Image of Oriental Resort Hotel

Oriental Resort Hotel

54 of 104 hotels in Sharm El Sheikh

4 out of 5 from 16 reviews
5 stars
El Tahrir Street 92, Sharm El Sheikh

16 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    4
  • Very Good
    4
  • Good
    6
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Another fabulous holiday with the friendliest staff you will ever meet
1 year 8 months ago
On arrival, which is the norm, we were greeted by the reception staff who remembered us from previous visits, check-in is quick & easy with a welcome drink. Your suitcases are delivered swiftly to your room which for us was in the new block which we prefer. The room was clean, comfortable and more than adequate for our stay.

The choice of food in the restaurant is varied and if you time your visit then there is no rush for tables or any queuing. The restaurant is like any other restaurant it gets busy at popular times and you wouldn't expect just to walk into a restaurant at home at the busiest time and get seated immediately. I am the most fussiest of eaters and probably a chefs worst nightmare but I never go hungry. If there is an evening when the themed food is not to my liking then I speak to the chef, who is always there and ask for something else.

I have read reviews that complain of tummy upsets, NEVER have I had a problem in this hotel but I have been to some that I have had problems with. There are hand sanitizers before you enter the restaurant but people ignore them and do not use them THIS IS THE REASON for tummy problems. People come into eat from around the pool or beach who do not use this. It is there for your use, it's automatic so it is very hygienic. I have counted many people that walk past it without using it then they complain and blame the food. It isn't because of the food it is the result of poor personal hygiene. The Italian is run smoothly by Sayed Aly and his team including Mahmoud and a few others. This team is one of the best that any restaurant would wish to have. They greet you on arrival, show you to your waiting table and are always on hand to top up your drinks etc. The menu choice is adequate for any Italian and the reason why we visit a couple of times is because we cannot decide what to have so usually try something else on our next visit. The steaks are one of the best and tastiest around and melts in your mouth. The sweet selection is varied the only negative is that I would also add a chocolate cake choice but that's my opinion.

Main bar area can get busy in the evenings and I would agree that more seating would be an option, this I will address with the management staff before I leave. This hotel is one of the best if not THE BEST in Nabq. The location is excellent, the staff are excellent from the gardeners to the pool staff, to the management, nothing is too much trouble and even the gardeners who are not in daily contact with the hotel guests are always cheerful and smile and wave as you walk through the well kept gardens down to the beach.

I have visited many hotels in Sharm & Hurghada over the last 10 years and this is the only one that we return to many times a year and will continue to do so because of the way the hotel is run and the staff who refer to returning guests has family not guests. The staff work long hours and even at the end of their working day they are smiling. The staff are the same year after year, this alone tells you that this is a GREAT hotel and they work damn hard to keep it that way.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Tameer Nasser
Exquisite
1 year 11 months ago
We were a family of four and we all enjoyed this stay.
The hotel location is magnificent in the middle of Nabq bay area with lots of touristic shops and restaurants in a walking distance from the hotel.
Food was delicious, well selected and diversified. The all-inclusive system is very good. Drinks are available all times and the snacks between the three main meals were more sufficient.
We got two connected room which were clean, spacious and new.
There are thee clean pools. The animation team was working around the clock to please through dancing, morning stretches and night animation.
The kids enjoyed dancing with the animations team, pool, beach buggies and scooters.
The beach is beautiful in nature with shallow water with palms around it and very safe.
In the health club, I enjoyed the message, sauna and steam. The masseuse was professional and the atmosphere was relaxing.
The staff is friendly and helpful.
I would recommend this hotel to any family.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Dunn
6 years 1 month ago
Being our first trip to Egypt overall we had a good holiday, the hotel is very clean with a good choice of food and all to a very high standard. We stayed in the newer wing room 4201 which was superb our bed was 6ft wide!!. The Hotel has 3 pools all are very clean and lots of beds, the staff were superb and very friendly. It is a 5-10 minute walk to the beach through the Hotel gardens with a nice beach very clean and a jetty for snorkling/swimming, the sand is gravel/shingle style so it is not a bucket and spade holiday.

The areas that let this Hotel down are entertainment it was very poor - being use to all inclusive we accept you get a standard this is by far the worst we have seen it is just not orgainised. Drinks area - again very poor the main bar is in the lobby you have to queue to get a drink there is a pool bar which is on its last legs and both need upgrading. We went in late July in a group, it is very hot indeed it got to 43 degrees in the day and late 30's at night so after dinner if you went out to the shops it was very hot if you stayed at the hotel it was quite boring.

There is also a beach bar which is pretty poor it needs knocking down and starting again.

One other point there is only one area to eat that is included in the all inclusive package the italian listed is extra also the pit stop bar is extra again this lets the Hotel down.

We would go back to Egypt but not in the summner, would go in either easter time or october but would not go back to the Oriental which is a shame as apart from the entertainment/drinks its a nice Hotel.

There is talk of the Hotel being upgraded in the areas we have listed as poor however if going as a family in the summner it is hot we use to go down to the beach about 9am - by 1pm its just too hot to sit out.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Sutty
6 years 10 months ago
We have been to Sharm a few times now and know what to expect. This hotel is at Nabq bay which is developing into a nice area. The hotel is quite standard - clean and spacious, staff helpful with decent facilities.
We went with my mother in law and had booked a double room for us and a single for her. We actually got the presidential suite!! Room 244 if anyone wants to ask for it. 2 double en suite rooms,dining area, kitchen, lounge, 2 balconies - fantastic!
There are 2 pools - plenty of sun beds, nice beach but if you like snorkelling - there is very little sea life to see which was disappointing. I have been to Sharks bay hotels before and the reef there is much better!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Tron, Train, Mayo, Hushy & Pof
7 years 1 month ago
My friends and I travelled to Egypt in summer 2009 for 10 nights.

On arrival at the hotel we were impressed, however it took us about an hour to check in, as there was some kind of confusion. The rooms were clean and spacious, excellent for having a kick about!

the food seemed ok for the first few days but got very repetative as the days went on. we ended up eating in Burger King across the road on the last couple of nights!

the All Inclusive drinks were a bit of a nightmare to to fair! When we ordered a pint of beer they came in a glass you would expect to have a vodka and coke in - you had to order 4 or 5 beers to actually get a pint's worth. the bar staff were also rude and didn't really seem interested in doing their jobs. They almost made you feel bad for ordering a drink!

Overall, we enjoyed Sharm El Sheikh as a whole, but will probably not be returning to this hotel in the future!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Dougie
7 years 8 months ago
This is the 3rd time i have been on an AI holiday and only the 1st time i have been able to take advantage of it. I personally thought the food was very good, plenty of choice every single day. the hotel was brilliant nad i couldn't have asked for any more. It wasn't a European standard 5 star but i was in no way disappointed. It is very very clean and the cleaning staff work tirelessly to ensure it stays that way. Rooms are cleaned everyday, and towels replaced every day. Aircon and safety deposit box are also included at no hidden extra charge.The location of the hotel is kind of out of the way. Naama Bay is about 50 egyptian poinds away in a taxi however you can get a return fare from the hotel, the same driver will pick you up in the same spot in the same car and they are never late! the hotel staff were 2nd to none and were genuinely pleased to help. My other half was crying when she left, but it was understandable. the infamous waiter "Eddie Murphy" went above and beyond his terms of reference to ensure we had a nice comforting relaxing welcome stay at the oriental resort. This hotel is highly recommended and i am already looking into booking up there for August!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Alan Beattie
7 years 10 months ago
The Oriental Resort in Sharm-El-Sheikh:

We have recently returned from this hotel following a late break. The Oriental had been chosen due to being sold as a 5 star and looked good for a relaxing all inclusive week in the sun.

Allowing for the foreign rating system, this hotel on a good day was more like a 3 star.

The grounds are well kept and impressive, the two pools were clean and well kept, however the surroundings were at times grubby with rubbish being left from the previous day.

The beach was in easy reach although gravely sand it was fairly well kept.

The room was a good size but like the rest of the hotel it was tiered and had a lingering tobacco smell.

The main restaurant was large and well laid out but not being big enough to accommodate all the guests. Once the tables had been used they were left messy due to the poor service from the staff and on a couple of occasions we had to part clear tables before our use and hunt out cutlery etc. On several occasions we ordered drinks (water) and are still waiting on these. The staff with a few exceptions, were found to be lazy and to busy on their mobiles. There was a noticeable difference the second part of the week and we can only guess that someone must have complained louder than us. Or they were deciding to work for a tip.

Considering we were on an all inclusive deal we found it a bit off that the hotel had two other restaurants where you had to pay and they actively were pushing to use these.

The food at the main restaurant was nothing special, although the deserts were good. The food at the snack bars was poor.

The drinks for the all inclusive were beer, Vodka, Gin, Whisky, Brandy, Dark Rum & some mysterious spirit, plus some wines. The beer was OK but the spirits made good drain cleaner and we were advised not to try the wine.

The entertainment was in Russian with limited English.

After dinner there was only about a dozen tables for people to sit and have a drink. With a single bar man serving at the small bar the queue was never too big. However this was probably because most people took a drink back to their rooms.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Michelle
8 years 10 months ago
If you are travelling to the hotel via taxi don't make the same mistake that we did and pay them
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Hutchinson
9 years 2 months ago
We read reviews on this hotel,some of them were off putting.

We thought this hotel was fantastic,good food and the staff were brill.Jimmy in the dining room was a laugh ,Rafat and Karrem were great.

The hotel has great pools and a fantastic beach,very clean no need to take beach towels as all provided.All inclusive at this hotel is what it says. Nothing to pay for only the Italian.

Rooms were cleaned every day and bedding changed. The gardens were kept really nice.

The beach party is a must we really enjoyed it,even went again the second week.The beach has a paved walkway which is great for seeing other hotels on the hire bikes. We booked a trip on quad bikes from beach hut,this is not to be missed .

We had tummy troubles but there is a pharmacy across the road for tablets ,they will put you right.only pay 7 pounds sterling.

Enjoyed it so much we have booked again for Feb 2008.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Kinkead
9 years 3 months ago
Lovely resort,hotel very good.

Staff fantastic. Food was a disgrace not enough choice for children.

The entertainment was not good enough childrens disco lasted a half hour,had to walk from hotel to watch show once or twice a week in very sticky heat.

This was, supposed to be all inclusive but not on these nights. Staff work hard for a small wage. Had small baby who would not eat food, only milk> They tried to charge us 3 pound 20 pence for carton of milk,in the hotel shop bag of nappies 20 pound(English).

Had to make 2 phone calls to home one lasted 11 minutes and 19 minutes cost 74 pound 80 pence(English).

Would not go back and would not recommend it to others.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: