Image of Avanti Hotel

Avanti Hotel

29 of 63 hotels in Paphos

4 out of 5 from 33 reviews
4 stars
Poseidon Avenue, PO BOX 61082, Pafo, Cyprus

33 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    7
  • Very Good
    15
  • Good
    9
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Jennifer
6 years ago
We arrived late in the evening so we a little disappointed when we thought we wouldn't have a chance to eat in the restaurant, but when we checked in the fantastic reception, Graham, told us he had arranged dinner and drinks in the restaurant! We certainly weren't expecting it!
Everyone in the hotel speaks excellent English, and are all extremely helpful. Graham on reception told us about the local sites, buses, best beaches, markets etc.
The rooms are all very spacious - double bed, table and chairs in our room with a balcony. Lots of storage space, and a nice bathroom. Towels were changed everyday and it was nice to have a complimentary kettle, cups and fridge. Free pool towels are provided from reception and are exchanged for clean ones each morning - very much liked this as I didn't need to use my own!
The lagoon style pool and swim-up pool bar are both a treat! The pool bar and the normal bar both offered food during the day - a good selection on both menus. It was easy to put food, drinks etc on the room bill so you don't need to carry much money around with you.
Demetri in the Dioynis bar was lovely - all the staff were!
The food in the hotel is very good. There is a different themed night in the restaurant each night, i.e. Cyprus night specialising in Meze, Meditteranean night, Oriental night etc. Was good to try something different, although some nights not all of the dishes had signs on telling you what each dish was.
The entertainment was different each night, and there was entertainment for the children before the adult shows, i.e dancing, singers came on.
The hotel is an excellent location - just down the road from the Avanti Holiday Village where you can use the facilities for the day, and Captain Hook's Bar, where Nick and Jess work. There is a great selection of cocktails in this bar!!
This is a great hotel - extremely clean, friendly staff, good food - a must visit!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Martin Spanswick
7 years 8 months ago
This hotel was just perfect for our holiday in Cyprus. Situated within yards of some great bars and restaurants, but away from the main area of Pathos Harbour. Easy walking distance to the beach, the harbour and a bus stop right out side the hotel.

We had the most perfect pool view room which was immaculately clean and tidy. All staff were fantastic; very helpful and friendly. We only ate breakfast at the hotel, but there was a great choice and excellent quality.

The pool, with a swim up bar, was just heaven. We enjoy our sightseeing, but at the end of the day to come home to this pool and a cold beer while having a swim was the icing on the cake.

We always go on a different holiday each year. But if we could take this hotel and the pool with us, we would.

Thank you to all who work there for a lovely time.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Tony
7 years 11 months ago
Some reports have said this hotel was tired, run down and in need of an upgrade, so we arrived not knowing exactly what to expect.
We need not have worried, the hotel merited its 4 * rating it was was clean, had good facilities and air con worked well as it was 38 C outside. Rooms well maintained for 20 year old hotel and a good size, beds were firm and comfortable as we like them. Good size balcony, we were upgraded to a pool & side sea view room as it was our wedding anniversary. The bottle of champagne on ice and bowl of fruit on arrival also a nice touch. Mini bar in the room at reasonable prices if required.
Breakfast was usual buffet style in the coffee shop and was of a good standard.
Would return to thgis hotel but maybe in May or October as the heat was a bit restrictive at 38/40 C between 12 and 4pm. It made any exploration and site seeing uncomfortable.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
C Bowler
8 years 8 months ago
The hotel is clean and bright, rooms cleaned/made up every day. supposidly we booked a pool/sea view, got a pool view but i have no idea how any room here would have a sea view at all!
We only had breakfast once and there was a good selection of food.
Bar service was not good, either when you were at the bar or sat at one of the tables, we often had drinks brought to our table that were not ours and the waiters tried to convince us that they were!
The pool area is nice with a good pool area although i did notice that the actual pool was quite dirty with mud floating in it and there was an rather ominous looking scum line around the pool bar. The hotel seems to be a bit of a wedding factory (there were at least two a day going on) and one day there was a greek wedding and everyone around the pool got asked to get up and leave so they could tidy up and put the sun loungers away!
Entertainment; god, just hope you can find something in the evening outside of the hotel because you don't get much in the hotel. Out of 7 nights there was only 1 night which was good and that was the hypnotist show. There was what i can only describe as a half-arsed effort to put on some bingo/quiz which lasted all of 5 mins and came across like it had been organised only 10mins before!
The reception staff we found to be quite rude and unhelpfull.
The location is not good, it is nowhere near the centre of paphos although there is a couple of bars/restaurants just outside the hotel which serve fairly good food. You have to get a taxi/bus if you want to got into paphos harbour.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Lindsay
8 years 8 months ago
When I arrived at the hotel I found that the receptionist was very nice and helpful. The hotel was very clean and tidy and got cleaned evryday which was nice. I did not eat at the hotel restaurant but from what I have heard the food was very good.

