Image of Royal Grand Sharm Hotel

Royal Grand Sharm Hotel

92 of 104 hotels in Sharm El Sheikh

3 out of 5 from 12 reviews
5 stars

12 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    2
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    2

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Darren
We really enjoyed this hotel
5 years ago
Only just discovered this site so this review is bit of an after-thought. We stayed here for 7 nights during the October half term last year (2012) and we really enjoyed our stay. We were looking for a relaxing, stress free holiday with our two young children. The choice of pools was great and we had no issues whatsoever about service, cleanliness or anything like that. The only "Gripe" (which didn't concern us in the slightest but I could see it might concern other Brits) was that the other clientele seemed to be non-British. This suited us to the ground. 35C, no screaming or shouting from English families... BLISS.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Ashley
Not a 4* at all!
7 years 8 months ago
We arrived at 5ish in the room was filthy after complaining we got moved a further 3 times,
The hotel location was good beside el mercato n old town 20 mins from namma bay. Hotel staff worked hard but there was no entertainment at all.

Would never visit this hotel again but would defiantly go back to Egypt you have to go with open mind as this is not the cleanest place to visit but people are so nice.

Glad we all got the injections beforehand the only one who had deli belly was a 7yr old who was really poorly thanks to hotel food the only day we eat in the next 24hrs was horrendous.

Would defiantly not recommend this hotel we were told 4 star, defiantly not.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Dean27
8 years 9 months ago
Worst Holiday ever!..All 7 of us that went 6weeks ago got really bad stomach problems!..I myself are still off work with a terible stomach and pains and since being to the doctor (not that i had any doubts) confirmed it was down to the food. The food was literaly little bowls wth salad in (god knows how long it had been there)1 chicken, 1 fish, 12veg and 1 rice. No word of a lie!..The accomidation and the grounds was ok and the beds were comfy. I advise not to go to this hotel!! It should be listed as a 2star! VERY DISSAPOINTED!.. And i strongly advise not to go to this hotel!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Rachel
11 years 5 months ago
The breakfast was ok, except having to beg for a cup of tea or coffee.

The hotel was generally dirty and not in the greatest condition and certainly is not a 4/5 star. More like a 2 star.
Teh lights constantly went off and on, and the air con worked when it felt like it. Which is not good when it is 30 degrees.

The location is ok, near to shops etc

Most of the hotel staff were rude, lazy and not helpful.

The entertainment consisted of a 75 year old mad playing an organ next to the pool till 3am. This kept my 2 year old awake and screaming all night.

I need a holiday to recover from this one.

If I had been italian or from an arab country I think I may have been treated a little better, but as I am white English I was not.


I was also searched going in and out of the hotel each and every time. I was the only person that they did this to. I am not sure if this is because I am a 6ft tall attractive blonde.

I told the manager how bad I thought the hotel was and his response was "oh dear"


Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

12 years ago
Well, Where shall I start?

Food, Personally I thought breakfast was yummy! Even though there was no bacon, sausage, beans etc. it was continental, Loads of pancaked, pastries, croissants, eggs, omelettes Nice change from home i thought!

Other meals were fine, Nothing to write home about.

The hotel pool needed a good clean! there was a thick layer of scum around the edge and drains around the outside of it needed replacing as I saw about 4 people trip in them and hurt themselves.

the rooms were clean, with fridge, TV, lounge, kitchenette, the bathroom needed a refurb! the shower was hopeless!! A small trickle of water! Impossible to rinse shampoo from your hair! But what do you expect from the dessert.

The hotel cleaners wee very friendly and cleaned the rooms every day and left fresh towels, Room was fully air conditioned!

Entertainment, Well what entertainment is all I can say! There wasn't any at all, so I don't suggest you take kids there!

The bar was hopeless! They kept running out of everything even glasses!

The upstairs disco bar, well the DJ must have thought he was at a big club not a quiet hotel! He continued to play hard house boom boom music very loud! Which made everyone sit outside on the balcony!

Nobody wanted the music on and he didn't get the hint! even when people asked him to play something different he didn't.

The hotels beach's were very nice! Great for snorkeling!
beds are limited so get there early! there is a bus to the beach from the hotel for free.

Personally I would not visit this hotel again and it is Definitely NOT a 5 star as advertised! More like a 2 or 3 star.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Paul
12 years 1 month ago
Do not go all inclusive at this hotel.

The food isn't bad but you will not see a sausage or a slice of bacon at breakfast during your stay.

Please beware the alfresco evening meal which is buffet style and served in virtual darkness at the poolside. The wife and i suffered two days with severe stomach pains and a dose of pharoahs revenge , we couldnt say if it was the food or possibly the ice from the local disco bar.

We ended up using the pool bar for meals which is not part of the all inclusive package but the food is better. The biggest pain is having to sign for every drink you have when all inclusive and asking for more than one drink per person brought occasional frowned looks.

There is no problem with cleanliness apart from the hotel supplied towels which have seen better days. The place is generally clean and tidy but is nowhere near the standard of other 4-5* hotels we have stayed in.

The location of the hotel is ok for the local beaches which are within walking distance (10-15 mins) but sunbeds are limited so go early. Trips to Naama Bay and old Sharm are easy enough but beware the local taxis as everyone is a Colin Mcrae.

The hotel staff were generally friendly with the exception on one guy on reception who had a short temper and a bad attitude if you caught him at a bad time.

The entertainment was non existent , we saw one show all week which lasted approx 20 minutes. The local disco bar was virtually empty all the time we were there but saying that the whole place was on the quiet side.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Natalie
12 years 4 months ago
Me and my boyfriend stayed at the Grand Sharm Resort on a Bed and Breakfast basis. Having stayed in various hotels around the Med me and my boyfriend expected a fairly decent hotel, well it was advertised as a 4 star. We were mistaken as soon as we arrived. The staff were pushy for tips and the general up keep of the Hotel was poor. There are no facilities apart from a dirty pool!

The location of the Hotel is fairly close to the main resort, however there is no entertainment during the evening in or around the complex.

If you do have children i would strongly advise you do not stay here as your children will drive you crazy with boredom!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: FIRST CHOICE

Thomas
12 years 6 months ago
Not value for money all inclusive. Food extremely disappointing. Drinking limited to 2 areas only the pool or the disco.

Cleanliness to be desired. Location not so bad. Hotel staff were accommodating.

Zero entertainment.

Personally would never go back - in general very very disappointing.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: olympic

Mr Rbertson
12 years 8 months ago
On arrival at the hotel we were shown to our accommodation which was a new villa and was excellent. Lounge, kitchen, 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, patio and private garden.

The staff at this hotel could not do enough for you and were very friendly and helpful.

The food to begin with was more for the Russian guests which there were a lot of, we commented on this to our rep and the menu was changed to cater for British guests.

The cleanliness of this hotel was excellent as the villa was cleaned and towels changed daily.

The entertainment was nil really just background music which was needing updating.

The location of the hotel was good as it was central for Namma Bay and the town of Old Sharm also the beach was only 5 min walk away.

We found our stay very pleasant and will be returning sometime in the future.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Kerri
13 years 1 month ago
My stay at this hotel was not very pleasent.

The cleanliness was not very good, oversized ants kept running up the walls! Our patio door would not lock! On our first day at the hotel after a day by the lovely clean safe pool (NOT!!! Will get to that in mo)! We hung our shorts, bikinis and towels over patio chairs on our balcony to dry. Two hours later the had all dissapeared! I went to reception to inform them and within five minutes the guy on the desk called to say he had very surprisingly found them!!??

Onto the pool. It looks very nice from a distance but when you get close you will notice the missing plastic strips that allow the water to overflow through into the drain around pool. So with these missing or uneven you are left to twist your ankle as I witnessed twice!

Then in the pool there was cracked sharp tiles and a greeny brown rim of scum around the tiles!

This hotel is great if you
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: olympus

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

We are the West Country's leading Independent Travel Agent based in Plymouth. Specialists for Honeymoons and special occasion holidays.

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.