Image of Pafian Sun Holiday Village Hotel

Pafian Sun Holiday Village Hotel

33 of 63 hotels in Paphos

4 out of 5 from 64 reviews
4 stars
Kissonerga, Cyprus

64 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    13
  • Very Good
    31
  • Good
    12
  • Average
    7
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Kate Bayne
Cyrpus Great, hotel not so!
3 years 2 months ago
This was our first visit to Cyprus with a party of 17 - the pafian sun village was not the best of hotels, the rooms were in need of urgent update with ceiling tiles all stained and the beds way past use by date. The rooms were clean enough but the fittings and fixtures were all in need of upgrade. Bed linin not the cleanest!

Food was ok nothing special, all the food seemed to taste the same

The pool was very nice, warm although there was a few incidents with people putting there feet through the grill around the edge of the pool which had to be constantly fixed all the time. No lifeguard at pool side which is fine for older kids but not for the yoounger ones. Pool not very deep but deep enough to swim in.

We booked with Thomas Cook and were going to cyprus for a wedding with a large group. We were told we were within walking distance from the wedding party and all the other guests which turned out to be wrong it was actually a good 20-25 min bus journey which was very annoying!

Coral beach only 5 mins up the road on a bus which is a lovely beach with great water sports so well worth a visit.

Hotel did have wifi which you needed to pay for and was useless so ended up using the Crazy Spoons across the road - the hotel also did not have any TV for sports etc so again had to go across the road.

Bar in the hotel was useless, one person working at most and had to queue up in a small cubby hole not a proper bar - they did have bar's but these were not in use apparently they had no pumps fitted!

Evening entertainment was rubbish, although the reps were great and did try really hard but they could do with getting some outside entertainment in.

All in all holiday was great, hotel very below standard would go back to Cyprus but not this hotel.

On leaving we were told the hotel is being upgraded to 5 star next year and having a complete overall, the maid showed us a sample room which has been kitted out for next year which is absolutley fab apparently all the rooms are being updated, bar areas updated, restaraunts, and pool will be having a bar and also a small waterpark being built attached to the hotel so if your going next year im sure this will be a great place.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Graham.nicholas
over rated
4 years 1 month ago
Just arrived back from a week at this hotel, not one of the best hotels stayed at in this resort, hotel more a 3* rating than a 4* that we thought we would get. Room very clean and clean towels every day but overall this hotel is in need of an update. AI option not bad theme nights however staff not the most of friendly unlike other hotels stayed in on this resort.

Having read reports when booking this holiday took others advise i.e. on cluster blocks but even though we requested cluster block we was given a room right above the so called entertainment with 2 children not pleased and told we would have to wait few days to request another room as hotel fully booked.

People reserved sunbeds at 2 in the morning so hard to find beds even though hotel give you letter to say not to reserve beds and they will remove towels they should take note of their policy.

Quite a way out from town would need to catch bus that stops right outside hotel and always able to catch a taxi. I would not recommend this hotel and found a week long enough here as did many other guests not very good value and the not the best for families. Over all Paphos is a lovely place if you select the right hotel
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
KeefG
Perfect in mid-late season
5 years 1 month ago
We, a group of 5 (2 adults & 3 kids aged 15, 7 & 7) stayed here at the end of August and all in all had a really good time.

We had a 2 bedroomed apartment which was absolutely massive, however our room was looking a little dated. The curtains and bed sheets are from the 80's and really do need changing, the furniture is fine but basic and 1 of our air-con units was pathetic. To be fair to the hotel, we didn't report it as 1 unit being left on through the night was sufficient to keep the whole place cool, so in the hotels defence it could have been fixed and worked brilliantly. We had to get a hair dryer from reception as there wasn't one already in the room, again a small issue easily fixed.

The hotel itself is very pleasant, the reception area is plush, the dining room is nice enough although some tables are a little close, my theory on this is that the dining room is far too small for the amount of guests the hotel has when its full, its not a major issue though. The food itself was great, always plenty of choice, always hot (near empty trays of food were removed from the buffet and not just piled on top or underneath of fresh food like I have witnessed in other hotels) and most of the time very nice to taste, we also liked the themed menu nights that go on each night, the vast majority of the restaurant staff are all very pleasant too.

The pool area is lovely too, again I don't believe the pool is big enough for the amount of guests the hotel has, there was a couple of afternoons when the pool felt really crowded and you had no space, but generally it was lovely, always a nice temperature too and always clean.

The entertainment team did a good enough job for me, they entertained the kids and as long as the kids are happy then I'm happy! Tory, Peter, Em & Co do a sterling job and shouldn't be knocked.

The location of the hotel is a little out of the way, but the Paphos bus service is second to none, 2 euros per day and you can ride around on as many of their nicely air-conditioned buses as you like, so the location didn't really bother us at all.

My only gripes would be as follows:
The drinks, the drinks are served in small plastic cups and only at 2 per person per visit (unless you get friendly with the bar staff as we did) which is a bit of a pain, we didn't drink a lot but even so we found ourselves constantly up & down to the bar for drinks.

The sunbeds/parasols, these are meant to not be reserved as there are signs everywhere, yet on our 1st morning we came down at around 8:30am for breakfast to find pretty much every sunbed taken which is no good at all, we did complain about it but nothing was done. I had to join the rest of the sad brigade getting up at the crack of dawn to reserve a bed so we could keep an eye on the kids in the pool :-( Also, there are nowhere near enough parasols to go around, and this in the Cypriot heat is not good enough either.

All in all, I wouldn't say the Pafian was a 4* hotel, more like a good 3* but that hasn't deterred us as we'd definitely visit the hotel again but not in high season, I honestly think it would be a far nicer place to visit in mid to late September when there is more space for everybody.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
SC Durham
Decent for the price
5 years 3 months ago
Booked a pretty cheap deal via Jet2 Holidays and overall it was value for money. We stayed for 10 nights and the place was inundated with kids. Family report so what did we expect. Generally this Hotel had been a quite upmarket facility but apparently since the introduction of All Inclusive it has gone downhill rapidly.

The good points:- we took a previous reviewers advice and requested a sea view room, second floor in Block 25. This is exactly what we got on arrival via the very helpful reception guy. The room was excellent if configured a little strangely - never had a full size window overlooking the bedroom from the Bathroom so this was a first.
Food was really good and varied and the restaurant staff very helpful. The Bar on an evening was very busy but the drink quality was adequate. The negatives:-entertainment was kid based until 21.00 then allegedly a more adult theme until 23.00. I have to say I did not notice the difference! Plastic cups - safety first but we and several others just carried our glasses from the restaurant outside and topped these up.

The location while not remote is a bit out of the way and the fact that there was no beach adjacent was a major downer for us. There is an adequate beach at Coral Bay although this got very crowded.
Note that eating out can be very expensive with a basic three course meal costing about £25 each and drinks charged accordingly. Overall a decent hotel for the price but we will not return.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
CazzMicknTom
We would stay again
5 years 3 months ago
Hotel was very clean however we had an infestation of bugs in our bathroom which took nearly two weeks to eradicate. Towels changed every other day, bedding once a week.

Staff were very friendly. Drinks service was a bit slow in the restaurant so take some in with you; you'll have them drunk by the time your order comes.
Food was fantastic, everynight was themed, especially liked the Chinese, BBQ and Carvery. Plenty choice at all sittings. Breakfast 7.30 till 10, snacks 10.30 till 12, lunch 12.30 till 2.30, snacks 3.30 till 6 and evening meal 6.30 till 9pm.

Entertainment was of the usual sort, rep based. Mini Disco 8 till 8.45 then certificate presentations, 9pm Bingo then 10pm reps put on a show. As this hotel is quite a way from any bars, I expected some outside entertainment brought in. This only happened on Sundays when reps were off.

Usual stuff through the day, aquarobics, volleyball, watwer polo, killer darts/pool etc. Music was way too loud around the pool. Quiet pool is ideal but my son wanted to be with his mates round the big pool.

I e-mailed the hotel before we visited and requested a seaview room which we got. Best blocks are 23,24,25,26 for seaview rooms, top floors are better rooms E.F.G.H, these are also away from pool, bar area in case you want an early night.

I would visit this hotel again but not at the price we paid. Some people staying there had paid half what we had by late booking.

Two down points are 1. too far away from shops/bars. 2. More like Butlins than a hotel. However if you have children under the age of 10 and like Butlins....go for it!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Anne/keith
At very best, a 3*
6 years ago
When I booked this hotel I booked a 4* and at very best it was only 3*, the whole place is very tired and needs refurbishing. On arrival we were given the wrong room when we complained we told our room would not be ready till the next morning this room was not much better even though it was supposed to be superior deluxe.

The food I found to be not bad, but on other a/c hols we have been on you could get food/bar snakes all day but there was none of that. The entertainment in the evening was hopeless so every evening going to coral bay or the harbour and buying food and drinks so not much point going a/c.

