Image of Royal Rojana Resort

Royal Rojana Resort

84 of 104 hotels in Sharm El Sheikh

3 out of 5 from 8 reviews
5 stars
Royal Rojana Resort is a spectacular five star deluxe resort located on the Sharks Bay, an elite tourist area with a wonderful combination of marine and mountain scenery. The resort makes at the disposal of the clients a unique private beach.

8 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    3
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Eugene Kirk
9 years 6 months ago
We booked this hotel based on the star rating given to it on the on the beach websiite.

It was given a 5 rating but it reality it should have been a 2. We have stayed in genuine 4 and 5 star all inclusive hotels all round the world and this is definitly not 5 star.

The hotel in clean but worn out and tatty. The fixtures and fittings are in desperate need of refurb eg nails sticking out of balcony furniture, insecure door locks etc., the cutlery is old and tarnished and in the room we stayed in the towel rail was hanging off the wall.

The hotel is unfit for children on account of the many places they could fall from, such as the 6 ft drop the side of the childrens pool area protected only by a rope.

The worst thing of all was the food and drink. Bland, luke warm,repetitive slop-both in the buffet and the so called a la carte restaurants.

The one saving grace was the egyptian staff who were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: on tje beach

Dave & Sue
10 years ago
Staff in hotel were more then helpfull and very friendly could not do enough for us our room was spotless and very comfortable the cleaner was first class allways happy to help fresh towels and sheets every day nothing was too much trouble.food in all the restaurants was good and catered for all tastes. waiters first class very attentive and friendly.we found all the staff in the hotel great and had many laughs with them swimming pools spotless also the towels which were supplied by the pool side.we rated this as a first class holiday and will be going back in Febuary
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: holidays direct

Recommended
Peter
10 years 4 months ago
We have just returned on the 10th May 07, from the Royal Rojana Resort in the sharks bay cliff area of Sharm.

Any British or English speaking nationality looking to book this hotel don't, its like mini Moscow with I would say 95% of the guests being Russian or from Eastern Europe ,& they are not the most pleasant & curteous of people I have met.You do feel very much in the minority if you speak English.

The hotel is a large complex which would not suit elderly or people with walking difficulties as it is on a cliff face with a lot of uphill walking. The hotel though spotless & the cleaners work long & hard & always seem to be happy.

The food is bad we never once had a hot meal the food was'nt even luke warm , the tea & coffee undrinkable the sweets & desserts in the open air Baywatch restaurant were a magnet for birds flying down onto, & walking on cakes & eating them in full view of the staff who where quite prepared to leave the cakes there & still let guests eat them.....disgusting. 4 out the 6 people in our party had stomach problems & upsets & when talking to the very few Brits that were also there on holiday they all had experienced these problems. The food choice also was poor catered again mainly for the Russians /East europeans. Soft drinks were often flat with no fizz at all, the beer up in the main bar / restaurant area was also of poor quality, the pool bar seemed to be best bet with friendly staff & better quality of drinks.The snack bar was not always open as it should be, we found this the only place on this complex to really get hot food even though one day our chips still seemed to be semi frozen.

Entertainment virtually non existant with a man & woman on alternate nights singing the same songs between them from the 70's. To be honest if you want entertainment & decent hot food jump in a cab & go down to Naama Bay.

Although the public beach next to the complex has a few good value for money restaurants again with hot food. Anyone already unfortunately booked to go to this hotel please take plenty of stomach remedies with you because you will experience stomach upsets frequently , oh & take a few good books with you as this will be the only form of entertainment you will get staying at this hotel, it most cetainly is not a 5 star more on 3 star & thats only because the rooms are actually very nice. Would we stay at this hotel again most definitely not.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: On the Beach.

Sue Pearson
10 years 6 months ago
Booked this hotel for a 40th birthday present for my hubbie.

We've been to a lot of places and have never been on an all inclusive basis and probabbly will never go all inclusive again after this.

Food was bland to say the least with both my husband and myself fed up of bread rolls and undercooked barely lukewarm food after only 2 days, at this time we decided to take the shuttle bus into Sharm each night to dine out.

On the plus side the room was immaculate with bedding changed on a daily basis along with towels. I felt sorry for the staff as they worked really hard trying to please everyone and were rushed off their feet at times particularily at meal times.

The hotel was heavily populated with Russian people who if I am being totally honest were not the most friendly and pleasent of people but this seems to be the case throughout the Sharm area.

If I decided to go back to Sharm I would choose another hotel probably in Naama bay purely for convenience purposes as being in Sharks bay we were reliant on taxi's and the hotel shuttle bus.

The pool area was vast and clean and there was always sunbeds available as was the same on thye beach.

The entertainment was basically zero apart from the nightclub hence our nightly visits to Naama bay.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: arranged independently

Franklin
10 years 7 months ago
As I had only read one review about this hotel before I went and that was not good, I was very concerned but I have to say all doubts were dismissed after spending a few days there.

This hotel is certainly not a 5* more a 3* it is a little dated and in need of some general refurbishment. Considering the price I paid it was value for money.

Nevertheless, I must stress the cleanliness of the hotel is not to be faulted, every day and we were given fresh sheets and towels and our room was spotless, if a tip is given to the cleaner early in the holiday you every need will be catered for. They work long hours with very little pay but they always manage a smile for you.

The food was good but you have to remember they have to cater for a few different nationalities; mostly Russians who seem to devour food at an enormous rate! As a lot of English people are not very adventurous when it comes to food so perhaps some might say it was boring, no English fish and chips here. The food was hot and well presented and we never experienced any tummy upsets throughout our stay. There are three other restaurants, the Italian and the Baywatch serving meals el fresco, and the Seafood restaurant at an extra charge.

It was my birthday when we were there and the head waiter wanted to do a party with a cake for me with some of the friends we had made at no extra charge. The staff could not do enough for my husband and myself and other English people we had met there.

The beaches are very poor mostly of shingle, the main beach is very crowded with too many sun beds but there is a smaller beach further up the resort which is very quiet.

There are numerous pools but the entertainment staff tend to play the music a little too loud so a afternoon siesta is out of the question.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Bookable Holidays

Recommended
10 years 7 months ago
The only problem with this hotel was the distance from Naama Bay because there is not much in the vicinity, and maybe they could have had a few more chairs in the bar area. But other than that I highly recommend the place.

The food was extremely good and plentiful, the staff were very friendly and helpful.

We were in a room quite near the disco but didn't hear a thing. It's by no means a five star hotel but the amenities are good, everything is spotlessly clean and everything you need for a good relaxing holiday is at hand. Well, except for Naama Bay, but there are loads of taxis waiting at the gate to take you there.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: youtravel

Recommended
10 years 9 months ago
We just returned from the Royal Rojana and for what we paid for the holiday we are more than satisfied with what we got.

The hotel is spotless and the staff so very friendly, they fell over backwards to keep us happy and we were waited on hand and foot.

There are 4 restaurants, an Italian Restaurant, the main dining room and the Baywatch restaurant outside were the ones we ate at. The food was good and varied and the management more than happy to go out of their way to cater for the English. The other restaurant is a seafood restaurant that you have to pay for but I don't eat fish so can't comment on that one. The chef cooked a special meal for a crowd of us on both Xmas Eve and Xmas day he went out and bought a turkey and cooked us a special meal then too.

The cleaners work long hours and keep the place completely spotless.

The pools were spotlessly clean.

I really could not complain about this hotel -we've had a fantastic time and met some lovely people. Well done Royal Rojana - we will definitely return.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Medhotels

Recommended
Plod
10 years 10 months ago
This is not a 5 star hotel. It is not even close to a 3 star.

The room was basic but clean, however that is about the only good thing.

The food was basic mush, the service non exsistant.

You were not allowed to take drinks hot or cold to your rooms and it was more like a prison camp rather than a hotel with the management watching your every move. The hotel caters for their Russian clients who were some what difficult to live with (even for a few days).

We both got tummy bugs which stayed with until we returned home and I believe that was down to the conditions the food was both cooked and served in. In many cases you could not tell what you were eating but it was not good!.

If you wanted to play sardines then the beach was the place to go and with the constant loud music around the pools it just got worse!!! We spoke to the management about our concerns who were not interested and basically rude. In the end we payed extra and left going to the Holiday Inn where the management could not do enough for us. Funny when the managementat the Royal Rejana knew we were leaving and that we would be writing a report on their so Hotel they then wanted to speak to us!!!!. Please don't go to this hotel, it is sub standard in all areas and does not give a true reflection of the resort or the people.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Fleet way

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

We are the West Country's leading Independent Travel Agent based in Plymouth. Specialists for Honeymoons and special occasion holidays.

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.