Image of Theofano Hotel

Theofano Hotel

46 of 63 hotels in Paphos

3 out of 5 from 22 reviews
3 stars
Danaes, Paphos 8101, Cyprus
The extremely welcoming Theofano hotel offers good facilities amongst a friendly environment. Recently extended, the traditional arcitechture coupled with an informal atmosphere equate to an ideal choice for a relaxing holiday.

22 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    5
  • Good
    5
  • Average
    3
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Howard
9 years 9 months ago
3rd time of staying in 2006!!! My wife and I stayed at The Theofano again. Standards were as good as they were before. We sent an email to hotel manager, requesting a downstairs room in the new part this time and was given a room as requested on arrival.

Staff extremely welcoming and glad to see us. Having left in September 2006 as a family holiday, we decided to move to Cyprus, lock, stock and barrel as they say and although we will be living in the Larnaca area due to my new job, we continue to stay at The Theofano in Paphos for holidays at present.

We did stay at The Louis Princess Beach in Larnaca and this was very good. As a couple we managed to get a room rate of CY
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Howard
9 years 11 months ago
Another report. Having stayed at The Theofano hotel in July, I took my family for a weeks holiday in September. Everything was as good as it was when I was there in July.

My step-daughter loved it, especially the new pool. She spent most days diving to the bottom of the pool and doing handstands. She lost weight but ate like a horse and being a picky child where food is, that's something to be marvelled at.

There is a BBQ in the summer months held on a Tuesday around the new pool area. It was lovely. My wife and I used the old pool after breakfast to swim 25 lengths and sometimes we all went there on an afternoon to chill in the sun and get away from the more noisier areas of the main pool.

There were a lot of pigeons on the roof of the hotel and we put forward a suggestion, that they could do with having a cull.

They weren't however much of a nuisance both in terms of mess or noise. We stayed on the top floor and considering there isn't a lift, it's a long way to drag up your suitcase and we are reasonable fit folks. The staff were really friendly and being a family hotel, they made lots of effort.

My wife is learning Greek so she had a chance to practice and got some good free lessons back from the staff!! The staff recognised me from my stay in July - that's something special considering they must see lots of people!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Kelly Family
10 years ago
Arrived at hotel and didn
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Howard
10 years 1 month ago
Stayed here for a short 1 week break. First time I had been to this hotel. Apparently it is the older sister hotel to the Aloe Hotel, nearby.

I was impressed with the food and the friendliness of the staff. I stayed in the old part but on 1st floor. There was a fusty smell to the room but it soon disappeared with air and my lynx body spray!!

I walked every night down to the harbour. I was on a half-board basis and the food was excellent, plenty of choice, soup, salad bar, at least 5 hot dishes with good choice of rice, pasta and veg, and numerous puddings plus ice-cream. Needed the walk!!

Entertainment hit and miss. The best was an English guy who provided a disco twice weekly. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay - will come again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Gordon Akroyd
10 years 4 months ago
We stayed at the Theofano over Easter. We had a throughly good time.

We felt the food had improved on an already high standard of 2 years ago, although the dinning room can get busy when it first opens as everyone wants to be first. Breakfast are very much the same each day but the choice is immense, 5 cooked dishes each day + boiled eggs, toast 3 or 4 choices of bread, jam and a continental choice of meats and cheeses and a variety of fruit.

Staff were nice and friendly.

The position of the hotel may not be to everyone liking but what's a short walk in a pleasant climate? We often walked into Paphos centre, after all there are plenty of cafe etc to stop off at. We went for a stroll most nights so didn't sample the entertainment.

The hotel has a new and old part, we have stayed in both, the new part is nicer with regards to the view and furniture etc but the old part the rooms were adequate if a little more difficult to get to, no lift. This year the old pool wasn't used a great deal, I don't know why.

We would readily go again to the Theofano.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Mearsy
11 years 1 month ago
When we arrived,we checked in and the the man at reception handed over a card for the room.

We had read the reviews, and we had already read that the hotel was divided in to two parts the old and new. The old part was meant to be dark, damp and smelly. We got to our room and looked on the balcony, it was 12:00pm then so we could'nt see which was the new or old part. The next morning we went to breakfast, then we realised we was in the new part.

Breakfast was in the old part.

The pool was terrible. Don't worry there is a fabulous pool in the new part.

After breakfast we went back to are room. On the way back we saw some rooms in the old part, the handle had key. So if you go there and they hand you a card your in the new part. There is three parts really, there's a really old part, a old part,and a new part.

There's loads of facilities including a gym (with no air con) indoor pool (freezing cold).

In the rooms there is a t.v with sky news, and radio, air con. Depending if you was in the new part the bathrooms were smashing, hairdryer. there was alot of people coming every day but we thought loads of foreign people were on four day breaks., I'm sure it was like a travel lodge.

There were a lot of cats about.

If you get a key, go back the next day and complain, they will put you in the new part.

If you are going all inclusive there is a sign saying please dress formally for dinner, the management.

If you are renting a car we suggest you ignore eurocar and hire a car with a car hiring company that I have forgot the name of, but it is next to the hotel.

We would recommend going to the good times bar over the road, and Brahams and list for a restaurant if your only going for bed and breakfast. There is a snack bar round the pool, for dinner. There is a mini market also next to the hotel.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
David
11 years 2 months ago
Hotel in general was really clean, but was let down badly with the condition of guest rooms.Stayed in old part of the hotel where rooms are badly in need of redecoration.

Rooms are small and dingy with carpets and furniture shabby.maids however did a good job and kept rooms as clean as was possible and towels changed daily.( new part of hotel is much nicer so request a room in this area at time of booking).

Stayed on a B&B basis, breakfasts were ok but nothing special.Liked location of hotel as it was in the quieter area of resort but within a ten minute walk to centre with sufficient bars and restaurants within the area of the hotel.

Entertainment was poor more geared towards SAGA guests.

Nice pool areas with two pools one more suitable for families and another which is quieter and smaller
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Paul
11 years 2 months ago
The hotel is slit in to two parts if you book please get in the new part as the old part is very poor.

The room we were given was on the ground floor with the patio doors leading to a nice pool area. The decoration of the room was still very basic with faults in the furnishing ( doors not working a damp smell and other holiday maker claiming large beetles in there rooms altough we did not see any only round the pool area along with a few frendly cats).
Rooms were cleaned daily.

The food at breakfast very basic and little choice.

Theme nights very good based around the pool area (1 x per week), the holiday was sold to us as a family holiday suitable for children.

We did find that there was a lot of ederly people that have been there for the past 5 yrs + for the children there was a good pool but nothing arranged for them day or night.

No holiday reps present on site! The staff were very good we did have a good holiday going out at night and spending time in the day on tours or by the pool etc.

The harbour is only 15 mins walk away with a larger choice of pubs and clubs or 70 cents on the bus each.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Katie Needham
11 years 2 months ago
The Hotel was really nice, we stayed in the new part of the hotel and found it clean and air conditioning was a real need be!

Three of us shared a room and the other three and we were all happy with the space we had - and our apartment was situated on the bottom too where we walked down three steps and was around the pool area - which is always a bonus!

We were all very happy with the hotel and would definatley go back again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Robert
11 years 4 months ago
Hotel is split into two halves the old half and the new half we stayed in the new half which was clean bright and rooms were of a good standard. However we visited a room in the old half they were dull damp smelling and not up to a very good standard at all.

The rooms were cleaned daily however we were there for a week and our pillowcases were not changed once.

The breakfast was good with plenty for both young and old but the dinners were very poor. Meat was full of bones and fat and they were no good at all for children.

Staff on reception were friendly and helped as best they could.

We travelled in April and found that about 80 per cent of the guests were there with Saga so you can imagine how the entertainment was. Ok if you
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: