15 independent reviews of the Paphian Bay Hotel
Address: Poseidonos Avenue, Paphos CY 8101, Cyprus
Paphian Bay Hotel
Paphian Bay Hotel Location
Ranked #26 of 61 hotels in Paphos


4/5
Paphian Bay Hotel Paphian Bay Hotel is rated 3.73 out of 5 from 15 Reviews
73% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (15 reviews)

Cleanliness 4 stars
Entertainment 2 stars
Food 4 stars
Service 4 stars
Location 4 stars

Paphian Bay Hotel Reviews

3/5
3

m james had a holiday at Paphian Bay Hotel, Paphos, Cyprus in July 2008
the best part of this hotel is the private beach .the bay and the beach is safe and clean and a perfect place to chill out .the hotel is clean and tidy and the air con is a godsend . breakfast is very good evening meal is ok . the prices for drinks are very expensive so we walked 10 mins down road to supermarket and stocked our fridge with beer and water. the rooms are very comfortable and sea views from balcony are stunning .i found the hotel staff not very helpfull and most of them needed happy pills except the eastern europeans they served you with a smile

Tour Operator: aspro
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

Sarah & Peter stayed at Paphian Bay Hotel in September 2007
We have just arrived back from Pahian Bay it was lovely! After staying at Athena Beach last year which is part of the same group, we new we would not be disapointed. The Paphian is on a smaller scale but really nice, the food was good loads of choice especially with the different meat variety. Rooms are nice cleaned everyday bathroom a bit small but good enough, the pool is great, really comfy sun loungers, nice gardens and right on the beach. If you want you can use the other three hotels facilites for a change! There are a lot of older people that stay at this hotel but didint bother us, quite a few younger couples as well. Entertainment isnt great but still plenty to do in the resort. We will 100% go back like so ...
many others have already. I forgot weather in Ocotber HOT HOT HOT !!!!

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5

Di & Bob Mckinlay stayed at Paphian Bay Hotel, Paphos in July 2007
Just returned from yet another wonderful holiday at the paphian bay, as usual staff very friendly and helpful, nothing seem\'s to much trouble for them.
The hotel spotless, with maids in everyday and bed changed every other day and always with a smile!

This year we decided to stay on half board basis and we thought the food was out of this world, with a wide choice to suit everybody and beautifully presented, we lost count of how many different types of salad there was to choose from! Let alone the main course\'s, every night has a different theme night...italian,greek,international,chinese,indian etc, breakfast equally as lovely again plenty to choose from.

The hotel itself is situated in beautiful and well kept gardens leading on to the beach, what more could you ask for! Those who are going Enjoy & please remember to feed the hotel cat!

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Al and Caroline had a holiday at Paphian Bay Hotel, Paphos in July 2007
This is our first visit to this hotel. The good the bad and the ugly follow.

The good:
every thing was good could not fault it. Great pool then comes the beach just at the bottom of the garden. Good for snorkling. Clean and well looked after hotel with good food. Have confdence when you book this hotel that you have made the right choice.
Rated as a three star but we say it is as good as any four star we hae stayed in.

The bad:
Entertainment was a bit poor. Catch a bus to the town 3km.away. Well worth a visit. Great in the evening.

The ugly:
Nothing was ugly. Just a great place. Enjoy.


Tour Operator: Thompson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

Alan & Wendy had a holiday at Paphian Bay Hotel, Paphos, Cyprus in July 2006
Very quiet hotel which suited us, even in the middle of August, Pool was really good with lots of comfortable sunbeds and space in the Garden Area or Private Beach.
Breakfasts were buffet style with everything you could ever wish for. Rooms were a little dated and not overly large, but comfortable enough. Air Con was extremely noisy though. Staff were extremely friendly and we found the location of the Hotel quite good. Approx 30 minute walk into the centre of Kato Paphos, but buses ran every 20 mins and taxis were plentiful and not overly expensive 4 to 5 Cypriut

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

claire hague visited the Paphian Bay Hotel, Paphos in June 2006
Love the hotel, the staff and the food.

Really clean.

Tour Operator: thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Jeanette Alderman visited the Paphian Bay Hotel, Paphos, Cyprus in June 2006
The staff are extremely polite and cannot do enough for you and the place is spotless.

The waiters in the bars are a laugh as they get to know you and remember what you drink. We had a drink in the \'Sherlock Holmes Bar\' at night before going out for a late meal and we had it to ourselves as other guests preferred the \'big screen\' room (World cup was on), and we made use of the happy hour 19.00-20.00.

The pool area is great with a separate pool for the kids and all you do is walk through the gardens to get to the beach which was always spotless. You also have towels provided.

You can certainly put weight on here if you don\'t watch your calorie intake (who does on holiday though!!!); at breakfast ...
they do gorgeous deep fried streaky bacon, which goes great with the cheese pie that they do every day and beans. Hubbie got a bit addicted to bacon butties and only put \'1 Ib\' on in weight.

There is so much choice for breakfast that you can stay for 10 nights and not have the same meal twice. We also had a couple of evening meals at the Hotel which were well worth the money (they put a leaflet on the breakfast tables if there is something special on and you just sign it and put your room number on and give it to reception).

One was a \'BBQ\' night which was extremely tasty as again there is a mountain of choice and more sweets than you can eat. We went B&B but in reception there was a poster saying that if guests wanted to convert to 1/2 board for 7 nights they could and only pay for 5, which was a good idea. The shop in the Hotel is well priced too as some can really rocket the prices up.

If you opt for a sea view which is worth the extra price ask for the 4th floor as you then get to see over the palm trees to the sea and beyond.

Read More

Tour Operator: Olympic

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

pete had a holiday at Paphian Bay Hotel, Paphos in February 2006
This is a nice 3star hotel, but it is in an isolated location apart from some other hotels, and a very long way (about 2 miles)from Paphos Harbour and 1 km from the nearest restaurants and shops, (the brochures say 500m)which is a long way to walk in the freezing cold and windy weather we had all week.

Cyprus is definitely not for a winter sun holiday! Hotel food very good with good variety, although limited if you don\'t eat meat. All staff very friendly. Gardens and pool looked nice but impossible to use them due to the weather we had.

Not a place at this time of year for children or the younger set: 80% of the clientele were in their very advanced years. Not been among so many geriatrics since I visited a rest home! And I\'m no spring chicken myself.

Tour Operator: thomson
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
1 stars

4/5
4

Tina had a holiday at Paphian Bay Hotel, Paphos in February 2006
The Paphian Bay Hotel was spotless, friendly and so lovely and quiet.

The food also was excellent with good choices at every mealtime.

It seems we went the same week as Pete and yes the weather was awful so were unable to utilise the pool, gardens or beach which was a real shame. However as a small consolation our room had a spectacular view over the sea so at least we could look out and wish.

There were many older people at the hotel who stay there for the duration of the winter. I think the entertainment was aimed mostly at them.

I would definitely return but certainly not in February. A lovely place to relax and chill but don't even consider it if you have small children.

Tour Operator: first choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
2 stars

4/5
4

Jackie & Brian Harper stayed at Paphian Bay Hotel, Paphos in July 2005
The hotel was very airy and welcoming, we were helped with our luggage off the coach. I was disappointed that having paid for a limited sea view, we had the worst room in the hotel. As it was Sunday the next day and a bank holiday the next there was nothing to be done.

We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis and the choice was excellent. Full English, croissants, breads, cold meats, cheese and olives, fresh fruit, cereals, the list goes on. On most days we had a salad from the self service bar for lunch, and the choices were different every day.

We found the staff very polite and friendly.

The room was cleaned every day, and we had the option to have towels and sheets changed more frequently than the standard ...
four days.

The pool area was very popular, but we preferred the gardens overlooking the sea. These were secluded, with plenty of large palm trees to give plenty of shade to those who wanted it. We could note believe how quiet this area was, even though the hotel was full. We had many lazy hours looking out to sea, reading or just chilling, I have never known such a relaxed atmosphere in a hotel.

We did not try any of the themed nights as we wanted to get out and about in the evenings. We did eat in the restaurant on one night, and thought we had excellent value for money with a three course meal costing

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

West stayed at Paphian Bay Hotel in July 2004
The Paphian Bay is located a good 20-25 minutes walk from the main resort of Paphos, so it is ideal if you want to be somewhere a little quieter. Buses and taxis, as the other reviewers have said, are easy and cheap. There is a bar, shops and a restaurant about 5 minutes walk away (if that) so you can get out of the hotel for a change of scenery during the evening, if you don\'t fancy going all the way into town.

The grounds of the hotel are exceptional. Pleasant, extensive gardens and clean pool area, with plenty of loungers. You have full use of the Pioneer Beach Hotel facilities next door. For us, this was a life saver as the pool for the Paphian is small and tends to be dominated by children/youngsters. Pioneer, on the other hand, is ...
an adult only hotel and the pool is bigger, so if you just want to swim (rather than avoid the splashes and inflatables) go there! It\'s an arrangement that works well for both kinds of groups. When you go to the pool or beach you get towels from reception and then leave them in the baskets afterwards.

We stayed on a B & B basis and the brekkie was good. Plenty of choice, I can\'t beleive anyone would be left wanting. We tried a couple of evening meals. You pay C

Read More

Tour Operator: Airtours

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
3 stars

3/5
3

Debbie had a holiday at Paphian Bay Hotel, Paphos in July 2004
The Paphian Bay is an OK hotel. Not the best I\'ve stayed in but not the worst either. Rooms were good - cleaned every day and the housekeepers were really friendly. The bathrooms are tiny. Tea and coffee making facilities were a bonus and were replenished every day. The fridge was also very useful.

We had a full sea view which was lovely and well worth the extra we paid for it.

The evening meals in the hotel were rubbish! They have themed nights, one was an Italian night but not one Italian dish to be found, not even a piece of garlic bread!

Also a word of warning. They also had what they called a Flambe night. It cost

Tour Operator: Thomson
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

Chris Richardson visited the Paphian Bay Hotel, Paphos in June 2004
The hotel was fine and the staff were very helpful and friendly.The room was of a standard you would expect of a 3 star hotel,although it was nice to have A/C and free Sky TV, with sky sports 1 and sky movie ch 7.Plus you have a fridge!

We had a partial sea view , as the room was on the side of the hotel, You will need to pay extra if you require sea/pool view rooms.

The breakfast food was fine and normal variety from a continental hotel, nothing special , contrary to other people reports! Although it was nice to sit outside for breakfast and was very relaxing, breakfast served between 7 and 10am.

There are plenty of beds around the pool area and gardens hence no rush to claim a spot after breakfast, and the hotel provide ...
towels.

The pool is very small ,smaller than the photos, and quite boring , no shape, the water is warm but refreshing.The gym was awful, broken apparatus and AC broken, maybe fixed now but best to avoid.

The beach which is private and sole use of the hotel and the Pioneer next door, is awful, full of dried up seaweed, from a distance looks ok, but upon closer inspection at either side of the tiny beach area ( parasols and beds from the hotel) there are skips , burnt out oil drum and litter skewd everywhere, best to avoid, although beaches in Cyprus are not too good anyway.
Please keep to the hotel gardens and pool area.

The weather was hot 32 -35 deg C and sunny no clouds and there was a cooling breeze from the sea which was nice.We did not experience hot days with no wind at the hotel as stated by previous reports.

The hotel has a contintental feel with people from France , Germany , spain and the UK of course.

There was a diversity of people which provided a nice balance, families with young cuildren and teenages, young couples and middle aged and older generation couples.

