41 independent reviews of the Paphos Gardens Hotel & Apartments
Address: Kleious, Paphos, Cyprus
Paphos Gardens Hotel & Apartments
Paphos Gardens Hotel & Apartments Location
Ranked #31 of 61 hotels in Paphos


4/5
Paphos Gardens Hotel & Apartments Paphos Gardens Hotel & Apartments is rated 3.63 out of 5 from 41 Reviews
68% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (41 reviews)

Cleanliness 4 stars
Entertainment 3 stars
Food 3 stars
Service 4 stars
Location 4 stars

Paphos Gardens Hotel & Apartments Reviews

1/5
1
"Glad to be going home!"
katie visited the Paphos Gardens Hotel & Apartments, Paphos in August 2011
I have just returned from a week all inclusive holiday at Paphos gardens, we stayed there in September 2011. This is the first time I have ever written a review because I am so disappointed, usually itís to rave about how wonderful it has been, but I have to say this was the worst hotel I have ever stayed in.

Donít be tricked by what you see on the photos, it does have potential to be a good hotel, itís just a shame that the people who own and run it are just there to make money, and the staff (80% of them) are rude and nasty.

Where to start? Well basically donít waste your money here at Paphos Gardens. There are far better hotels than this in the area.

Paphos gardens has potential but itís all wasted. Firstly if you ...
are a fussy eater, have allergies (like me), are vegetarian then there will be nothing much on offer here for you. At paphos gardens you only have around 2 or 3 bowls of salad, which generally have meat or feta cheese, so if you donít like it, tough.

Secondly the majority of staff are rude and nasty, at the start of the holiday I saw guests crying at the reception and when talking to bar staff, this seemed to carry on almost every day. We didnít understand at first, but then they started being the same with us. On the first day we arrived at around 2am and the last day we were due to leave around 9pm. The last day was the worst of all. We decided to stay at the hotel for the last day so that it was easier to pack and get ready to leave; it was around 38degrees when we went, so very hot. We only ever drank water there, which they supply bottles, which is a bonus. But the last day it was hotter, and come 12 oíclock they refused to serve us any water, saying that we had had our two drinks for the day. Be warned of this, as they wonít notify you of this earlier. So if you are booked in here make sure you save money for the last day as even though youíve paid for 7days.

We were all inclusive so all our meals and drinks were included, you also get snacks through the day at certain times, the snacks are better than the meals, as they are freshly cooked and not re-used from the previous meal time. If you have to go to this hotel make sure you take Imodium tablets as you will need them if you eat there. We started eating at our friends hotels after a few days and the tummy trouble cleared up.

Now for some more bad news, they over booked the hotel, and instead of coming up with a sensible solution they made one lady sleep on a sun lounger which they carried up from outside and covered with a sheet, she was very angry at the front desk when we saw her, poor woman. She had paid over £600 for a week at this awful place.

People had to have room changes due to lots of cockroaches in their initial room. We were quite lucky really, they made us sleep in a double bed instead of two singles, which is nothing compared to the others obviously, also the showers flooded. They donít like to do anything that means they have to make any sort of effort.

Itís a good job Iíve stayed in Cyprus before or this would of put me off for life. We met lots of different people there with the same disappointment and complaints, from families with young children, people on their own and elderly couples, they were all lovely people. It was so upsetting to see so many people feeling down, I was just glad to be going home!

Read More

Recommended: No
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
3 stars

3/5
3

JammyJ visited the Paphos Gardens Hotel & Apartments, Paphos in August 2008
Arrived back from Paphos with a good tan, weather being wonderful all the time we were there. The apartment had good air conditioning but that was probably the only positive thing about it. Staying in Narcissus block, we did not expect luxury but to say the apartment was basic is an understatement.Lacking cooking utensils, crawling with ants, in need of updating,very uncomfortable beds and a distinct lack of cleaning (nothing provided to do it yourself).
The Animation Team did their best to entertain guests all credit to them, but the bought in entertainment was very poor and repetative.
Food and drink prices very expensive but the staff were friendly and efficient. The low exchange rate did not help, but the hotel prics were over the top.
Although we booked with Thomson, ended up on a First Choice plane and were really squashed in like sardines.

