Image of Cynthiana Beach Hotel

Cynthiana Beach Hotel

45 of 63 hotels in Paphos

3 out of 5 from 20 reviews
3 stars
Kissonerga 8100, Cyprus
The Cynthiana Beach occupies an idyllic location with its own sheltered bay that is perfect for swimming and sunbathing. Its combination of friendly service and excellent entertainment make this a perfect choice for families.

20 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    7
  • Good
    5
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
6 years 11 months ago
marvelous hotel just far enough from the 2 towns of paphos and coral bay which are easily reached with local bus..food was very good with huge choice for breakfast and evening meal.staff were brilliant especially in the bar..we would allways come back to this hotel if returning to cyprus.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
AT
9 years ago
Stayed here recently along with 15 other family memebrs as we were going to a wedding.

The hotel is in a beautiful location, stunning views etc, need to get a bus to other places though but the buss stop is only 10 min walk away.

Hotel was clean, all communial areas were immaculate.

Staff were helpful and friendly.

We stayed bed and breakfast and the food at breakfast was excellent, loads of choice for everyone. Others in our party stayed half board and were really impressed with the food, we ate in the hotel a few times also and the food and choice was always excellent, for adults and children.

The only down side was evening entertainment, this is very low key and not enough of it. Overall though we had a great time, everyone enjoyed it and I would go again. Also, a quick recommendation for any one eating out, Hollys is just round the corner on the way to the bus stop, english owned place, brilliant!!! Also, in the Harbour at Paphos centre a fantastic seafood resteraunt call Theos.

Best exchange rate on travellers cheques we found was at the small shop at the top of the road near the bus stop, best anywhere.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
9 years 5 months ago
We had 2 rooms in an older part of the hotel, they were clean and adequate. The level of equipment was poor, no kettle, hairdier etc etc. Heating was poor and difficult to control.

Meals were plentiful but the meals tended to be on the very bland side.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Mrs Karen Reid
9 years 10 months ago
We have stayed in the hotel on several occasions and have never been disappointed. We stay in the Olympian Wing which have superior rooms and are worth the extra money. You feel as if you are on a private complex and it is very quiet.

The rooms are very spacious and clean. The location is excellent although I would recommend a car to get about. The entertainment could be better as it has not changed over the past three years.

Highly recommend this hotel. The staff are very friendly and helpful
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Jean & Sue
10 years 8 months ago
My friend and I thought the Cynthiana was fantastic and good value for the amount we paid. The room we had was clean and like any other twin room but the view from the balcony was breathtaking especially when you awake in morning.

The food was great with plenty of choices. The breakfasts were very good, I dont normally get up until later but I was up six times out of seven to eat a hearty breakfast which kept me going nearly all day until evening meal.

The hotel could maybe provide bottled water free with youre meal as I appeared to be buying a lot of it.

The hotel location is fine, bit of a hill to main road, maybe a short cut through banana plantation to road would cut down some of the distance.

Hotel staff great. Entertainment fine but should have more beach bar disco nights, maybe with a bbq. As we arrived in the early hours 2am I think you should be able to get a cuppa or soft drink as we were quite thirsty by the time we got there and nowhere was open.

Definitely come back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
10 years 8 months ago
On the whole I was satisfied with the hotel, however I think the four T rating is a bit generous.

The food was of a good standard, with plenty of variation. The staff were friendly and on the ball especially at mealtimes.

The location is fairly isolated so a hire car is recommended (shop around for a good deal). If you do hire a car however, a word of warning. The locals are completely mad behind a wheel!

There appears to be three blocks to this hotel, we stayed in the middle block facing the banana plantation but we still had a good view of the coastline. The room was spacious with a nice clean bathroom, the shower worked well with hot water any time of the day. The room had a decent sized TV but the only English speaking channel was Sky News.
The room was cleaned and the towels changed daily.

The hotel is situated on a rocky peninsular so there is no beach, however there is a patch of sand with sunbeds and steps into a small lagoon with a sandy bottom. For the more adventurous there are steps into the open water where the snorkling is probably the best on the island.

Sit and have a pint of Keo at the beach bar, soak up the view over the bay and you will realize what life is all about.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Caron
11 years 1 month ago
We have just got back from Paphos last night having stayed at the Cythiana for 1 week. We were allocated on arrival and we were really impressed with the hotel.

The grounds are gorgeous and it is like an Island in itself.

The pool was clean, the rooms were kept clean, and the staff are really friendly and really helpful.

We got a taxi to Paphos every night which cost 6 Cypriot pounds and that is a flat rate from the hotel. There was also a bus stop at the end of the road.

We had a brilliant holiday and we couldn
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
11 years 7 months ago
The Hotel Cynthiana Beach, between Paphos & Coral Bay came recommended based on various web reviews, but proved to be a desperate disappointment.

As others have said, the Hotel is in a stunning peninsula location, with virtually every room enjoying a full or side sea view, (which makes it very odd that one must pay a room surcharge for the view ).

Hotel exterior is reasonably well maintained, although there are signs of excessive wear & tear/ weather damage. Most rooms & hallways are clean but in need of new furniture/decor. Less travelled areas of the complex were appallingly grubby, if one took the time to look.

Housekeeping staff were plentiful & hard working, but hotel facilities, reception area & room interiors were generally out of date, tired & in need of full refurbishment. The hotel mainly appeals to older guests & it shows in the "timewarp" decor and lay-out.

Gymn facilities were in a state of disrepair throughout the 14 day stay.

Be warned there are awkward access/mobility issues for wheelchair users not highlighted by either the hotel website or Thompsons brochure.(there are lifts and some internal & external ramps, but not enough to gain access to all main facilities such as the pool, or entry to 2 of the 4 accomodation blocks. The lift in our block broke down 2 days running, marooning our wheelchair user in his room both times).

Reception staff were frequently unhelpful, but appeared to be working under stringent policies which impacted on guest comfort/service. The real issue seemingly lay with an unctious and obnoxious "acting manager" who appeared to be more concerned with cost cutting & profiteering than guest satisfaction.

I asked to hire tea-making facilities for an elderly wheelchair bound man, who was also recovering from a stroke & had limited speech. Reception refused to assist & insisted I needed to pay for a superior room & re-locate the disabled person. This struck me as:
a) Unhelpful in the extreme
b) Absurd
c) A blatant attempt to force guests to pay excessive amounts for facilities they didn't want, in order to get those facilities they needed.

The Thompson Rep, (finally available 4 days later) was astonishingly incompetent & easily dominated by the hotel manager. Details could fill a book, but I was frankly enraged by the attitude of both the rep & the hotel, who wouldn't know genuine customer service if it bit them on the bum. I still don't know how I managed to remain courteous.

Of course, I eventually shelled out an extra
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Davebunnet
11 years 9 months ago
Arrived at the cynthiana beach hotel early evening, pleasantly surprised beautiful location, lovely hotel, then we saw our room, a room so small you couldn't swing a cat in. Having just past several cats (10 )on the way to our room it would be easy to prove,anyway the room was situated on the ground floor and the veranda doors wouldn't lock, to cut a long story short we were offered an upgrade, 3rd floor facing the sea ah bisto! what a delight waking up to that view each morning worth every penny. After 2 maybe 3 days settled into a routine sunbathe all day, shower then round the corner for the best food on the island curtousy of andreas & maria,nip next door buy cat food, go back to hotel feed cats (16 )for an hour then bed, apart from the odd excursion there was no need to leave the hotel premises luxury.
I can't wait to return next year, as for her indoors she wants to return next week but only if she can return to the cynthiana with best friend and daughter in tow. I CANT RECOMEND THE CYNTHIANA BEACH HOTEL ENOUGH the staff are great and the grounds are stunning, what are you waiting for get booking.
p.s. i don't know if i mentioned earlier but the whole area around the hotel is surrounded by a banana plantation so if you dont like spiders well you know
i'm not saying the're bigger than normal but on the first night in the resturant next door a spider crawled past me pulled out a chair and asked to see the menu, you have been warned....
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Krista & Rach
11 years 10 months ago
First of all, ignore the first review on this page. I
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: