Image of Venus Beach Hotel

Venus Beach Hotel

59 of 63 hotels in Paphos

3 out of 5 from 15 reviews
5 stars
Tombs of The King Road POBox 62309, Paphos 08063, Cyprus
On the beach. Local bars, shops, cafes and buses to Kato Paphos and town are nearby. Hotel is ideally placed for sightseeing and relaxation

15 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    4
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    8
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Jeannine And Dave
7 years ago
My boyfriend and I stayed at the Venus Beach after booking it with 17 hours notice! I quickly read the reviews on here but thought the best way was to see for ourselves. Upon arriving at the hotel we were quite impressed, it was not the most modern of hotels but very clean and well presented. Our room was lovely with a huge wardrobe, comfy beds (though it was a twin room so beds were pushed together, a bit awkward!) and a nice clean bathroom with decent shower (which is all I ask!). The floor was carpeted which we always find strange, but on glimpsing other rooms some had laminate floor. We had a good view of the Tombs of the Kings, and decent air-con.
We soon learned the hotel was only at 5% capacity, which we could tell as the pool area and mealtimes were really quiet. We think this may have contributed to how smoothly our stay went, we had no problems with anything such as service, cleanliness, maintenance etc, but obviously things may be different in busier times. The weekend got a lot busier with local Cypriots, we assume they must get cheap weekend deals, and this is when it became an issue to get a sunbed etc, but the pool boy was always quick to get spare beds and umbrellas out, so it was not really a problem, nor at mealtimes as the Cypriots did not seem to eat at the hotel
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Mr Roberts
8 years 1 month ago
I'v been to Cyprus five times and have stayed in various hotels.The venus beach hotel was recomended to me and the price was very good.Our stay in this hotel was excellent.All aspect of the hotel was very much up to standerd that you would expect in a 5 star hotel.The balcony and bathroom were a bit small but otherwise the hotel was perpect.Alot of people complain about this hotel on this site,i just can't understand this.If you'r looking for a very classy/upmarket hotel in Cyprus have a look at the Elysium but with the different in price and not that much in quality is it worth it?.Venus beach-great hotel
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
9 years 9 months ago
This hotel claims to be 5* - in its dreams - more like a 3*.

On arrival I found reception staff to be friendly and my room was ready.

I was allocated a twin room for single use on 5th floor with a view over the front of the hotel. There was slight noise from the traffic in the morning but to be honest hardly noticeable.

The decor of the room was OK, balcony tiny, room itself not that big but clean. There is a mini bar - lockable, and a safe. The hotel has individually controlled air conditioning which was fine but a bit noisy, but being October found I didn't need it on at night. During the day put it on for a few minutes when in room but then turned it off.

For a 5* hotel one downside is the room key instead of a nice neat credit card it is a chunky key with a metal tag attached to operate the lights/air conditioning, which means you are unable to leave something in electric slot to keep room cool all day as there is only one per room available.

The bathroom was OK a little small but clean. There was a range of complimentary toiletries including a shoe cleaning kit. The bath towels were about the size of an average hand towel which hardly went round me. Clean towels are given daily.

Breakfast is served in a breakfast room. I normally went down about 8.20 and could easily get a table, by the time I had finished by 9am it was crowded and the lunch time restaurant opposite would be used for the overflow. Hotel was only about 70% full and so dread to think what the queues were like in high summer.

The orange juice is reconstituted and tastes awful. The apple juice is fine. They have fresh fruit salad mixed with tinned you can tell by the tinned peaches/cherries and was quite passable. There are orange segments which I tried but instead of being in natural juice they are put in sweetened juice and are not particularly nice. Grapefruit segments are also available. There is a choice of about 5 cereals.

As for the hot food - well - the fried eggs were normally cold and congealed, unless you happened to be there as chef was cooking fresh ones. The scrambled eggs look life a loaf of egg which you could cut with a knife and looked unappetising. Normal selection of sausages, bacon, beans etc. There is a choice of breads for toasting, fresh french bread which you can cut yourself and a drawer unit with warm rolls and croissants.

As for jam/honey - for a hotel that is 5* surely it could afford to serve individual portions of jam etc. rather than large pots from which you helped yourself and put it on a saucer. Tea, coffee, hot chocolate etc is bought to your table by a waiter.

The pool area is quite large and I had no problem getting a sunbed but as hotel was not at capacity I was not surprised. Pool towels are available and if they had a hole in them would just ask for another. A major downside to pool area is that the ground surfaces around the pool are slippery and I saw quite a number of children falling over., this is not what you expect from 5* hotels. The hotel is on a beach accessed down a slope from pool bar.

