20 independent reviews of the Cynthiana Beach Hotel
Address: Kissonerga 8100, Cyprus
Cynthiana Beach Hotel
Cynthiana Beach Hotel Location
Ranked #53 of 61 hotels in Paphos


3/5
Cynthiana Beach Hotel Cynthiana Beach Hotel is rated 2.6 out of 5 from 20 Reviews
60% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (20 reviews)

Cleanliness 4 stars
Entertainment 2 stars
Food 3 stars
Service 4 stars
Location 4 stars

Cynthiana Beach Hotel Reviews

4/5
4

Dave and Val Bond had a holiday at Cynthiana Beach Hotel in June 2009
marvelous hotel just far enough from the 2 towns of paphos and coral bay which are easily reached with local bus..food was very good with huge choice for breakfast and evening meal.staff were brilliant especially in the bar..we would allways come back to this hotel if returning to cyprus.

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

AT stayed at Cynthiana Beach Hotel in May 2007
Stayed here recently along with 15 other family memebrs as we were going to a wedding.

The hotel is in a beautiful location, stunning views etc, need to get a bus to other places though but the buss stop is only 10 min walk away.

Hotel was clean, all communial areas were immaculate.

Staff were helpful and friendly.

We stayed bed and breakfast and the food at breakfast was excellent, loads of choice for everyone. Others in our party stayed half board and were really impressed with the food, we ate in the hotel a few times also and the food and choice was always excellent, for adults and children.

The only down side was evening entertainment, this is very low key and not enough of it. Overall though we had a great time, everyone enjoyed it and I would go ...
again. Also, a quick recommendation for any one eating out, Hollys is just round the corner on the way to the bus stop, english owned place, brilliant!!! Also, in the Harbour at Paphos centre a fantastic seafood resteraunt call Theos.

Best exchange rate on travellers cheques we found was at the small shop at the top of the road near the bus stop, best anywhere.

Read More

Tour Operator: FIRST CHOICE

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
3 stars

3/5
3

Doug had a holiday at Cynthiana Beach Hotel, Paphos, Cyprus in December 2006
We had 2 rooms in an older part of the hotel, they were clean and adequate. The level of equipment was poor, no kettle, hairdier etc etc. Heating was poor and difficult to control.

Meals were plentiful but the meals tended to be on the very bland side.

Tour Operator: Private
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

Mrs Karen Reid stayed at Cynthiana Beach Hotel, Paphos in July 2006
1 reader found this review helpful

We have stayed in the hotel on several occasions and have never been disappointed. We stay in the Olympian Wing which have superior rooms and are worth the extra money. You feel as if you are on a private complex and it is very quiet.

The rooms are very spacious and clean. The location is excellent although I would recommend a car to get about. The entertainment could be better as it has not changed over the past three years.

Highly recommend this hotel. The staff are very friendly and helpful

Tour Operator: none

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Jean & Sue visited the Cynthiana Beach Hotel in September 2005
My friend and I thought the Cynthiana was fantastic and good value for the amount we paid. The room we had was clean and like any other twin room but the view from the balcony was breathtaking especially when you awake in morning.

The food was great with plenty of choices. The breakfasts were very good, I dont normally get up until later but I was up six times out of seven to eat a hearty breakfast which kept me going nearly all day until evening meal.

The hotel could maybe provide bottled water free with youre meal as I appeared to be buying a lot of it.

The hotel location is fine, bit of a hill to main road, maybe a short cut through banana plantation to road would cut down some of the distance.

Hotel staff great. ...
Entertainment fine but should have more beach bar disco nights, maybe with a bbq. As we arrived in the early hours 2am I think you should be able to get a cuppa or soft drink as we were quite thirsty by the time we got there and nowhere was open.

Definitely come back.

Read More

Tour Operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

Gav visited the Cynthiana Beach Hotel, Paphos, Cyprus in September 2005
On the whole I was satisfied with the hotel, however I think the four T rating is a bit generous.

The food was of a good standard, with plenty of variation. The staff were friendly and on the ball especially at mealtimes.

The location is fairly isolated so a hire car is recommended (shop around for a good deal). If you do hire a car however, a word of warning. The locals are completely mad behind a wheel!

There appears to be three blocks to this hotel, we stayed in the middle block facing the banana plantation but we still had a good view of the coastline. The room was spacious with a nice clean bathroom, the shower worked well with hot water any time of the day. The room had a decent sized TV but the only English speaking ...
channel was Sky News.
The room was cleaned and the towels changed daily.

The hotel is situated on a rocky peninsular so there is no beach, however there is a patch of sand with sunbeds and steps into a small lagoon with a sandy bottom. For the more adventurous there are steps into the open water where the snorkling is probably the best on the island.

Sit and have a pint of Keo at the beach bar, soak up the view over the bay and you will realize what life is all about.

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
3 stars

5/5
5

Caron stayed at Cynthiana Beach Hotel, Paphos in April 2005
We have just got back from Paphos last night having stayed at the Cythiana for 1 week. We were allocated on arrival and we were really impressed with the hotel.

The grounds are gorgeous and it is like an Island in itself.

The pool was clean, the rooms were kept clean, and the staff are really friendly and really helpful.

We got a taxi to Paphos every night which cost 6 Cypriot pounds and that is a flat rate from the hotel. There was also a bus stop at the end of the road.

We had a brilliant holiday and we couldn

Tour Operator: thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

2/5
2

Joe visited the Cynthiana Beach Hotel in October 2004
The Hotel Cynthiana Beach, between Paphos & Coral Bay came recommended based on various web reviews, but proved to be a desperate disappointment.

As others have said, the Hotel is in a stunning peninsula location, with virtually every room enjoying a full or side sea view, (which makes it very odd that one must pay a room surcharge for the view ).

Hotel exterior is reasonably well maintained, although there are signs of excessive wear & tear/ weather damage. Most rooms & hallways are clean but in need of new furniture/decor. Less travelled areas of the complex were appallingly grubby, if one took the time to look.

Housekeeping staff were plentiful & hard working, but hotel facilities, reception area & room interiors were generally out of date, tired & in need of full refurbishment. The hotel mainly appeals to older guests & ...
it shows in the \"timewarp\" decor and lay-out.

Gymn facilities were in a state of disrepair throughout the 14 day stay.

Be warned there are awkward access/mobility issues for wheelchair users not highlighted by either the hotel website or Thompsons brochure.(there are lifts and some internal & external ramps, but not enough to gain access to all main facilities such as the pool, or entry to 2 of the 4 accomodation blocks. The lift in our block broke down 2 days running, marooning our wheelchair user in his room both times).

Reception staff were frequently unhelpful, but appeared to be working under stringent policies which impacted on guest comfort/service. The real issue seemingly lay with an unctious and obnoxious \"acting manager\" who appeared to be more concerned with cost cutting & profiteering than guest satisfaction.

I asked to hire tea-making facilities for an elderly wheelchair bound man, who was also recovering from a stroke & had limited speech. Reception refused to assist & insisted I needed to pay for a superior room & re-locate the disabled person. This struck me as:
a) Unhelpful in the extreme
b) Absurd
c) A blatant attempt to force guests to pay excessive amounts for facilities they didn\'t want, in order to get those facilities they needed.

The Thompson Rep, (finally available 4 days later) was astonishingly incompetent & easily dominated by the hotel manager. Details could fill a book, but I was frankly enraged by the attitude of both the rep & the hotel, who wouldn\'t know genuine customer service if it bit them on the bum. I still don\'t know how I managed to remain courteous.

Of course, I eventually shelled out an extra

Read More

Tour Operator: Thompsons
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

davebunnet visited the Cynthiana Beach Hotel, Paphos in August 2004
Arrived at the cynthiana beach hotel early evening, pleasantly surprised beautiful location, lovely hotel, then we saw our room, a room so small you couldn\'t swing a cat in. Having just past several cats (10 )on the way to our room it would be easy to prove,anyway the room was situated on the ground floor and the veranda doors wouldn\'t lock, to cut a long story short we were offered an upgrade, 3rd floor facing the sea ah bisto! what a delight waking up to that view each morning worth every penny. After 2 maybe 3 days settled into a routine sunbathe all day, shower then round the corner for the best food on the island curtousy of andreas & maria,nip next door buy cat food, go back to hotel feed cats (16 )for an hour then bed, apart ...
from the odd excursion there was no need to leave the hotel premises luxury.
I can\'t wait to return next year, as for her indoors she wants to return next week but only if she can return to the cynthiana with best friend and daughter in tow. I CANT RECOMEND THE CYNTHIANA BEACH HOTEL ENOUGH the staff are great and the grounds are stunning, what are you waiting for get booking.
p.s. i don\'t know if i mentioned earlier but the whole area around the hotel is surrounded by a banana plantation so if you dont like spiders well you know
i\'m not saying the\'re bigger than normal but on the first night in the resturant next door a spider crawled past me pulled out a chair and asked to see the menu, you have been warned....

Read More

Tour Operator: first choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Krista & Rach visited the Cynthiana Beach Hotel, Paphos in July 2004
First of all, ignore the first review on this page. I

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Hilditch had a holiday at Cynthiana Beach Hotel, Paphos, Cyprus in February 2004
Visited this hotel in Feb 05 on half board basis. Food was plentiful and of good with a fine variety of foreing foods - do not expect your ordinary English type meal, although there is a good selection of cooked food for breakfast.

Hotel is kept clean, evidence of maintenace work going on while we were there. Rooms cleaned dailt and towels replaced daily.Hotel staff were helpful and polite.

Location is excellent although a little isolated, so do not expect a raving nightlife.
Nightly entertainment of local amateur acts- take your pick.

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Ian & Rose stayed at Cynthiana Beach Hotel, Paphos, Cyprus in September 2003
Yes it was a little jaded but location superb! We found the staff were lovely and the room (ok we upgraded)wonderful with spectacular views which we never tired of.

The evening entertainment was a bit lacklustre but that\'s not what we holiday for.
We dined at the hotel a few evenings & the food was really OK but we much preferred the local restaurants, that\'s what we enjoy.

Very little to complain about, how could you in such a stunning situation!

Tour Operator: Gone bust

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

2/5
2

Sue visited the Cynthiana Beach Hotel, Paphos, Cyprus in August 2003
Whilst initially impressed with the location and the hotel view, we soon discovered that the hotel was neither in splendid isolation nor within easy access to local facilities, but simply the worst of both worlds. The layout of the hotel meant that most rooms are in separate blocks which meant that you ended up feeling that you were staying in a hotel annex or an aparthotel rather than staying in a hotel.

Although there were plenty of staff working in the hotel, it seemed to be poorly managed and whilst the staff were generally helpful, a bizarre arrangement existed whereby if you ordered a sandwich from the poolside bar you had to wait on average 45 minutes while the only women working at the bar went to the main hotel bar to collect the sandwich. The main bar at ...
the hotel was also left unattended at peak evening times. Although we only spent a week at the Cynthiana Beach we were glad to be staying no longer and got the distinct impression that numerous guests felt the same. Overall, we were very disappointed with both the hotel and location and would definitely not return. Nearby Coral Bay was distinctly seedy.

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomson
Review Rating

Cleanliness
2 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
2 stars

3/5
3

Tommy & Mary visited the Cynthiana Beach Hotel, Paphos, Cyprus in August 2003
Arrived early hours of the morning, gasping for a drink, no chance of a brew, no facilities in room, went back to guy on the desk, he fixed me up with a drink of warm fresh orange...yuk. noticed that the room smelled musty, was told by a seasoned traveller this was because people went out for the day leaving air conditioning on 24/7. Don\'t tell anyone but we went to the local shop bought a kettle, tea coffee sugar....and kept it hidden for a fortnight

No problems with the cleaners, in everyday, searching for the kettle probably

We went halfboard but only went for breakfast, breakfast staff were superb, food was good and plentiful, cannot vouch for other meals as we were always out.

Hotel location was good/great but we are bias we are madly in love with the whole island

After 3 ...
days our room was getting to reek rather badly, we walked up to reception, smiled, told the girl behind the counter our room stank...she gave us a key to another room, told us to go and have look, if we liked it, move your cases and bring the key to the first room back...the room was perfect, we moved right away, and for the rest of the holiday was happy.

Cannot comment on entertainment, we were never in.

Read More

Tour Operator: olympic

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Helen had a holiday at Cynthiana Beach Hotel, Paphos in July 2003
I have stayed at the cynthiana three times and have always found it extremely clean + the staff very helpful. The hotel is 3 star and if people were bothered to read then they would know that this is its offical rating. The olympic wing however is actually 4 star. The hotel is well kept and is set in an idylic location over looking the sea however it is quite quiet and the entertainment is not up 2 much its more of a relaxing holiday. The food is ok as have stayed half board before i would reccomend swapping evening meal for dinner as these were much nicer. The pool area is clean not over crowded. The cynthiana is a well kept hotel with helpful staff + is extremly comfortable and is a great base for a holiday in paphos.

Tour Operator: First choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

0/5
0

nickw stayed at Cynthiana Beach Hotel, Paphos in August 2002
We have just returned from our second holiday at the Cynthiana and found it to be as nice as ever. We always specify adjoining sea view rooms and have never had any trouble, our rooms have always faced north towards Coral bay and have been clean but fairly basic. In defence, if you want to spend extra and book a superior room ,this should give you a room in the newish Olympian wing with its own pool and dining room, although no-one seems to mind other guests from using it.

We always go for B&B so I cannot comment fully on the food. Breakfast is standard fare but coffee and tea are served at the tables in seemingly limitless quantities! The pools are pleasant but small but the main feature must be the rock pool lagoon which is excellent for ...
snorkelling or just floating around! If you enjoy Scuba Diving, the bay outside the Cynthiana is very good and Abyss Dive Centre have a base at the hotel, although most Papohos dive schools seem to use the bay for dives.

The nearby tavernas and bars are very good and will change Travellers Cheques for a good rate compared to the hotel. Special mention must be made of the Doria Tavern whose fish is excellent.

The sea views from the hotel are excellent and are certainly a strong point of the holiday. I would certainly stay there

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomson
Review Rating


0/5
0

Roddy stayed at Cynthiana Beach Hotel in March 2002
In 15 years of going abroad for holidays, this is by far and away the best of the lot. The staff went out of their way to be helpful, the standard of everything was top notch, i\'d rate it a 4* personally, not 3...Paphos itself is excellent, not over commercialised, and The Lucky Genie Pub, 5 minutes walk away is probably the best on the island, Andreas, Andy and Demetris, who own it, are the best \'mine hosts\' you will ever meet. I got back yesterday (13th March) and have been up to the travel agents to see about booking next years winter holiday there already.



Tour Operator: Unijet
Review Rating


0/5
0

tonysoprano had a holiday at Cynthiana Beach Hotel, Paphos in December 2001
First time in Cyprus and we-Granny, Grandad,Mum, dad plus 3- had a lovely time. A small problem with our room size which was resolved by myself and the hotel staff as the Virgin rep was a bit busy with his own brand of personal service which for some reason centred solely on gullible young ladies. However this apart The Virgin service was pretty good.

Great little hotel, great little bars just around the corner, nice aerobic instructress -ouch stop that- good Chinese down by the harbour apart from the pervert Manager who tried to chat up our daughters 13 yr old friend. People seemed very genuine and friendly, food cheap and cheerful. Felt relaxed right from day one. Been back already. Cynthiana good, Paphos very good!


Tour Operator: Virgin
Review Rating


0/5
0

backo had a holiday at Cynthiana Beach Hotel in December 1999
This hotel has a rich man poor man element. One part of the hotel is at best a 3* for the more critical a 2*. Another part is clearly a 4* plus.

If you book late or don;t request a superior room you will be put in poor man. Not very clean, Old damp smelly grotty carpets and curtains basic facilities and noisy air conditioning - this will not compare with a thomson 4t rating although they insist it is. You will complain and they will do nothing but insist no one ever complains. This is false in our time 80% of the people we spoke to hated the rooms and did not feel they were a 3 or 4T standard but Thomson will do ABSOLUTELY nothing but charge you extra to upgrade. This will be extortionate so in the end ...
you may agree a rate with the hotel, once upgraded you will discover that all the guests around the exclusive pool have done the same. Thomson will do nothing. They do not care if you feel the hotel is substandard unless you pay them then they will begin to see things your way. This is a shame cos the food is nice tho the main pool is dirty and the staff are friendly but this hotel is not more than a 3 star so the misleading 4t rating which implies it is a 4 star standard is a load of rubbish

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: No
Review Rating


0/5
0

colinj visited the Cynthiana Beach Hotel, Paphos, Cyprus in December 1999
I booked this holiday on a late deal with allocation on arrival.I was pleasantly surprised to find myself in the Cythiana. Admittedly it is not a four star hotel but neither is it 3 star, kind of a 3.5 star! the best way to describe the hotel is to comapre it to a travel lodge in the UK; clean, tidy, very helpful staff, great varied food, lovely situation, and a great choice of swimming pools.

the only unfortunate thing about the cythiana, for me, was having to spend nearly 10 days listening to a gentleman moan about the hotel from the minute he woke up to the minute he fell asleep. The food was too hot, the swimming pool too wet, the sun too bright, on and on and on and on and on!!! Now, I can listen to this ...
for a little while but everytime you went near the swimming pool there he was moaning to a new unsuspecting victim, moan moan moan!

My advice to this man is simple;

If you want \"great fish and chips just like at home\", then your next holiday destination is obvious to us all. If you want the Ritz hotel then don\'t be a cheapskate and book a late deal holiday.

And another thing..............

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: No
Review Rating

Share