Image of Kissos Hotel

Kissos Hotel

48 of 64 hotels in Paphos

3 out of 5 from 13 reviews
3 stars
Paphos 8102, Cyprus

13 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    7
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Tony
7 years 4 months ago
First impressions of the Kissos Hotel when we pulled up were good as it seemed like a nice hotel, however things quickly descended once we opened the door to the room. After a 5 hour flight the first thing we wanted when we got there was a cup of tea, however there was no tea making facilities in the room and when we enquired at reception we were told that you had to hire the kettle for 2.50 euro's a day per person. Then came the fridge which had a lock on it which we were informed we could use for 3.50 euro's a day.
The room was like something out of the 60's with a radio built into the headboard of the bed however needless to say this never worked either. There is a tv in the room but the only English channel you can get is BBC world service ie news 24/7.

After 3 days we asked if we could be upgraded to the superior rooms which are the ones they show you in the brochure, we were told it would cost us an extra 22 euro's a day to upgrade and the receptionist gave us the wink and said I'd advise you to have a look at the room first. We found that it was exactly the same as the rooms in the main complex but with a bit of extra floor space (and you still had to pay for tea making facilities and the fridge). We decided that we would stay where we were as it just wasn't worth the extra money!!!

Thankfully we only went B&B but after the first day I was wishing we could have gone self catering as the food is disgusting, unfortunately this is not an option with this hotel.
We met several people who were full board and were eating out after 2 days as the food was so bad.

Entertainment = non existent

This hotel has absolutely no life whatsoever and me and my wife nicknamed it "gods waiting room" as it had no atmosphere what so ever, even the pool area was so quiet you could hear a pin drop.

Once you leave the hotel beware of anyone on scooters with scratch cards , they will tell you that you've won the top prize then whisk you off in a taxi to look at a newly built hotel. It is a time-share scam and they want to hit you up for
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
8 years 5 months ago
The Kissos is located just off the Tomb Of The Kings Road, approx 5 mins walk to Tomb Of The Kings itself.
The location was ideal for us as just around the corner is the main road with plenty of bars and restaurants to keep anyone happy. Mainly karaoke sort of pubs etc. The nearest beach is about 5 minutes walk away but isn't very good. However there is a bus stop around the corner from the hotel. For 1.35 you can jump on the bus and get off anywhere. One way takes you to the excellent Coral Beach, the other way down to the harbour, and there's also a bus to the market and old town.

We received a warm welcome from an english lady in reception, and our room was number 233 on the 2nd floor. This room overlooked the end of the lagoon pool and the pool bar, and the sea and lighthouse can be seen in the distance. The room was very clean and comfortable, well presented. Not all that big, especially the balcony which was rather small, although it is usuable. Double bed, tv, free air con, bath and shower. There is no tea or coffee facilities, if you want this the hotel charges something like 3.75 a day. There is a fridge, however this is extra as well, about the same price. However the locks are easily fiddled and we had free fridge for 2 week, as I think paying
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Jeff Hirst
9 years 1 month ago
Whilst staying at the Kissos I had the best meal of my life the food here is delicious.

Peaceful enjoyable holiday just what I needed will return next year.

Rooms very nice very clean could not fault the hotel for sevice in anyway.

Staff brilliant could not do enough for you very pleasant experience.

This family run hotel should be 4 star.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Barrie Norman
10 years 1 month ago
My wife and I stayed at this hotel for two weeks commencing the 18th November 2006.

Our allocated room was fantastic, overlooking both the old and the new pool with distant views towards the sea, it was double room with ensuite bathroom, consisting of bath with shower over, toilet and wash hand basin, nicely finished and of a good size.

The room was nicely furnished with a television showing limited English channel, telephone, limited wardrobe space and air conditioned.

There was a good sized balcony with good views.

Rooms kept clean on a daily basis.

There was no tea or coffee facilities in the room, we did notice that the hotel charged extra for this.

The hotel itself was kept clean under the watchful eye of the owner and his daughter, who we found to be very helpful.

Two swimming pools kept clean and they looked very inviting but the water was very cold, the area around the pools was also kept very clean.

Very nice gardens kept to a high standard.

The indoor pool and fitness centre on the lower ground floor was also excellent and properly maintained.

The reception area was nice and again kept clean and the receptionists very helpful.

There was only entertainment on one night per week, you could not really call it entertainment, there was two men playing local instruments in the bar, so not very exciting.

The hotel let itself down with its restaurant, the breakfasts were poor, the main reason for saying this is that the fried eggs offered were discoloured and hard, one day fried eggs the next scrambled eggs, with this was over cooked streaky bacon, German sausages and baked beans, so not very exciting and the presentation of the food was poor.

The evening meal was of the same standard, very poor, as the majority of the meat selection was cooked in various sauces, even roast chicken had been roasted and then placed in a sauce, the hotel boasted they catered for vegetarians but this was non existant unless you liked 'cabbage flan', when you complain there answer was 'well there is the salad' !!

With the exception of the meals, we enjoyed our two weeks at this hotel, maybe we were in a quiet period and during the height of the season the meals might improve.

Get your hire car over the internet before leaving the UK, we only paid 8 English pounds per day which was fantastic, this included delivery to the hotel and collection, no other extras.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
10 years 3 months ago
The Kissos hotel is 3 star although it has a fairly new wing of superior rooms which make it more of a 4 star. These rooms are very large and open on to a lagoon that runs alongside of them. They cost approx
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Lesley & Ricky
10 years 4 months ago
We stayed in the Kissos hotel on a half board basis for 2 weeks.

We paid extra to be in one of the superior rooms & it was excellent.

We swapped our evening meals all holiday for lunches & the food was great, this also meant we could sample the delightful restaurants in the evening!!

The hotel is immaculate, maids were in every day, clean towels & bedding on a daily basis.

The lagoon was great which ran through the superior part of the hotel.

The only thing this hotel is lacking is entertainment on an evening but we didn't mind as we went out every night.

The other snag is people were putting their towels down at midnight to reserve sunbeds which is a bit naughty but in the end everyone was at it!!

We would return to this hotel anytime as we had a very enjoyable stay, just a shame we had to come home !!

10/10 for everything, we just couldn't fault it.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Ian Arthurs
10 years 4 months ago
As other visitors of Kissos have mentioned, the entertainment on an evening is poor, but as we were out everynight didnt mind this.

The rooms where spotless and staff were very friendly and helpful and provided an excellent service to make sure our stay was enjoyable.

Pool area very peaceful and the lagoon pool area looks great. Reccomended and would definately visit again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Julie Watson
11 years 4 months ago
Excellent accomodation, perfect in every way no faults to report at all 10 out of 10
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
11 years 9 months ago
The hotel was lovely.

Our bedroom was lovely, clean and overlooked Tomb of the Kings.

Hotel food was really good. Cannot fault it at all with a lot of choice.

We had an ordinary room - not an upgrade and were really happy with it.

Hotel staff couldn't do enough for us.

We found the location really good as there was a nice walk along the beachfront into the harbour.

Would definitely go back again. Met people there who visit this hotel every year.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
David
11 years 9 months ago
The hotel is located off a busy road, however don't let this put you off. A stroll up to the old town takes around 20-30 minutes (up a hill).

There is no beach near the hotel, the coast line being rocks. There is a beach up toward the lighthouse, but we passed this on our walks to the harbour, where there are a lot of shops, the entrance to the mosaics, well worth a visit if you like historical things.

The hotel we found was clean. The cleaners certainly work very hard and tirelessly.

The food was very good. There is a choice of English breakfast or continental. The meal in the evening is one a theme each night, an extensive menu is posted up each morning.

The hotel staff from the cleaners to the managers were very helpful. The whole staff need a pat on the back for being friendly and couldn't do enough for us.

The entertainment scores low only because we were tired most of the time with all the glorious sun, swimming in the pool and a lot of walking. Taking a taxi and a lot of bargains are missed.

Lots of local bars, lots of different entertainments according to the sandwich boards outside.

Would visit this hotel again.

Well done to all the staff at the Kissos.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices