Image of Kefalos Beach Tourist Village Hotel

Kefalos Beach Tourist Village Hotel

7 of 64 hotels in Paphos

4 out of 5 from 43 reviews
Aiantos 8, P.O. Box 62174, Prastio 08045, Cyprus
This complex is designed like a traditional village & is set right on the rocky beach. It combines a peaceful location with access to the resort centre & places of interest. It will appeal particularly to families.

43 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    18
  • Very Good
    21
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Mike
6 years 5 months ago
Hello,
just come back from a self catering two week holiday at the Kefalos Beach Village.
the room was smashing,nice and big,kept spotless to.
can`t really fault the place really.
the only thing I can fault is Paphos itself the bars were always doing Karaoke aprt from that the place was empty and very expensive.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
7 years 6 months ago
Absolute brilliant .When we first arrived We thought what was all the hype in the reviews about but after a day or so it became obvious.The only downside was the beach.We arrived late so we got a voucher for a lunch .We were taken in a buggy with our luggage to our sea view apartment which was very good.Good choice at breakfast and I could not complain about the evening meals as they were all excellent.The only one which wsa luke warm was the barbeque on the saturday night.A previous review said about the lunch in the snack bar you were offered a set 3 course menu or you could choose one item of the other menu.Th swimming pool was good and the animation team did a brilliant job.Ben was so funny(I have advised my son to take his 2 children next year .I would not do that if the entertainment was poor for the children.)
All the staff were very friendly from the gardeners up to the top management.If you get too hot sat round the pool you could always move forward about 10 metres to the grass area before the beach and get a nice breeze.All in all a very good time was had and we will definately will be goingback in the next couple of years
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
7 years 7 months ago
Stayed here for half term with 3 kids, in the private villa with pool at the edge of the resort, right on the "beach."

The positives;

The villa was ideal for us, and spacious. And that is the ONLY positive I can think of.

The negatives;

The private pool was over chlorinated. We complained about this four times and it took them 5 days into our holiday to fix it. This was the main reason for booking this accommodation. The chlorine was so strong, the kids were burning and had to be showered immediately after using.

The main pool. Well what can I say - if your idea of holiday heaven is noisy brits, reading the sun and being "entertained" by the only single CD the hotel have on constant replay (YMCA, the birdie song, oops upside your head - i kid you not) plus the entertainment staff harranging you to play darts, or the awful "cocktail game" then this is for you!

If on the other hand you wanted relaxation by your hotels main pool then I would try somewhere else.

The food. Variable pub food is the best way I can describe it. The breakfasts are OK, but the dining room is so packed that things worth eating go very quickly. We stayed half board - the evening meals were OK some nights, and plain awful other nights. The best night was "Greek" night. Unfortunately this was only on once for the whole week we were there - bit strange, given this is "Greece", but this isn't Greece. This is Greek Cypriots interpretation of what Brits and Germans want whilst on holiday. And unfortunately they can't cook it - Venice night - awful, farmers night - bland stuff that didn't even look like the descriptions. If you must stay here - stay B&B.

The kids club. Another reason for our booking. Unfortunately, the website doesn't tell you its only open 1.5 hours in a morning and 1.5 hours in an afternoon. It is only for 5 to 12 year olds, but given the facilities - the room could only really entertain 4 to 7 year olds at best. It's a basement room, with kids toys. On a positive note, the staff in there were great with my son - special mention to Ben who my son loved and to the two girls in there - sorry I forgot your names.

The beach. Well - its absolutely awful. Truly truly awful. Please don't book here if you want a decent beach. It isn't even slightly nice. The sand is a mixture of pebbles, some coarse sand and grass. The shoreline is rocky, making swimming impossible. There are signs near the pool bar that point you to s "SANDY BEACH 200M" - but this is a tiny beach at next doors hotel - again - not that great. The only decent beach nearby is Coral Bay. A broad expanse of sand with gently shelving coastline.

The surroundings. Again - think Brits abroad. If this is what you want, then great - but if you want traditional friendly tavernas then Paphos is not for you.

The pool bar - a rip off at over 3 euros a pint, for beer in plastic glasses, that is not very nice.

Finally - the staff of the hotel. We didn't experience and hospitality whatsoever.

I asked for a meeting with the manager about our pool. He agreed compensation of waiving the 6 euros an hour to keep our room on past midday and agreed to reinstate a lunch voucher we had lost for our last day. He told me we could have anything from the pool bar menu on our last day.

