Image of Laguna Vista Hotel

Laguna Vista Hotel

51 of 104 hotels in Sharm El Sheikh

4 out of 5 from 54 reviews
5 stars

54 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    9
  • Very Good
    26
  • Good
    13
  • Average
    6
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Daz
Far to noisy and needs updating
6 years 10 months ago
I spent a week at the Laguna Vista and would honestly say I would not return. We booked a bungalow to be out of the way and quiet but it was opposite the Pataya Night Club so had music till early hours. The grounds are kept well and the pools are clean but this hotel never closes so is in need of updating in some areas.

We didn't have any problems with other nationalities but were aware of other guests having problems. The staff were good and looked after you, but it does do you well if you tip. Take plenty of small notes as tipping is the norm. The weather will not fail but you do need to get a sunbed early as the pool areas and beach fills up quick.

The food is nothing to write home about but does cater for all. I did everything right and still got dicky tummy! Take plenty of mosquito spray as they are everywhere particularly after sunset. Egypt is a fantastic country and the people were good to us but I would not return to this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Linda Mcgregor
Absolutely awful!
7 years 3 months ago
All inclusive was a joke! The food was disgusting and cold the hotel certainly wasn't catering for British tourist's so We eat out every night. When we complained to the rep she said we were exaggerating.

The first room we were in was a duplex chalet the bathroom was filthy bath all chipped and black grime all-round the walls. We paid adult price for one of the kids who were 12 and 14 and they were sleeping on a zed bed which we complained about. The fridge door fell off in my hand.

We got moved to a standard room in the hotel I had actually asked to be moved to another hotel but the rep told us there was nothing else available and if something came up they wanted another £1000.

The reception porters cleaners and pool staff were very helpful but the bar staff were cheeky and stood on their mobile phones while you were waiting to get served and served Russian and Italian guest's before us. Also the bar staff ignored the kids when they went up to the bar. The all-inclusive drinks were awful and asked for a pina colada one night to be told that would be £8 in gbp.

The entertainment was a joke as well there was a woman playing a piano in the reception bar area, playing ‘silent night’ in the middle of July! As for the entertainment team they were more interested in selling trips and as most of them were Italian they mixed with the Russian and Italian guest's.

We were there for 2 weeks and the Sunday before we were leaving they appeared at the pool, not once did they ask any of the kids if they wanted to play volley ball or any of the other things that were meant to be going on around the pool.
The boys went down one day and booked the tennis court for an hour, which was meant to be free they became back and said they had to pay 5 euros. When I asked about this I was told you had to pay for the rackets and ball. The hotel also charged for darts and the pool table, the internet was 10 euros for an hour which turned out really expensive as there was nothing else for the kids to do.

This holiday was meant to be all inclusive and we ended up spending near £1500 taking the kids out to eat buying food from shopping centre and trying to find things to entertain them.