Tour Operator: Thomson
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

5/5
5

A Stait visited the Paphos Gardens Hotel & Apartments in August 2008
We found this hotel absolutly perfect , it was friendly atmosphere , good staff very polite and helpful , very clean our room was fantastic bit king size bed and flat screen tv , immaculate . All the kitchen utensils you would req if going to cook . the location was superb a 2 min walk to a selection of restaurants and a supermarket and only about a 10 min walk into the harbour , we would love to atay there again hopefully next year . The entertainment was good we didnt see it all tho as there is such a choice of restaurants we ate out in the evenings but the hypnotist was excellent def worth staying there to watch .we cannot find fault at all with any part of the holiday or hotel , we went round ...
the smaller pool most days and never ever had to put our towels out yet always got a good spot with a choice of where we wanted to be . we were in violetta block room no 204 perfect .the whole place felt like home as soon as we turned up yet it was our first time to cyprus , we shall be back .

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Susan had a holiday at Paphos Gardens Hotel & Apartments, Paphos, Cyprus in July 2008
Just got back today, we stayed in the orchid block, the very last block on the complex,our view, we never had one, but to be honest it wasn\'t A problem ,we were only in our room,to go to sleep. when we arrived we were put in to a buggy and was taken to our room, it seamed miles away, we sat thinking my god were a long way from the main hotel, we had a one bedroom apartment, we were really pleased, the kitchen was lovely, a full size cooker, full size fridge/freezer. we couldn\'t fault it at all, we had a flat screen TV, the sofa bed was the only disappointment, my 2 teenage sons said it was very uncomfable,our bed was fine lots of storage space, we had a lovely bathroom with a powerful shower, as it ...
turn out by going out the back way we were just 5 secs from the top pool, and a few more to get to the supermarket and hotel, we never had trouble getting sun beds , food was pricey as was the drinks,( from top pool )

Read More

Tour Operator: Portland

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Emma Keevil visited the Paphos Gardens Hotel & Apartments, Paphos in July 2007
We stayed in the Mimoza apartments, on a self catering basis, we can not fault it at all. It has basic cooking faciltys including a microwave, if you did want to cook at all. Air conditioning which you do need. It is one the best apartments we have ever stayed in. The apartments were very clean, the maids come round monday to friday to make the beds, change the towels and change the bins. The staff are very helpful. They have entertainment during the day in the main pool but we stayed at the slightly smaller pool which has a bit more of a relaxed atmosphere. They did have enterainment in the evening but we went in the main town instead so we can\'t really comment.



Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

rhinoe visited the Paphos Gardens Hotel & Apartments, Paphos, Cyprus in May 2007
On arrival we were delayed for an hour checking in has somebody had not spelt our name correctly on thier arrivals list.

The room was at the rear of the hotel this was overlooking the car park but did not have the loud noise like the front hotel rooms.

The entertainment both day and night was for the children.

The Breakfast was over by 9am and very basic with the same queue for your fried eggs or pancakes.

The resort was great and lots of nice family greek taverners along the beach past bar street.

Tour Operator: mytravel
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

ezmerelda visited the Paphos Gardens Hotel & Apartments in September 2006
Ithought this place was one of the nicest I have ever stayed in! Food was nice yes. Location was cyprus.

Entertainment: yes.
Location: Cyprus.
Staff: male and female, mostly female.
Cleanliness: clean
Board basis: room only.

I would go again because me and my mam and dad and brother and sister liked it a lot.

Tour Operator: your ma

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

2/5
2

ss stayed at Paphos Gardens Hotel & Apartments, Paphos, Cyprus in August 2006
Paphos Garden apartment Camelia 266 begonia 108 then tulip 104.

Arrived at the Paphos Gardens to be shown to a smelly apartment with mould. Asked reception if we could be moved there was nothing available until the next day (staff helpful).

Next day was shown 2 apartments, one a 2 bedroom and the other was a 3 bedroom opted for the 3 bedroomed one told there was a supplement to pay which was worth it. Very clean with everything we needed.

Kitchen window smashed by brick nothing stolen from apartment informed reception who called the police (found out next day that 2 English children who were holidaying thought it would be funny to throw stones and broke 6 windows in total around the resort) moved to another apartment and was refunded the suplement we had paid.