This hotel is not for the big families with lots of kids, its more suited for small families and couples looking for a more relaxed time as there is no day entertainment.For the children there is a play park which has a sand base but in direct sunlight in the day, no shade.There is a game room with table tenis, pool etc.Outside was another table tenis and a tenis court.

The evening entertainment is suited for people who like to have a relaxing drink and listen to music.
Most people went out for the evening and maybe came back for last hour for a drink.

We stayed BB and twice a week they have barbecue and greek barbecue nights for food, which is ok, its held around the pool area and you have a good selection of barbecued food , all the meats and fish plus a nice salad spread and cakes and ice cream .If you are half board this is the evening meal, for people on BB you can pay 7 CYP each , half price for children.

The bar drinks are priced the same cost at home , pint of local beer named Keo is 3 GBP ( 2.40 CYP)

The food and drink bar near the garden area for lunchtime is expensive and poor food selection, although they have a strawberry time around 2pm which a bell is sound hence worth treat yourself! on the odd occasion.
The hotel shop has drinks but no food , just crisps and biscuits and no chilled drinks!!

We found a supermarket about 10 mins walk from the hotel passed the RUI Cypria hotel whereby they had chilled drinks and on the side a sandwich shop selling fresh baguettes, tuna mayo, cheese salad etc, and had sausage rolls and pasties and cakes, all reasonably priced. for example , two tuna baguettes one giant sausage roll, 2 cakes , price 4.50 CYP ( 5 GBP)

The hotel is located directly opposite the paphos waterpark and next to the Pioneer hotel, I suggest you hire a car (please shop around for best deals!)
There is a regular bus service which runs every 15 mins on the hour and is very reliable, bus stop outside the hotel, 50 cent to anywhere!

To the centre at papahos is 10-15 mins by bus, although the last one back is 11pm , if you miss this a taxi costs 4 CYP (5 GBP)

In walking distance of approx 20 mins there is a go kart site and pitch and put for the teenagers.
The waterpark is 10 mins walk with another go kart site.Price of waterpark is 15 CYP per adult 8 CYP per child in July /August. We attended both and found the one at Limmosol was bigger and better, even 1 CYP less than the paphos one

There are repeated guests as the hotel provides discount incentibes from your 2nd visit.

Read More

Tour Operator: First Choice
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

Linda had a holiday at Paphian Bay Hotel, Paphos in June 2004
We have been to Paphian Bay 2 years running and intend to go back again for the 3rd year. We found cleanliness more than you would expect from a 3 * hotel.

The breakfast was the best I

Tour Operator: Thomsoms

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

5/5
5

Elaine & Michael Preston had a holiday at Paphian Bay Hotel, Paphos, Cyprus in July 2003
Have stayed at the Paphian Bay twice in the last 3 years and booked to return this Easter \'04 the day we got back in August.

The Paphian Bay is a lovely, friendly hotel about 3 kms outside Paphos. It is situated beside its sister hotel The Pioneer and about 5 minutes from The Athena Beach. The Paphian Bay is set on its own man made beach and has beautifully maintained gardens that lead down to the sea. (We have seen the gardeners cut off any dead flower heads!) There are plenty of sunbeds and the hotel provides beach towels. The pool area is lovely, and the beach area is surrounded by the hotel\'s own break waters so swimming is extremely safe.

The rooms at the hotel are lovely - some people think that the bathrooms are small but as they have ...
everything you need I fail to see the importance of a huge bathroom ... I prefer to spend my time on the balcony looking at the views!

The hotel is VERY friendly and the staff will go out of their way to make sure that your holiday is the best that it can be. This year we e-mailed and requested specific rooms and got them - and got a \'welcome back\' bowl of fruit and a bottle of wine from the hotel itself. (A nice touch at 2 am!)

The food in the hotel has got better and better - we get the feeling that the management actually take note of criticisims and make the suggested improvements. Last year the food was excellent - about

Read More

Tour Operator: Eclipse

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars
Share