I would never set foot in Laguna Vista Beach hotel again and will never book another holiday with Thomas Cook as the rep there was hopeless.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
7 years 5 months ago
The hotel was very clean with large, comfortable room. Bath/shower wouldn't empty but this was sorted out after 2 attempts by staff. Porter helpful and cheerful. Reception staff surley when we arrived late at night. Tables in restaurant often dirty and overcrowded. Alternative restaurants the same unless you paid for the seafood restaurant which was excellent. Food very poor,luke warm and often lacking in choice. Main bar service bad tempered and slow even when we smiled and were pleasant.Beach overcrowded and our stuff moved when we went for a swim and our seats given to Russians. Same around the pool areas.We didn't tip the pool staff so wondered if this was the reason. We are an inoffensive middle aged couple so found this upsetting. This is a very big hotel - perhaps that is its problem - and we wouldn't recommend it at all. Thomas Cook Signature told us that this was the only hotel available with Signature. We have subsequently discovered that this isn't true and it is certainly not up to the standard of others that we have heard about.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Alison Goldthorpe
7 years 10 months ago
Just returned from a week at Laguna Vista and can honestly say it's the worst holiday I have ever had.
Food was repetitive, reheated day upon day so no wonder everyone I spoke to had food poisoning. I lost 3 days of a week's holiday with it. Thomas Cook rep denied it could be anything to do with the food!!! She was very uninterested in helping unless we were buying an excursion.
Hotel staff were nice enough but hassled you constantly to spend money at their spa or diving clubs etc...
there was no entertainment as far as we could see other than a bloke playing piano in the reception.
Although we had booked a twin room with a pool view we were given a double with no view and told they were full, what can you do?
After a week of begging they finally fixed the fridge in our room the night before we left, thanks!
Really disappointed in this place. Avoid at all costs.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Mr & Mrs Krendler
7 years 10 months ago
rooms are large with a huge bed. spotlessly clean and lovely soft towels every day. most of staff are really friendly. food was good, always something for everyone and some really nice soups. fresh omellettes and crepes each morning and pasta made to request each night. there was also barbecue each night. as always when eating abroad, check food is cooked through and is hot. we were a party of 4 adults and we had no problems at all with upset tummy and didnt hear of anyone who did. hotel is full of italians and russians, who are very rude and push their way in front of everyone. the alcoholic spirits were undrinkable but luckily we had each taken a bottle with us. the beer was fine and the soft drinks are coke, fanta etc. the pool boys will happily put your towels each morning for you, a small tip is greatly appreciated and they were so friendly and helpful. the pool areas are spotless and the staff work really hard to make sure it always kept this way. we spent our week at the 3rd pool which had a bar and toilet facilities at hand, it was much quieter than the first two. there are gorgeous gazebos surrounding this pool which are furnished with comfy pillows, bean bags etc, these give shade from the heat, especially for children and older guests. the weather was fantastic for the middle of november but i would point out that it is dark by 4.30pm. we were by the pool by 7.30am but by3.30 the sun was losing its heat. we had had 8 hours by then and were happy. it was worth rising early as the sun was hotter at 8.30am than 2.30pm. there was no entertainment for british guests but we were happy to do our own thing. the italian restaurant was a big disappointment but we tried it as you get one free visit per stay, i would not have been happy if i had to pay for the meal. there is a nice play area for kids but other than that there is not much for youngsters. this was the first time we had been on holiday without any children and it was a luxurious break in the sun. would go back again at this time of year as it would be too busy and crowded for my liking in the high season. dont be put off with other reviews, some people will never be happy.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Jane
8 years 3 months ago
We stayed at the Laguna Vista for a week. Lovely location and fantastic architecture/landscaping.

My top recommendation for this hotel is to pay for a superior room. For this you get a room with a terrace that leads directly to a good sized swimming pool that is private to about 3-4 rooms.

The only downside was that we all got very bad tummy trouble. The food tasted good, was hot and there was plenty of variety - we thought the problem could be with the free soft drinks from the machines (made with local water?) but not sure..

Unless you like beer the choice of alcohol on the all inclusive is poor.

I would definitely return but would be more selective of my food/drink choices and would take my own alcohol
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Mrs J Lee
9 years ago
The hotel has a fabulous location right on the beach.

The hotel and rooms are spotless and the staff could not do enough for you, the downside to all this is the food.

the Kashmira main restaurant is more like a canteen, the Which Way restaurant is quieter but both provide a poor quality of food.

Food was often cold, undercook and of a poor quality, no end of people had bad stomachs and I would put this down to the food. The choice of food is limited and repetative.

If you can go B&B there are pleanty of local places to eat out and the chinese across the road from the hotel was great.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Sean
9 years ago
Hotel staff unfriendly!
Hotel food awful!
Sickness and stomach bug yes everyone!
Entertainment none unless your italian!
Would i ever visit again NO NEVER!
Be warned do not visit this hotel you will regret it.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Sean
9 years 1 month ago
Hotel staff unfriendly!
Hotel food awful!
Sickness and stomach bug yes everyone!
Entertainment none unless your italian!
Would I ever visit again? NO NEVER!
Be warned do not visit this hotel you will regret it.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Dennis
9 years 7 months ago
This was our first visit to Egypt and we celebrated my wife's birthday whilst there.

Found the hotel populated mainly with Russian's and Italians. Just a few other nationalities. Found the Russian element abrupt, unsocial in that they did not stand / wait for a table and didn't mingle. Italians we found reserved but polite.The Egyptian staff and general population were extremely friendly - 5Star Plus.

Had to change room as we overlooked the swimming hall but was done with a little chasing. No complaints there.

Got a cake for my wife's birthday but she got an upset stomach from it !! Was the cream.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

We are the West Country's leading Independent Travel Agent based in Plymouth. Specialists for Honeymoons and special occasion holidays.

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.