The pool bar was fine but expensive. A small glass of a cold fizzy drink was CYP1.80 (about
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
June Roberts
10 years 6 months ago
We arrived at the hotel late at night and were shown straight to our rooms which were on the first floor as requested, there was a snack type meal waiting for us in our rooms.

Our rooms were clean and spacious with a small balcony which got the sun for most of the day. The food was very good and the evening meal was themed every night with a good selection which I think would suit most palettes.

The staff were all friendly and nothing was too much trouble, when we did have cause to ask for something it was done immediately.

The drinks in the bar were quite expensive which is a shame as most people go out and to be fair the bar is very comfortable and it's a shame it's not used as well as it should be.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
John And Sue
10 years 8 months ago
We asked for a no smoking room which they said they did not have - although we were told they did. The towels were raggy and smelly.

We had dinner one night which was enough to put us off going again, although the dining room was pleasant and clean looking. Breakfasts were tedious, not much choice and the coffee was like mud!

Hotel staff were not very helpful in fact quite arrogant and dismissive of the simplest request.

There was a little entertainment on one night, some dancing.

We would not visit the hotel or recommend it. We were woken by building noise every morning before 7 and one morning with a large crane hovering at our window to go on the roof and bang with a sledge hammer - the holiday was meant to be a rest!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Karen
10 years 9 months ago
We booked this hotel thinking we would treat ourselves to 5 star as we were getting married over there too. The outside and entrance was lovely but the room was a disgrace. Not a 5 star.2 or 3 more like. Totally spoiled what was supposed to be our treat for our wedding. Would never go back to that hotel. Location was poor.Right out of it all.Staff were miserable.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Phil Chris Dave Kate
10 years 10 months ago
Room was adequate but the balcony which overlooked the Tomb of the Kings was small. The pool was ok but too hot for us we used the sunbeds on the grass overlooking the sea as there was a nice breeze the sea was choppy while we were there but we did go swimming the only problem was the rocks underneath the water.

Although we were B&B we did have several evening meals at the hotel and found the food to be very good as were the breakfasts.

The only fault was the price of the drinks which seemed to discourage people from staying in the hotel on an evening.
There are plenty of restaurants and bars within walking distance and the buses are cheap and frequent to the centre of Paphos.

In conclusion we found this hotel clean and adequate (but not 5star)and we had no problems what so ever.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
P. Wroe
11 years 3 months ago
We flew with Cyprus Airways, which were very good, that extra couple of inches of seat room make all the difference. The service on the flight was also first class.

We arrived at the hotel at night, they were awaiting my arrival and the porter soon took the cases away and a small meal had been left in the room for us.

Although the building is a few years old and looking tired, the staff could not be faulted, polite, and helpful all the time.

The food was excellent so many choices.

The rooms were well furnished ~ dressing gowns and towels for sunbathing provided ~ Sheets and towels changed daily.

Last year the beach was washed away by a freak tide, whilst we were there a dredger was blowing sand back onto the beach so there is now a lovely golden soft sand beach.

The only complaint is that a cup of coffee/tea cost C
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
J & S Bancroft
11 years 5 months ago
We stayed at the Venus Beach in Jan/Feb for 3 weeks, and I am wondering if we are talking about the same hotel as some of these holidaymakers!...Come on you people there is no such thing as a perfect hotel!

Yes, the hotel is probably more 4* than 5* and in need of some tidying up in some areas, particularly the inside pool area, but are rooms were fine. We had a nice big room with a side seaview which had a view over the 'Tombs of the kings' site and full sun all day.

Housekeeping of the rooms was very good...They even change the bedsheets every day if required!

The food on half board was excellent, with something for everyone.

Yes, drinks in the bar were expensive, but you can go to one of the outside bars if you want a few pints.

The staff were all fine with us, and sorted out any small problems we had without fuss.

We would be happy to stay there again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
11 years 9 months ago
After staying at this hotel three previous times the last in 2002.
we would never return here, the standards have dropped substantialy. The room was in a negleted state and was only cleaned twice whilst we stayed with only the beds being made daily.
It is a shame that this hotel has been let to go
downhill as it is more akin to a poor 3star now, it used to be a nice hotel (never a true 5 star) that was in a good location, with friendly staff, that was good value for money.
We were informed that the CTO had made the hotel close for redecoration at the start of 2004.
We would agree with the other reviews that it seems that the hotel is being run on a shoe string.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: