Image of Mexicana Sharm Resort

Mexicana Sharm Resort

80 of 104 hotels in Sharm El Sheikh

3 out of 5 from 29 reviews
4 stars
Um El-Sid Hill, Sharm El Sheikh

29 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    13
  • Good
    6
  • Average
    9
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Mr Kenneth Arliss
Great if you dont wish to eat and drink at this hotel
4 years 8 months ago
To advertise this hotel as 4 stars AI was disgusting. I would not rate above a 1 star. I have in the past booked 9 All Inclusive holidays with Sunsave Holidays which have all been satisfactory and I don't think this one should be considered as an holiday destination. It is in a derelict type area had to use a taxi to get out. Had to order food from outside through reception as hotel food was rubbish. Holiday very disappointing.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sunsave

Anne Melia
Good value for money
5 years 6 months ago
We have stayed at this hotel on three previous occasions. There are some things that could do with a bit of improvement - some decent entertainment of an evening would be great, but overall this hotel is good value for money.

The food is reasonable; sometimes it is very good indeed. The staff are very helpful and friendly. You get what you pay for, don't expect 5 star when you have only paid for 3/4. If you have a complaint, explain the situation calmly and it will be attended to almost immediately. Believe me we have stayed in quite a few hotels in this area, this is one of the best for what we paid. We are going to stay there again in September.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Liz
7 years 6 months ago
The staff were fantastic, completly made the holiday, they even went as far as making my friend a birthday cake.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: ulookubook

Recommended
Cally
7 years 6 months ago
after sitting on a plane for 5 hours and 45 minutes we didnt really want to be messing about trying to find our coach. sharm airport is a nightmare, i must say this was the worst part of our holiday.
when we arrived at sharm resort we were told we had to leave our passports behind reception for 24 hours as they had to fill in forms, we were worried about this but got them back later on that night,
our room was cleaned evry day by ahmed he was a lovely man. we went bed breakfast so i cant comment on dinner and tea, but the breakfast was the same evryday. the choclate pancakes and omlettes were lovely though!
hotel staff were helpfull in some cases and not in others. we went out into naama bay every night but there was entertainment on every night at the hotel. dont pay no more than 25le to naama bay in a taxi
you really do need patience to go into naama bay. everyone is telling you to come in for a business card or to have tea, u just have to say no thankyou.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: monarch

Recommended
Jay
7 years 8 months ago
this was one of the worst hotels i have ever been to . The staff are very rude and unplesent people. My room was flooded with 4inch of water and no help from the staff ever came this was the case with 41 other rooms also
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Vinnie And Lauren
7 years 10 months ago
At the airport, unless you intend to leave the Sinai Peninsula for any trips or want to go Scuba Diving you will not require a Visa, so don
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sunsave.com / Flyglobespan Flight

Recommended
Natalie
8 years ago
When we arrived there was a bit of a wait for the room, which after a 5 hour flight with an 18 month old, you could do without! Once in the room, we were quite happy with the cleanliness, although we did miss not having a kettle in the room.

The hotel and grounds were always clean and tidy and room service/ room cleaning very good.
The location was fine, close to most places.
Naama bay well worth a visit, good restaurants and evening atmosphere. We swam with Dolphins at Doplphinella which was good, except the price very high. Aqua park well worth a visit as well.

Reception staff were very slow and didnt communicate very well with holidaymakers.
The food was good, lots to choose from although the poolside bar really needs to have some childrens options.

We didnt go to any evening entertainment although there was kareoke and stuff put on in the bar we were not interested.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Low Cost Holidays

Recommended
9 years 3 months ago
I would not recommend this hotel on, unless you go on a Bed and Breakfast basis and eat out. We arrived and I had especially asked for a room close to all amenities as my mother is an older lady, who has difficulty walking too far. We couldn't have been further from amenities and had to climb stairs to get to room. We asked to change but were told that as we'd arrived at 2am we would have to wait until the morning. We were moved on the next day, but only after the extremely helpful Wings Rep intervened.

The Bellboy doing the removal was very helpful and even suggested we leave clothes on hangers and then moved the clothes for us, so we didn't have to repack.

We had read on the internet that the food was repetitive and "samey". But we figured that the type of people who might put reviews on the internet, generally have an axe to grind and these reviews might not be balanced. We were very wrong. The food was atrocious. Breakfast considered of what we thought was a powedered egg mix which you could have turned into a four inch round paper thin omelette. You could also have a pancake. There were grilled vegetables (undercooked), mashed potatoes (lumpy), and undercooked white shredded cabbage with hot dog sausages in it. There was a selection of raw salad type vegetables, cucumber, wrinkled tomatoes, shredded red cabbage and some sort of turnip with hummous and tzatziki. There was stale/dry bread and a selection of stale or dry small pastries.

