment going on in the evening, especially for younger ones - however it did not seem to bother my 7 year old too much as he had been so busy on the beach/doing touristy things during the day, by the time we had had our meal out, we were ...
just happy to sit in the lobby area on the really comfy sofas and order a few cocktails/coffee and play card games.

The rooms were comfy and spacious and we would recommend this hotel for anyone planning to go to Cyprus for the first time wanting a bit of luxury. Its location was ideal, as beachfront, close to restaurants, easily walkable to harbour area (10-15minutes), and the world heritage sites.

Only disappointment was that on two nights no-one came to turn down our beds and leave a chocolate on our pillow!!!

My son enjoyed the advantage of the sweets in the bowl at reception - having one on the way out somewhere and another on our return! He also enjoyed the table tennis (free) and pool table (50 cents).

I enjoyed a back/shoulder massage - which was truly rough, but was the best I have ever had.

Expensive hotel - but worth every penny.

Read More

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5

The Springs visited the Alexander The Great Beach Hotel in August 2005
We have just returned from this hotel and am glad to say we agree with the majority of comments on this site. This is one of the best hotels we have stayed in and it deserves every one of its 4 stars and perhaps more!

Upon arrival we entered our room, which was a nice surprise. We opted for the standard room, but from the balcony found we had a side seaview. Our room overlooked the road, but we didn\'t find it too noisey as there were two patio doors to block any additional noise. The room looked as though it had recently been refurbished, with nice carpeted floor and wallpaper on the walls. The furniture was in good condition also.

This hotel couldn\'t be in any better position. You have the best of both worlds ...
- right on the beach and a nice pool overlooking the sea. Also, the main strip of restaurants and bars is literally 2 minutes walk.

We didn\'t eat in the hotel, apart from breakfast. This was included in the price and such a wide variety was on offer. However, we couldn\'t normally eat that much so generally stuck to cereal, toast, waffles and fresh fruit. There was the normal bacon, sausages, eggs, etc and also a healthy counter with all low fat stuff!!

We went to a different restaurant every night in the resort and we didn\'t have one bad meal. Phivos on the opposite side of the road offer a set 3-course meal for cy

Read More

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

pat and vic visited the Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, Paphos, Cyprus in July 2005
Clean and reasonably friendly, we were only bed and breakie but that was very nice and a good selection and plenty of choice.

Sunbed allocation was an excellent idea, plenty of shade if we needed it. Amy our little girl loved the kids pool but it was too hot to be out in it for two long. If you are with young kids would advise not coming out in July and August as its well into the 30\'s.
Hotel was cool and restfull.

Scoured this site before going, and found many of the suggestions really helpful, and yes!! The sandwich bar come bakery was all you said it was... The English woman
Lesley made us feel we were old friends and made more useful suggestions on where to go and best places to dine.

Would def advise hiring a ...
car to get to see the Heritage sites and to visit the villages where it seemed time has stood still. Go to Fyti and Lefkara, we also went to Episkopi, not the army place but a tiny village not far away form the main drag.

Read More

Tour Operator: thompsons

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

Smiley stayed at Alexander The Great Beach Hotel, Paphos, Cyprus in June 2005
Wish everybody would chill about this hotel. It really is not all that.

Sure, sunbed system is great but what about the overbookings, the sheer volume of weddings, the lack and state of childrens play equipment, the incredibly poor entertainment, the cost of drinks, the incredibly busy road outside that takes you half hour to get across.

Our family were placed directly above the bar area - noise was a joke, complained - took 3 days to get moved - other families had similar problems. Tried to flog stays at sister hotel or travel to Egypt to ease overbookings.

Listen, we are a normal family ( mid thirties plus 3 year old) who wished and paid for a relaxing holiday in a full sea room and that is what we and you should expect.

I hope that you take this posting in ...
the spirit it is intended - a little balance please - one of the reasons for us staying here was reading all of these glowing reports before we booked.

This may sound contradictory, but we still had a good time, but that was driven by our relaxed outlook and some really cool people we met whilst we were there.

Oh, one final whinge - Paphos Airport is a real scream......but we are sure that you will all find that out for yourselves....................

Read More

Tour Operator: First Choice
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
4 stars
Share