Food ...
ok entertainment was loved by my children would not return to Paphos Gardens not my cup of tea.

Read More

Tour Operator: airtours
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
1 stars

4/5
4

Dave Riley had a holiday at Paphos Gardens Hotel & Apartments in May 2006
Me, my wife and 10 year old son have just returned from our stay in the Paphos gardens apartments.

Having read a few of the reports on this site we were a little concerned. When you arrive you have to hang around for somebody to show you to your apt because the place is like a maze when you first arrive.

There are 17 apt blocks all named after flowers.We were shown to the Camelia block, first impression basic, clean liveable until we opened the patios to be greeted by a building site a new complex is being built next door.This only affects this one block. We went and complained (politely) and a lovely lady called Nikki who seems to run the place changed our room immediately to a much nicer room in the Jasmine block.

The location of these apartments ...
is perfect it is 5 mins walk straight down to the municipal beach which isnt a huge beach but it is a nice sandy beach. One tip get there early if you require a parasol one day we went and their were none and it was 38 degrees in May !

On site there is a little supermarket which stocks just about everything you need.There are 2 good sized pools with plenty of beds.It is also 10 - 15 walk into the main town but as you walk ther are lots of bars and restaurants to choose from and very few poor ones.

The hotel staff were excellent although we stayed in the apts whenever we had dealings with them we found them very helpful. The maids came in and quickly cleaned the apt and made the beds every other day.

Cant really comment on the entertainment didnt see any seemed to be the same thing going on every night when we went past.. Very HI DE HI !!

Read More

Tour Operator: Airtours

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

sara and family visited the Paphos Gardens Hotel & Apartments, Paphos in November 2005
We stayed in Begonia 104 for 2 nights...I have never seen so many ants and cockroaches in my life. So I asked if we could be moved to another part of the complex,we did so at no extra charge to Narkissus 101 very nice and clean well decorated out and we didnt see another cockroach for the rest of our 2 week holiday.

The maids were very nice but a bit more effort could have been used when cleaning the apartment.we only went to the greek night this was a bit boring,also went to the hypnotist evening that was very boring to.

The price of drinks leaves a lot to be said for buying outside the hotel 50% cheaper to buy in the shops.

The location of the hotel is very good near all the local restaurants and the small but clean ...
beach and bars and shops are nearby as well.

After reading some previous reviews we tried some of the restaurants that were supposedto be good in the area..LES AMIS wasnt very nice at all. KOH I NOOR indian nice but expensive ZA-ZA WONDERFUL MEALS and the staff there are all lovely friendly people Andreas Mario Eddie Katarina and Angela are a hit with everyone who eats there.

Further down the main street is the ADELAIDA LOVELY FOOD AT A GOOD PRICE AND HUGE PORTIONS to Laura is the best hostess in Paphos and all the staff are friendly too,opposite the THE ALEXANDER THE GREAT HOTEL is a great bakery ideal for bread cakes and rolls all at a sensible price and fresh every day, OASEN down near the harbour do a FAB full english breakfast at cheap prices very good for the money. Just before the Rose corner the ice cream parlour is to die for you name a flavour they have got it yummy!

Read More

Tour Operator: thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Sheila stayed at Paphos Gardens Hotel & Apartments, Paphos, Cyprus in August 2005
We have just returned from the Paphos Gardens and were unlucky enough to have have stayed in two rooms which had not yet been updated. We had 2 two bedroomed apartments (Geranium 205 & 206). From what we could see ours was 2 of 3 that had not been updated in our block. Our apartments although clean and spacious were very shabby. Cracked tiles, shabby settees, televisions on the blink, dodgy plug sockets - generally just old and tired. We were very disappointed. Our holiday was not cheap and we had booked 10 months in advance.

I wish I had read this website before booking as I can only agree with most of the comments that have gone before regarding updated rooms. There seems to be no pattern as to whether ...
you get a good apartment or a bad one. Chatting with other people around the pool we realised how fantastic some of the apartments were and what we were missing out on!