The hotel location is good because it is not very noisy around the outside and is not close to any night clubs or anything like that but there is restaurants around the hotel which are very nice and not very expensive but you can also walk into the centre of Pafos and it only takes about 10 minutes.

The hotel staff are very nice and helpful and do not moan at all.

The entertainment at the hotel I found was very very good.

There was something different on every night and it was never boring. Also the People who did the entertainment Monika and Helena were very kind and entertaining and there is never a dull moment when they were doing the entertainment.

I would definitely visit this hotel again and I would recomend it to anyone it is a very relaxed atmosphere and there is something for everyone to do.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Katie Broughton
8 years 9 months ago
I stayed at the Avanti for 2 weeks i really enjoyed it and i would definatly return in the future.
The staff are really friendly especially the entertainment staff they love children.
The hotel is so clean and as very nice surroundings.
The food is nice also we only stayed b&b so we only had breakfast but there is lots of varieties to choose from. We found a lovely restaurant across the road called jo's diner they do all home made cooking english food aswell as cypriot dishes they are delicious too. (VERY CHEAP TOO - 3 COARSE MEAL FOR
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Alan
8 years 9 months ago
Avanti Hotel
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Julie Martin
8 years 9 months ago
We stayed at the Avanti Village apartments in Pathos. We were dissapointed on arrival to fine we did not have a porter to take us and our luggage to our room. It was quite a trek across the grounds in very hot temperatures and all very tired. If you arrive at night be warned, you could spend some time trying to find your room!
The room was spacious and comfortable, could do with a bit more wardrobe space though.
The pool was great, the kids loved it, be careful when walking in through the shallow end, it was very slippery, lost count of the number of people who fell.
Only ate once at the resteraunt, wasnt bad, didnt go back.
The staff were very helpful and Scott the rep was friendly and extremely helpful.
When you eat out, make sure you go to the Cavalini resteraunt just down the road from the resort. It was lovely, the food and the service was second to none. If you like steak, then go to Flambe resteraunt in Pathos, highly recommended.
Overall, a good holiday, but would not go back to Pathos, been to Ayia Napa 4 times, much prefer it.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Andy And Jackie
9 years 9 months ago
On arrival the front of the hotel doesnt look up to much for a 4* hotel, however on entering the reception and lobby we soon changed our minds. It was lovely. Very spacious and air conditioned, which was badly needed as the temperature outside was in the 40s. We found the hotel to be exceptionally clean, rooms cleaned everyday, pool area very clean. the pool was one of the best I have been to, fantastic for small children as it is very shallow and doesnt get deeper for some way.
Breakfast was good, it was lovely to eat out on the terrace, there was lots of variety to choose from. My 3 year old loved the cats that sat amongst you, they werent a nuisance and you could feed them if you wanted. We did eat our evening meal in the hotel restaurant a couple of times, if you get the voucher for half price meals, it works out cheaper than eating outside. The meals were excellent with lots of choice and good waiter service.
There are quite a few restaurants outside the hotel, The Ribshack to the back of the hotel was excellent although quite expensive. We found the Crocodile bar at the front good fun and if you like pub meals good value. They love children there, and our son insisted on going to eat there more than a few times. We did find a Macdonalds near the harbour.
I would have liked there to be a few more shops near to the hotel, as you had to travel to the harbour for this and it was a good walk. We got the bus which was 80 cents as it was too hot to walk. The harbour is a lovely area with loads going on, just beware of holiday touts with scratch cards.
Hotel staff were very friendly, always having a word with my small son. Reception were helpful if you wanted information or help. Cleaners too were cheerful and pleasant.
If there was one drawback to this hotel it was the entertainment in the evening, it was terrible. They had a couple of female vocalists who were dire, the singing went on for ever! Daytime activities was the usual kiddies stuff and the two women entertainers were lovely. It was the evening that put us right off. The hotel really needs to address this and provide some decent entertainment.
we would both visit this hotel again, if I heard that the evening entertainment had improved. the Avanti Hotel is a lovely hotel and we had a fab holiday, the weather was second to none.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Hayley Richards
9 years 9 months ago
This was ou first time at the Avanti hotel and our first impressions were very good.

The hotel and rooms were very clean and the staff were friendly.On our first night it was the childrens mini disco so we thought this would be very good if it happened every night, but, it wasn't. All we heard was supermarket music every night and got fed up of it.

The daytime entertainment was very good. The pool is quite big and very clean. There are a few cats that are wandering around (including kittens!)They are friendly and extremely cute.

If the entertainment improved I would definitely consider going back.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: