21 independent reviews of the Atlantica Golden Beach Hotel
Address: Kisanerga, P.o. Box 60323 Paphos 8102, Paphos 8102, Cyprus
Atlantica Golden Beach Hotel
Atlantica Golden Beach Hotel Location
Ranked #7 of 61 hotels in Paphos


4/5
Atlantica Golden Beach Hotel Atlantica Golden Beach Hotel is rated 4.19 out of 5 from 21 Reviews
86% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (21 reviews)

Cleanliness 5 stars
Entertainment 4 stars
Food 4 stars
Service 5 stars
Location 3 stars

Atlantica Golden Beach Hotel Reviews

5/5
5
"Superior Sea View Room "
Katie Axten visited the Atlantica Golden Beach Hotel in June 2014
Fantastic views and the bedroom was incredible! We had a Jacuzzi bathtub which was even better. Cleaned every day and the view from the balcony made it even better! The food was lovely and you had a different choice every night. Wonderful entertainment of an evening. I went with my boyfriend and it was our first holiday together and my first time abroad (certainly something I shall never forget!) Would recommend staying here but if not defiantly in Paphos. Holiday was incredible!

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5
"Excellent food, great entertainment and - NO KIDS!"
Shell stayed at Atlantica Golden Beach Hotel, Paphos in December 2012
We have a problem living in Cyprus (Limassol) that not many places offer cabaret type entertainment. Many hotels offer the obligatory singer/keyboard player but that isn't really what we want to see.

So when our friends mentioned the Thomson Gold hotels have this kind of stuff on tap we decided to give it a go and just spent a very good couple of nights at the Atlantica Golden Beach (near Kissonerga) in Paphos.

We booked 2 x standard twin rooms on Half Board basis for 2 nights via the Thomson UK website which equated to 270.62 for 4 people. We upgraded to the AI Drinks Package on arrival directly with the hotel at 14.90 per person per night.

We got tea & coffee making facilities delivered to our room as part of the AI package and as we are Atlantica Loyalty Club members, ...
we also received the fluffy dressing gowns, fruit and wine basket plus an optional Late Checkout. If you book direct with the Atlantica Group website you also get 20% discount but for us it was cheaper to book with Thomson.

The beds are very comfy and have memory foam mattresses which we found to be a little on the warm side. Flat screen TV with English channels, toiletries and a hairdryer are all part of the parcel.

The food was excellent with an amazing array of choice and very attentive staff in the restaurant. You have to wait to be seated in the dining room of an evening. And my favourite breakfast was catered to: Pancakes!

The evening entertainment on the first evening was fabulous with a resident duo (Jinx) and a guy who was flown in for the evening: Craig Harper who was on Britain's Got Talent in 2008 and performed the full version of this song on Wednesday 12 December at the Atlantica Golden Beach Hotel.

Sadly for us, it was a Cyprus Night for the entertainment so not very good planning on our part! But the singing duo was still there and Marcus who was the Thomson Gold resident entertainer kept everyone happy. He's moving on to Malaga very soon though.

We won the Bingo though, so no complaints!

Only one thing we found annoying and that's the weird button system on the bedroom doors for Room Service or not. The usual position for a switch is up for off and down for on. But be warned, that's not how some of the Room Service request buttons work! We never touched our buttons but it seems one was in the "Do Not Disturb" position and our room didn't get cleaned on Thursday. We only found out when we got back late in the afternoon to find a note under the door informing us the room wasn't cleaned because our button was in the on position.

A chat with the Reception got it fixed and the room was tidied plus fresh towels added by the time we returned again in the evening.

All in all, we had a great time and will definitely consider going back to this hotel again in the future or to one of the others in different parts of our island.


Read More

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

3/5
3

ivan visited the Atlantica Golden Beach Hotel in May 2010
The hotel has just had a refurb but still quite rough about the edges .It is located halfway between Paphos and Coral bay so you are stranded at night and need transport through the day which isnt a big problem. The food is ok and the beach taverner had just reopened .The staff are very freindly and attentive but unfortunately the entertainment is awful , UK and Hotel based .If you have been to this hotel in the last five years its the same acts with the same jokes, songs etc which is a great sheme as the hotel deserves better , but i do feel Thomson are cutting things to the bone especially in this department .

Tour Operator: thomson
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
1 stars

4/5
4

Joan Hordon had a holiday at Atlantica Golden Beach Hotel, Paphos in December 2008
We spent Christmas at this hotel and I can honestly say that it was the best Christmas ever. The staff are very professional and very friendly. They enjoyed Christmas as much as the hotel guests. The hotel is superb in every way, hotel rooms excellent, food, I would give an exellent plus. Would have liked to spend Christmas 2009 at hotel, but due to lack of flights, couldn\'t do this. Looking forward to our next visit

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

Jo-anne Sissons stayed at Atlantica Golden Beach Hotel, Paphos in May 2008
We have just returned from a weeks stay at this hotel and I can honestly say it is fantastic - we enjoyed every minute.

We booked half board, but on arrival we were offerred the chance to upgrade to all inclusive which can either be the drinks package at 17 Euro per person per day or 24 Euro ppd for lunch and snacks as well. This was well worth it as you can spend a great deal of money on soft drinks alone during the day as it is so hot!

The hotel is spotlessly clean and the room was fine with nice views over the pool and sea.

The food was out of this world. Everything you could think of for breakfast. Omlettes of your choice were cooked to order.

Lunch was set in a lovely outdoor taverna overlooking the ...
sparkling sea.

The evening meal was superb every night with a great choice of Greek dishes as well. As an added bonus you can dine once per stay free of charge in the A La Carte restaurant in the hotel which made the night extra special.

The hotel staff were very friendly and obliging. The Thomson entertainment team were excellent also. The evening entertainment was standard - the type you get anywhere in the Med.

The downside to this hotel is that it really is in the middle of nowhere - although you may see this as a plus if you want a get away from it all relaxing time. It cost about 15 Euro in taxi into Paphos and buses are regular and cheap.

The beach is a let down and can hardly be called a \'golden beach\' it is just a little scrap of pebbly sand. However this did not bother us as the pool is lovely with sunbeds aroud the pool and on the grassed areas.

We will definately be returning to this hotel in the near future.

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
1 stars

4/5
4

mr.&mrs.Crawley visited the Atlantica Golden Beach Hotel, Paphos in October 2007
The staff at this hotel were excellent and could not do enough to help you. The food was excellent with a huge choice of dishes to choose from.
The rooms were quite adequate but the bathroom could have done with a re-furb. The hotel is situated a few miles north of Paphos but the bus service is very good and we never waited more than 15 minutes for a bus.
It costs the same 80c if you travel 1 mile or 20! It takes about 15 minutes to get to Paphos harbour by bus. Beware of ticket touts in Paphos we were
approached several times by people on scooters and on foot with promotional tickets to try and get you back to their headquaters and sell you dodgy timeshares and holiday clubs!
The entertainment at the hotel finished about midnight and this could be ...
heard clearly fronm the room as the show area is only tiny so the doors are left open so people can hear it sitting outside.
The air con was turned off on the 1st of November as this was officially the winter season but the temperature was 27c during the day!
So it was very warm trying to sleep at night!
All in all a good hotel in a quiet area.



Read More

Tour Operator: Portland

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

3/5
3

JJ visited the Atlantica Golden Beach Hotel, Paphos in October 2007
The hotel is not awful, but it is not 4T+. If you are expecting a wonderful beach you will be disappointed

Tour Operator: Thomson
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
3 stars

3/5
3

Eddie and Sue Noone stayed at Atlantica Golden Beach Hotel, Paphos, Cyprus in September 2007
On arrival hotel was lovely and clean . However when we checked into our room it smelt of smoke and looked tired . Indeed much of the hotel looked tired .
Our biggest disappointment was the food . We expected this to be good , but found it to be very average .
Overall felt hotel fell short of standard expected from a Thompson Gold hotel .

Tour Operator: Thompson
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

Davies stayed at Atlantica Golden Beach Hotel, Paphos, Cyprus in April 2007
Lovely hotel, good food but there could be more choice although the quality was excellent.

Staff and service was first class.

We paid for a superior room but the bathroom was very small and poorly lit. Although we were AI in a superior room we had to pay extra for safety deposit box and use of the fridge in our room, this has not been our experience in previous hotels eg Riu etc.

Overall we had a very enjoyable holiday.

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
2 stars

5/5
5

sandra had a holiday at Atlantica Golden Beach Hotel, Paphos, Cyprus in December 2006
We went to the Atlantica for New Year and had a fantastic time.

We have been on Thomson gold before in Cala D

Tour Operator: thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5

Stevie stayed at Atlantica Golden Beach Hotel, Paphos in November 2006
We stayed in the Atlantica Golden Beach Hotel for 1 week in November. We travelled with another couple and had a great week - even though the weather wasn\'t fantastic. We were All Inclusive - booked before we went - and it was well worth it. At this time of year all meals were served in the restaurant, but it was a good size, nicely decorated and always clean. There was always plenty of choice of food - probably too much as we all came home slightly heavier. The drinks on the All Inclusive were also very good - even though it was all local spirits/beers/wines, you really couldn\'t tell any difference and we sampled them all!

Even though the hotel is outside of Paphos, there are 2 supermarkets within a short walking distance and also a couple of restaurants. However, ...
because the food was so good in the hotel, we never needed to venture out. There is also a good bus service which runs in both directions and taxis were reasonable as well.

When we arrived the summer entertainers were finishing and mid week the new winter entertainers took over. Didn\'t really think much of the summer entertainers - found them a bit patronising, but Liam, Adam and Sarah that took over were fantastic. We never laughed so much, as they were fun, friendly and down to earth.

The reps in the hotel were also very friendly and helpful. our boat trip was cancelled due to bad weather but they helped arrange a hire car immediately for us so we went of on our travels across the island. Well worth doing this as it\'s pretty easy to find your way around and there are plenty of places to visit. Just beware of the local drivers ( a bit mental)and the speed cameras.

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

alan mcallister stayed at Atlantica Golden Beach Hotel, Paphos in October 2006
me and my wife linda stayed in the atlantica beach hotel for the fourth time in oct 07 and found it just as clean each time and the staff always polite and helpful also met a lot of people on each visit and had some good times there the restaurant manager george ( mr cara sperus man ) is very helpful and attentive i am only not going for the fifth time because we are trying the atlantica bay in limassol as achange and just pray it meets the standards set at the beach i would not hesitate to go back again anytime ( my wife would live there)

Tour Operator: tui

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

mrs d brittain stayed at Atlantica Golden Beach Hotel, Paphos, Cyprus in September 2006
We went out to the Atlantica Golden Beach to attend our sons wedding in Paphos. We had a bad start we had room 120, as we had paid supplement for a partial sea view room, but our room was overlooking waste ground and if you looked to the left there was a busy main road to coral bay and if you looked to the right the view of the sea was blocked by trees and a satellite dish.

as well as this the room had a big burn in the carpet and the beds where broken and the room smelt strongly of cigarettes, this was not what we had expected for a Thompson gold hotel and where very disappointed.

we reported this to reception and the beds were mended straight away we asked to move rooms but as the hotel was ...
fully booked we had to stay in it for four days after which we moved to another room. The other room was a big improvement on 120 the hotel staff and the holiday reps Ellie and Shaunie are very helpful and friendly we would go as far to say that the staff at the Atlantica Golden Beach are the heart of the hotel.

food is wonderful and once a week they had gala meals with every food you can think of I love fresh fish and the salmon and tuna where my favourites. I do not like to sound negative because I believe each holiday is different and a holiday is what you make it.

On the subject of sun beds if you go when we went in September the hotel was busy and there was not enough sun beds for the amount of guests many people commented on this and found themselves having to get up 7am to reserve a sun bed which we British are not used to doing. It seems unfair to do that but if you did not you had no chance by 9am all beds had gone the pool did get a little crowded at times due to the volume of people staying there.

All in all though apart from room 120 and having to reserve a sun bed it was a comfortable and pleasant hotel. The food was outstanding as are the staff they did every thing in their power to make your stay a pleasant one. One more thing on our your last night the maids come round and present you with a couple of coconut sweets and a single red rose bud with a little message of thanks from the hotel which was a nice touch to the end of your holiday, and on departure some of the management team come to wave and see each and every coach off.

Read More

Tour Operator: portland

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
2 stars

5/5
5

Rachel stayed at Atlantica Golden Beach Hotel, Paphos in July 2006
What can I say..... Fantastic! My boyfriend and I spent 11 nights at the Atlantica and loved every minute of it.

The hotel was immaculate and they could not do enough for you. The food was great, there was something different every day and we were never bored.

The staff were brilliant. George, the restaurant manager was great. My boyfriend was taken ill whist we were they (nothing to do with hotel, might I add!) and he even sent up little packed lunch boxes to him in the room. T

he entertainment was brilliant. Suzanne and Camille are the two entertainment reps and without them it would have not been the same. They certainly work hard for their money. The other guests in the hotel were very friendly and you could not ask ...
for a nicer hotel or nicer people.

We would definitely recommend this hotel and are even thinking of going back again in October.

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomson's

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5

Dave Winn had a holiday at Atlantica Golden Beach Hotel in June 2006
This is the best hotel we have stayed in for several years.There is nothing to fault it.

Food excellent variety and plentiful. Staff polite and very obliging.

Rooms well furnished and very clean.Entertainment good,patricularly the daily 4.oopm quiz which was a laugh.

The manager and staff even wave you off when you leave.Top class.

Tour Operator: Thompson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Gill C7 visited the Atlantica Golden Beach Hotel, Paphos in April 2006
We upgraded to AI on arrival this cos us

Tour Operator: Thomson Gold

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

5/5
5

Leanne had a holiday at Atlantica Golden Beach Hotel, Paphos, Cyprus in October 2005
We visited this hotel when we got married in paphos in October 2005. We stayed for 2 weeks and have never stayed in a Thomson Gold hotel before.

It was fab, staff, cleanliness, food, entertainment, was excellent!! Well worth the visit!!

The only thing that was bad (just a little) was the location, its set a little bit out from paphos harbour where all the shops and markets are, but it was easy just to hop on the bus to get there.

Everything you need is in the hotel. I would def consider going to this hotel again, it was fab!!!!

Tour Operator: Thomson Gold

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

Emma Perry had a holiday at Atlantica Golden Beach Hotel, Paphos in September 2005
Me and my partner stayed here for our wedding Sep 2005, it was a fantastic hotel would recommend to anyone. It was clean and the staff were very friendly and made you feel very welcome. Its quite a \"posh\" hotel and we are not posh at all but they made you feel welcome none the less!

We upgraded to AI once arrived - def. cheaper than doing it before you get there. On our wedding night they sprinkled petals all over our room, gave us a bottle of champagne and generally treated us incredibly well.

The only downside is location, its in the middle of nowhere which is fine if you are looking for a lovely relaxed holiday there is a bus stop right outside the hotel.

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

Robert Clark had a holiday at Atlantica Golden Beach Hotel, Paphos in August 2005
We stayed at the Atlantica Golden Beach hotel on our honeymoon at the end of August beginning of September 2005. It was superb, that is the only word for it.

The hotel arranged a taxi transfer from the airport and it took about 30 minutes with a very friendly and chatty taxi driver who was waiting for us in arrivals and helped my wife with her baggage.

On arrival at the hotel we where met on the front steps by both a porter and a receptionist. The porter took out luggage straight from the boot of the taxi and the receptionist welcomed us and showed us up to a welcome reception room where they had laid on coffee, juice, cakes and pastries as well as much appreciated comfy chairs. There they explained everything we needed to know about the hotel, how ...
the all inclusive worked and answered any questions we might have on a one to one basis; they also gave us a large envelope of hotel and local information including bus timetables. They then showed us, again on a one to one basis to our room.

We had a superior room with a full sea view which was well worth the money, uninterrupted views of the sea crashing over rocks from our balcony. As previously mentioned other rooms may look our away from the sea and onto a busy road. The room it self was of a decent size, massive Queen size double bed, cushioned wicker furniture, cushioned balcony furniture also, mini bar which was actually not unreasonable priced (or fridge for supplement), controllable air con (all though always on full in August) safe (chargeable), large double and lit wardrobe, beach and bathroom towels, robes, slippers, wine, fruit, flowers (all though did not last very long), as we where on honeymoon there had even sprinkled rose petals all over the room which was a nice touch. The room is also sound proofed for a settled night. You also have access to room service and a laundry service. Our room was also cleaned at least once a day, if we had a siesta it was made up again while we where at dinner. The bathroom was a reasonable size with a bath tub and very powerful always hot shower, many superior aromatherapy toiletries in the bathroom as well. The room was also equipped with tea and coffee making facilities, a TV with cable including BBC World and CNN and another foreign but English speaking channel, there was also Pay Movies, there was a good quality CD/Radio HiFi in our room as well.

The facilities in the hotel where also outstanding. The main lobby area is very impressive with its towering columns interesting art and very comfortable sofas. There is a reasonable gift shop in this lobby which sells the usual gifts, tea towels so on and also toilettes including sun cream, chocolate, sweets and crisps, inflatable sun beds, newspapers and magazines. There is also a broadband internet connected computer (50c for 15 minutes). There are two lifts as well. Just off the main lobby is a balcony area which looks over the pool and grass areas and into the open ocean. Connected to the lobby area is a bar which is very comfortable with deep sofas and the decoration of the room is very warm and sophisticated, great place to relax with a beer and a selection of snacks they offer here. It is, like the rest of the hotel, air conditioned so it

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

T & A stayed at Atlantica Golden Beach Hotel, Paphos, Cyprus in July 2005
We booked basis half board but took up the drinks option on arrival, cost about

Tour Operator: Thompson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
1 stars
Share