27 independent reviews of the Pioneer Beach Hotel
Address: Poseidonos, Yeroskipou, Cyprus
Pioneer Beach Hotel
Pioneer Beach Hotel Location
Ranked #35 of 61 hotels in Paphos


4/5
Pioneer Beach Hotel Pioneer Beach Hotel is rated 3.59 out of 5 from 27 Reviews
70% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (27 reviews)

Cleanliness 5 stars
Entertainment 2 stars
Food 4 stars
Service 4 stars
Location 3 stars

Pioneer Beach Hotel Reviews

5/5
5

jane walker had a holiday at Pioneer Beach Hotel in August 2009
We stayed at the Pioneer Beach in Cyprus, this was our second visit and we will be returning again in 2010. We are 2 singe ladies of 50+ but very young in outlook. We found the rooms adequate for what we needed the side room balconies are limiting and we would recommend upgrading to full sea view where the balcony is bigger for sitting on if this is what you like on holiday. The breakfast is fantastic and would advise buying an upgraded eating pakage direct with the hotel rather then tour operator. However, check with your agent as at certain times of the year upgrades are only 1p per night for half board!! The staff are extremely pleasant and friendly and this is part of the reason for our returning. We particularly love the adult only theme of ...
the hotel, the entertainment is really very good and the guests are encouraged to join in. It suits all age groups and the variety of age groups makes an excellent mix. Location is out of the centre of Paphos but plenty of options as to how to get into the town centre, roughly 15 minute walk, local bus or taxi.HIGHLY RECOMMENDED FOR A 1ST CLAS SRERLAXING HOLIDAY HOTEL,

Read More

Tour Operator: thompson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

bobby visited the Pioneer Beach Hotel, Paphos in October 2008
This hotel has alot going for it if it was modenised. It has no air conditioning in the restaurant and corridors. It is RUN DOWN there is no better way to explain the decor. It needs updating and the hotel next door of the same chain will be gutted in 2009. its the most relaxing holiday ever as there are no kids. However the food was average and at best okay. Bkfast - bread was fresh and lots of cerals. However the bacon was deep fried! the fresh fruit was old and dried up. B&B is the only opition as there are lots of great restaurants and bars in Paphos. Try the Rib shack and Pingouino near KFC at the harbour. Don\'t think the price reflects 4 star accomadation as it doesn\'t. I won\'t be returning even thou it was ...
relaxing. The lunch in the Regina restaurant is a disgrace....FB customers have to choose food from the school canteen sytle restaurant. The chef which served us had no gloves on and was actually sweating in the food. The cold jacket potatoe I did buy was cold and sweaty! There are a mature group of people at this hotel, they I am sure really like the hotel but a modern well travelled person would think this hotel as a poor 1980\'s 2/3star hotel. Go enjoy the quiet but don\'t think its 4 star.

Read More

Tour Operator: Portland
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

Park stayed at Pioneer Beach Hotel in August 2008
We have just returned fron Cyprus staying in the Pioneer Hotel, We had a fantastic Holiday, the Rooms are a bit on the small side, we had 3 beds in ours but we all managed, after all you only get showered and sleep in it!! The pool is fantastic, you are right on the Beach, the beach has a lot of seaweed though, however the hotel clear it each morning, the views are stunning, There is an issue with Sunbeds people getting up early and saving them, but you will still get some if not in the prime location. The Food is brilliant, the hotel does theamed nights eating around the pool and the setting is stunning. The entertainment is good although its not on everynight. The hotel provides its own Activities Organiser Marie, she is brilliant she doessn\'t leave ...
anybody out and motivates you to join in, although she will take no for an answer. The hotel is full of mixed ages, but best of all no Kids!! The location is a bit far out, a good 15 min walk to the \'triangle\' which has lots of bars, restaraunts, and shops, but the main night life is at the Harbour which is a good 45 min walk. There is a bus just outside that will take you to the Harbour or even Coral bay, any Journey is 1.5 Euro. A taxi to the Hatbour is about 10 euro. All the staff speak english and are very friendly, we thoroughly enjoyed our holiday we did get involved in the activities and made lots of friends, There were a number of people on their own, and they were coaxed to join in too!! I can not give any negative remarks other than there is no fridge in the little Hotel Shop, so you can\'t get Cold water! you do have a fridge in the room so we would buy it and fill the fridge up. A little tip, only book bed and breakfast, as you will have the opportunity to upgrade to half board for 4/7/10 nights which works out cheaper than booking half board through the operator, this then gives you the flexibility of also sampling some of the local restaraunts nearby.The Hotel provides 2 Baech towels per person everyday, so dont take your own, and save on the luggage weight.
We have booked a number of Thompson Gold hotels in the past, this has got to be my favorite.
You will enjoy your stay here go on and book it!!!!

Read More

Tour Operator: Portland

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

chris and stu had a holiday at Pioneer Beach Hotel, Paphos, Cyprus in July 2008
We were a bit apprehensive about visiting this hotel after reading some reviews, however my husband and I found this hotel to be immaculate, very friendly staff, the food was great, we went on half board basis, with loads of different dishes to choose from every day, our room was a bit on the small side, however it was cleaned every day, what more can you ask for, we did have to get up a little bit early to reserve our sun lounger, but it was worth it, we have never had such a chilled out holiday, my husband managed to finish off two books, and the fact that there is a no child policy is fantastic.

Tour Operator: thomas cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5

Maggie & Maria visited the Pioneer Beach Hotel in March 2008
This was our first to Cyprus. We chose the Pioneer Hotel because it was on a great offer with Thomsons. We had read previous reports and it seemed the sort of place we would like to stay. On arrival we were greeted by very friendly reception staff. We had not booked a sea view room but asked if we could have a look at one - this was not a problem and we were simply handed 2 keys and could have had the choice of either. Although the sea view room had a better view, the inland view was a bigger room, so we just stuck with that. The room was very large, 2 very comfortable beds, table and 2 chairs in the bedroom and furnished balcony - although I have to say the ...
balcony was small, we were seldom on it.
The facilities in the room were excellent. Not only a hairdryer, but a full sized iron and an ironing board, full sized fridge and kettle and tea and coffee making facilities which were replenished by our (male) chamber(maid) every day. We received complimentary fruit and water on arrival which was very pleasant. There are also complimentary toiletries which were replenished every day. The furnishings in and around the room, including the shower could do with being updated, but the whole room was very comfortable and we felt this off-set anything negative.
With regard to the Staff - we have never met such pleasant people in our lives. They were all charming, polite, helpful and very friendly. We had read previous reports of people who did not find the Staff approachable or friendly and we wonder if these people had even stayed at the Pioneer Beach!
Definitely go for your breakfast! There is a massive hot food buffet and your eggs, omlettes and poached eggs are made to order by the friendly Chef. If you can\'t see anything you are looking for, just ask one of the two female maitre d\'s and they will be happy to help. Every morning every member of staff greated you with a hello and the breakfast was enough to get you through the day.
We did not eat any of our evening meals in the hotel, although they did do a special offer for 4 nights or you could simply book at the reception on the day when they had Theme Evenings such as the Barbeque Nite or Mediterrean Night.
We would recommend this Hotel to family and friends and, more importantly, would go back ourselves.
It is a distance out of town - we are 2 40 somethings and it took us a good 15 minutes to walk to Kato Paphos Bars at night. Taxis cost around

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

Marty stayed at Pioneer Beach Hotel, Paphos in August 2007
Great hotel the staff are great the rooms are clean and i like the idea that you dont need to have the mini bar in your room but they leave the fridge for you to keep your own drinks cool.

A large choice at breakfast and eggs are cooked fresh and how you want them. The food at the Cyprus night is just superb.

The location is the only down side but only 80 cents on the bus which run every 15 min.

The only thing i say against the hotel is the small shop, the staff in there let the whole place down and could not care less, it was a shame as everyone else was so helpfull.

We will be back next year.

Tour Operator: first choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

5/5
5

Riley & Merchant stayed at Pioneer Beach Hotel, Paphos in June 2007
You cannot fault hardly anything at Pioneer Beach Hotel - staff, meals and location on beach all excellent, as is cleanliness. We didn\'t have seaview but overlooked mountains which was equally as good.
Last year we stayed at sister hotel Athena Royal Beach which we thoroughly enjoyed but can say we enjoyed this year\'s just as much. Adult only hotels are very good idea. It seems that people return to Pioneer Beach year after year and we shall also be going back at some time. Highly recommend this hotel.

Tour Operator: Eclipse Direct

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

2/5
2

meg had a holiday at Pioneer Beach Hotel, Paphos, Cyprus in June 2007
This hotel is a Thomson gold no children, for the price we paid it was not worth it.

The food was awful, the bacon at breakfast was fried in a chip pan, disgusting, supposed to be different themes and pastas etc every night was not the case.

The room was clean the maids came in every day, towels were changed and pool towels were supplied. Sun loungers were a joke, towels were put on a 5am in the morning and some beds were not used at all during the day.

Has a Cyprus night entertainment was poor, hotel about 45 Min's walk to harbour, suited us just fine out of the way from the noise.

Tour Operator: portland
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

Alistair and Chris Brompton stayed at Pioneer Beach Hotel, Paphos, Cyprus in May 2007
This is our second visit to this hotel, we stayed for two weeks last August and a week this time.

The Pioneer is an excellent Hotel, that makes it a popular choice for couples and has many who return to enjoy the peaceful and tranquil atmosphere that exists.

From the Management to the serving staff, there is a high quality degree of service to the customer.

We stayed on a b&b basis and upgraded to half board for

Tour Operator: Portland/Thomsons

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Tinka14 had a holiday at Pioneer Beach Hotel, Paphos in March 2007
We booked the hotel on b&b basis although on arrival you could book half or full board at a good rate.

We like b&b as we like to experience the local restaurants which were very good. The hotel was very clean, all the rooms we could see were clean, the public areas were clean and someone, somewhere was cleaning or tidying up so 10/10 for that aspect.

As previously stated on some sites the food was actually very nice here. You had a great choice for breakfast with cereals, breads, conserves, cakes, eggs mainly differnt ways or even cooked for you, fried egg, omelette or crepes, sausages, cheeses, hams...we also ate 2 dinners at the hotel and it is basically a different themed buffet meal, eat as much as you want for

Tour Operator: Portland

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
3 stars

5/5
5

Martin visited the Pioneer Beach Hotel, Paphos in December 2006
Third time at the Pioneer Beach and it gets better each year! Hotel is spotless throughout, including the gardens and pool area which is difficult in autummn.

The food gets better every year, Portland do not offer half-board here but if they did we would take it every time, we did buy the 4 nights half board upgrade on arrival, this included one free bottle of house wine for

Tour Operator: Portland

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

steve & Jean had a holiday at Pioneer Beach Hotel, Paphos, Cyprus in December 2006
We could not fault the hotel in anyway. The cleanlines, service and food etc we superb. The only little fault was the entertainment at night, but hey they tried their best and this is Cyprus not Benidorm !! The evening buffet was excellent and if you couldnt find anything suitable to eat then you must be a very very fussy eater. The pool bar was well run during the day as was the outside restaurant. The beach was a stones throw out the back, with plenty of sunbeds around the pool and gardens aswell. The pub in the hotel is a nice touch where you can watch Sky etc. Also available in your room. The hotel is second to last on the main road into Pathos but the bus service is very good even in December. Buses go to ...
the harbour, upto the old town and also to Coral Bay and only cost 70cents. The staff were very friendly and helpful and our rep Annah was also very good. Will return to this hotel for sure.

Read More

Tour Operator: thomas cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

Waddingham visited the Pioneer Beach Hotel in August 2006
We had our wedding at the hotel and the staff could not do enough for you. I am 25 and my partner is 22, we enjoyed staying at this hotel.

The food was good with different theme nights there was a lot to choose from. You eat inside the hotel or out side next to the pool which was lit up on a night with candles very romantic.

Tour Operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Sue had a holiday at Pioneer Beach Hotel, Paphos, Cyprus in July 2006
The Pioneer Beach is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. Very clean.

Food is excellent and very varied. We only booked in B & B but because the food was so good we ate there every evening.

This is an adult only hotel and whilst we love children it certainly made the holiday a lot more relaxing.

Our bedroom was on the small side but we had a superb sea view and balcony.

All the staff were so helpful and friendly. The manager continually kept an eye on things. When we arrived we attended the Manager\'s reception. There was champagne and snacks to welcome us.

There were two barbeque nights and the staff went to extraordinary lengths to move all the tables and chairs outside by the swimming ...
pool. We had entertainment whilst eating outside. It was a local theme and very pleasant. I have never had such varied food.

The pool was pleasantly warm and cleaned regularly.

The beach is right by the hotel and sun loungers are on the beach as well. Everyday the sand is raked over by a small tractor. Nothing is too much trouble for any of the staff.

It is just a really lovely hotel and I am sorry it has taken me this long to find it. We are going back again this year.

Read More

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

1/5
1

G Tann stayed at Pioneer Beach Hotel, Paphos in June 2006
The first thing that struck me when I entered the hotel was the overwhelming smell of stale cigerette smoke,it was like being stuck in a 60s time warp.

The average age was 70 I have never seen so many varicose veins on display as well as a few 80 year old breasts,they really should have a little respect for the young!!

There was never any one in the pool as no one could be seen to be having fun,if you forgot yourself and laughed everyone looked over at you,bad thing to do. The hotel had a supermarket but didnt sell cold drinks so if tou wanted one you had to hike a good 15 min walk to the nearest supermarket thats 15 min to a fit 40 year old!.

The hotel is in the middle of nowhere you have to get the ...
bus and the stops are miles apart. If your age is less than 50 and you like a bit of life outside the hotel dont go to the Pioneer you will come home as disappointed as we were.

Read More

Tour Operator: portland direct
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
1 stars

3/5
3

David and Mel had a holiday at Pioneer Beach Hotel, Paphos in May 2006
Very nice clean hotel but very boring, the size of it made it very impersonal.

We paid extra for the sea view and were stuck on the side of the hotel, although we could see the sea if we turned our heads to the right, the room was very nice, mostly German on TV.

Possibly due to when we went but there were alot of retired people so having fun around the pool was frowned upon, generally people didn\'t mix. I\'m 47 and I felt young. The hotel is no good for kids or anyone under 30 years old.

Evening entertainment is none existent.

Becareful with the food as it gets recycled to the next day, if it has a sauce on it, it's from the day before without a sauce. Spirits and liqueurs didn\'t seem to have the strength (brand names) ...
they do at home.

The hotel is too far from the town so hire a car and get out of the hotel or you\'ll die of boredom.

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomson
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
1 stars

4/5
4

mrs l jones visited the Pioneer Beach Hotel in October 2005
We spent a week at the Hotel on Half Board basis and found the Breakfast choices to be plentiful, with fruit, cereals, cold meats, cheeses, yogurts, cooked breakfasts and staff cooking eggs in any sort or form on demand, plus plenty of choices of bread cut to your own requirement, plus juices and tea and coffee on the table.

The Evening Meals were again plentiful with an assortment of foods changed daily, some already cooked on display all clearly labelled, some meats/fish being cooked on demand with choices, also a carvery of two meats every night, plus fish always available and assorted vegetables, two soups always supplied plus bread rolls/croutons etc. There was always fresh fruit available if you didnt fancy the assorted sweet deserts, (which were changed every evenging), and assorted ice creams another choice.

We ususally had a ...
light lunch either in the Restaurant by the Pool or the Pool Bar or even in the Pool bar of the Hotel next door overlooking the Beach !

The Hotel is kept spotless, we cannot fault the cleanliness.

The Hotel is just outside Paphos, but it was no problem to catch a bus just outside and into Paphos Harbour in 10 mins,and the centre a few minutes more.

It is located on its own private beach encircled by rocks,unfortunately while we were there we noticed there was always seaweed on this beach every day, and a JCB clearing away directly in front of the Hotel every morning, we do not know if this was a \"seasonal\" thing or if seaweed is always a problem
there .

The Staff were always polite and friendly and helped with any enquiries we had, the waiters were excellent with advice on wine or any other mattters.

The entertainment was alright,the Hotel did try to have something on every evening and there was always live music in the Marco Polo Bar if you just wanted to drink and chat, we also attended the \"Flame Evening\"and had a lovely meal cooked at our table as a special treat it cost a few more pounds but was well worth it.

We will certainly return to this Hotel.


Read More

Tour Operator: thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

Katie Largent stayed at Pioneer Beach Hotel, Paphos in June 2005
We have just returned from this hotel having this been our first time in Cyprus. We both really enjoyed the whole holiday. The hotel offered a really relaxing atmosphere. On a morning when we awoke all we could hear was the sea lapping up onto the beach and the birds cheeping in the palm trees.

Breakfast was the usual, a wide varied range of continental food. + Champagne on a Sunday morning!

The staff were very friendly and could not do enough to help you.

The beach was a private one belonging to the hotel, situated at the back of the hotel, it was mainly shingle.

Its was a good 10-15 min walk to the restaurants/bars, but once you got there, there was a good choice.

We would recommend this holiday and would definatly go back again.



Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

5/5
5

val & Bryan had a holiday at Pioneer Beach Hotel in June 2005
This was our 3rd visit to this hotel. Ideal for older couples due the fact there are no under 16s. Found this year there were more groups of younger people there but they probably found it too far from the town.

The staff are still as welcoming as our first visit and recognised us immediately. We went earlier this year as my daughter got married in a church in Paphos - wonderful experience - all handled excellently by the Thomsons wedding rep. What a day to remember.

We are planning to go back again next year but don\'t want to tell too many people about it in case I can\'t get a room!!

The food is excellent - an evening meal for only

Tour Operator: Portland

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

Julie & Stuart had a holiday at Pioneer Beach Hotel, Paphos, Cyprus in June 2005
We stayed B&B and food was good with plenty of choice only downside you had to pay for fresh orange juice.

The hotel was clean but a bit dated and in need of a revamp. Room & bath room were average size but in need of a fresh coat of paint. Very small balcony but AMAZING sea view made up for this!

The staff were ok. Entertainment very quiet at hotel. The location we thought was not bad we caught the bus down at night but enjoyed a stroll back.

Tour Operator: Portland
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
3 stars
Share