Image of Pioneer Beach Hotel

Pioneer Beach Hotel

35 of 63 hotels in Paphos

4 out of 5 from 27 reviews
4 stars
Poseidonos, Yeroskipou, Cyprus
This hotel, renovated in 2001, offers excellent facilities & a high level of service.

27 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    5
  • Very Good
    14
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    3
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Jane Walker
6 years 9 months ago
We stayed at the Pioneer Beach in Cyprus, this was our second visit and we will be returning again in 2010. We are 2 singe ladies of 50+ but very young in outlook. We found the rooms adequate for what we needed the side room balconies are limiting and we would recommend upgrading to full sea view where the balcony is bigger for sitting on if this is what you like on holiday. The breakfast is fantastic and would advise buying an upgraded eating pakage direct with the hotel rather then tour operator. However, check with your agent as at certain times of the year upgrades are only 1p per night for half board!! The staff are extremely pleasant and friendly and this is part of the reason for our returning. We particularly love the adult only theme of the hotel, the entertainment is really very good and the guests are encouraged to join in. It suits all age groups and the variety of age groups makes an excellent mix. Location is out of the centre of Paphos but plenty of options as to how to get into the town centre, roughly 15 minute walk, local bus or taxi.HIGHLY RECOMMENDED FOR A 1ST CLAS SRERLAXING HOLIDAY HOTEL,
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Bobby
7 years 7 months ago
This hotel has alot going for it if it was modenised. It has no air conditioning in the restaurant and corridors. It is RUN DOWN there is no better way to explain the decor. It needs updating and the hotel next door of the same chain will be gutted in 2009. its the most relaxing holiday ever as there are no kids. However the food was average and at best okay. Bkfast - bread was fresh and lots of cerals. However the bacon was deep fried! the fresh fruit was old and dried up. B&B is the only opition as there are lots of great restaurants and bars in Paphos. Try the Rib shack and Pingouino near KFC at the harbour. Don't think the price reflects 4 star accomadation as it doesn't. I won't be returning even thou it was relaxing. The lunch in the Regina restaurant is a disgrace....FB customers have to choose food from the school canteen sytle restaurant. The chef which served us had no gloves on and was actually sweating in the food. The cold jacket potatoe I did buy was cold and sweaty! There are a mature group of people at this hotel, they I am sure really like the hotel but a modern well travelled person would think this hotel as a poor 1980's 2/3star hotel. Go enjoy the quiet but don't think its 4 star.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Park
7 years 9 months ago
We have just returned fron Cyprus staying in the Pioneer Hotel, We had a fantastic Holiday, the Rooms are a bit on the small side, we had 3 beds in ours but we all managed, after all you only get showered and sleep in it!! The pool is fantastic, you are right on the Beach, the beach has a lot of seaweed though, however the hotel clear it each morning, the views are stunning, There is an issue with Sunbeds people getting up early and saving them, but you will still get some if not in the prime location. The Food is brilliant, the hotel does theamed nights eating around the pool and the setting is stunning. The entertainment is good although its not on everynight. The hotel provides its own Activities Organiser Marie, she is brilliant she doessn't leave anybody out and motivates you to join in, although she will take no for an answer. The hotel is full of mixed ages, but best of all no Kids!! The location is a bit far out, a good 15 min walk to the 'triangle' which has lots of bars, restaraunts, and shops, but the main night life is at the Harbour which is a good 45 min walk. There is a bus just outside that will take you to the Harbour or even Coral bay, any Journey is 1.5 Euro. A taxi to the Hatbour is about 10 euro. All the staff speak english and are very friendly, we thoroughly enjoyed our holiday we did get involved in the activities and made lots of friends, There were a number of people on their own, and they were coaxed to join in too!! I can not give any negative remarks other than there is no fridge in the little Hotel Shop, so you can't get Cold water! you do have a fridge in the room so we would buy it and fill the fridge up. A little tip, only book bed and breakfast, as you will have the opportunity to upgrade to half board for 4/7/10 nights which works out cheaper than booking half board through the operator, this then gives you the flexibility of also sampling some of the local restaraunts nearby.The Hotel provides 2 Baech towels per person everyday, so dont take your own, and save on the luggage weight.
We have booked a number of Thompson Gold hotels in the past, this has got to be my favorite.
You will enjoy your stay here go on and book it!!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Chris And Stu
7 years 10 months ago
We were a bit apprehensive about visiting this hotel after reading some reviews, however my husband and I found this hotel to be immaculate, very friendly staff, the food was great, we went on half board basis, with loads of different dishes to choose from every day, our room was a bit on the small side, however it was cleaned every day, what more can you ask for, we did have to get up a little bit early to reserve our sun lounger, but it was worth it, we have never had such a chilled out holiday, my husband managed to finish off two books, and the fact that there is a no child policy is fantastic.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Maggie & Maria
8 years 2 months ago
This was our first to Cyprus. We chose the Pioneer Hotel because it was on a great offer with Thomsons. We had read previous reports and it seemed the sort of place we would like to stay. On arrival we were greeted by very friendly reception staff. We had not booked a sea view room but asked if we could have a look at one - this was not a problem and we were simply handed 2 keys and could have had the choice of either. Although the sea view room had a better view, the inland view was a bigger room, so we just stuck with that. The room was very large, 2 very comfortable beds, table and 2 chairs in the bedroom and furnished balcony - although I have to say the balcony was small, we were seldom on it.
The facilities in the room were excellent. Not only a hairdryer, but a full sized iron and an ironing board, full sized fridge and kettle and tea and coffee making facilities which were replenished by our (male) chamber(maid) every day. We received complimentary fruit and water on arrival which was very pleasant. There are also complimentary toiletries which were replenished every day. The furnishings in and around the room, including the shower could do with being updated, but the whole room was very comfortable and we felt this off-set anything negative.
With regard to the Staff - we have never met such pleasant people in our lives. They were all charming, polite, helpful and very friendly. We had read previous reports of people who did not find the Staff approachable or friendly and we wonder if these people had even stayed at the Pioneer Beach!
Definitely go for your breakfast! There is a massive hot food buffet and your eggs, omlettes and poached eggs are made to order by the friendly Chef. If you can't see anything you are looking for, just ask one of the two female maitre d's and they will be happy to help. Every morning every member of staff greated you with a hello and the breakfast was enough to get you through the day.
We did not eat any of our evening meals in the hotel, although they did do a special offer for 4 nights or you could simply book at the reception on the day when they had Theme Evenings such as the Barbeque Nite or Mediterrean Night.
We would recommend this Hotel to family and friends and, more importantly, would go back ourselves.
It is a distance out of town - we are 2 40 somethings and it took us a good 15 minutes to walk to Kato Paphos Bars at night. Taxis cost around
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Marty
8 years 9 months ago
Great hotel the staff are great the rooms are clean and i like the idea that you dont need to have the mini bar in your room but they leave the fridge for you to keep your own drinks cool.

A large choice at breakfast and eggs are cooked fresh and how you want them. The food at the Cyprus night is just superb.

The location is the only down side but only 80 cents on the bus which run every 15 min.

The only thing i say against the hotel is the small shop, the staff in there let the whole place down and could not care less, it was a shame as everyone else was so helpfull.

We will be back next year.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Riley & Merchant
8 years 11 months ago
You cannot fault hardly anything at Pioneer Beach Hotel - staff, meals and location on beach all excellent, as is cleanliness. We didn't have seaview but overlooked mountains which was equally as good.
Last year we stayed at sister hotel Athena Royal Beach which we thoroughly enjoyed but can say we enjoyed this year's just as much. Adult only hotels are very good idea. It seems that people return to Pioneer Beach year after year and we shall also be going back at some time. Highly recommend this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Meg
8 years 11 months ago
This hotel is a Thomson gold no children, for the price we paid it was not worth it.

The food was awful, the bacon at breakfast was fried in a chip pan, disgusting, supposed to be different themes and pastas etc every night was not the case.

The room was clean the maids came in every day, towels were changed and pool towels were supplied. Sun loungers were a joke, towels were put on a 5am in the morning and some beds were not used at all during the day.

Has a Cyprus night entertainment was poor, hotel about 45 Min's walk to harbour, suited us just fine out of the way from the noise.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Alistair And Chris Brompton
9 years ago
This is our second visit to this hotel, we stayed for two weeks last August and a week this time.

The Pioneer is an excellent Hotel, that makes it a popular choice for couples and has many who return to enjoy the peaceful and tranquil atmosphere that exists.

From the Management to the serving staff, there is a high quality degree of service to the customer.

We stayed on a b&b basis and upgraded to half board for
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
9 years 2 months ago
We booked the hotel on b&b basis although on arrival you could book half or full board at a good rate.

We like b&b as we like to experience the local restaurants which were very good. The hotel was very clean, all the rooms we could see were clean, the public areas were clean and someone, somewhere was cleaning or tidying up so 10/10 for that aspect.

As previously stated on some sites the food was actually very nice here. You had a great choice for breakfast with cereals, breads, conserves, cakes, eggs mainly differnt ways or even cooked for you, fried egg, omelette or crepes, sausages, cheeses, hams...we also ate 2 dinners at the hotel and it is basically a different themed buffet meal, eat as much as you want for
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: