Image of Alexander The Great Beach Hotel

Alexander The Great Beach Hotel

6 of 64 hotels in Paphos

4 out of 5 from 43 reviews
4 stars
Posidonos Avenue Cy 8102, Paphos, Cyprus
Overlooking a sandy beach and a few minutes from the centre of Paphos, this is a modern hotel in an excellent location. There is extensive and varied entertainment as well as numerous facilities, and it suits guests of all ages.

43 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    18
  • Very Good
    19
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Blindaoc
Still one of the best
This month
The excellent location with regards to the harbour still makes this one of the best hotels around and worth going on that basis alone. As you are near the harbour, the restaurants are very good and close by.

The hotel is clean, there were no issues with the room, the bed and bathroom was fine, our room even had a good iron and hairdryer which was amazing. The staff were very nice and as this what makes you want to return. We have been here three times now and after all the bad experiences you hear from people this just draws us closer to this hotel.

Positives are in abundance with the sun, location, staff, room, bed, amenities and the food. We actually went full board and during our 10 day stay we never had a bad meal once!

Travelled as a family June 2016
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Best At Travel

Recommended
Gina Ioannou
7 years 1 month ago
one of the best hotels in cyprus. amazing place, very nice and a staff always smiling and polite, available to help you with anything, any thime of the day! cleaned 3 times in a day the room!!!!!!!! each time serve either fruits, drinks and chocolates as a welcome ''gift''! great food, warm and fresh! excelent hotel!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: top kinisis

Recommended
Lisa
8 years ago
We were planning our wedding in cyprus and originally intended to stay in the Nissi Bay area. We discussed our plans with our travel agent who has relatives in Paphos. She suggested the Alexander the Great Hotel and said it was a perfect choice for a wedding. My Husband and I are extremely indecisive so decided to go for it as we were only basing our choice on a brochure!
We are so glad we chose this hotel for our wedding as it couldn't have been any better. The staff were helpful, but not intrusive. The wedding itself was out of this world. All of our family and friends commented on the setting and food provided. Yiannis, the food and beverage manager catered for our every need. We had a complimentary meal from the hotel in their a la carte restaurant which was excellent.
The location, staff, weather, food and experience of this holiday was the best of our lives.
Anyone considering Paphos for a wedding should go here, you will not regret it!
My only negative comment would be that is not really a hotel for kids. My 4 year old did enjoy it but there were not many other children at the hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Alexander
8 years 3 months ago
We stayed in the Alexander the Great for the first time and we had a great holiday.
I had lost my father not long before and just wanted a peaceful break with nice surroundings / people and the hotel provided all of this.

It is very central with geat staff but the one big problem is the openair disco across the road and the boy racers with loud cars until 4am.

I would stay again but only with a seaview away from the noise.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompsons

Recommended
Andy & Alison Gratton
8 years 6 months ago
Visited this hotel for the second time last year. We have been to this are many times before. The Hotel is very good and cannot be faulted. It is ideally located; convenient for everything; Bar Street if you like that sort of thing, and the harbour area which is excellent.
there are lots of very good restaurants nearby - but you may have to walk a few hundred yards for some of them.
Unfortunately there is a disco accross the road which plays very very loud music until about 4.00am. When we were there we were woken by this. In the morning we were told by staff that the police had been called because of complaints about the noise.
As far as we are aware, this nuisance has not gone away, consequently we will not be staying here again. Very sad.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Bayliss
8 years 11 months ago
Alexander the Great. Arrived late sat night and had the lovely sound of the open air disco across the road. Dont ask for side view or front view as you will definatley hear the disco at least 4 nights it was in use over the week we were there. Sea view is best.

Balcony was small but room was lovely and clean and the beds very comfortable. We ate out everynight and recommend you buy nibbles/ice creams across the road as the pool bar expensive.

Out door pool very warm indoor one was used to keep cool in. Liked the idea of keeping the same sun bed all week and having clean sun bed towels from the hotel everyday. Sadly die to the disco it has put us off choosing this hotel again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Olympic

9 years ago
With the departure of Onoufrio (General Manager), Kanika have promoted Fanos (Assistant Mgr) to take his place. The result is a General Manager (who unlike his predecessor) cannot be bothered to talk to or even acknowledge the hotel guests, and doesn't inspect the hotel to ensure it's high standards are being maintained,(much the same as when he was assistant mgr).
The result is over-growing plants and hedges, the glass roof of the indoor-pool is filthy dirty, and all the little touches that made this hotel a great one are starting to disappear. This was my 18th consecutive year in this particular hotel, and now may be my last as standards are now beginning to drop due to the aforementioned managers (in my opinion) incompetence.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Portland

Recommended
Miss W
9 years 8 months ago
We arrived at the hotel late afternoon and were greeted by a welcome drink whilst we filled in the usual forms. We were then shown to our room which was luxurious with 2 double beds a tv phone hair dryer and a balcony which looked onto the road. We often sat around the pool or if you spoke to the kind deck chair man you could reserve a sun lounger for the week which over looked the sea view.Across the road was a lovely bakery which sells lovely bagettes for lunch and cakes! The entertainment was good with a pool side quiz during the late afternoon and karoke in the evenings in the bar next to reception. Happy hour was also great between 8-9pm and 3-4pm at the pool bar. The walk into town isnt too far either walking on the sea front or the main road. There are lots of nice resturants in the town centre and the usual burger king and KFC. The weather was average for october but we had the odd spell of showers. i would defentatly return back to Alexander the great hotel great for families and couples i wouldnt reccomend the hotel for the elderly or disabled.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Catherine & Phil
9 years 10 months ago
The hotel is in a prime position for Paphos town and Bar Street and we would definately return there. I didn't like the pool bar and found we could eat in the Laminaki restaurant in lovely srroundings for about thesame price. My only gripe was about my room allocation. We paid for a full sea view and ended up in room 11. Room 11,13,15,17 are situated above the indoor pool which has a plastic dome covering it. as the rooms mentioned are on the ground floor, unless you stood up on the balcony, all you could see was the dome.....not very happy. Also the balconys are tiny and only just big enough for 2. Apart from that, great food and staff and really relaxed. The kids club didn't make much effort with the children, basically dvd's and t shirt painting once.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Olympic

Recommended
Jane
9 years 11 months ago
Hotel was clean and friendly, Food was good in restaurants of a lunch time,(big portions)if you want small amount share one meal or get a starter. The food in the evening was good if it was a buffet which was outside, but the sit down menu was poor,so went out to eat those nights. The out door pool was hotter than the indoor pool, so spent a lot of time in the indoor pool to cool down. Sun beds were around the pool area, or overlooking the sea on the grass, or a few on the beach, you keep the same sunbeds for the time you stay. Hotel rooms were kept clean, bath towels were changed every day, and pool towels were changed every day as well.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.