14 independent reviews of the Oriental Resort Hotel
Address: El Tahrir Street 92, Sharm El Sheikh
Oriental Resort Hotel
Oriental Resort Hotel Location
Ranked #62 of 107 hotels in Sharm El Sheikh


3/5
Oriental Resort Hotel Oriental Resort Hotel is rated 3.43 out of 5 from 14 Reviews
50% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (14 reviews)

Cleanliness 4 stars
Entertainment 2 stars
Food 3 stars
Service 4 stars
Location 3 stars

Oriental Resort Hotel Reviews

3/5
3

Dunn visited the Oriental Resort Hotel in July 2010
Being our first trip to Egypt overall we had a good holiday, the hotel is very clean with a good choice of food and all to a very high standard. We stayed in the newer wing room 4201 which was superb our bed was 6ft wide!!. The Hotel has 3 pools all are very clean and lots of beds, the staff were superb and very friendly. It is a 5-10 minute walk to the beach through the Hotel gardens with a nice beach very clean and a jetty for snorkling/swimming, the sand is gravel/shingle style so it is not a bucket and spade holiday.

The areas that let this Hotel down are entertainment it was very poor - being use to all inclusive we accept you get a standard this is by far the worst we have seen it is just ...
not orgainised. Drinks area - again very poor the main bar is in the lobby you have to queue to get a drink there is a pool bar which is on its last legs and both need upgrading. We went in late July in a group, it is very hot indeed it got to 43 degrees in the day and late 30\'s at night so after dinner if you went out to the shops it was very hot if you stayed at the hotel it was quite boring.

There is also a beach bar which is pretty poor it needs knocking down and starting again.

One other point there is only one area to eat that is included in the all inclusive package the italian listed is extra also the pit stop bar is extra again this lets the Hotel down.

We would go back to Egypt but not in the summner, would go in either easter time or october but would not go back to the Oriental which is a shame as apart from the entertainment/drinks its a nice Hotel.

There is talk of the Hotel being upgraded in the areas we have listed as poor however if going as a family in the summner it is hot we use to go down to the beach about 9am - by 1pm its just too hot to sit out.


Read More

Tour Operator: low cost holidays
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

sutty stayed at Oriental Resort Hotel, Sharm El Sheikh in October 2009
We have been to Sharm a few times now and know what to expect. This hotel is at Nabq bay which is developing into a nice area. The hotel is quite standard - clean and spacious, staff helpful with decent facilities.
We went with my mother in law and had booked a double room for us and a single for her. We actually got the presidential suite!! Room 244 if anyone wants to ask for it. 2 double en suite rooms,dining area, kitchen, lounge, 2 balconies - fantastic!
There are 2 pools - plenty of sun beds, nice beach but if you like snorkelling - there is very little sea life to see which was disappointing. I have been to Sharks bay hotels before and the reef there is much better!

Tour Operator: panorama

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

2/5
2

Tron, Train, Mayo, Hushy & Pof visited the Oriental Resort Hotel in July 2009
My friends and I travelled to Egypt in summer 2009 for 10 nights.

On arrival at the hotel we were impressed, however it took us about an hour to check in, as there was some kind of confusion. The rooms were clean and spacious, excellent for having a kick about!

the food seemed ok for the first few days but got very repetative as the days went on. we ended up eating in Burger King across the road on the last couple of nights!

the All Inclusive drinks were a bit of a nightmare to to fair! When we ordered a pint of beer they came in a glass you would expect to have a vodka and coke in - you had to order 4 or 5 beers to actually get a pint\'s worth. the bar staff ...
were also rude and didn\'t really seem interested in doing their jobs. They almost made you feel bad for ordering a drink!

Overall, we enjoyed Sharm El Sheikh as a whole, but will probably not be returning to this hotel in the future!

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomson
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

Dougie visited the Oriental Resort Hotel, Sharm El Sheikh in December 2008
This is the 3rd time i have been on an AI holiday and only the 1st time i have been able to take advantage of it. I personally thought the food was very good, plenty of choice every single day. the hotel was brilliant nad i couldn\'t have asked for any more. It wasn\'t a European standard 5 star but i was in no way disappointed. It is very very clean and the cleaning staff work tirelessly to ensure it stays that way. Rooms are cleaned everyday, and towels replaced every day. Aircon and safety deposit box are also included at no hidden extra charge.The location of the hotel is kind of out of the way. Naama Bay is about 50 egyptian poinds away in a taxi however you can get a return ...
fare from the hotel, the same driver will pick you up in the same spot in the same car and they are never late! the hotel staff were 2nd to none and were genuinely pleased to help. My other half was crying when she left, but it was understandable. the infamous waiter \"Eddie Murphy\" went above and beyond his terms of reference to ensure we had a nice comforting relaxing welcome stay at the oriental resort. This hotel is highly recommended and i am already looking into booking up there for August!

Read More

Tour Operator: sunsave.com

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

2/5
2

Alan Beattie stayed at Oriental Resort Hotel, Sharm El Sheikh in October 2008
The Oriental Resort in Sharm-El-Sheikh:

We have recently returned from this hotel following a late break. The Oriental had been chosen due to being sold as a 5 star and looked good for a relaxing all inclusive week in the sun.

Allowing for the foreign rating system, this hotel on a good day was more like a 3 star.

The grounds are well kept and impressive, the two pools were clean and well kept, however the surroundings were at times grubby with rubbish being left from the previous day.

The beach was in easy reach although gravely sand it was fairly well kept.

The room was a good size but like the rest of the hotel it was tiered and had a lingering tobacco smell.

The main restaurant was large and well laid out but not being big enough to accommodate all the ...
guests. Once the tables had been used they were left messy due to the poor service from the staff and on a couple of occasions we had to part clear tables before our use and hunt out cutlery etc. On several occasions we ordered drinks (water) and are still waiting on these. The staff with a few exceptions, were found to be lazy and to busy on their mobiles. There was a noticeable difference the second part of the week and we can only guess that someone must have complained louder than us. Or they were deciding to work for a tip.

Considering we were on an all inclusive deal we found it a bit off that the hotel had two other restaurants where you had to pay and they actively were pushing to use these.

The food at the main restaurant was nothing special, although the deserts were good. The food at the snack bars was poor.

The drinks for the all inclusive were beer, Vodka, Gin, Whisky, Brandy, Dark Rum & some mysterious spirit, plus some wines. The beer was OK but the spirits made good drain cleaner and we were advised not to try the wine.

The entertainment was in Russian with limited English.

After dinner there was only about a dozen tables for people to sit and have a drink. With a single bar man serving at the small bar the queue was never too big. However this was probably because most people took a drink back to their rooms.

Read More

Tour Operator: Hotels 4 U
Review Rating

Cleanliness
2 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
3 stars

3/5
3

Michelle had a holiday at Oriental Resort Hotel, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt in October 2007
If you are travelling to the hotel via taxi don\'t make the same mistake that we did and pay them

Tour Operator: XL Air
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

Hutchinson visited the Oriental Resort Hotel, Sharm El Sheikh in June 2007
We read reviews on this hotel,some of them were off putting.

We thought this hotel was fantastic,good food and the staff were brill.Jimmy in the dining room was a laugh ,Rafat and Karrem were great.

The hotel has great pools and a fantastic beach,very clean no need to take beach towels as all provided.All inclusive at this hotel is what it says. Nothing to pay for only the Italian.

Rooms were cleaned every day and bedding changed. The gardens were kept really nice.

The beach party is a must we really enjoyed it,even went again the second week.The beach has a paved walkway which is great for seeing other hotels on the hire bikes. We booked a trip on quad bikes from beach hut,this is not to be missed .

We had tummy troubles but there is a pharmacy across the road for tablets ...
,they will put you right.only pay 7 pounds sterling.

Enjoyed it so much we have booked again for Feb 2008.

Read More

Tour Operator: Freedom travel

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

kinkead visited the Oriental Resort Hotel in May 2007
Lovely resort,hotel very good.

Staff fantastic. Food was a disgrace not enough choice for children.

The entertainment was not good enough childrens disco lasted a half hour,had to walk from hotel to watch show once or twice a week in very sticky heat.

This was, supposed to be all inclusive but not on these nights. Staff work hard for a small wage. Had small baby who would not eat food, only milk> They tried to charge us 3 pound 20 pence for carton of milk,in the hotel shop bag of nappies 20 pound(English).

Had to make 2 phone calls to home one lasted 11 minutes and 19 minutes cost 74 pound 80 pence(English).

Would not go back and would not recommend it to others.

Tour Operator: first choice
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
1 stars

4/5
4

Val Banks stayed at Oriental Resort Hotel, Sharm El Sheikh in February 2007
We have just returned from a great week at the Oriental hotel. The hotel was always kept very clean and the friendliness of the staff was great.

We have been to Sharm many times and know not to expect English breakfasts etc, but the food at this hotel was great.

There was always a choice of pasts, salad, 2/3 types of meat, fish veg and even mashed potatoes in the evening.

The soups and sweets were also fantastic. The hotel is about 25 Min's away from Namma Bay by taxi and this cost around 55 to 60 Egyptian pounds to get there or old sharm for 4 or more people & the hotel also runs a courtesy bus but it is 25LE per person and the taxi drive is certainly a fun experience.

We ...
have in the past at various other hotels suffered from stomach problems, but whilst here none of our party suffered at all even after drinking a bit too much red wine!

Read More

Tour Operator: Fleetway

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

5/5
5

David Sunderland had a holiday at Oriental Resort Hotel, Sharm El Sheikh in August 2006
This hotel was truly a 5 star experience with the exception of Medhotels who appear to be better suited to 3 star but in no way reflected the quality and standard of service in the hotel.

The rooms were spacious and the housekeeping good.
Restaurant food superb with a massive choice at every meal including two dishes per meal cooked by a chef at the counter - eggs and pancakes at breakfast and a meat and pasta at lunch/dinner. Food at the pool bars was poor.

The entertainment team were very active and innovative and put on a show every evening in the open air theatre preceded by disco for the kids although they made last minute excuses for no show when there were not enough people which I couldnt blame them for considering the standard.

An excellent hotel that I would recommend.

Tour Operator: Medhotels

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

Mrs Carroll visited the Oriental Resort Hotel, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt in June 2006
I read reviews before I went and they I don\'t think there was any exaggeration in their comments. Food is OK but rather monotonous. Rooms are rather tired and could do with some redecorating.

After complaining 3 times to the management we got our toilet repaired after it was out of action for 24 hours. Not impressed with that at all. The staff are always smiling and cheerful (well in the dining room anyway) and very helpful (except where mending toilets are concerned). Both pool bars are a bit shabby and could do with refurbishing. When I\'ve been to all inclusive before you always got coffee/cake around 5pm. Never saw anything at the quieter pool bar at the beach and could have done with something down there.

Went for lunch to the beach bar one day for a change instead of ...
the slog in 40 degree heat to the dining room, what a joke. A meat dish was finished, this was three quarters of an hour into lunch. So you could have chips or pizza. The pizza was a piece of bread that had been put in the oven and had a couple of dollops (and I\'m not exaggerating here) of something that looked like tomato ketchup (there wasn\'t enough of it on there to really see what it was). The beach was fine, the jetty was wobbly and after a few nights of very strong winds the end collapsed into the sea. The sea is crystal clear and warm though.

The entertainment in the evening is second rate.

Overall, as other people have said, this hotel is not a 5 star hotel by any standards. We still enjoyed our holiday during the day but the evenings dragged a bit as there was nothing to do in the hotel, unless you are a footie fan and wanted to watch one of the matches.

We went to the Bedouin night of stars, really good, standing in the middle of the desert in the pitch black while a guide points out the constellations in the night sky, brill. Then you see the planet Saturn in the telescope. Great night.

We did the trip to Cairo by plane. A long, tiring day but I was determined to see the pyramids. Not disappointed except for the people keep pestering you to buy and a policeman coming up to us asking for a coke, what a cheek!

We originally booked a trip to the Dominican Republic in September with Thomson for our silver wedding. Come February they changed the flights to 3 days later and because of work commitments we couldn\'t go. Egypt was the only available holiday left in our budget/timescale etc that we liked the look of, we were very disappointed with the standard of the hotel as a whole. Not worth the money.

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomson
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
1 stars

4/5
4

Paul Mary & Ben had a holiday at Oriental Resort Hotel, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt in May 2006
We arrived just in time for dinner.

Our bags were sent to our room. We were offered comlemetary drinks at reception.

Our room was very clean and spacious and bedding was very good.

Pool area was clean and pool bar very helpful. Our towelman was extemely helpful and arranged our towels daily with a smile and a joke.

Food in the restaurant was good and there was something for everyone including our 14 year old son (special thanks to our waiter Mahmoud who was great)Location of hotel was approximately 20 mins away from Naama Bay.

Hotel staff were wonderful could not have been more helpful. Entertainment was not our cup of tea but made some people laugh.

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

5/5
5

stone visited the Oriental Resort Hotel, Sharm El Sheikh in April 2006
The Oriental Resort was by far one of the most beautiful hotels we have stayed in. Staff were fantastic and willing to do anything to make us happy (this was not difficult!!).

Food was plentiful and most enjoyable, in fact some of the food was alien to us but we loved it! Cleanliness was a high priority to the staff and high standards were met. The pools always had enough sunbeds for every one, as did the beach.

There was no overcrowding during the day, just a slight delay when getting drinks at the bar but in such beautiful surroundings this was not an issue for us. We will definately go back to this hotel. A holiday we will never forget. Thank you Oriental Resort.

Tour Operator: lowcostbeds

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

Ian stayed at Oriental Resort Hotel in June 2005
Although rated as a 5 star Hotel in reality it is at best a very good 3 star plus.

Generally clean and well presented the hotel lacks any real character and leaves you feeling you could be in any country. There are no lifts available so it is not really practicable for those who have difficulty walking as there are 3 levels and the restuarants are at the bottom of sweeping staircases. The rooms are basic but comfortable but could do with a good lick of paint and some new furniture, the blankets and sheets were not very clean.
There is a variety of food on offer which is very well presented and has won hygeine awards and this was of a high standard.
Entertainment forget the entertainment the poorest I have experienced abroad, better off staying at the bar.
The hotel ...
does have lovely gardens with fountains, waterfalls and manacured lawns which are kept in excellent condition and put some aspects of the hotel to shame
Staff are freindly but do expect tipping and the service can at times be slow

The beach bar and beach amenities are excellent and well worth a visit.

All in all a relaxing hotel basic and comfortable but dissapointing for a 5 star

Read More

Tour Operator: Jewel in the crown
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
3 stars
Other hotels in Sharm El Sheikh

5 star Hotels
4 star Hotels
3 star Hotels
Share