Our room was directly on the quite pool away from reception so most nights we had people young and old swimming in the pool at all hours (very noisy) had to ring reception to send security. The rooms were cleaned 5 days a week but not very well it seemed they moped the room but did not sweep it first but that was properly due to there not being enough staff and that was the same through the whole hotel, most evenings the queue at the bar was huge because there were not enough bar staff, most the staff were nice and friendly but I will not be staying at the Pafian sun again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Blackburn
6 years 2 months ago
ok let me first start this by letting you know i wouldn't usually bother writing a review because we never go on holiday with any expectations and we are not the type of people to complain and we have always made the most of where ever we go. However i feel this review is justified ,the hotel in it's self is well run ,the room we were given was clean although very dated and needs alot doing to it to bring it up to a four star standard.
The draws didn't shut,the base of the bed was covered in stains and the bathroom ceiling looked moldy however the maid does work hard and they clean the rooms 5 days a week so all that said the rooms are liveable.The pool was really nice and pool area was kept clean with lots of sun beds and parasols although with every holiday we've ever been on the usual early morning chore to bag a sun bed is needed.Bewarned !!!the floor around the pool gets bloody hot but it was entertaining watching people hopping around from foot to foot!.
The all inclusive food was ok and well cooked with lots of choice .The breakfast was the best meal of the day for me so enjoy it.My only complaint about the food would be the snacks,the choice is whats usually left over from the previous meal so after breakfast it would be bacon (more like turkey rashers),sausages and chips.In the afternoon it was salads,chips and mainly dodgey fish things and nuggets and having two teenage kids its the snacks they most enjoy normally but not on this holiday.
The drinks are served all day in small plastic cups which i can understand with lots of kids running around but in the evening it would of been nice to have glasses or larger plastic cups u see a cocktail in a small plastic cup not very enjoyable!
The hotel is situated about 15 minutes from paphos harbour and the good news is it only costs 1 euro to get there and they run every 10/15 minutes.
Now here comes the bad news the entertainment reps we're made up of 3 girls and 1 bloke and they started at 10ish everyday around the main pool unfortunatly they do the same routine everyday and after a week you can even say what they're going to say before they even say it.Usually we love bad entertainment but this was just plain boring.The evening show's consisted of the reps singing and dancing however they sing badly and 6 nights of that is enough to drive you insane.The rep on a sunday (leighton)though was absolutely fab and kept us entertained all day.My 2 teenage kids we're quite bored as they don't do much for their age group although the second week this did improve alittle with the reps doing games for the teenagers.
Overall the holiday was ok but would i recommend this hotel to family and friends i'm afraid not but if your reading this review and you've already booked then don't worry as the hotel really wasn't that bad and i hope you enjoy your stay.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Garry Smith
6 years 10 months ago
pafion sun village cyprus. having read reports on this site all i can say is that none of you can have been for half term week ending 1st nov the hotel was shutting down over the week we had no entertainment on a night apart from 3 reps singing(not good). the kids club was only open for 5 days and clashed with lunch. as many of the people i talked to on holiday were very mad that they were paying around
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Nadia
7 years ago
Just back from Pafian Sun and have to say this is the first hotel i have ever said i would definitley return to next year and we holiday ever year. The only fault i could come up with was the location, you cannot walk to any resort, but bus does stop outside the door every 15mins, wheelchair accessible so pushchairs were no bother. In saying that you have no need to leave hotel complex as they cater for everyone, in both food and entertainment, we just like to break the monotomy of all-inclusive the odd time! If busy pool too much they have recently built a quieter pool to suit everyone. All in all, a lovely hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
7 years 2 months ago
Hotel was right next to the sea.But there was no beach there. We had a beautiful view from our room balcony. Rooms were clustered in blocks around the grounds. Several around the pool area. Mine was next to this area with a sea view.
The main pool area could get quite noisy with the reps belting out loud music and 'entertaining' some of the day and every evening. We preferred the quieter pool at the other end of the hotel a two minute walk from our room. It had its own bar in the daytime and always had sun loungers available.
When we arrived the hotel was over crowded and very noisy due to there being a public holiday that weekend and lots of Cypriot families staying over the weekend. They were an excitible and voluble lot. It was a shock to our system! Especially as our room was adjacent to the packed noisy pool area of hotel. They left on the monday and the hotel seemed much quieter with normal levels of noise. There was much more room in the dining room and pools.
The food was really good.A great selection, well cooked and presented.The white wine served in the dining hall to all inclusive guests was pleasant. Beer was ok. Did not like many of spirit and cocktail drinks offered to a.i. guests. All staff were really pleasant and helpful.
Thomas Cook reps entertained everyday and most evenings.They had one night off when another chap filled in and he was part of a really good singing and dancing act that evening. The night before they also had an outside dance show come in to perform who were quite entertaining. We didn't like the reps shows, bingo etc, not to our taste. But families seemed to like them.
There was a bar across the road with a restaurant and sky tv but for other bars you would have to hop on a bus to Paphos or Coral Bay. Buses ran till 11 o'clock and taxis were 15 Euro back to the hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: