24 independent reviews of the Paphiessa Aparthotel
Address: Kato Paphos, Paphos, Cyprus
Paphiessa Aparthotel
Paphiessa Aparthotel Location
Ranked #47 of 61 hotels in Paphos


3/5
Paphiessa Aparthotel Paphiessa Aparthotel is rated 3 out of 5 from 24 Reviews
58% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (24 reviews)

Cleanliness 4 stars
Entertainment 2 stars
Food 3 stars
Service 4 stars
Location 3 stars

Paphiessa Aparthotel Reviews

2/5
2

Solo traveller visited the Paphiessa Aparthotel, Paphos, Cyprus in March 2010
I booked this as a last minute deal and as such, it was value for money.
Accommodation was very basic, but clean enough and rooms were serviced regularly, but the boiler broke down mid-week so there was no hot water for 3 days. The self-catering equipment in my studio was basic, to say the least, but fortunately I did not need to use it, apart from boiling water for a wash!
Food was a big let down, I\'m afraid. I only bothered with \"breakfast\" once during my stay and the evening meals were very expensive for what they were and very poor, especially when there are so many excellent eateries on the doorstep. The soup was especially bad and jelly and ice cream is not my idea of dessert!
The location was ideal for me - midway between the old town and the ...
beach. It was also far enough away from the noisy town centre to have peace and quiet. Road noise from the adjacent dual carriageway was not a problem.
The best thing about this hotel was the hotel\'s staff (not the owners), who did their best to make everything as good as possible. I also met some very nice fellow guests, some of whom are hotel regulars, especially during the winter.
There were two types of in-house entertainment in the bar. Football was on nearly every day I was there and as soon as the football ended, the karaoke machine was fired up. Not my cup of tea, but then I don\'t go on holiday to sit in a bar.
I am definitely going back to Pathos, but am afraid the Paphiessa did not come up to scratch so I\'ll be staying elsewhere in the future.

Read More

Tour Operator: Olympic
Review Rating

Cleanliness
2 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
3 stars

0/5
0

JOHN VICKERS visited the Paphiessa Aparthotel in March 2010
***It appears that you are still in Cyprus although your holiday is over. Sorry- we don't accept reviews from the same place as the hotel. This is to ensure hotel owners or indeed rivals dont post as holidaymakers. Feel free to repost on return***

Tour Operator: OLYMPIC

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating


5/5
5

Beth had a holiday at Paphiessa Aparthotel, Paphos in February 2010
well situated just a short walk from main town.staff very helpfull escpecially the bar staff who were excellent.hotel rooms very clean, nice pool area with indoor pool just across the road next to a shop very handy!

Tour Operator: Olympic

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

1/5
1

Sarah Brydon stayed at Paphiessa Aparthotel, Paphos, Cyprus in November 2009
Please stay away if you don\'t want to ruin your break.

The rooms are so grotty and dated that it is wholly depressing, and we had back ache all week from the beds. The communal area is just as ugly, and the bar full of rude, drunkard ex-pats who don\'t even stay there. I had no hot water for two days, and when I politely addressed the matter, I was sworn at and accused of offending \'his people\'.


Tour Operator: Easyjet
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
1 stars

4/5
4

James Wilson visited the Paphiessa Aparthotel in November 2009
Unfortunately for obvious reasons we do not accept reviews from where the hotel is situated - if you are a tourist please post on your return to the UK.

Thanks - Admin

Tour Operator: Bookcyprus.com

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Jones visited the Paphiessa Aparthotel, Paphos in May 2008
Stayed for 2 weeks self catering. Does what it says. A very clean and friendly hotel. Great service, Mohammed, Purna and Karen could not do enough for us. All staff were friendly and welcoming. Staff were also great with the children. We spent most of our time by the pool. There were plenty of sun beds to choose from and the children\'s pool was perfect as it was shaded in the afternoon.

Rooms were cleaned regularly.
Food was good and reasonably priced. Excellent service.

Good little shop on the corner opposite the hotel.

Andreas Taxis on the corner were also very friendly.





Tour Operator: booked seperate

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

1/5
1

Jules had a holiday at Paphiessa Aparthotel in November 2007
Horrible, horrible horrible!
A smokers paradise. Dirty shabby and old fashioned would not recommend this hotel to anyone. The owners are rude and uninterested. The decor looks like it hasn\'t been changed since the 70\'s. The rooms are grubby and stink of cigarette smoke. The bathrooms dirty with cracks in sinks and bath.

The food - dreadful. Poor choice, and reminiscent of British seaside hotel in the 60\'s. eg Tomato soup, fish and chips, ice cream and jelly. I kid you not! Breakfast - sliced bread, reheated eggs, undrinkable coffee. No Cypriot food on menu apart from Haloumi!

Evenings - Appalling down - market entertainment in a smoke filled bar.

Definitely the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Dreadful value for money. There must be better than this, surely?
Paphos itself, has some nice parts, but the area near hotel is tacky, all ...
gift shops and fast food chains.

Hire a car and see the real Cyprus, away from the crowds. There are some gems to be found, but you have to look for them!

Read More

Tour Operator: mercury direct
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
1 stars

4/5
4

keith & janet downes visited the Paphiessa Aparthotel, Paphos, Cyprus in April 2007
This was not our first choice but we were very pleased to have stayed here.

Food was excellent all holiday. The staff were a credit to you.

Not a football fan. Just our luck it was on most days.

Would visit again under our own steam not with travel firm.

Tour Operator: libra

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

3/5
3

Gregory had a holiday at Paphiessa Aparthotel, Paphos in September 2006
We stayed here on an \"allocated on arrival\" basis, would not have been our first choice had we booked
from a bochure.

Having said that the room was clean with a fridge, small 2 ring hot plate and a microwave and aircon. Our room away from main building overlooking waste ground and abandoned car.

We stayed on half board - beakfast simple greek/continental style, evening meals were on the whole good, but menu lacked choice and meals were very plain, but service excellent.

Hotel staff were very helpful and polite cannot fault them.

There were plenty of sunbeds by the pool and the area alway looked clean and tidy. The road noise was not too off putting. For a good beach take the No. 10 bus to Coral Bay for 80c.

Plenty of Bars and restaurants just 10 / 15 minutes walk ...
away with a vast choice of food at cheap prices

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
2 stars

4/5
4

John and Dawn Mansbridge stayed at Paphiessa Aparthotel, Paphos in August 2006
We have stayed at the Paphiessa Hotel twice this year and have booked to go back again in February. The staff are really friendly and very helpful. The accomodation is clean.

The location is really good, you have a short walk of 10-15 minute before you are down by the harbour.

Would recommend this hotel.

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Jacqui and Mandy had a holiday at Paphiessa Aparthotel, Paphos, Cyprus in March 2006
Although our weather wasn\'t very good we still had a good time. The room was frequently cleaned and if you had any problems they were dealt with straight away, by the friendly staff.

The Bazooki man in the hotel bar was quite entertaining in a cheesy way, the hotel bar staff were very friendly, say hello to Sakra and Coco the Parrot from us if you stay there.







Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

3/5
3

mrfrostie had a holiday at Paphiessa Aparthotel in January 2006
We stayed in a large spacious apartment away from the main building.

These were a bit dated but comfortable and clean serviced daily and new linen every 3 days. We required heating because of the inclement weather and the air conditioning unit doubled as a fan heater which was a bit noisy but effective.

The duel carriageway is now complete but literally just a few yards from the Pool and our balcony so traffic noise is a problem in the mornings especially, and you have to cross the road to get to the main town which may be a problem in high season.

Breakfast was typical Greek continental style and nothing too impressive. We avoided evening meals at the hotel even the menu looked boring!

All things said, the hotel is\'nt bad and as others suggest its the staff which make it ...
such a pleasant enviroment. The pool area is well looked after as are public areas in general-don\'t get too excited by the Gym facilities though!

I fear for the future guests because of this 4 carriageway road and the acres of real estate going up all round it.

Read More

Tour Operator: Thompson
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
2 stars

3/5
3

Sylvia Blackshaw had a holiday at Paphiessa Aparthotel, Paphos in September 2005
We stayed at the Paphiessa for our honeymoon, when we arrived it doesn look very inviting from the outside as its covered by trees. Our room was ok it had everything we needed and was clean, the air conditioning unit was fantastic and an absolute god send - we would not have coped with the heat without it.

The location is not ideal if you dont like walking, you are about a 10 minute walk from the bars and a 15-20 minute walk from the harbour. The pavements are not very good either and some parts look like a building site, there is a lot of unfinished parts to cyprus. There is a bus stop up from the hotel which will take you to the harbour for 70c and these do run quite regularly. And also a ...
supermarket on the corner near the hotel which does sell basic foods.

The bar area in the hotel is very small, yet they have a massive reception that no one really sits in, you think they woul extend it and make it all a bar. The entertainment left a lot to be desired and was about as cheesy as you can get - better to go and find your own.

The pool was ok and there were always sun loungers, as there are massive trees it does tend to cast a lot of shade over the pool in the afternoons though.

It was a very quiet area in a residential part so if you like the liveliness then book to go more in the centre of the resort.

We didnt have a bad holiday but we werent that impressed with Cyprus or Paphos and wont be going back.

Read More

Tour Operator: Portland
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
1 stars

3/5
3

Denise and Alan had a holiday at Paphiessa Aparthotel in September 2005
We were remembered from our last visit and greated like missed friends. Mohammed, Moslee, Loki (restaurant)and Saka(bar)(hope I\'ve spelled their names correctly)run the hotel in my opion, and nothing is too much trouble for them.

My only suggestion to the Management would be to have a serious look at your menu. A lot more could be done to improve the meals - perhaps a new chef,or take a look at what the restaurants on the harbour are providing to get some ideas, as the meals are the only let down, and lets face it, after all its not cheap staying at the Paphiessa and the meals should represent the cost.

However this aside we did have a wonderful time and would highly recommend this hotel if you can shut out the road noise and laugh at some of the food combinations at meal times.

Tour Operator: Libra

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

Fred Meadows had a holiday at Paphiessa Aparthotel in June 2005
Family of 25, son, nephews & nieces. Stayed at the paphiessa apartments, Had a great time, Mohammed & lee are hard working lads, really friendly and joined in the fun helping to make the holiday.

Hotel clean, plenty of sun beds, do not need to put towels on beds to claim it. We were self catering so ate out most of the time plenty of choice. One to be recommended is the Roof Top Restaurant Sisyfos on the Tomb Of the Kings Road, Get a cab well worth it set menu

Tour Operator: Portland

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

3/5
3

Dawn Daffern stayed at Paphiessa Aparthotel, Paphos in April 2005
First of all I would like to warn visitors to the hotel that during my stay there was a road being built right behind the hotel. I would advise you to make sure you take a personal CD player, to drown out the building work noise.

The pool area was good but was a little noisy from the construction work. I didn\'t let it spoil my relaxation though.

The hotel was clean and I could not fault the staff.

I was B&B but the food was not wonderful, bit expensive if you decided to have a meal in.

If you are in the rooms above the lounge you will hear the entertainment in the bar, and it is quite noisy. The room I was in was 210 this had an interconnecting door to next door, 209, probably ...
used for families. Trouble was it wasn\'t very private, could hear everthing from the next room. Could hear them hanging up their clothes in the cupboards, and could hear all their conversations. If you like other guests singing, the entertaiment will suit you, if you don\'t you have to put up with others.

Hotel is quite a way from the harbour. As there is new road being built you will come across area's where you will have walk on the road or on rubble. Advise you take a good pair of trainers. If you are elderly (young at heart) or disabled you may find the paths a bit tricky for you. Taxi fares to the harbour

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomson Winter Sun
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
2 stars

3/5
3

susanna visited the Paphiessa Aparthotel, Paphos, Cyprus in October 2004
Whilst the hotel staff are friendly and accommodating, the hotel is located in a residential area adjacent to major building works. If you are looking for a nice relaxing holiday, then you may be disappointed by the 20 minute walk to harbour area with poor beaches or 10 minute walk to bus stop followed by 20 minute journey (often standing) to lovely coral bay. Not the sort of thing you want to do in the cypriot heat. Alternatively, stay in the hotel, besides the nice pool, with plenty of sun beds and try and ignore the drilling and the dust!!

Tour Operator: thompsons
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
1 stars

3/5
3

Denise and Alan visited the Paphiessa Aparthotel, Paphos, Cyprus in September 2004
Taking into account that the road is still under construction behind the hotel, and the work traffic starts at about 7am, we had a very nice holiday.

The staff are brilliant, can't do enough for you.

The rooms are kept spotless, as is the whole complex.

Food is OK, but no choice if you are vegetarian - only salad and omelettes, but food is cooked and presented well. Wine in the hotel is not cheap

Tour Operator: Island Blue

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

julie morgan visited the Paphiessa Aparthotel, Paphos, Cyprus in August 2004
we had initially booked a 2 bdrm apartment, this was unavailable upon arrival, after speaking with the hotel management we were allocated 3 rooms in the hotel with breakfast, the staff were extremely helpful especially lee. The noise had stopped (building a bypass) behind the pool area, because the cypriots were having their main holiday, the hotel and pool area was very clean. The hotel had a poor selection of evening entertainment (although this never mattered to us) we ate every night, the choice is very varied, 3 course set meal (choice of several dishes) was only

Tour Operator: libra

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

Wyn Jones stayed at Paphiessa Aparthotel, Paphos in August 2004
The hotel is okay and the the staff are very friendly and helpful.

Unfortunately there is a new road being constructed just 2-3 metres from the outdoor pool and my 6 month old baby was covered in building dust from the trees separating the pool and the construction site.

The entertainment was non existent at night except for the karaoke machine that some British holiday makers operated one night. We were led to believe that the entertainment had been cancelled due to the fact that the Hotel wasn't full because of the road, a bit worrying considering it was the height of the summer season.

I do feel a bit guilty writing this as the Hotel staff really were excellent

Tour Operator: Portland Direct
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars
Share