A mistake on our part was not to read the small print in our brochure and realise that we had to pay extra for air conditioning -

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Della stayed at Paphos Gardens Hotel & Apartments, Paphos, Cyprus in August 2005
Having read some of the reviews on the site, we too were worried about what we were letting ourselves in for. Having booked a superior apartment, we still ended up asking our travel agent to fax the Paphos Gardens to check whether it was a renovated one or not. Paphos Gardens confirmed that the superior apartments were the ones that had been renovated and that we would have a safety deposit box in the room.

We were still wary but as soon as we saw the apartment block, we could tell that it was a renovated one. The renovated apartments are right next to the hotel and the studio was one of the best we have stayed in. Everything looked brand new and it was sparklingly clean, with a nice terraced area. We had asked for a high floor and ...
a sea view, but the sea view would only apply to the hotel not the apartments, so don\'t be surprised if you don\'t get one. From what we gathered, the apartments that people have had a problem with are the ones that are privately owned but sub-let by the holiday companies.

On the subject of security, we checked our patio doors as soon as we got there and were satisfied that nobody could get in. Also, we didn\'t hear of any break-ins while we were there, which makes us think that they may have been inside jobs and that this has now been sorted out by the hotel managment.

The location of the hotel and apartments is good. It\'s a five minute walk to the beach and there are a number of good restaurants close by. Other than Za Za\'s and Zambezi, the Khor I Nor Indian was fantastic, as were the Mandarin Palace Chinese and Tratorria La Viga Italian. We aso had a good set meal for two in the mexican on Bar Street - it\'s the only one we saw so you can\'t miss it. The walk into the harbour area will take you about 20 mins from the apartments, so it\'s best leaving this until the evening when it\'s a bit cooler!

The main pool area was good, apart from the fact that you need to get up early to reserve your sun beds (you\'ll get a letter when you arrive saying that you mustn\'t reserve beds, but everybody does). If you like to be in the sun for most of the day, then this is a must as a lot of the beds are in the shade from midday onwards. The waiters around the pool are very friendly and are around at all times for you to order drinks and food, if you don\'t want to miss out on any sun by going to the pool bar.

A word of warning though - we were tending to have a couple of drinks each by the pool for the first few days along with a toasted sandwich and were spending about

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5

Mick and Sue had a holiday at Paphos Gardens Hotel & Apartments in July 2005
We were dreading this holiday after reading the reviews on this page WRONG

The room decor was dated but I only wanted to rest in the room not paint it.

The food was well worth it, we were B & B but had 2 evening meals at the hotel and at a reasonable price, (and no probs with the guts after)

The hotel itself was well situated to shops and restaurants alike.

The hotel staff, reception, bar staff, waiters/ess and maid were fantastic, the maids cleaned the rooms daily (even the weekend)

The entertainment was a bit same-ish but ok if you had a family with you.

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

M Gardiner stayed at Paphos Gardens Hotel & Apartments in July 2005
Stayed in two-bedroom superior apartment, which turned out to be two separate apartments within small adjoining corridor with own front door. This was great for my two teenagers who needed their own space.
Excellent apartment(s).

Staff very helpful.

Cleaners in more often than other places we\'ve stayed.

Air conditioning necessary at no extra cost.

Only downside was nightly entertainment which went on till after midnight and could be heard from our bedroom! Two cockroaches discovered (on two separate nights). Reported to hotel staff and cleaners came in next day and sprayed - no more cockroaches!

Hotel is well placed though - not right in the centre of all the buzz.

No problems with anything except the T.V. channels didn\'t quite turn out to be what is advertised in the hotel ...
brochure. A.c. worked fine, kitchen equipment good, safety deposit box good and good sized pool(s).

Had one meal in the hotel (the Greek evening) which was excellent value for money. Very handy for local restaurants and good on-site shop.

Really no complaints at all!

Read More

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Jodie stayed at Paphos Gardens Hotel & Apartments in July 2005
I stayed at the Paphos Gardens Apartments with my parents and my friend.

We had paid for a superior apartment, yet when we arrived we were shown to an apartment that was clearly not superior (although very nice, spacious and was on two levels). We complained the next morning as we arrived during the night and were moved to a superior apartment straight away.

The apartments were spacious and well maintained (the superior ones anyway). The maids came every day and although we had heard there were often break-ins, we did not have anything taken and our apartment was right on the edge of the complex!!

