33 independent reviews of the Avanti Hotel
Address: Poseidon Avenue, PO BOX 61082, Pafo, Cyprus
Avanti Hotel
Avanti Hotel Location
Ranked #23 of 61 hotels in Paphos


4/5
Avanti Hotel Avanti Hotel is rated 3.82 out of 5 from 33 Reviews
91% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (33 reviews)

Cleanliness 5 stars
Entertainment 3 stars
Food 4 stars
Service 4 stars
Location 4 stars

Avanti Hotel Reviews

5/5
5

Jennifer stayed at Avanti Hotel, Paphos, Cyprus in May 2010
We arrived late in the evening so we a little disappointed when we thought we wouldn\'t have a chance to eat in the restaurant, but when we checked in the fantastic reception, Graham, told us he had arranged dinner and drinks in the restaurant! We certainly weren\'t expecting it!
Everyone in the hotel speaks excellent English, and are all extremely helpful. Graham on reception told us about the local sites, buses, best beaches, markets etc.
The rooms are all very spacious - double bed, table and chairs in our room with a balcony. Lots of storage space, and a nice bathroom. Towels were changed everyday and it was nice to have a complimentary kettle, cups and fridge. Free pool towels are provided from reception and are exchanged for clean ones each morning - very much liked this ...
as I didn\'t need to use my own!
The lagoon style pool and swim-up pool bar are both a treat! The pool bar and the normal bar both offered food during the day - a good selection on both menus. It was easy to put food, drinks etc on the room bill so you don\'t need to carry much money around with you.
Demetri in the Dioynis bar was lovely - all the staff were!
The food in the hotel is very good. There is a different themed night in the restaurant each night, i.e. Cyprus night specialising in Meze, Meditteranean night, Oriental night etc. Was good to try something different, although some nights not all of the dishes had signs on telling you what each dish was.
The entertainment was different each night, and there was entertainment for the children before the adult shows, i.e dancing, singers came on.
The hotel is an excellent location - just down the road from the Avanti Holiday Village where you can use the facilities for the day, and Captain Hook\'s Bar, where Nick and Jess work. There is a great selection of cocktails in this bar!!
This is a great hotel - extremely clean, friendly staff, good food - a must visit!

Read More

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Martin Spanswick visited the Avanti Hotel, Paphos in September 2008
This hotel was just perfect for our holiday in Cyprus. Situated within yards of some great bars and restaurants, but away from the main area of Pathos Harbour. Easy walking distance to the beach, the harbour and a bus stop right out side the hotel.

We had the most perfect pool view room which was immaculately clean and tidy. All staff were fantastic; very helpful and friendly. We only ate breakfast at the hotel, but there was a great choice and excellent quality.

The pool, with a swim up bar, was just heaven. We enjoy our sightseeing, but at the end of the day to come home to this pool and a cold beer while having a swim was the icing on the cake.

We always go on a different holiday each year. But if we could take this hotel ...
and the pool with us, we would.

Thank you to all who work there for a lovely time.

Read More

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Tony visited the Avanti Hotel, Paphos, Cyprus in June 2008
Some reports have said this hotel was tired, run down and in need of an upgrade, so we arrived not knowing exactly what to expect.
We need not have worried, the hotel merited its 4 * rating it was was clean, had good facilities and air con worked well as it was 38 C outside. Rooms well maintained for 20 year old hotel and a good size, beds were firm and comfortable as we like them. Good size balcony, we were upgraded to a pool & side sea view room as it was our wedding anniversary. The bottle of champagne on ice and bowl of fruit on arrival also a nice touch. Mini bar in the room at reasonable prices if required.
Breakfast was usual buffet style in the coffee shop and was of a good standard.
Would return to thgis hotel but ...
maybe in May or October as the heat was a bit restrictive at 38/40 C between 12 and 4pm. It made any exploration and site seeing uncomfortable.

Read More

Tour Operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
3 stars

2/5
2

c bowler had a holiday at Avanti Hotel, Paphos in September 2007
The hotel is clean and bright, rooms cleaned/made up every day. supposidly we booked a pool/sea view, got a pool view but i have no idea how any room here would have a sea view at all!
We only had breakfast once and there was a good selection of food.
Bar service was not good, either when you were at the bar or sat at one of the tables, we often had drinks brought to our table that were not ours and the waiters tried to convince us that they were!
The pool area is nice with a good pool area although i did notice that the actual pool was quite dirty with mud floating in it and there was an rather ominous looking scum line around the pool bar. The hotel seems to be a bit of a wedding factory (there ...
were at least two a day going on) and one day there was a greek wedding and everyone around the pool got asked to get up and leave so they could tidy up and put the sun loungers away!
Entertainment; god, just hope you can find something in the evening outside of the hotel because you don\'t get much in the hotel. Out of 7 nights there was only 1 night which was good and that was the hypnotist show. There was what i can only describe as a half-arsed effort to put on some bingo/quiz which lasted all of 5 mins and came across like it had been organised only 10mins before!
The reception staff we found to be quite rude and unhelpfull.
The location is not good, it is nowhere near the centre of paphos although there is a couple of bars/restaurants just outside the hotel which serve fairly good food. You have to get a taxi/bus if you want to got into paphos harbour.

Read More

Tour Operator: medhotels
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
3 stars

5/5
5

Lindsay stayed at Avanti Hotel in September 2007
When I arrived at the hotel I found that the receptionist was very nice and helpful. The hotel was very clean and tidy and got cleaned evryday which was nice. I did not eat at the hotel restaurant but from what I have heard the food was very good.

The hotel location is good because it is not very noisy around the outside and is not close to any night clubs or anything like that but there is restaurants around the hotel which are very nice and not very expensive but you can also walk into the centre of Pafos and it only takes about 10 minutes.

The hotel staff are very nice and helpful and do not moan at all.

The entertainment at the hotel I found was very very good.

There was something different on every night and it ...
was never boring. Also the People who did the entertainment Monika and Helena were very kind and entertaining and there is never a dull moment when they were doing the entertainment.

I would definitely visit this hotel again and I would recomend it to anyone it is a very relaxed atmosphere and there is something for everyone to do.

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomas cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

katie broughton visited the Avanti Hotel, Paphos in August 2007
I stayed at the Avanti for 2 weeks i really enjoyed it and i would definatly return in the future.
The staff are really friendly especially the entertainment staff they love children.
The hotel is so clean and as very nice surroundings.
The food is nice also we only stayed b&b so we only had breakfast but there is lots of varieties to choose from. We found a lovely restaurant across the road called jo\'s diner they do all home made cooking english food aswell as cypriot dishes they are delicious too. (VERY CHEAP TOO - 3 COARSE MEAL FOR

Tour Operator: my travel

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Alan had a holiday at Avanti Hotel, Paphos, Cyprus in August 2007
Avanti Hotel

Tour Operator: Expedia

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

3/5
3

julie martin visited the Avanti Hotel, Paphos, Cyprus in August 2007
We stayed at the Avanti Village apartments in Pathos. We were dissapointed on arrival to fine we did not have a porter to take us and our luggage to our room. It was quite a trek across the grounds in very hot temperatures and all very tired. If you arrive at night be warned, you could spend some time trying to find your room!
The room was spacious and comfortable, could do with a bit more wardrobe space though.
The pool was great, the kids loved it, be careful when walking in through the shallow end, it was very slippery, lost count of the number of people who fell.
Only ate once at the resteraunt, wasnt bad, didnt go back.
The staff were very helpful and Scott the rep was friendly and extremely helpful.
When you eat out, make ...
sure you go to the Cavalini resteraunt just down the road from the resort. It was lovely, the food and the service was second to none. If you like steak, then go to Flambe resteraunt in Pathos, highly recommended.
Overall, a good holiday, but would not go back to Pathos, been to Ayia Napa 4 times, much prefer it.

