53 independent reviews of the Mayfair Hotel & Apartments
Address: PARIS STREET, Paphos 62459, Cyprus
Mayfair Hotel & Apartments
Mayfair Hotel & Apartments Location
Ranked #24 of 61 hotels in Paphos


4/5
Mayfair Hotel & Apartments Mayfair Hotel & Apartments is rated 3.81 out of 5 from 53 Reviews
77% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (53 reviews)

Cleanliness 4 stars
Entertainment 4 stars
Food 4 stars
Service 4 stars
Location 3 stars

Mayfair Hotel & Apartments Reviews

4/5
4
"Excellent value for money"
Doonhamer32 stayed at Mayfair Hotel & Apartments in July 2013
2 readers found this review helpful

Our family of 3 stayed in 2 rooms at the Mayfair from 7th to 21st July, and having read mixed reviews elsewhere, I was more than a little concerned. With that in mind, I shall try to split this review into sections, and report facts as much as possible.

Check in: We arrived at the hotel just after 11pm. George on reception was business like & efficient, sorted out our keys & wristbands, told us the meal times & locations, and explained how to get to our rooms.

Rooms: Both rooms had a seating area (sofa beds) and a sleeping area (one of the rooms was arranged as a studio, the other as a one bedroom apartment ) a fridge, kettle & mugs, and a TV (not much in the way of English channels). The bathrooms both had a ...
power shower over the bath. The whole room had a tiled floor and a balcony. One hotel had a pool & garden view from a small balcony, the other a street view from a bigger balcony.

Meals: All meals are buffet service. Breakfast and dinner are served in the main restaurant, and lunch is served at the Gardens Pool bar. Breakfast had a number of choices, changing slightly every day - fresh bread, porridge, 4 different cereals, bacon or fried ham, frankfurters or British sausages, eggs in at least one form (fried, boiled, scrambled, omelette ) fried bread, mushrooms, croissants & Danish pastries. Tea, coffee, orange juice, pink grapefruit juice, water.

Dinner is on a different theme every night Greek, International, European, Carvery, Farmers, Italian, etc. The menu is posted outside the dining room before breakfast, so you can see what it is on offer. Rather than try to list everything, I shall list the Carvery Menu from our last night: Leek & potato soup; roast pork and roast beef from the carvery; lamb boulangere; chef's pie; fillet of fish in mussels sauce; rice; pasta; roast potatoes; chips; buttered carrots; green beans with herbs; green salad; tomato salad; gravy; apple sauce. Desserts were a selection of creme caramel, mousse (usually 2 types) honeydew melon; watermelon; Rocky Road slices; cheesecake.

Lunch is a simpler affair, with 3 salads, 1 fish dish, 2 meat dishes, spaghetti Bolognese, chips; fresh fruit.

Snacks are available daily from 10:30 until 12, and 3:30 until 5, consisting of bread, ham cheese, salad, 2 hot dishes chips, calamari, sausages, burgers, etc and a sandwich toaster.
Ice cream is available on a self-serve basis at mealtimes vanilla, strawberry & chocolate.

Drinks on the all-inclusive: 2 draught beers (Leon & Kappa); ouzo; tequila; brandy; whisky, vodka; red wine; white wine; tea; coffee; hot chocolate; soft drinks from the gun, including diet coke; 4 cocktails are included, plus the "cocktail of the day" (sometimes this is one on the AI list, sometimes not) the cocktails included are " Cuba Libre, Tequila Sunrise, Ouzo Special, Brandy Sour, plus 3 children's cocktails). There are other drinks available at a cost Keo & Carlsberg cost 3.50, cocktails between 3.50 and 5, and frozen cocktails are 3.50. Milk shakes are 2.99.

Staff are all friendly and willing to help. Once the evening entertainment begins, then waitress service starts in the bar area, so no need to queue, although sometimes you may need to wait a little longer if the bar is busy. The animation team work hard and are very popular with the majority of guests, and there is some "brought-in" entertainment, such as Lady Gaga & Michael Jackson tribute acts.

There are 2 main pools, plus 2 kids pools. One pool is the activity pool, depth ranges from 0.7m to 1.7m. The quiet pool has no activities taking place, and ranges from 1.7m to 2.2m. The kids pools are 0.7m deep.

I have tried to keep my opinions out of the review, but I was pleasantly surprised by the hotel, which I feel offers great value for money. I would definitely consider returning.

Read More

Tour Operator: 2 Bookaholiday.com

Recommended: Yes
Customer photos
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

3/5
3
"Great for families"
tracey Armstrong-Stacey visited the Mayfair Hotel & Apartments, Paphos in July 2013
1 reader found this review helpful

Lovely pools, good entertainment, very varied from family games to local acts and bingo every night with huge jackpots!! Tasty food, there was always something you could find. Apartments are very basic but very clean. Only fault is that it is too far from the beach about a half hour walk and the nearest beach isn't that great. There is a bus service for 150 euro each way. We took two 17 year olds and an 18 month old and we all had a fabulous time!!! We are sad to be home.

Tour Operator: Sunsave

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
2 stars

4/5
4
"accommodation great for all "
Lyn Buckley-Mellor stayed at Mayfair Hotel & Apartments in July 2013
Wasn't happy when we landed with our transfers as we had to wait approximately 1 hour for other flights to land to then get on our transfer shuttle (run down bus which didn't sound very safe).

The accommodation was lovely, very nice staff and service. We were able to keep on our room for a few more hours on the last day which we found very helpful and useful. Entertainment team did a fantastic job and the entertainment that was on was very entertaining especially rock the room and the burlesque dancers. Lots of choices for food in the morning and at night but least looked forward to lunch as wasn't really much choice. The staff at the mayfair all worked very hard and delivered a great service.

Tour Operator: sunsave

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

lewis stayed at Mayfair Hotel & Apartments in August 2010
1 reader found this review helpful

We went with our 14 year old daughter and her friend. We read reports before we left and had mixed views but when we arrived at the hotel it was lovely. We checked in and went to our room which was clean and air conditioned, we had only been there one day and had our towels changed and room cleaned this carried on through the holiday.

The food was lovely, the hotel staff were lovely and friendly, the hotel pool area was clean so we had a fantastic holiday and would recommend this hotel to anyone. We are very fussy however my daughter and her friend had a lovely time with organized activity's throughout the day.

Paphos is beautiful, the harbor and the old town is a must to see.

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5

pat&mick had a holiday at Mayfair Hotel & Apartments in May 2010
very clean,good food,staff could not do enough for you .location 10 minute walk to seafront

Tour Operator: first choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

Cogdon stayed at Mayfair Hotel & Apartments, Paphos in December 2009
We absolutely love this hotel. We thought the room was a bit dated when we first arrived but it was clean so it was OK.
The staff of the Mayfair are probably the friendliest and most helpful that I\'ve ever encountered on my travels, especially Angela who spent a lot of time talking to the Grandchildren and helping them.
The entertainments team were also a cut above, they worked their socks off from morning till VERY late at night and deserve a medal (be careful when they do their \'busy bee, busy bee\' routine, you may get a shock!).
I\'d reccommend this Hotel to anyone but, perhaps, if you are expecting five star luxury at rock bottom prices you won\'t like it.

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

Mrs Thomas visited the Mayfair Hotel & Apartments, Paphos, Cyprus in September 2009
We stayed in a studio apartment,which was next to the childrens pool which closed at 7pm so no problem with noise at night. The apartment needed updating,fridge was rusty,small 2 ring electric cooker on top of a unit we were afraid to use it in case it burnt the cupboard above it. It said beds were changed 2/3 times a week, ours were not changed at all,towels changes everyday ours were changed twice. The staff we saw were all very pleasant.Don\'t know about the food as we ate out every night.It\'s a 20 minute walk down to Pathos and the harbour area, but very pleasant passing the ruins ect.The entertainment staff were on the go all the time.It would be very noisy at night if you had a room above the bar area as this is where the entertainment was ...
till 11pm. We would\'t stay at this hotel again as it was a bit to far from the main area.

Read More

Tour Operator: Skytours
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
2 stars

2/5
2

lizzi visited the Mayfair Hotel & Apartments in August 2009
this hotel well i will never be going bk the room were never cleaned properly we had to go by clening stuff and clean it our self the room was always running alive with ants ants iv never seen so many in one place in all my life the staf were well i cant knock them maybe its cause my other half is greek only one good thing come out of stayin here was the bar that was across the road the full moon bar we got on really well with the oner and his family even went to his home but apart from that will never visit it again so all these people sayin its nice and would go bk well i really dont no where there getting that from coaysl bay is where you waana stay cause thats ...
where the beach is and from the mayfair hotel its a long trip its about ten min on a bus but thats all i got to say about this hotel maybe you need to get better cleaners and make more of a effort for the adults cause there was noughtin there for them we never stayed there at night cause it was so borein

Read More

Tour Operator: travel with us
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
1 stars

5/5
5

stuart had a holiday at Mayfair Hotel & Apartments, Paphos, Cyprus in June 2009
this is the second time we have stopped at this hotel and yet again it was faultless, cannot comment on the hotel food as we were self catering we ate somewhere different every night in the town, but talking to people around the pool the food was excellent.the location of the hotel is about 15 minutes from all the bars and restaurants although there is a handful near the hotel would recommend the full moon.the day time for entertainment around the pool was excellent and it kept our 2 kids ammused for the 2 weeks.

Tour Operator: thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Pat & Reg had a holiday at Mayfair Hotel & Apartments, Paphos in May 2009
1 reader found this review helpful

This was our first trip to Cyprus and also our first time on A/I. The hotel was lovely and clean, the room was comfortable and the food was good.
Our room was cleaned everday and the towels changed, bed linen was changed every two days.
The staff were always very pleasant and helpful and the entertainment had something for everyone.
Meals ranged from very good to excellent and the chef was always on hand - at breakfast he would cook omlettes to order.
The hotel location was perfect for us as we wanted to visit the archaelogical sites which were within walking distance but may be a little too far out for people who want a beach holiday.
All in all - for the price we paid we were more than happy with the hotel.

Tour Operator: DIY

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

Mason visited the Mayfair Hotel & Apartments in April 2009
The hotel was fabulous The food was fabulous Location was fine Hotel staff were courteous disciplined efficent and just excellent.It was extremely clean. Entertaiment had a range of ablities from excellent to average. It was the best holiday I have ever had. It was total enjoyment from start to finish for our Family of 6

Tour Operator: Thomas Cooke

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

T.Clark visited the Mayfair Hotel & Apartments, Paphos, Cyprus in November 2008
The mayfair is one of the friendliest hotels we have ever stayed in. The staff could not be more helpful,the entertainment was excellent and the food more than acceptable-with a fantastic chef. The rooms were clean and we upgraded to all-incusive for 1 week which saved a lot on drinks.
How some people can be critical of this hotel is beyond belief - it makes you wonder what they expect.The location of the hotel is not great but there is a bus stop nearby which takes you all round Paphos. A big thank you to the staff, and other guests who made this a great holiday.


Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

john osborne stayed at Mayfair Hotel & Apartments in November 2008
we stayed half board and could not fault the food and the service.all the staff were very pleasant and helpful.the apartment was spotless and cleaned every day but sunday.the bar staff were great company but prices were a bit high.pools were great and not to busy.great location for all the bars and you have to try the sixties bar off bar street if you are of a certain age.in all,just try it ,you will not be disappointed.p.s.if you like a decent pint of bitter, go to the red lion pub and have a drink with martin.p.p.s.do not call him martin,he does not like it.will go again next year without doubt.

Tour Operator: thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

Andy visited the Mayfair Hotel & Apartments, Paphos in October 2008
The rooms are quite basic and a little shabby but have all the necessities and a balcony which is nice. Try to avoid getting a room that faces the road as the traffic can be quite noisy and carries on through the night. The BIGGEST problem is they only offer BBC 1 on TV. We were hoping for a few quite and relaxing nights in but it\'s a very boring with only BBC1. There were 2 other channels but they were very fuzzy and when I asked reception they said that\'s just the way they are and if BBC is working then that\'s fine. The hotel has a kids club for 5 year olds and up. It offers nightly entertainment. The location is good as it\'s within walking distance of the harbour and bar street with many restaurants.
I wouldn\'t recommend the hotel as there are so many better options available.