The pools were both a good size and both had a jacuzzi in!!

The complex was very \'green\' which I thought made it look really fresh and added to the effect!

Tour Operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Marjorie Armstrong visited the Paphos Gardens Hotel & Apartments in June 2005
We stayed in the hotel on B&B basis. The room decor was a bit dated however it was visited every day by the maids (who were very friendly and polite) the room was cleaned and tidied. TV in room had Sky news and BBC1.

Bathroom clean, shower a bit iffy though as hot water is very very hot and the cold water came in surges so I had to move in and out of the shower to avoid frost bite or scalds!! ....best to give the kids a bath!

We only ate breakfast at the hotel, the food was ok plenty to choose from - cooked/cereal/fruit/breads etc etc. (just as a note of interest the appartments close to the hotel have all been refurbished and look really nice).

Entertainment at hotel great for kids and adults alike.....aqua aerobics/volleyball/water polo/quiz/toddler disco ...
etc. Pool cleaned every morning. Shaded swings and slide area for when it gets really hot.

I would recommend this hotel for families as if your kid is noisy like ours nobody cares as their kids are being just as noisy!!!

Loads of lovely eating places nearby and brill location for bars etc only 5 mins walk to bar street.15 mins slow walk to paphos harbour.

Read More

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Angela had a holiday at Paphos Gardens Hotel & Apartments, Paphos in May 2005
We stayed in one of the reburbished superior apartments, for Mum & Dad's 25th wedding anniversary.

We stayed on a self-catering basis, however paid extra to have breakfast and evening meals on some days.
Food was ok but basically the same each time, it was edible though and no one was ill!
Mum & Dad were given a complimentary evening meal and wine to celebrate their anniversary and could take it any night during their stay - how good is that?!

The second week of our stay there were many more guests arriving and suddenly the two pool areas seemed to shrink and there were definitley not enough sun loungers to go round!

A very nice lady called to our apartment shortly after our arrival to check that all our needs were met. This lady is either very good at her job or she ...
runs the show because no request was too great.

Couldn\'t fault the cleanliness and even the entertainment was enjoyable - we were on holiday after all!!

Read More

Tour Operator: Airtours

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

2/5
2

ANTHONY stayed at Paphos Gardens Hotel & Apartments, Paphos in March 2005
We stayed in the Begonia and Ibiscus. The apartments we were given were the worst I

Tour Operator: STIEN TRAVEL
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
3 stars

5/5
5

martin visited the Paphos Gardens Hotel & Apartments, Paphos in October 2004
Loved every minute of it.

Tour Operator: thompson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Sharon visited the Paphos Gardens Hotel & Apartments, Paphos, Cyprus in October 2004
We were worried about what we were letting ourselves in for after reading some reviews, but luck must have been on our side.

We booked a 2 bedroom apartment & were allocated a 2 bedroom suite: Fully equipped fitted kitchen, full size fridge/freezer, dishwasher, microwave, double oven & ceramic hob, iron & ironing board etc etc... laminate flooring, stereo, double sofa bed, remote controlled air con, couldn\'t fault it.

The food wasn\'t so great, especially if you have fussy eaters or children. It was the first holiday I\'ve been on where I didn\'t put on weight! I would definitely have only booked self catering if I\'d have known beforehand, you then have the option of eating there if you fancy it at a cheaper price than you pay here when booking.

The cleaners came most days, not Sundays, nor Public ...
Holidays & on the whole were very good.

Hotel staff were as you find in most places, some good, some not so good...

The entertainment wasn\'t great for adults, my 4 year old went to the kids club & disco & enjoyed it & the older ones enjoyed the nightly entertainment alot more than we did.

The location is great as a base, 5 minutes walk from the beach and the same from the start of the main street. Couldn\'t stay in every night, but who wants to stay in one place on holiday anyway?

Highly recommend the Asiana just down the road & The Rib Shack - (as recommended on this site) first class.

I would recommend this complex if you could guarantee a refurbished apartment & went self catering, but personally wouldn\'t return for a main holiday, perhaps just for a week.

Read More

Tour Operator: Airtours
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
5 stars
Share