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomas cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

Andy and jackie visited the Avanti Hotel, Paphos in August 2006
On arrival the front of the hotel doesnt look up to much for a 4* hotel, however on entering the reception and lobby we soon changed our minds. It was lovely. Very spacious and air conditioned, which was badly needed as the temperature outside was in the 40s. We found the hotel to be exceptionally clean, rooms cleaned everyday, pool area very clean. the pool was one of the best I have been to, fantastic for small children as it is very shallow and doesnt get deeper for some way.
Breakfast was good, it was lovely to eat out on the terrace, there was lots of variety to choose from. My 3 year old loved the cats that sat amongst you, they werent a nuisance and you could feed them if you wanted. We did eat our evening meal in ...
the hotel restaurant a couple of times, if you get the voucher for half price meals, it works out cheaper than eating outside. The meals were excellent with lots of choice and good waiter service.
There are quite a few restaurants outside the hotel, The Ribshack to the back of the hotel was excellent although quite expensive. We found the Crocodile bar at the front good fun and if you like pub meals good value. They love children there, and our son insisted on going to eat there more than a few times. We did find a Macdonalds near the harbour.
I would have liked there to be a few more shops near to the hotel, as you had to travel to the harbour for this and it was a good walk. We got the bus which was 80 cents as it was too hot to walk. The harbour is a lovely area with loads going on, just beware of holiday touts with scratch cards.
Hotel staff were very friendly, always having a word with my small son. Reception were helpful if you wanted information or help. Cleaners too were cheerful and pleasant.
If there was one drawback to this hotel it was the entertainment in the evening, it was terrible. They had a couple of female vocalists who were dire, the singing went on for ever! Daytime activities was the usual kiddies stuff and the two women entertainers were lovely. It was the evening that put us right off. The hotel really needs to address this and provide some decent entertainment.
we would both visit this hotel again, if I heard that the evening entertainment had improved. the Avanti Hotel is a lovely hotel and we had a fab holiday, the weather was second to none.

Read More

Tour Operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
3 stars

3/5
3

Hayley Richards had a holiday at Avanti Hotel, Paphos, Cyprus in August 2006
This was ou first time at the Avanti hotel and our first impressions were very good.

The hotel and rooms were very clean and the staff were friendly.On our first night it was the childrens mini disco so we thought this would be very good if it happened every night, but, it wasn\'t. All we heard was supermarket music every night and got fed up of it.

The daytime entertainment was very good. The pool is quite big and very clean. There are a few cats that are wandering around (including kittens!)They are friendly and extremely cute.

If the entertainment improved I would definitely consider going back.

Tour Operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

Nokes visited the Avanti Hotel in July 2006
Our children were aged 12 and 7 so were placed in the same room as us. This did make for a very tight squeeze and a larger room would have been better however the rest of the what the holiday had to offer compensated.

We ate in the hotel 3 times and each time the food was excellant, not typical canteen style self service but easily 4 plus star waiter service with food served to the highest standard.

The pool was exceptional and very clean but more importantly great for children and adults.

Cheapest pool tables we have ever seen at only 50 cent per game, we were used to paying 2 euros on past holidays.

Only down side was cyprus as a whole was extremly expensive. In most cases you did get a high standard of service and a good quality of food ...
to out weigh the costs. But some basic stuff such as drinks and sandwiches were crazy prices. Watch out....

Read More

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

wendy wood stayed at Avanti Hotel, Paphos in June 2006
Just like to say this hotel is great food was good breakfast fab. Lots to choose from evening meal buffet and lots to choose from again,the evening in hotel not too bad but we went out most evenings and came back for drinks later bar close at 1 am pool very large.

Rooms cleaned every day you get clean towels every day and pool towels. We travelled with small childern and they have kids meals every night,outside the hotels there are lots of bars and restrants so if want to go bed and breakfast you can.

The pool bar is great and there a pool restaurant food ok here go to Fieasta by Avanti village its lovely. Great cheese burgers to get to harbour about 20min walk but nice walk. I would go back. We had a great family holiday there were 13 of us,

Tour Operator: thomas cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Emma C stayed at Avanti Hotel, Paphos in June 2006
We have just returned from a large family holiday staying at the Avanti.

The hotel is lovely, it is clean and well maintained.

The pools are fantastic, especially for little ones as there is a seperate childrens pool close to the main pool. I have a 5 year old and a 3 year old who wanted to be in different pools so I could see them both at all times.

We stayed half board so ate all our meals there, the food was excellent, so much choice and something different every night. The childrens menu was a bit plain, sausages, beans, chips and spaghetti with a different sauce each night, but seeing as my kids were happy to eat from the main buffet it wasn\'t a real problem.

The evening entertainment was not the best I had been too in the past, but bearing ...
in mind it was the height of the world cup, again it wasn\'t something that bothered us.

The rooms were large and very clean. The balcony we had over looked the outside of the resturant and looked out towards the sea, not that we saw much as we were out all day.

The staff were well presented, friendly and very helpful.

The only downside that I think the hotel needs to look at is breakfast time, there was no monitering of who was and wasn\'t eating and it appeared guests from all over were coming in for a free breakfast, not just those who had paid to be eating there!!!




Read More

Tour Operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

Lynn & Dave visited the Avanti Hotel, Paphos in May 2006
On arrival the hotel looks pretty unimpressive, it was the first stop from the airport and only four people from a full coach got off! - Once inside it got better, reception staff were really helpful, especially Helen who seems to work 24 hours a day.

Hotel was clean, spacious, room was ok, but for a 4* could have been better. Pool and grounds are lovely, very spaciously laid out and we never felt crowded.

Breakfast was very disappointing, fine if you want a fry-up, but if your looking for fresh fruit, yoghurts and selection of croissants you will be disappointed, often had to wait for cereal bowls & cutlery, we ended up going out for breakfast.

It is a fair walk to the port where there is a much better selection of bars and restaurants which ...
were surprisingly cheaper and better quality than around the hotel. A taxi costs 4 Cyprus pounds each way.

All the hotel staff were very friendly and approachable, entertainment wasn\'t for us, karaoke and live singers \'tie the yellow ribbon round the old oak tree\' it might be the time of the year. Most of the guests were retired or large family groups. Having said that we didn't see a cloud for a week and had a very relaxing time, although probably wouldn\'t go back.

Read More

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

David and Allison visited the Avanti Hotel in May 2006
My wife and I were at the Avanti Hotel the last two weeks of May.

We were not impressed by the outside when we arived as it looked slightly tacky when compared to other 4 star hotels in the area. It definately needs a coat of paint.

We were pleasantly surprised with other aspects of this hotel though. This hotel had friendy attentive staff, was clean with a nice airy reception and lounge, rooms that had new towels daily, nice pool area (and the pool was NOT cold) and large, pretty gardens.

We stayed B&B and were very happy with the breakfast. Unlike other comments, there was plenty of fresh fruit, plenty of croissants and plenty of yoghurt that was in two huge bowls in the chilled shelf and constantly topped up. (Oh both peach and strawberry yoghurts were to ...
die for)!

The only slight disappointments were the supposed pool view from the fourth floor which was a \"top of the trees view\" and the mini fridge that sounded like a steam train at idle all night. Both minor problems though.

We stayed B&B. The breakfast was very good. Unlike other comments, there was plenty of fresh fruit, plenty of yoghurt (in two big bowls) and plenty of croissants. We came down for breakfast early and late and all items were in abundance every morning.

Yes we would visit again. Not the best hotel but it passed the test very easily!

Read More

Tour Operator: Thompson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

David and Allison stayed at Avanti Hotel, Paphos, Cyprus in May 2006
My wife and I were at the Avanti Hotel the last two weeks of May.

We were not impressed by the outside when we arived as it looked slightly tacky when compared to other 4 star hotels in the area. It definately needs a coat of paint. We were pleasantly surprised with other aspects of this hotel though.

This hotel had friendy attentive staff, was clean with a nice airy reception and lounge, rooms that had new towels daily, nice pool area (and the pool was NOT cold) and large, pretty gardens.

We stayed B&B and were very happy with the breakfast. Yes there was enough for the die hard fry up addicts. Unlike other comments though, there was plenty of fresh fruit (either whole or pealed and sliced), plenty of croissants (near the far corner in a cabinet) and ...
plenty of yoghurt (that was in two huge bowls in the chilled shelf) and all were constantly topped up by staff the entire morning. (Oh both peach and strawberry yoghurts were to die for).

The only slight disappointments were the supposed pool view from the fourth floor which was more of a \"top of the trees view\" and the mini fridge that sounded like a steam train at idle all night. Both minor problems though.

We came down for breakfast early and late and all items were in abundance every morning.

Yes we would visit again. Not the best hotel but it passed the test very easily!

Read More

Tour Operator: Thompson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

Grove Family visited the Avanti Hotel, Paphos in May 2006
We were pleased with our room on the 4th Floor, it was above the reception overlooking the poolside of the hotel, although you couldnt see the pool. The room was a very good size and very clean.

Breakfast was the same every day, except one day it was mushrooms the next tomatoes. There were various yoghurts, cheese, ham, fruit, greek yoghurt & honey, cereals, toast with various types of bread, minature croissants, scrambled eff, fried egg, bacon mini sausages and baked beans. Tea coffee and fruit juices.

We went to the theme nights in the restaurant a few times and found that there was always plenty of starters, the main meal consisted of meat but not alot with it, and there seemed to be the same basic puddings. The childrens menu was very limited.

The pool area gets very ...
busy, but there are plenty of sunbeds. There are pool towels that you can use and at the end of the day take them back for washing. The area inbetweeen the main pool and the toddlers pool gets very slippery. There were alot of children going down with ear infections, so beware. There is also an inside pool which is like an icy plunge pool, and is not for the faint hearted!!!!

The Animation team consists of Monica and Helena, who do a brilliant job daily with french boules, archery, volley ball,table tennis, water polo and a aerobic session. They also do the kids mini disco at 9pm for 30 mins and sometimes bingo too.

The evening entertainment is dire, if I ever hear Shakin Stevens \'Oh Julie\' again I will scream!!!! There are various \'acts\' all as bad as each other.

The outside areas of this hotel have lots of steps, but we did see lots of wheelchairs and pushchairs who all seemed to manage to get around ok.

There are lots of howling cats too here, some have seen better days, but if you feed them, they come back in a gang.

The hotel does offer a laundry service which is very expensive, but just outside the hotel is a much cheaper one.

There is a pathway out to the main road by the pool, but at night it is not a lit up area and the pathway is not smooth. Also, there are various areas around the pool which have jagged steps.

Small children should always be watched in the evening as it is not too well lit up any where within the grounds.

All in all, this hotel should not be rated as a 4* just a 3*.


Read More

Tour Operator: First Choice
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
3 stars

3/5
3

roy blackwell stayed at Avanti Hotel in December 2005
Just got back for the new year.
The food was ok except for the xmas eve gala dinner,which was awful if you cant eat fish or do not like a la carte.
we had to buy food outside for the children each day as we were not informed that they could have had a chidrens menu till we were leaving.

When we complained the manager did not seem very concerned and the airtours rep was the same{not the young girl on site} but her boss.

In all some of the staff were superb it is the managers who should learn tact.
I will only stay at the Avanti if there is a major change of policy.


Tour Operator: airtours
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

bob and julie visited the Avanti Hotel, Paphos, Cyprus in October 2005
We went to the Avanti to get married it was a pleasure to stay there everything was lovely especially the wedding co-ordinator Sally she does lots of weddings but makes you feel like yours is the only one.

Our photos are beautiful as they were taken in the hotel grounds very picturesque.

The staff are very friendly the catering was excellent all round. It was an excellent start to married life and would reccomend it to all.

There was 22 of us all togeher and everyone of us were all impressed at the high standards

Tour Operator: direct holidays

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

paul had a holiday at Avanti Hotel in September 2005
We went out to Paphos for the first time for our wedding. Our party consisted of 10 adults and 2 infants.
Roms very tidy and well decored furniture etc, and maid service once a day.

We stayed half board and the meals were varied for the week with at least 8 different meals available each night in a buffet style. The breakfast was also very good.

The staff were very friendly towards us and they even kept our little one entertained at meal times. Around the bar,pool very clean rarely see rubbish left for more than 5 mins.

The hotel were brilliant in organising our reception for the wedding they sorted everything we required.

Daytime entertainment was varied inc. waterpolo,archery,and painting,football and games for the kids. evening entertainment was ok which included local actsand every other night a kids disco that kept the kids ...
going for half a hour.

Overall a very good experience, we would recommend this hotel.

Read More

Tour Operator: airtours

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars
Share