Image of Sharm Plaza Resort Hotel

Sharm Plaza Resort Hotel

40 of 104 hotels in Sharm El Sheikh

4 out of 5 from 23 reviews
5 stars

23 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    6
  • Very Good
    12
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Robert
Good place. Lots of young people
4 years 3 months ago
Huge and clean rooms. Air conditioning in every room (it's even too cold when you turn it on the full blast!). Good food with a big range of different restaurants. Quite a lot of young people. Mostly couples from Germany, UK, Russia and Poland. Members of staff were mostly very pleasant and helpful (even though it was Ramadan and 40 degrees celsius!). I don't recommend taking excursions from the hotel. You can get much better deals in nearby Naama Bay. Overall - Highly recommended!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: SunSave.com

Recommended
Gillian Martin
great relaxing holiday great for couples
5 years 5 months ago
We have no complaints, we stayed in Sharm Plaza Resort Hotel and the rooms are big enough, the beds are massive and comfy, and the rooms were cleaned every day. We also had a big balcony.

There were plenty pools with sun beds, and I didn’t have to get up either at 7am to put down towels on the sunbeds, there are enough beds for everybody.

Hotel location is right on the sea, which is great for snorkelling. Only downfall was the entertainment at night, as it wasn’t up too much.

Namma Bay is about 5 minutes away in taxi or the hotel has a courtesy bus that’s free and runs twice during the day. We were never stuck for eating a la carte, and the Italian restaurant was to die for, the pizzas were amazing to would definitely go back to this hotel great value for money.

We had a fantastic time would definitely recommend this hotel to any couple looking for a relaxing holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
James
Would not return
7 years ago
Just back from a week at the Sharm Plaza. Hotel building and location lovely. Rooms lovely.

Food very poor, never knew exactly what you were eating and always luke warm never piping hot.

No cold water for 24 hours which meant no toilet flushing and you can only imagine the state of the pool toilets alone.

Beach area was very poor, sunshades all torn and extremely cramped. You certainly got to know your neighbour but not for the right reasons. We both came back with severe stomach upsets and ending having more time off work. This was supposed to be a special holiday for us so we were disapointed. Would not recommend to anyone and certainly not return to this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Jennie
7 years 10 months ago
this hotel itself has now changed names and is the sharm plaza or sharm resort
it is in itself very clean witha lack of ash trays you are not falling over fag butts ask and you will get always there cleaning and sweeping becareful what you ask for as some drinks and the bar in reception are to be paid for but pool drinks and restaurant drinks all free spirits can only be obtained from some bars and not those that serve food these you can have soft drinks or wine and beer confused you wont be after a few days
the food is not burgers and chips everyday apart from at pool bars where that is what you order for yourself
when we were there the food was very much the same most nights but aas we were leaving more changes were taking place and it improved the last couple of days and will in time be as high a standard as it can get
location was great not in the middle of the busy part but close enough to barter for the cab price to take you out
the staff on the main were nice poliet and love the enlish
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: red sea resorts

Recommended
Sue Unsworth
9 years 1 month ago
arived at this hotel all inclusive.when we arived i.we went to restaurasnt which was horrid.decided to eat at pool bar ordered pizzas 4 kids which cost
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: on the beach.com

Sykes
9 years 2 months ago
we have just returned from a 2 week break at the crown plaza. first impressions were good but the next day it wasnt so clever. the ood was very repetative and certainly we didnt feel it was up too 4 star standard. in the main restaurant it was like a free for all and several times we had too wait some time too be seated. we were on the i wish package which we were told was all inclusive but it became very confusing as too what we were covered for and what we werent. nobody seemed too know. The staff were very friendly and polite especially the pool staff and waiters. Our bedrooms were very comfy and always cleaned and looked after very well. The pool area needed a good clean as i noted some rubbish on the floor { wet hair} and it took 5 days for it too be cleared away. The marble floor became quite hazardous when wet and i saw several peoplefall quite heavily.

The only other comment is there wasnt much in the way of entertainment and a beach with some sand would have been good.All in all not abad hotel but wouldnt stay there again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: on the beach.com

DEBBIE
10 years 5 months ago
Just got back from a great week as always in Egypt.

The hotel was great except for a few negatives.

There are loads and loads of steps so this is not good if have trouble walking or are disabled which my husband is!
We also experienced a few problems with our " all inclusive" status.

It appears that the hotel covers all the boards and every time you wanted a drink or a meal you had to display your room card.

This is not a problem, but on going to the beach bar on the third occasion the staff still did not recognise you and they started to say that we were only allowed 1 drink per card per person. Maddening when 1 person was going to the bar to get 6 people a drink! I felt we had to justify ourselves all the time!

The only other gripe was that children were not allowed to wear t shirts in the swimming pool unless they were a made of a certain material.

Never really got to the bottom of what material as some t shirts were allowed and others were not. So parents of small children ,make sure you take the swim suits that covers little ones shoulders!

Food fantastic and of course so was the weather! Going back in August!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: OTBEACH

Recommended
R & J Douglas
10 years 6 months ago
Had the best holiday ever - hotel was fantastic - loads of sun beds and if you come down to the pool/beach late a member of staff will locate you beds and a parasol and set them out for you wherever you want.

Snorkeling, diving - equipment for both to hire on site and sea is full of colourful fish - in fact you don't need to go in the sea to see them - no beach as such but lots of sand on small terraces - really done well. Volley ball, pool activities most of the day.

Restaurants reasonable priced but alcohol bumps up the price and the wine is a bit iffy - wee took a box of wine with us in our case, kept in the fridge and enjoyed a cold glass or two on our balcony. Food very nice at Al Hawari and Alaa was most the most entertaining waiter with little puzzles each evening.

Breakfast was a strange experience with lettuce and cabbage on offer ! But the omelette's were fabulous and fresh bread, cheese and pastries everyday. Tea/coffee is a palava but we found if you sit near a waiter 'station' you can get their attention and try to get the same seat everyday and they soon get to know how you like your coffee and pour it out as soon as they see you come in.

We also had lunch at the C-view bar - again reasonably priced and good food.

We found ALL staff very helpful and friendly - even the holiday rep was wonderful - very knowledgeable and not at all pushy.

Will definitely go again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland

Recommended
Caroline
11 years 1 month ago
We stayed half board but if we return we will stay B&B as we didn't think much of the evening meal and the lack of places to sit (breakfast was good but again lack of spaces to sit). This was really our only complaint for this hotel everything else was great!

The hotel was kept very clean at all time.

The location was very good and the hotel had a coutesy bus free of charge to Naama Bay (10 mins down the road).

The staff were very helpful and friendly.

The rooms were very nice with plenty of space for clothes and the bathroom was very large (just right). Room service which we had on 2 occasions was very good and inexpensive.

We didn't go to any of the entertainment so difficult to say.

We would definitely return to this hotel and that is something we never do. The place was well set out we were in block 1 which I can highly recommend. The views are great and the pools are fine. Never had a problem putting towels out even at 9am. The snorkling was great, we were amazed by the fish.

We did quad biking and booked with the chaps by the floating jetty at
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Travel Republic

Recommended
Chris
11 years 5 months ago
This is a brilliant hotel,offering excellent value for money.

It's spotlessly clean, and we had clean bed linen every day. If we had wanted could have had clean towels each day but choose not to for environmental reasons. The rooms are of excellent quality and larger than the brochure pictures make them appear. A huge shower room with complementary toiletries, two queen sized beds per room, ample wardrobe space all quality wooden fittings.TV with film channels & cartoons for the kids. Free in room fridge, in room safe, air conditioning and tea & coffe making facilities. Large patio doors onto a furnished terrace looking out to quiet gardens. So relaxing.The male made kept the rooms spotless. We tipped him 10 pounds for the week, but that was for 2 rooms.

There were 4 pools, we preferred the Roman Pool it was gorgeous, and we ate at the Italian Restaurant which overlooks this pool, Via Vento two evenings, lovely food, but not many tables so best to reserve.

The CV BBQ was the other nice place to eat with views over to Namma Bay. Didn't try the Tapas bar or Arabic Cafe but they also looked good. We also had food on room service a few times. Although a limited menu this was excellent as well and resonably priced.

Buffet breakfast in 'La Veranda' offered a huge choice of foods, although some of the combinations would seem odd to the British palate as they were catering to a large no of Italians and Russians as well.

The hotel has a great location it's on the Garden Reef, which is sheltered and therefore not as windy as other parts of Sharm. There is no beach as such and you enter the sea from 2 jettys. My husband and eldest reported the snorkelling to be fabulous. There are terraces by the sea to sunbath on, guys by the jetty to purchase your trips from and the hotel has its own dive school offering shore diving. You get towel cards so there is no need to pack beach towels.

The young Egyptian male staff couldn't do enough for you, (yes you had to tip, but not much and it is part of the culture there). Drinks and buckets of Ice would be brought to our sunbeds whenever we asked, any combination of fresh fruit juices made up for you.

There was the usual type of entertainment, pool games & aqua aerobics at the seafront pool, music at the arabic cafe. My family used the health club for tennis a few times, whilst I swam in the lap pool (freezing at 5pm) I had this to myself, it was like my own private pool.

Trying to think of a few negatives? The hotel is spread over a large area with lots of steps which would be a problem for anyone with walking difficulties.
It's not walkable to Namma Bay (5 to 10 mins in a cab) but the hotel has it's own taxi rank out of the hotel reception to the left and they don't cost much more than the 'blue and whites' and look much safer! They are grey.There a free mini coach as well but it gets booked up early and goes in early. (5pm)

There is still building work going on either side of the hotel, but it doesn't interfere with your holiday, and there is building work everywhere in Sharm.

At breakfast aquiring coffee and tea is a bit of a lottery. Waiters don't seem to be allocated to specific tables. They also can't clear the dirty tables quicky enough for new diners to be able to sit down at a clean table. I Suspect that's why Thomson give only give the Crowne Plaza 4T's and not 5T's this is probably an accurate reflection of the feedback they receive.

Hope to visit again someday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland/TUI

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

We are the West Country's leading Independent Travel Agent based in Plymouth. Specialists for Honeymoons and special occasion holidays.

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.