Image of Sheraton Miramar Resort

Sheraton Miramar Resort

2 of 6 hotels in El Gouna

4 out of 5 from 8 reviews
4 stars
Resort situated on 9 islands in the Red Sea separated by wide lagoons, accessible by boat from El Gouna.

8 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    4
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
TeeCee
We loved the Sheraton
6 years 5 months ago
We stayed in room 8206 and the 8000 series of rooms overlook a quiet lagoon, so peaceful but only a couple of mins walk to the main pool and another couple of mins to the restaurant for breakfast.

Rooms themselves are a very nice size with terrace area and sun beds. Nice shower which always works and the water is piping hot whenever you want it.

Staff are extremely helpful and friendly.

It's only a very short tuk tuk ride down to the Marina, you can actually walk it in 10 mins if you wanted to. It's a couple of mins further to downtown but the good thing is, tuk tuk prices are fixed at 50p per person wherever you go in El Gouna!

There is a decent Gym available that is free for guests, we actually went 5 times during our week there - didn't feel so guilty eating and drinking lots of an evening!

The beaches in the Sheraton are compacted sand, not 'soft' sand and there are windbreaks on the beaches as it can get very windy there. The water is extremely shallow in the sea.

Overall we absolutely loved El Gouna and particularly the Sheraton. We will definitely go back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
9 years 2 months ago
The sheraton miramar was excellent in every way , it was perfection , im going back again 2009 , cant wait , it has been my favourite holiday ,from the staff , the hotel itself ,entertainment , the whole experience from begining to end was sheer luxury , just like a paradise island .
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Gadge
10 years ago
The hotel is really beautifuly laid out with its gardens and bridges over the lagoons.
Rooms and amentities look a little worn. The staff are the highlight of the hotel - friendly, helpful and cheerful.
Very relaxing place with private spots, there were lots of spaces on the beaches unlike the pool which was overcrowded.

We weren`t happy with the room allocated on arrival so we upgraded for a sea view (20 euro per night extra but worth every penny!).

The weather is always perfect sunny clear skies with a cooling warm breeze.

Well, food... breakfast was ok, the evening meal not, as we had stomach problems and decided to eat out at the marina the last few days.

Looking at the other hotels in El Gouna this is the best in the area.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Exim

Recommended
10 years 6 months ago
We stayed B & B and found this no problem. We ate in the hotel restaurant once and once in the Italian in the hotel.

The hotel was clean all around especially the public areas which included the toilets as there always seemed to be someone cleaning them.

There is a sewerage smell around parts of the hotel outside but it has to go somewhere.

There was plenty of food at breakfast and in the evening with theme nights.

The hotel has a good location and connected to downtown and the marina by a shuttle bus and boat from within the complex.

The staff are only too pleased to speak to you and are courteous, the reception staff are excellent.

Entertainment is a bit low key.

We would visit again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: portland

Recommended
11 years 6 months ago
This hotel is in an absolutely lovely location, on a series of lagoons joined by bridges. It is quite confusing and takes a while to find your way around, but you can usually find someone to point you in the right direction.
Rooms are huge, and spotlessly clean, as are all the public facilities.

The staff were all superb - friendly, efficient, and could not do enough for us. I really cannot understand why the previous poster said they were unhelpful. Bit then, I quite like being left alone, unless I need something, and this is exactly what happened.

On the beach ( which we much preferred to the pool), they would leave you alone until you looked in their direction, then they would be at your side instantly to see if you needed anything.

Plenty of sunbeds on the beach - not so easy by the pools, as the Germans ( well, their towels!!)were out in force there from about 7am ( nothing new there then!!).
we were B&B which I prefer as you are free to choose where to eat and we usually went to the dowtown area, although the Oriental 1001 restaurant was very good.
Another good choice is Hedra- a fish restaurant in Downtown.

All in all, a super hotel for a relaxing break. We didn't do the culture stuff as we could only do a week this time, but we did go on a couple of great trips.

I would be happy to return to this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland direct

Recommended
Ian And Claire
11 years 7 months ago
Just spent the most amazing holiday doing nothing. This was the first time we have totally been able to relax and feel like we were away from hustle and bustle of everyday life. It was so peaceful on the beach, (water a little cold though!) we barely moved all day. Lunch and drinks brought to us whenever we needed anything.

The layout of the hotel is special and we doubt if we can beat this hotel for this reason. You walked from your room through beautiful egyptian 2/3 storey high buildings and the gardens to the restaurant for breakfast. Magic.
Staff v.polite and nothing is too much, they are offended if you even try to put your own towel down. Friendly aswell wanting to practice their english as they have to have english lessons every few weeks.

I think the only negative points we can make are the resorts to visit nearby, Downtown, only went once and didn't feel comfortable after the oppulence of the Sheraton. Then the marina, very picturesque but so quiet, almost too quiet, lacking in atmosphere. One restaurant we can recommend is Bleu Bleu.

We can't wait to return just wish the flight wasn't so long.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
12 years ago
The Sheraton Miramar is a stunning Resort surrounded by lagoons.

Our room was very clean, and we had a large balcony overlooking a lagoon and beach. We had problems with mosquito's which I was very surprised about, and the hotel do spray reguarly. The hotel is so huge, that in the hot weather it is exhausting to walk around, plus we needed our map as it is very easy to get lost.

Food was okay, quite expensive in some of the restuarants. I would say not much cheaper than UK, which also surprised me since I had eaten the week before very cheaply in Luxor.

Location of the Hotel is okay as they do provide a shuttle bus, to transfer you around El-Gouna. This service is an additional charge.

Staff were pleasant but left you completely only and we did not build a rappor with any of the staff, which is very unusual. Entertainment was standard, nothing impressive.

I would not return to this hotel/resort.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland Direct

12 years 1 month ago
I totally agree with Terri's report. Great place built on 9 islands intermingled by numerous beautiful lagoons that you can swim in. There's a lot of greenery and beach facilities are plenty and not crowded, which gives you the chance to choose a secluded spot.

The staff was very helpful and nice and fairly efficient, they really only look at you when you need them.

The food was not perfect though, although breakfast was good. However, the whole Elgouna town is fantastic and there are plenty of nice places to dine in in the town and it is fun to leave the hotel using the shuttle bus or the boat to eat outside.

Everything was perfect and we'll definitely go again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: on my own

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Popular hotels in El Gouna

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.