We never went for lunch so I have no idea what that was like. You could order a Pizza or Salad from the Pool Bar. I did order a tuna salad, which arrived and contained no salad leaves but was a mashed mixture of tuna with huge amounts of raw (strong) onion and green pepper. No salad leaves in sight. My mother had a steak (read shoe leather) sandwich.

Evening meal consisted of recycled salad veg and tzatziki and hummous from the morning. A soup, rice, pasta, undercooked (almost raw) vegetables or potato. For pudding we had the same every day except on one day where it was Egyptian Day and they had some lovely pastries. Otherwise it was Blancmange, Creme Caramel, Set Custard, Jelly and Chocolate Pudding. In reality it was basically just a selection of different colours blancmange. The only fruit on offer was melon or dates, occasionally sliced orange. Never any other fruit not for breakfast or dinner.

The service was good and the waiters were friendly and attentive but didn't speak much english. There were many polish people in the hotel and we wondered if the hotel was trying to cater to their tastes as it was not to an english person's taste. However, polish people we spoke to didn't like the food either.

The pool bar was good. We only drank water, so no idea what the drinks are like, although we were told that as the hotel is "all inclusive" they buy only the cheapest spirit to hand on to the customers. The waiter told us this. They were quite disaparaging of the all inclusive guests.

The grounds of the hotel are very pretty with bougainvillea and nicely tended shrubs. The cleaner worked hard and left pretty flowers on our bed. After we tipped him several times he began to leave extra things, like we suddenly acquired a box of tissues, hitherto absent and then we suddenly got new fluffy towels instead of the threadbare ones we'd been getting.

The hotel is shabby all round. The stripey beach towels are threadbare and grey. The bath towels equally are shabby and grey (except the last two days we had new ones). The tiling in the bathroom is blackened with mould and there are no complimentary soaps or shampoos provided. There's a dispenser with hand soap in the shower and by the sink.

The area where the sun beds are (for sunbeds imagine sardines in a tin, that's how close they are placed. You are rubbing elbows with your neighbour, whether you want to or not!!)

On the penultimate day we had arranged with the reception to stay in our room for
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Travel Republic

Traveller!
10 years 1 month ago
I visited this hotel with my boyfriend last summer. We enjoyed, however when talking to people at the hotel, many seemed not to have liked it so much. Food was nice, however did get a bit repetitive. Drinks were good - if you go all inclusive there was a choice of soft drinks (coke, 7 up and fanta), beer, wine (red and white), and local spirits - no cocktails!! Hotel staff were mainly very friendly! However, there were people who worked around the pool area who got quite annoying - prince the massage guy, as well as tattooists and others! If you don't want what they try to sell you make sure you tell them straight, otherwise there's no getting away from them!! Girls - watch out if you get a massage, don't be afraid to tell him not to message certain places if he tries to go there! Would definately recommend the poolside bbq - food was lovely (but would not recommend the seafood soup for starter!!). Outside the hotel, Naama bay is the best place to go for youngsters! Range of restaurants, bars, clubs. Not far from the hotel - about 5-10mins in taxi. Get to know the taxi drivers - we had one arranged by the hotel, then he gave us his mobile number so we could always use him. You may find some try to take advantage - one dropped us off at the shop he and his family owned and you felt you couldn't leave without buying something. This is the main problem in Sharm - everyone tries to make you buy things from them. You simply have to be straight with them or you'd end up spending a fortune!! We also went on a few trips and would say to make sure you do the following - day trip to Cairo to see the pyramids(try and hide your pillow in a bag to take on the bus as staff will not let you take it if they see you with it!). Scuba-diving - wish we had done this at the beginning of the holiday as it was so good, we would have done it a few times throughout our stay. We did this with the guy who comes around the pool!! Also went quad biking thorugh the desert - which is also a must!! Overall, would recommend this hotel - just be stern in general!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Klm

Recommended
Le Bihan
10 years 3 months ago
I think it is very important that all potential visitors read this review. I had a nice stay generally at the hotel and although the pool side and restaurant staff were very cherrful and welcoming, there were some incidents which everyone should be aware.

The food for breakfast and lunch was very poor. Dinners on occassions were excellent however, but they tended to put all their eggs in one basket by serving their falafel, aubergines dishes, chicken, meat (the nicer ones) etc all on one night so you had to combine them all on one plate which was not ideal and yet on another night the choice was very sparse.

The service at the poolside was very slow but the waiters positive cheery manner more than made amends. The pool was kept very clean and the rooms too and the usual litte things of petals being left on your bed after cleaning etc made some very positive contributions.

We did have an incidence in our room for three consecutive nights of ant infestations which was not great though.

The biggest problem that all potential visitors must be aware of though occured on our departure and it should be taken very seriously.

In the morning at 10am I asked for our room to be extended for three hours due to our shuttle service arriving for our airport departure at 5 o'clock but the room expiring at 12 noon. This was arranged at the cost of
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Wings

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

We are the West Country's leading Independent Travel Agent based in Plymouth. Specialists for Honeymoons and special occasion holidays.

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.