13 independent reviews of the Kissos Hotel
Address: Paphos 8102, Cyprus
Kissos Hotel
Kissos Hotel Location
Ranked #41 of 61 hotels in Paphos


3/5
Kissos Hotel Kissos Hotel is rated 3.38 out of 5 from 13 Reviews
77% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (13 reviews)

Cleanliness 4 stars
Entertainment 2 stars
Food 3 stars
Service 4 stars
Location 4 stars

Kissos Hotel Reviews

3/5
3

Tony stayed at Kissos Hotel, Paphos, Cyprus in August 2009
First impressions of the Kissos Hotel when we pulled up were good as it seemed like a nice hotel, however things quickly descended once we opened the door to the room. After a 5 hour flight the first thing we wanted when we got there was a cup of tea, however there was no tea making facilities in the room and when we enquired at reception we were told that you had to hire the kettle for 2.50 euro\'s a day per person. Then came the fridge which had a lock on it which we were informed we could use for 3.50 euro\'s a day.
The room was like something out of the 60\'s with a radio built into the headboard of the bed however needless to say this never worked either. There is a tv in the room but the ...
only English channel you can get is BBC world service ie news 24/7.

After 3 days we asked if we could be upgraded to the superior rooms which are the ones they show you in the brochure, we were told it would cost us an extra 22 euro\'s a day to upgrade and the receptionist gave us the wink and said I\'d advise you to have a look at the room first. We found that it was exactly the same as the rooms in the main complex but with a bit of extra floor space (and you still had to pay for tea making facilities and the fridge). We decided that we would stay where we were as it just wasn\'t worth the extra money!!!

Thankfully we only went B&B but after the first day I was wishing we could have gone self catering as the food is disgusting, unfortunately this is not an option with this hotel.
We met several people who were full board and were eating out after 2 days as the food was so bad.

Entertainment = non existent

This hotel has absolutely no life whatsoever and me and my wife nicknamed it \"gods waiting room\" as it had no atmosphere what so ever, even the pool area was so quiet you could hear a pin drop.

Once you leave the hotel beware of anyone on scooters with scratch cards , they will tell you that you\'ve won the top prize then whisk you off in a taxi to look at a newly built hotel. It is a time-share scam and they want to hit you up for

Read More

Tour Operator: Hays
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Craig stayed at Kissos Hotel in July 2008
The Kissos is located just off the Tomb Of The Kings Road, approx 5 mins walk to Tomb Of The Kings itself.
The location was ideal for us as just around the corner is the main road with plenty of bars and restaurants to keep anyone happy. Mainly karaoke sort of pubs etc. The nearest beach is about 5 minutes walk away but isn\'t very good. However there is a bus stop around the corner from the hotel. For 1.35 you can jump on the bus and get off anywhere. One way takes you to the excellent Coral Beach, the other way down to the harbour, and there\'s also a bus to the market and old town.

We received a warm welcome from an english lady in reception, and our room was number 233 on the 2nd floor. This room overlooked the ...
end of the lagoon pool and the pool bar, and the sea and lighthouse can be seen in the distance. The room was very clean and comfortable, well presented. Not all that big, especially the balcony which was rather small, although it is usuable. Double bed, tv, free air con, bath and shower. There is no tea or coffee facilities, if you want this the hotel charges something like 3.75 a day. There is a fridge, however this is extra as well, about the same price. However the locks are easily fiddled and we had free fridge for 2 week, as I think paying

Read More

Tour Operator: On The Beach

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

jeff hirst had a holiday at Kissos Hotel, Paphos, Cyprus in November 2007
Whilst staying at the Kissos I had the best meal of my life the food here is delicious.

Peaceful enjoyable holiday just what I needed will return next year.

Rooms very nice very clean could not fault the hotel for sevice in anyway.

Staff brilliant could not do enough for you very pleasant experience.

This family run hotel should be 4 star.

Tour Operator: portland

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

Barrie Norman visited the Kissos Hotel in November 2006
My wife and I stayed at this hotel for two weeks commencing the 18th November 2006.

Our allocated room was fantastic, overlooking both the old and the new pool with distant views towards the sea, it was double room with ensuite bathroom, consisting of bath with shower over, toilet and wash hand basin, nicely finished and of a good size.

The room was nicely furnished with a television showing limited English channel, telephone, limited wardrobe space and air conditioned.

There was a good sized balcony with good views.

Rooms kept clean on a daily basis.

There was no tea or coffee facilities in the room, we did notice that the hotel charged extra for this.

The hotel itself was kept clean under the watchful eye of the owner and his daughter, who we found to be very helpful.

Two swimming pools kept clean and they ...
looked very inviting but the water was very cold, the area around the pools was also kept very clean.

Very nice gardens kept to a high standard.

The indoor pool and fitness centre on the lower ground floor was also excellent and properly maintained.

The reception area was nice and again kept clean and the receptionists very helpful.

There was only entertainment on one night per week, you could not really call it entertainment, there was two men playing local instruments in the bar, so not very exciting.

The hotel let itself down with its restaurant, the breakfasts were poor, the main reason for saying this is that the fried eggs offered were discoloured and hard, one day fried eggs the next scrambled eggs, with this was over cooked streaky bacon, German sausages and baked beans, so not very exciting and the presentation of the food was poor.

The evening meal was of the same standard, very poor, as the majority of the meat selection was cooked in various sauces, even roast chicken had been roasted and then placed in a sauce, the hotel boasted they catered for vegetarians but this was non existant unless you liked \'cabbage flan\', when you complain there answer was \'well there is the salad\' !!

With the exception of the meals, we enjoyed our two weeks at this hotel, maybe we were in a quiet period and during the height of the season the meals might improve.

Get your hire car over the internet before leaving the UK, we only paid 8 English pounds per day which was fantastic, this included delivery to the hotel and collection, no other extras.


Read More

Tour Operator: Portland Direct

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

Julie visited the Kissos Hotel, Paphos in September 2006
The Kissos hotel is 3 star although it has a fairly new wing of superior rooms which make it more of a 4 star. These rooms are very large and open on to a lagoon that runs alongside of them. They cost approx

Tour Operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

Lesley & Ricky stayed at Kissos Hotel in August 2006
We stayed in the Kissos hotel on a half board basis for 2 weeks.

We paid extra to be in one of the superior rooms & it was excellent.

We swapped our evening meals all holiday for lunches & the food was great, this also meant we could sample the delightful restaurants in the evening!!

The hotel is immaculate, maids were in every day, clean towels & bedding on a daily basis.

The lagoon was great which ran through the superior part of the hotel.

The only thing this hotel is lacking is entertainment on an evening but we didn't mind as we went out every night.

The other snag is people were putting their towels down at midnight to reserve sunbeds which is a bit naughty but in the end everyone was at it!!

We would return to this hotel anytime as we had ...
a very enjoyable stay, just a shame we had to come home !!

10/10 for everything, we just couldn't fault it.

Read More

Tour Operator: Olympic Holidays

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Ian Arthurs had a holiday at Kissos Hotel, Paphos, Cyprus in August 2006
As other visitors of Kissos have mentioned, the entertainment on an evening is poor, but as we were out everynight didnt mind this.

The rooms where spotless and staff were very friendly and helpful and provided an excellent service to make sure our stay was enjoyable.

Pool area very peaceful and the lagoon pool area looks great. Reccomended and would definately visit again.

Tour Operator: Thomsons

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

Julie Watson visited the Kissos Hotel, Paphos in August 2005
Excellent accomodation, perfect in every way no faults to report at all 10 out of 10

Tour Operator: Portland Direct

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Henderson had a holiday at Kissos Hotel, Paphos, Cyprus in March 2005
The hotel was lovely.

Our bedroom was lovely, clean and overlooked Tomb of the Kings.

Hotel food was really good. Cannot fault it at all with a lot of choice.

We had an ordinary room - not an upgrade and were really happy with it.

Hotel staff couldn't do enough for us.

We found the location really good as there was a nice walk along the beachfront into the harbour.

Would definitely go back again. Met people there who visit this hotel every year.

Tour Operator: Eclipse Direct

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

David stayed at Kissos Hotel, Paphos in March 2005
The hotel is located off a busy road, however don't let this put you off. A stroll up to the old town takes around 20-30 minutes (up a hill).

There is no beach near the hotel, the coast line being rocks. There is a beach up toward the lighthouse, but we passed this on our walks to the harbour, where there are a lot of shops, the entrance to the mosaics, well worth a visit if you like historical things.

The hotel we found was clean. The cleaners certainly work very hard and tirelessly.

The food was very good. There is a choice of English breakfast or continental. The meal in the evening is one a theme each night, an extensive menu is posted up each morning.

The hotel staff from the cleaners to the managers were very helpful. The whole staff ...
need a pat on the back for being friendly and couldn't do enough for us.

The entertainment scores low only because we were tired most of the time with all the glorious sun, swimming in the pool and a lot of walking. Taking a taxi and a lot of bargains are missed.

Lots of local bars, lots of different entertainments according to the sandwich boards outside.

Would visit this hotel again.

Well done to all the staff at the Kissos.


Read More

Tour Operator: Libra

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

3/5
3

June stayed at Kissos Hotel, Paphos in December 2004
Agree with previous comments we too paid a supplement on arrival to upgrade to a superior room, which was large, new and clean. The three basic rooms we were shown were all tired, jaded and smelly (B.O.)

The food was adequate, you do not get the same standards of food in Cyprus hotels as in Spain, but you do not go hungry.

Reception staff cannot do enough to help. Hide your kettles they want you to hire tea trays which were quite expensive.

This hotel is good value for money, and is only about 20 minute walk to the harbour either around the headland, or via the road.

There are lots of bars and restaurants within minutes of walking.


Tour Operator: Portland

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
2 stars

2/5
2

Sam stayed at Kissos Hotel, Paphos in October 2004
Stayed the Kissos on a Half Board Basis for 1 week.
The Hotel was obviously built in the 70\'s and the rooms in the main block dont appear to have been updated since.
You can \"upgrade\" to a superior room - for a charge (obviously) which we did - as the superior room was light, airy, clean and much bigger than the standard rooms.
The food was below what we would have expected from the 3 star hotel that the Kissos is meant to be - slightly samey menu and some interesting recipes - I\'ve never seen baked beans or sweetcorn in Chilli corn carne before.
The Hotel staff, however, were very friendly and helpful.
The entertainment was minimal - with the exception of the dutuch DJ, who played ancient \"pop\" records - which was highly amusing - but no one danced - shame really.

Tour Operator: Thomas Cook
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
2 stars

2/5
2

mrs quirke had a holiday at Kissos Hotel in October 2004
We paid ever such alot of money to stay here to find the rooms very tired but clean. The hotel charged for everything extra. We had to pay for a kettle to hot up babies bottles.

The hotel had no entertainment and the children was so bored. The staff was very offish with the children.

You have to hire table tennis bats for them that are very old and all the surface as come off. The pool table all the glass had broke so you could cut your hand on this.

I was so dissapointed with this hotel and would never go back.

Tour Operator: thomas cook
Review Rating

Cleanliness
2 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
2 stars
Share