Tour Operator: Travel republic
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
3 stars

5/5
5

Elli&Lauren visited the Mayfair Hotel & Apartments, Paphos, Cyprus in August 2008
As we was all inclusive, we could have our food and snacks throughout the day whenever we wanted. The food was great and cooked fresh daily for breakfast, snacks, lunch & dinner. We found our hotel rooms lovely and were cleaned everyday and fresh towls and sheets were put in.
There was a 10min walk from the beach and bar street but it was a fantastic holiday!
entertainment was the best weve had, they were very friendly,
and we loved it so much were coming back in october = )

Tour Operator: thomsons

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

miss r lucas visited the Mayfair Hotel & Apartments, Paphos, Cyprus in August 2008
this hotel was brilliant!! the hotel is absolutly spotless, and rooms cleaned daily. We went over for a wedding and stayed half board. we had a room right above reception overlooking the car park but could hear no noise at night. rooms are your standard size for half board. two single beds, tv,wardrobe and bathroom.
The food is lovely. evening meals mores so than breakfast time. the chef was always there cooking a range of dishes freshly in front of you.
the hotel has two swimming pools but beware they both tend to get pretty busy. also this hotel has a policy for those of you who tend to get up and leave your towels on sunbeds tehn spend half the dfay at the beach. if your are gone for over an housr your stuff will be taken off the ...
beds and left on the floor. A number of times i had guests complaining abouty this.
the hotel has a sauna, gym and u can pay for massages ect.. indoor pool only open between oct-may.
theres palenty of enetrtainment in the hotel but we prefer to venture out.
if u walk to the end of the hotel drive and take a right, continue going,cross the road pass the church and phone boxes, then turn left walk 50 yards you will see a lane on the right hand side. if you follow this lane it will take you down to bar street and the harbour. its a fair treck that takes 15-20 minuites but this is by far the quickest way.

Read More

Tour Operator: thomas cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
2 stars

5/5
5

Kev & Jane Hankinson visited the Mayfair Hotel & Apartments, Paphos, Cyprus in July 2008
As it was our first time in Cyprus we were well and truly hooked.It was late at night when checking in but nothing was too much trouble for Michelle, all reception staff throughout our two weeks were very polite and helpful.
All bar and waitering staff were very friendly especially Andi, Cyprian,George,Laura and danielle to mention a few.
The dining room had a pleasant atmosphere and there was always something to suit even for our fussy eating daughters. The chef was there every night and every morning to greet and to cook fresh omlettes if desired.
Overall i think the hotel was excellent and would definatly return and recommend.
Well done the Mayfair, thanks for a great holiday.

Tour Operator: Travel Republic

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Towler/Ralston visited the Mayfair Hotel & Apartments, Paphos, Cyprus in June 2008
The apartment was old fashioned but clean.It backed onto a residential area which didn\'t bother us.It was ok for a base but we wouldn\'t go again.The kids enjoyed the pool,the rest of the time we spent out.

Tour Operator: Thompsons
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Kristina & Aimee stayed at Mayfair Hotel & Apartments, Paphos in September 2007
We recently have just come back from a stay at this hotel and were quite surprised..

The only fault I can make is we were not situated in a good room, we were on the front of the hotel on the 3rd floor overlooking the car park.

Other than that I can not fault this hotel, rooms were clean , staff were friendly and there was great entertainment evrey night for the kids.

The hotel is approx 10 - 20 mins walk into bar street and shops, plenty of restaurants to choose from also.

We would defo stay at this hotel again but stating a different room.

Tour Operator: Aspro

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
3 stars

2/5
2

Sue & Paul stayed at Mayfair Hotel & Apartments, Paphos in July 2007
We arrived quite late at night and I was very worried by the level of noise. The staff were quite rude when we arrived and seemed quite put out.

Our room was very basic and had quite a musty smell, the bed lined seemed damp too, which wasn\'t nice.

We went half board, however after the first visit to the resturant we ate out for the following 2 weeks. My hubby is quite fussy and some of the meat dishes didn\'t look cooked.....

You have to get up at the crack of dawn to get a bed & you are not able to reserve beds, this was a night mare really...my kids are fair and burn easily with out shade.

We had an ok holiday, but NOT what we are used to...will not be going again...ok if you like to ruff it !!!

Tour Operator: Thompson
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
2 stars
Share