When we sat down for our lunch, we were handed a set menu. Had to argue about this, but they finally agreed to let us order what we wanted. We were then basically ignored by the staff who were too busy setting up for the BBQ that night. We were left without drinks, mains came before we had finished starters, they tried to charge us for ice creams for the kids etc etc. And all the way through we were made to feel like we were a piece of dirt. One waiter, who I won't name, that I had made an effort to speak some Greek to during the holiday, actually said to my partner that he would not serve us as we were eating there by mistake. Thankfully he wasn't around when we left or I would have told him where to go.

Following our treatment we finally lost it and my partner went back to the reception to complain further,. We were given some more compensation, but this hasn't "appeased" me to use their language.

In summary, I was very very disappointed with the Kefalos. We booked because of the ranking on here and the reviews. Unfortunately, it is just a poorly run, unfriendly mass tourist place. The warning signs were there, but I just didn't see them. We spoke to so many people who were disappointed with the place - I wish a few more had taken the time to place reviews on here so people like us would not make the mistake we made with this place.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Ann F Ox
8 years 4 months ago
This was our first visit to the Kefalos Beach and can honestly say that we had a fantastic holiday.After a 5 hour delay from Gatwick we eventually got to the hotel at 5am but check in was very fast and the porter took us on his golf buggy to the room.He took a few minutes to explain the air-con.
Our apartment was in block 29 and our balcony overlooked the restaurant with the sea to one side.The heat from the restaurant made our balcony very hot so we couldnt use it apart to dry towels.
The rooms were spotless and cleaned daily with fresh towels and sheets nearly every day.There was air-con in both the living area and the bedroom which was brilliant.
The pool area was kept very clean although it did get very busy.The main pool was quite deep,even in the shallowest part.Our 10 year old son just about had his head above water.There is also a baby pool.Just past the pool was a long grass verge with lots of sunbeds and parasols.We always use to sit here because there was a nice breeze which you didnt get by the pool.The beach was just beside the grass and again more sunbeds.The sand was a bit stony and the sea was full of rocks but you could get into the water via some steps on the rocks and get past the rocks.There was another sandy beach 200yards away to the right.
As we were self catering we didnt actually eat at the hotel apart from the odd lunch which was very nice.
The hotel had a resident entertainment team that organised darts,table tennis,boules,volleyball and pool games during the day.Our children joined in nearly every day.The evening entertainment was pretty typical eg Elvis impersonater,karaoke,mr and mrs,magic shows.We only went to a couple of these evenings and they were ok.
Its only 5 minute walk to the main "Tomb of the kings" road.There are lots of bars and restaurants to choose from.We particularly liked Charlies Bar,San Marino restaurant,Tea for two,O Neills and Fat Mamas.
We went to the harbour a few times which was 7euros in a taxi from the hotel.Again we found some nice restaurants like The Pelican,Captains view and Poseidons.The harbour area is very nice and mainly pedestrianised and a great spot to people watch.
We went to see the Tombs of the kings which was interesting but to be honest it was far to hot to walk about and there was no shade there so we didnt stay as long as we would have liked.
We also had a trip to the waterpark which was a bus ride away.When you are waiting for buses the taxi drivers always pull up and offer you a fare.It sometimes worked out cheaper to get the taxi than pay 4 bus fares.Anyway back to the water-park,quite expensive at 28euros per adult.A child of 12 and over is classed as an adult.It was a good day out.They give you all wrist bands on the way in so you can lock your money away in a locker{another 5 euros} and when you get food or drinks they scan your wristband.You pay your bill on the way out.
All in all a brilliant holiday and I would certainly recommend the Kefalos Beach.We would certainly go back but probably not in August because it was too hot at 38 degrees plus every day!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Kirstine Gagie
8 years 5 months ago
We have just returned from the Kefalos Beach Village and had the most fantastic holiday. From the minute we arrived we knew we would have a good holiday. The reception staff were most welcoming and friendly, the porter even takes you on a 60 second ride on a golf buggy to take you and your luggage to your apartment and to show you round your accommodation.


The pool was very nice, it was like getting into a warm bath due to the very high temperatures. Plenty of sun loungers and parasols.

We were staying on bed and breakfast basis. The selection was very good and there was a quick turnaround of the waiters clearing your table for the next guests.

Hotel is located only 5 minutes from the Tomb of the Kings Road where there are plenty restuarants to choose from. The chinese restaurant is very good. We went to O'Neils bar most nights for a drink, there are pool tables and games for the children.

We are already thinking of going back next year, a wonderful place to stay.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
SagsSouthWales
8 years 7 months ago
Cannot wait to return to this exception hotel/apartment complex. We have been twice and cannot believe how lucky we were to have found it in the first place. Everything is scrupulously clean, well maintained and carefully thought out for its guests. It is the only hotel I have ever been to that looks as good in 'the flesh' as it does in the brochure!

The staff cannot do enough to ensure you really enjoy your stay, the quantity and quality of food is extremely good, we ate in the restaurant in the evening for the first time this stay and would definately dine in there again next time.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Mrs Turner
8 years 7 months ago
I went to Kefalos Beach with 60 other friends and family to attend a wedding. The hotel works on a self catering basis, with the opportunity to upgrade day to day to B&B of Half Board. The food we had from the pool bar was delicious, and a good mix of English and Greek food to suit all tastes. We did not eat in the restaurant, as we like to go into resort to find restaurants. Some of our guests who did eat at the restaurant enjoyed the food. The rooms were cleaned daily, the maids were flexible and came back later in the day if it was not convenient when they called. Bed linen and towels were changed daily also.
The hotel is situated immediately on the beach, with just a small area of grass between the rooms and the sand. The beach is lovely, though not ideal for swimming in, as is quite rocky (this is true for almost all beaches in Paphos). The nearest bars/tavernas and restaurants were a 5 min walk away, and lined the road into the harbour, which was a 20 min walk from the hotel (or 5 min taxi ride). The hotel itself is set back from any busy roads so no traffic is seen or heard.
The staff in the hotel could not have done more to make us all feel welcome. Everyone speaks good english, and will frequently go out of their way to help you, with smiles on their faces!
Day time entertainment is just right. There are some gentle morning stretches on the beach, followed by some more active games, such as aqua aerobics, archery, boules, water polo. The entertainment staff are encouraging if you do want to participate, but are never pushy to get you to join in, and they do take no for an answer! In the evenings, entertainment is more children focused, and the parrot show in particular went down well with the younger guests. I have scored the entertainment a 3, as we went into resort every night, so did not experience much of the evening entertainment at the hotel.
I would definitely visit this hotel again, and will prbably do so next year. Out of the 60 people in our party, there was not one single complaint, and several of the guests said they would definitely be returning.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
9 years 2 months ago
We stayed at the Kefalos 17th-31st October, and we had a fantasic time. This was our second time to Paphos and saw this place whilst there the first time after reading the reviews we booked. Kefalos is just off the tomb of kings road, so really central to loads and loads of bars and restaurants.

Kefalos is great for families (we have 2 children age 8 and 14), the pool is nice and although it is on the beach it is more a small gravelly area and the sea ir rocky ok for dipping your feet in, although some people did swim in it but not us....

The rooms are spacious and cleaned well every day, the kitchen area could do with updating but other than that they are great.

We did go half board but only because we got a good deal (same price as B&B)the food is good plenty to choose from and the have the usual chips and whatever for the kids, Breakfast was a typical english and they did have other things ie cheeses meats salad yogurts cereals jams etc etc.... The evening meals we only had a couple of times but did enjoy them ..

The entertainment is ok aqua-aerobics, boules,archery etc during the day and the evening was kareoke bingo quizes etc we only went once due to us liking our nights out.

The staff are a little miserable on reception and in the bar and restaurant, but the entertaiment staff were always helpful and cheerful.

Overall i would give the kefalos 8/10, and if the staff cheered up and the food was a little hotter then i would have given a 10..

Ps... If you stay try, Two for Tea on tomb of kings road lovely little cafe with great staff. Try the lemon merangue pie yummy...
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
James
9 years 4 months ago
I stayed at the Kefalos Beach village from August 15th to August 29th 2007
This was by far the best holiday i have ever been on. the room was spacial and extremely clean. the maids did a superb job.
the pool was very big but the only thing i may add was it became small at times when the locals would also come and use the pool. the reception was very big and staff helped with what ever needed.
i thought that the staff in the bar were again very helpfull especially the waiter Ripon who worked long hours but nothing ever seemed to be too much trouble, the entertainment in the evening was also superb with a varitey of different acts for all ages to enjoy.
i felt that the beach by the pool was quite rocky and needed jelly shoes and also beware as i was stung by a jelly fish on my second day, we did try the sandy beach slightly down the road which was definately worth it as from the on we used it every day
overall i had a wonderful holiday and would love to return as soon as possible!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
9 years 4 months ago
Kefalos Beach is one of the best family holidays we have had!

If you can, pay extra for sea view because it is, quite literally, only a few yards from the waters edge and provides some lovely evenings as the sun sets straight in front of the complex.

Although the beach immediately in front is gravel/rocks, there is a lovely sandy beach slightly to the left which is only a couple of mins walk (with a beach bar, although not on draught, only tins).

Food variety is quite good, but could at times be a little hotter. Wednesday was Cyprus Night with live music and dancing in the restaurant. If you are B&B, you will find plenty of places to eat on the main street above, along with plenty of bars (all with karaoke) and shops.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices