Image of Crown Resorts Elamaris Hotel

Crown Resorts Elamaris Hotel

19 of 49 hotels in Protaras

4 out of 5 from 31 reviews
Kavo Greko Rd, Protaras 5312, Cyprus
The spacious, bright apartments of this friendly and modern complex with the facilities of a hotel, enjoy all the benefits of being next to the resort.

31 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    13
  • Very Good
    6
  • Good
    6
  • Average
    3
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
PAUL
7 years 10 months ago
This has got to be the worst hotel we have ever stayed at. And that would include some very grubby club 18-30 prisons some 20 years ago!
To call this a 4 star is an absolute travesty.
It is very dated with rude staff!
I would not normally write on such websites but I feel that this hotel is living on a past reputation (probably from the 1980s) & can still operate & take punters money. So I hope I can assist & help you with yr final destination decision

this hotel is no where nr the main strip of protaros & is some 2.5miles or 10euros or 45min walk away.

The only good thing I can say is that our little boy enjoyed the litter of cats at breakfast time - for which we only had once. We were half board so that was a waste of money- but hey at least I didn
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Ali
8 years ago
We have just returned from a long weekend at this hotel which we booked on an all inclusive basis due to taking four children along with us. This hotel has to rank as the worst we have ever stayed at and how on earth some travel sites can advertise this as a 4-star is beyond belief.

Although the hotel occupies a good position and has a full entertainment program particularly for the children, the food and service were little short of appalling. The variety and quality of the food is extremely poor - we avoided breakfast everyday as it was so bad, food in the evening was on more than one occasion reheated leftovers from lunchtime and food was not kept warm. If there was a trade description act operating properly in Cyprus this hotel would be fined all the time as the meals advertised (carvery night etc) had no correspondence whatsoever to the food offered.

Complaining to the staff will have little if any effect and if you can find the hotel manager it will be a miracle as he/she seems to disappear whenever anyone has a complaint. The rest of the staff just wring their hands but don't try and resolve the problems.

Given that the "chef" walks around the buffet bar flicking bits of food which have dropped on the counter back into the main food warmers and the children
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Lee
8 years 7 months ago
Our 11yr old son thought this was 'his best holiday ever'. It was just right for kids of this age, a self contained hotel with swimming pool and pool tables with space for the kids to hang out on their own without going outside the hotel grounds.

The room was good, a separate bedroom then a large living room with kitchen, table and chairs, two good sized single beds and a balcony with table and chairs. Each room had separate air con.

The only problem we had was that the loo seat was wobbly at the start, but the cleaner sent someone up to fix it before we even thought about reporting it.

Cleaning was excellent, not every day, we also had towels replaced 3 times in a week.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Spurry
8 years 7 months ago
This was our 3rd visit to the Elamaris , our last being 6 yrs ago, the hotel is still pretty much the same as it was then , i don't think they've decorated since!!!!
The hotel is looking very tired, the woodwork was rotting , the masonary was cracked on the balconies and our corridor smelled like cat p***.
The hotel staff were very friendly,the waiters, waitresses and bar staff were very helpful and friendly but the actual cooks/chefs were very ignorant and i made a complaint about one of them when we went down for dinner at 8:45pm and were told that the chicken had finished , bearing in mind that the restaraunt was open until 9:30 i found this unnaceptable , when i remonstrated with the chef he just shrugged and walked off.Following the complaint the waiter ensured that we were given chicken and apologised profusly.
The overall standard of food served was poor, we actually ate out on 5 occaisions which cost a packet, our previous visits to the Hotel have been very enjoyable but this one has really put us off going back , which is a shame because the Hotel could be so much better.
The majority of staff there are not Cypriot now , which may account for the declining standard overall.

With regards to the entertainment , i wasn't impressed, Baz tried his hardest and ensured we had a good time, and he was a really nice bloke as well, but his partner (no name mentioned) was the most self-indulgant person i've ever seen, all she was interested in was herself,there were frequent instructions to children to sit down, which is odd considering it is a superfamily hotel..and to cap it all she actually told all the kids to get out of the pool(at the hottest part of the day, and believe me it was hot)on a couple of occasions so that the adults could play games in and around the pool.

This review no doubt sounds like we had a really bad time , but we didn't we had a great time , unfortunatly most of it was spent outside of the hotel.
We love Cyprus and will return next year if i have my way, but not with Thomson and not to the Elamaris (which is a shame, because we have such fond memories of that hotel from previous years)

Ian
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Spurry
8 years 7 months ago
This was our 3rd visit to the Elamaris , our last being 6 yrs ago, the hotel is still pretty much the same as it was then , i don't think they've decorated since!!!!
The hotel is looking very tired, the woodwork was rotting , the masonary was cracked on the balconies and our corridor smelled like cat p***.
The hotel staff were very friendly,the waiters, waitresses and bar staff were very helpful and friendly but the actual cooks/chefs were very ignorant and i made a complaint about one of them when we went down for dinner at 8:45pm and were told that the chicken had finished , bearing in mind that the restaraunt was open until 9:30 i found this unnaceptable , when i remonstrated with the chef he just shrugged and walked off.Following the complaint the waiter ensured that we were given chicken and apologised profusly.
The overall standard of food served was poor, we actually ate out on 5 occaisions which cost a packet, our previous visits to the Hotel have been very enjoyable but this one has really put us off going back , which is a shame because the Hotel could be so much better.
The majority of staff there are not Cypriot now , which may account for the declining standard overall.

With regards to the entertainment , i wasn't impressed, Baz tried his hardest and ensured we had a good time, and he was a really nice bloke as well, but his partner (no name mentioned) was the most self-indulgant person i've ever seen, all she was interested in was herself,there were frequent instructions to children to sit down, which is odd considering it is a superfamily hotel..and to cap it all she actually told all the kids to get out of the pool(at the hottest part of the day, and believe me it was hot)on a couple of occasions so that the adults could play games in and around the pool.

This review no doubt sounds like we had a really bad time , but we didn't we had a great time , unfortunatly most of it was spent outside of the hotel.
We love Cyprus and will return next year if i have my way, but not with Thomson and not to the Elamaris (which is a shame, because we have such fond memories of that hotel from previous years)

Ian
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Kate Booth
9 years ago
Bedrooms and bathrooms were very dated. Although very clean maid service most days.

Exellent location near beach, bars ,shops etc.

The Thomson staff were great HI ALL !!! Kids club was brilliant.Night time shows and mini disco.

Taxi or 20 mins walk into protaras centre, but plenty of bars and places to eat around the hotel.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Graham & Lisa
9 years ago
This was our second visit to Protaras, but our first visit to the Ela Maris.The hotel is desperate need of modernasation, but the apartments are quite big and have all you need (cookers have a mind of their own).
We never saw the pool being cleaned and 2 of us got ear infections!
We usually go 5* all inclusive to Turkey but thought we couldn't pass this one up at
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Karen & John
9 years ago
This was our 3rd and probably our last time at the Elamaris. The hotel standards have declined considerably.

Hotel rooms are spacious and adequate but are in need of refurbishment. We had the same room as previous years and the bathroom still floods when you run a bath!, despite reporting it every year.

Didn't eat in the restaurant at all this year, as found better eating establishments outside of the Hotel. The staff are mainly Cypriot and Polish, Terry & George at the Bar are fantastic, really make your holiday, some of the other staff leave a lot to be desired.

The entertainment is a bit samey every night some nights better than others, the Thomson staff do try hard, some more than others.

The outside entertainers they bring in can be quite good. The Magic Man Paul Tomas is great. Due to the lack of basic standards (the need for refurb) and having heard that Thomson have dropped this hotel from their Super family Range, probably won't go again, a shame as the hotel is in a great area.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Smith
9 years 7 months ago
This hotel is in need of refurbishment badly.

The entertainment was too noisy and reps couldnt wait for season to end.

Would not recommend this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Martin P & Family
9 years 11 months ago
Beware if you do not book through Thompson
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: