31 independent reviews of the Crown Resorts Elamaris Hotel
Address: Kavo Greko Rd, Protaras 5312, Cyprus
Crown Resorts Elamaris Hotel
Crown Resorts Elamaris Hotel Location
Ranked #36 of 50 hotels in Protaras


4/5
Crown Resorts Elamaris Hotel Crown Resorts Elamaris Hotel is rated 3.65 out of 5 from 31 Reviews
61% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (31 reviews)

Cleanliness 4 stars
Entertainment 4 stars
Food 3 stars
Service 4 stars
Location 4 stars

Crown Resorts Elamaris Hotel Reviews

2/5
2

PAUL visited the Crown Resorts Elamaris Hotel in July 2008
This has got to be the worst hotel we have ever stayed at. And that would include some very grubby club 18-30 prisons some 20 years ago!
To call this a 4 star is an absolute travesty.
It is very dated with rude staff!
I would not normally write on such websites but I feel that this hotel is living on a past reputation (probably from the 1980s) & can still operate & take punters money. So I hope I can assist & help you with yr final destination decision

this hotel is no where nr the main strip of protaros & is some 2.5miles or 10euros or 45min walk away.

The only good thing I can say is that our little boy enjoyed the litter of cats at breakfast time - for which we only had once. We were half board so that was a waste of money- but hey at least I didn

Tour Operator: SUNWORLD
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
1 stars

2/5
2

ali had a holiday at Crown Resorts Elamaris Hotel, Protaras, Cyprus in May 2008
We have just returned from a long weekend at this hotel which we booked on an all inclusive basis due to taking four children along with us. This hotel has to rank as the worst we have ever stayed at and how on earth some travel sites can advertise this as a 4-star is beyond belief.

Although the hotel occupies a good position and has a full entertainment program particularly for the children, the food and service were little short of appalling. The variety and quality of the food is extremely poor - we avoided breakfast everyday as it was so bad, food in the evening was on more than one occasion reheated leftovers from lunchtime and food was not kept warm. If there was a trade description act operating properly in Cyprus this hotel would be fined ...
all the time as the meals advertised (carvery night etc) had no correspondence whatsoever to the food offered.

Complaining to the staff will have little if any effect and if you can find the hotel manager it will be a miracle as he/she seems to disappear whenever anyone has a complaint. The rest of the staff just wring their hands but don\'t try and resolve the problems.

Given that the \"chef\" walks around the buffet bar flicking bits of food which have dropped on the counter back into the main food warmers and the children

Read More

Tour Operator: travel republic

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5

Lee had a holiday at Crown Resorts Elamaris Hotel, Protaras in October 2007
Our 11yr old son thought this was \'his best holiday ever\'. It was just right for kids of this age, a self contained hotel with swimming pool and pool tables with space for the kids to hang out on their own without going outside the hotel grounds.

The room was good, a separate bedroom then a large living room with kitchen, table and chairs, two good sized single beds and a balcony with table and chairs. Each room had separate air con.

The only problem we had was that the loo seat was wobbly at the start, but the cleaner sent someone up to fix it before we even thought about reporting it.

Cleaning was excellent, not every day, we also had towels replaced 3 times in a week.

Tour Operator: Portland

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

Spurry had a holiday at Crown Resorts Elamaris Hotel, Protaras, Cyprus in October 2007
This was our 3rd visit to the Elamaris , our last being 6 yrs ago, the hotel is still pretty much the same as it was then , i don\'t think they\'ve decorated since!!!!
The hotel is looking very tired, the woodwork was rotting , the masonary was cracked on the balconies and our corridor smelled like cat p***.
The hotel staff were very friendly,the waiters, waitresses and bar staff were very helpful and friendly but the actual cooks/chefs were very ignorant and i made a complaint about one of them when we went down for dinner at 8:45pm and were told that the chicken had finished , bearing in mind that the restaraunt was open until 9:30 i found this unnaceptable , when i remonstrated with the chef he just shrugged and walked off.Following the complaint the waiter ensured that we ...
were given chicken and apologised profusly.
The overall standard of food served was poor, we actually ate out on 5 occaisions which cost a packet, our previous visits to the Hotel have been very enjoyable but this one has really put us off going back , which is a shame because the Hotel could be so much better.
The majority of staff there are not Cypriot now , which may account for the declining standard overall.

With regards to the entertainment , i wasn\'t impressed, Baz tried his hardest and ensured we had a good time, and he was a really nice bloke as well, but his partner (no name mentioned) was the most self-indulgant person i\'ve ever seen, all she was interested in was herself,there were frequent instructions to children to sit down, which is odd considering it is a superfamily hotel..and to cap it all she actually told all the kids to get out of the pool(at the hottest part of the day, and believe me it was hot)on a couple of occasions so that the adults could play games in and around the pool.

This review no doubt sounds like we had a really bad time , but we didn\'t we had a great time , unfortunatly most of it was spent outside of the hotel.
We love Cyprus and will return next year if i have my way, but not with Thomson and not to the Elamaris (which is a shame, because we have such fond memories of that hotel from previous years)

Ian

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomson
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

Spurry visited the Crown Resorts Elamaris Hotel in October 2007
This was our 3rd visit to the Elamaris , our last being 6 yrs ago, the hotel is still pretty much the same as it was then , i don\'t think they\'ve decorated since!!!!
The hotel is looking very tired, the woodwork was rotting , the masonary was cracked on the balconies and our corridor smelled like cat p***.
The hotel staff were very friendly,the waiters, waitresses and bar staff were very helpful and friendly but the actual cooks/chefs were very ignorant and i made a complaint about one of them when we went down for dinner at 8:45pm and were told that the chicken had finished , bearing in mind that the restaraunt was open until 9:30 i found this unnaceptable , when i remonstrated with the chef he just shrugged and walked off.Following the complaint the waiter ensured that we ...
were given chicken and apologised profusly.
The overall standard of food served was poor, we actually ate out on 5 occaisions which cost a packet, our previous visits to the Hotel have been very enjoyable but this one has really put us off going back , which is a shame because the Hotel could be so much better.
The majority of staff there are not Cypriot now , which may account for the declining standard overall.

With regards to the entertainment , i wasn\'t impressed, Baz tried his hardest and ensured we had a good time, and he was a really nice bloke as well, but his partner (no name mentioned) was the most self-indulgant person i\'ve ever seen, all she was interested in was herself,there were frequent instructions to children to sit down, which is odd considering it is a superfamily hotel..and to cap it all she actually told all the kids to get out of the pool(at the hottest part of the day, and believe me it was hot)on a couple of occasions so that the adults could play games in and around the pool.

This review no doubt sounds like we had a really bad time , but we didn\'t we had a great time , unfortunatly most of it was spent outside of the hotel.
We love Cyprus and will return next year if i have my way, but not with Thomson and not to the Elamaris (which is a shame, because we have such fond memories of that hotel from previous years)

Ian

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomson
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

kate booth had a holiday at Crown Resorts Elamaris Hotel, Protaras in May 2007
Bedrooms and bathrooms were very dated. Although very clean maid service most days.

Exellent location near beach, bars ,shops etc.

The Thomson staff were great HI ALL !!! Kids club was brilliant.Night time shows and mini disco.

Taxi or 20 mins walk into protaras centre, but plenty of bars and places to eat around the hotel.

Tour Operator: portland

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

graham & lisa had a holiday at Crown Resorts Elamaris Hotel, Protaras in May 2007
This was our second visit to Protaras, but our first visit to the Ela Maris.The hotel is desperate need of modernasation, but the apartments are quite big and have all you need (cookers have a mind of their own).
We never saw the pool being cleaned and 2 of us got ear infections!
We usually go 5* all inclusive to Turkey but thought we couldn\'t pass this one up at

Tour Operator: thomson
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

Karen & John had a holiday at Crown Resorts Elamaris Hotel, Protaras, Cyprus in May 2007
This was our 3rd and probably our last time at the Elamaris. The hotel standards have declined considerably.

Hotel rooms are spacious and adequate but are in need of refurbishment. We had the same room as previous years and the bathroom still floods when you run a bath!, despite reporting it every year.

Didn\'t eat in the restaurant at all this year, as found better eating establishments outside of the Hotel. The staff are mainly Cypriot and Polish, Terry & George at the Bar are fantastic, really make your holiday, some of the other staff leave a lot to be desired.

The entertainment is a bit samey every night some nights better than others, the Thomson staff do try hard, some more than others.

The outside entertainers they bring in can be quite good. ...
The Magic Man Paul Tomas is great. Due to the lack of basic standards (the need for refurb) and having heard that Thomson have dropped this hotel from their Super family Range, probably won\'t go again, a shame as the hotel is in a great area.

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
4 stars

2/5
2

smith visited the Crown Resorts Elamaris Hotel in October 2006
This hotel is in need of refurbishment badly.

The entertainment was too noisy and reps couldnt wait for season to end.

Would not recommend this hotel.

Tour Operator: thomson
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
1 stars

3/5
3

Martin P & family stayed at Crown Resorts Elamaris Hotel, Protaras, Cyprus in June 2006
Beware if you do not book through Thompson

Tour Operator: BA and booked hotel direct
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

ClaireT had a holiday at Crown Resorts Elamaris Hotel in May 2006
Have just returned from the Elamaris and have a bit of a mixed review. This is most definitely the place to be for kids despite the fact there is no Karl this year, there are two more than adequate replacement in Adam & Becks. There is so much going on kids will just never get bored. Unfortunately the same cannot be said for adult entertainment. At 10pm, there is supposed to be something geared more towards the parents. One evening we had an

Tour Operator: Portland Direct
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
3 stars

5/5
5

Tracy, Adrian & Amie had a holiday at Crown Resorts Elamaris Hotel, Protaras, Cyprus in September 2005
Did not eat at the hotel restaurant. But the restaurants along the main strip offered good food & value for money, the set menu\'s were very good value. We never got to eat dessert as we were too full after the starter & main course.

The maid service was good had clean towels almost every day. The maids came in 5 out of 7 days.

We wanted a sunbed holidays so for us the location was perfect. The beach was a 5 minute walk through the hotel grounds. The beach was clean & the sea was clear & very nice to swim in. Hotel staff were friendly, but the holiday success was made by Carl the entertainments rep. Carl was a \"LEGEND\" he gave us many a laugh.

The games were great & Supa Splash ...
was a must every day! Carl had so much energy & enthusiasm for his job and holiday punters he gave it his all!

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5

Jones stayed at Crown Resorts Elamaris Hotel, Protaras in August 2005
What a great place to stay made by Super Family entertainers Carl & Kim.

They made the place what it is great!!

Air Conditioning was excellent actually managed to sleep!

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Maynard had a holiday at Crown Resorts Elamaris Hotel, Protaras, Cyprus in August 2005
Was a fantastic holiday great friendly atmosphere. Children entertained all day staff incredibly friendly especially entertainers Carl and Kim.

Location near to main town and beach. Rooms could do with updating. Free air con was great!

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Zak stayed at Crown Resorts Elamaris Hotel, Protaras, Cyprus in August 2005
Its very good with things to do for all ages. Staff are great. Entertainment-100% CARL your the best.

Tour Operator: BA

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

daveeboy stayed at Crown Resorts Elamaris Hotel, Protaras in June 2005
Lets be honest about the elamaris the staff make the holiday Carl and Kim work their socks off as do the kids reps and not forgetting the non entertainment reps who were always available to chat to you.

I cannot comment on the food as the restaurants in pernera are superb especially Il Cavallerie,Sizzlers Il Guesto next to Sizzlers and the Stuffed Olive.

There are a couple of drawbacks, the main gripe is the shortage of sunbeds less than one per room is not accaptable and nor is the 7.30 visit needed to claim one.

The rooms need an update but the aircon is free and a godsend, one last thing if you want to sleep before midnight ask for a room in the reception block preferably facing the sea, it didnt bother us as we were adding to the decibel limit but ...
those with toddlers may want some kip.

Dont get me wrong we enjoyed our hols especially our 7 yr old but the hotel is not perfect.

Read More

Tour Operator: thomson
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

5/5
5

Christine had a holiday at Crown Resorts Elamaris Hotel in October 2004
The Hotel is in an ideal locoation, close to shops and the beach.

The rooms are spacious and clean with all the required utilities

Hotel staff are friendly and helpful

Entertainment is first class with Chrissy and Al Fonzo Bonzo

A superb family holiday.

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Tessa Porter had a holiday at Crown Resorts Elamaris Hotel, Protaras in September 2004
Just back from a fantastic holiday at the Elamaris. I had been there previously with a friend 2 years ago.

The rooms are nice and spacious although could do with a bit of a sparkler, the air con is free which is excellent.

We had a problem with our shower on the first day, phoned reception and 5 minutes later a man came up to fix it, very polite and efficient.

The pool is nice, although I should imagine in peak weeks there may be a struggle for a sun lounger, and although we were couples in a Super Family Resort we enjoyed the entertainment around the pool area. Water aerobics were good, scouse in the house is very funny and the quizzes were a good laugh also, it was good because there are large breaks in between all the entertainment so it ...
does not become too annoying.

Paragliding is much cheaper here than in Protaras and Ayia Napa water park is a must, clean, reasonable and good fun.

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomsons

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Sharon visited the Crown Resorts Elamaris Hotel in September 2004
Fantastic hotel. Very clean, staff friendly and helpful.

In ideal location, next to shops and restaurants. Highly recommend steak and ale restaurant outside turn left. Meze fantastic.

Chrissy and Bonzo were brilliant at all times. Put a lot of effort and hard work into keeping us all entertained. We hailed 4 T shirts which was a right laugh.

A good variety of day and evening entertainment for all ages

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

paul stayed at Crown Resorts Elamaris Hotel, Protaras in July 2004
we found the hotel and entertainment fantastic. the food was lovely,the entertainment provided could not be beaten, absolutley spotless and if you do not enjoy a stay at this hotel then the problem lies within yourself. highly recommended for familys with kids between 5 and fifteen, very friendly staff. its the perfect hliday and we will be returning.
p.s. i won a thompson super family t shirt and i didnt even have to hail it

Tour Operator: thompson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars
Share