Image of Sofitel Hotel Taba Heights

Sofitel Hotel Taba Heights

9 of 10 hotels in Taba

3 out of 5 from 12 reviews
5 stars
This beautiful, brand new hotel is located in the resort area of Taba Heights, between the colourful mountains of South Sinai and the crystal blue lagoons of the Red Sea.

12 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    5
  • Good
    7
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Finch
Not on the top of my list of hotels to visit
5 years 9 months ago
We arrived at the hotel, check in was quick and easy went to our room which was very nice, we paid for a seaview but the room also over looked the pool as well so well impressed. Room was a nice size very clean.

The hotel its self was kept clean, staff very friendly and helpful. We were told there was only 5 hotels and a small town with a few shops so if you want to chill and do nothing this is the place for you. I did like the entertainment though other guests did not but we are in Egypt.

The only draw back to me was the food I am very fussy but I did find it hard to find something I liked, not much of a choice and because where you are you cannot go out and find a restaurant to eat there so I was a bit stuck and found myself getting hungry. We paid and eat in the A la Carte restaurant one evening. Don't eat the basket of bread they give you for breakfast I watched the waiters go round clear up dirty plates take them and baskets back to their work station and refill them from all the other left over baskets from the tables with dirty hands. No chips in main restaurant and no ice cream so not really a holiday for children.

The only good thing was one night nothing I liked my husband spoke to the manager and they cooked me a lovely steak. Would we go back? Sadly no this was a nice hotel but let down by the food and as it was a 5 star platinum thought it would have been much better. I would only rate this 4 star. This is just how we saw the hotel but you go and make up your own minds. By the way we holiday in different parts of Egypt many times a year and trust me there are much better hotels than this one.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Nothing to do here
7 years 1 month ago
The hotel was lovely, clean and spacious. All the staff are very helpful. The food was good. We had two lovely weeks here, all accept the entertainment. There is absolutely NOTHING to do here. So if you are looking for a complete chill out do nothing break it is perfect.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Janis
10 years 4 months ago
We have just arrived back from Sinai where we stayed at the Sofitel in Taba Heights. The hotel itself is stunning and the setting is beautiful, quiet and right on the beach. We were booked on an All Inclusive basis, in Plaza rooms which looked right over the Gulf of Aqaba and from our balcony we could see Saudi Arabia, Jordan and were not far from Israel. If you want somewhere for a serious chill out then this is a good place to go, there are only 5 hotels and very few retail outlets. There is a small golf course but we never saw anybody on it
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Mrs Fletcher
10 years 8 months ago
Sofitel Hotel, Taba Heights, we stayed two weeks in January. Hotel very nice, very Egyptian is style. It was cold some days so if going early in the year take warmer clothes especially for the evening. Good selection of food and drinks.

The entertainment not so good which was a shame. Hotel right on the beach, which you can walk along in either direction and drop into other hotels and have a drink.

It is worth buying the sand shoes from the hotel shop as the sea is quite Stonie. You can walk quite far out in the sea.

My husband and I would go back to this resort, very quite and peaceful, staff helpful and cheerful.

Would recommend for one week in January as not quite so warm and two weeks later on in the year.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland

Recommended
Farrell
11 years 6 months ago
The hotel was very clean, lots of different foods to choose from.

Hotel was in middle of no where but if you want total chill out time this is a good place to go.

Sad to say the staff around the pool were so slow at coming around and asking if you would like drinks.

Also when we went into the restaurant in evenings we waited ages to be ask for our drinks orders, then when we did sit down to dinner none of the waiters told us we could just go up and help ourselfs to the buffet. If we hadn't known we would have sat there waiting.

The entertainment all round was very good belly dancing by the pool then water aerobics.

I would not go to this hotel again but will go to another Sofitel as have stayed in one before was very pleased.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thompson

Recommended
Terry & Sue Gingell
11 years 6 months ago
The Sofitel was amazing. The setting was lovely. The service was fantastic. The room was fresh and clean every evening when we got back from the pool. The staff were very helpful and friendly, and having contracted an eye infection the staff couldn't fall over themselves enough to help me. The hotel doctor was brilliant and came straight from home late in the evening to attend to me, giving me a consultation and prescribing the correct antibiotics, including a follow up consultation the next day...and all for
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: My Travel

Recommended
Mark And Sam
12 years 5 months ago
We have just returned from a week staying at Sofitel, Taba Heights and had a good, relaxing break here.

We had a 4 bedded room but would probably have preferred to pay extra for interconnecting rooms. The room itself was clean and comfortable. We had a lovely balcony with amazing views of the sea, looking over to Saudi Arabia, Jordan and Israel. There was a problem with plumbing late one night and our shower flooded. We reported this and the problem was sorted out in about an hour and the bathroom was cleaned afterwards. We thought that despite this problem it was dealt with efficiently.

The hotel food was average. The choice was varied a little each day but the main courses for dinner became a little repetetive although the deserts were excellent with many choices. The children (6 & 8 years) ate very well and seemed to like the freedom of buffet dining and being able to go and choose what they wanted. The service in the lunch restaurant was very slow and the food was average.

A couple of times we had to remind the poolside bar staff to give us our change for drinks purchased.

The hotel is right on the beach and snorkelling is excellent. We felt the children were very safe to play around the grounds as there are only two other hotels in the immediate vicinity (one either side of Sofitel) and they seemed to enjoy this freedom.

Generally the staff were attentative, friendly and professional.

The evening entertainment was bad. Our children are 6 and 8 and there was little or no entertainment in the bar before 9.30pm. By this time the children were so tired that we all ended up going to bed about 9pm.

Having said all the above we feel that the hotel offers good value for money and the location is a good sun holiday break so we would possibly consider visiting again in the future.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Last Minute.com/Peltours

Recommended
Ahsan Miraj & Rohana Bakhshi
13 years 1 month ago
This is a new hotel in a beautiful location at the Taba Height Resort. We did not encounter any disruptions as a result of ongoing works at the resort.

The rooms are spacious with superb sea views. The hotel itself is beautifully designed in a numibian style in line with other hotels at the resort.

There is one main restaurant that caters for holiday makers on a half board basis. It gets very busy at breakfast and dinner times. At breakfast, the wait for getting eggs averages ten minutes. The breakfast buffet is good but the dinner buffet is not of five star quality. The food is repetitive on most days and lacks quality and variety. In particular, we often found that food was cold and the popular dishes often ran out and the wait was long.

The lunch is served at the beach bar restaurant where the quality of service is appaling. The waiters often fail to understand instructions and the service is so slow that food has to be ordered well in advance. The waiters have not been trained properly and can sometimes be rude with their etiquete. We went to the Hyatt Regency hotel for lunch after getting fed up with the poor service and found that both the food and the quality of service was much better.

Beware of the general shop at the hotel! The shop takes full advantage of the fact that there are no shopping facilities at the resort. We found that most things were unbelievably expensive at this shop and you would be well advised to buy your essentials such as sun lotions, toileteries and camera films in the UK. We found a souvenir that we purchased in Cairo for 40 egyptian pounds selling for 400 egyptian pounds at this shop.

The entertainment at the hotel is boring with same items being repeated every night.

This hotel has a five star deluxe rating but with the quality of service and food served, I would rate it as a four star hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Peltours

Darren
13 years 1 month ago
I agree with many of the comments already made about the lovely yet totally cut off location of this hotel. We found the staff helpful and courteous but the entertainment was almost all spoken in Hebrew. The condition and decor of the hotel was immaculate - our room had a HUGE balcony, and the room was cleaned daily to a great standard.

The food looked good, it smelled good - and it even tasted good! However, food was often lukewarm. I was very poorly as was the rest of the family and many other people we spoke with whilst there. The staff dismissed it as 'English tummy' syndrome - but I lost 1 stone in 1 week whilst staying at this hotel. All the usual remedies we had bought from the UK (i.e. Diocalm etc..) did nothing to help at all. The children took longer to get better and were poorly for 2 weeks after we returned. Our GP ran some tests and informed us it was salmonella.

We saw the Peltours rep on the first day of our holiday, and again as we were leaving the hotel.

Finally, when we booked out of our room our suitcases were put into a secure room until the coach arrived to take us to the airport. It was loaded onto the wrong coach and went to the airport 1 hour before we did. When we arrived in the airport it had been removed from the coach and had been left in the middle of the car park.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Peltours

Kay
13 years 5 months ago
This is a relatively new Hotel and despite the fact that development is ongoing, there was no disruption in terms of noise and buildng work.

The hotel rooms are adequate and all have a balcony. The pool is separated into three areas - a sea water pool, an activity pool (heated) and an unheated pool. Despite the Hotel being full, sunbeds didn't seem to be an issue.

The food was adequate - the buffet gets monotonous after a few days and the food is often luke warm. The service in both the restaurant and the Pool Bar is appallingly slow and you need to order well in advance of getting hungry or thirsty.

There was very little entertainment and most of it up to 9pm is aimed at three year olds.

The beach is clean and there is a house reef but at this time of year it is very cold and the Hotel do not hire wet suits which meant you could only spend a short time in the water.

Access to the Hyatt (7 swimming pools) and Marriot Hotels is easy and you can pay to spend the day there. The Service at both these hotels is excellent.

The Marriot has an Italian Restaurant (Tuscany) which is fairly expensive but the service and food are absolutely fabulous.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Peltours

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.