Image of Sonesta Beach Resort

Sonesta Beach Resort

7 of 10 hotels in Taba

3 out of 5 from 14 reviews
5 stars

14 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    5
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    5
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Wackjonny
8 years 4 months ago
Had a fab time here,food was good,hotels was classed as a 5 star,any Egypt hotel you visit if classed as a 4 or 5 star is always one below.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas cook

Recommended
10 years ago
Hi this was our second trip to the Sonesta, we enjoyed it so much the first time that we decided to go again. we didn't take the 3 boys with us this time as they are grown up and they where already 19 16 14 when we went last year. We had a lovely break away on our own. we were treated like royalty as it was our second trip there. We had 2 weeks of sun sand and r & r. i love this hotel and would happily go back there anytime. I can't understand why people don't like it
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First choice

Recommended
Tracy N
10 years 7 months ago
The hotel is in the middle of no where but that was what I wanted a weeks peace and quiet and relaxation.

The staff were all welcoming and friendly and always greeted you with a smile, they could not do enough for you.

The food could have been better but then what do you expect you are in a diferent country.

The rep was excellent wwhat ever she could do for you she would and was always on time.

We had a suite which was very spacious with wonderful views.

I have no complaints of this hotel and would recommend if you want a rest, the animation team were very friendly and we always had a laugh with them.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First choice

Recommended
Martin Smith
10 years 9 months ago
The Sonesta Beach Resort is a modern hotel on the beach front.

In general terms the hotel was clean but the hotel was cleaned at night and disturbed your sleep.

The food was bland and cold and there was evidence of food being recycled for future meals. Male hotel staff were seen using the toilets and returning to the restaurant without washing their hands!

The hotel is situated a
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Victoria Phillips
10 years 9 months ago
All inclusive? If you want to eat at the Oasis restaurant on the beach then there is an additional cost for this, even though you are all inclusive. You can also eat in a fish restaurant, Italian and the Fotoush restaurant, again there is an additional charge for this. The Scallini (Italian) restaurant is well worth a visit though.

The hotel is clean

The hotel food is edible, however, you need to like chicken and beef! The food is not always hot but this was addressed when we were there. The pasta station is very good and as they cook this for you it is always hot.

The location is in the middle of nowhere, you are confined to the hotel grounds as they do not encourage you to leave the boundaries of the hotel. You can go to Taba heights on a shuttle bus for
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Steve C
10 years 9 months ago
Hotel suite was generally clean, well furnished and well presented, the communal areas such as pathways were generally unkempt.

The hotel location was in the middle of nowhere which we had known before we went so this was OK, we had gone for a chill out holiday so the location was not a problem.

The ordinary staff at the Hotel where OK and did try and make your stay enjoyable, the problem was that the Hotel Management did not have a clue how to run a 4 star Hotel.

On several occasions the bar (if that
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Dan Church
10 years 10 months ago
The hotel is in the middle of no way!

The food same day after day after day (rice, potatoes, chicken and beef in sauces.

The drinks order one thing and get another, the bar always ran out of glass.

Free water! you have to buy a bottles first!!

The friendly people were the cleaners, always said hello and make different in your room with towels!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

11 years 1 month ago
The hotel is very attractive and bigger than I thought it would be, we went all inclusive and there was a good variety of food for all the family.

The hotel is constantly being cleaned and the floors polished over night, the rooms were cleaned daily and towels changed every day.

The location is exactly as it says in the brochure beautiful straight on the beach remote no other hotel around and you are confined to the hotel grounds.

The hotel staff are excellent the waitors, cleaners, entertainers reception staff we experienced them all with no problems.

We would definately visit this hotel in the future, without any hesitation.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
11 years 2 months ago
We have just returned from the Sonesta Beach Resort in Taba - and were very impressed. We visited Sharm last September for 2 weeks and were a bit dubious after reading the reports previously posted. ( But we did this last year when we went to Sharm and could have quite easily cancelled. As it happens it turned out to be one of the best holidays we had therefore booking again this year.)

If you have booked with First Choice - Ignore the picture in the brochure - it is definately not the Sonesta in Taba - it is the Sonesta in Sharm.
Anyway the hotel - is lovely and impecably clean. There are Santising stations by the restaurants for your hands - so you dont pick up any dodgy egptian illness's. The food is good. We had a BBQ, Fajita's, Pizza selection on most days Plus a fresh pasta station were you could choose your own sauces and add to them etc. The only down side we thought was the drinks by the glass -( at Sharm we have bottles of water provided at meal times - however there was Water bottle stations to fill up your empties!) The Soft drinks are the real deal - so you can get Diet Coke, Sprite Fanta etc and they are not some copies.
The rooms are kept very clean and bedding and towels were changed every day.
The pool area was great - we never had to get up and put towels out as the hotel was near on empty so at 10am you could still get a group of sunbeds and umbrellas together

The beach are is small and is cordoned off to the locals. You will also see camels walking up and down the beach.

All in all a great holiday especially for
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
11 years 2 months ago
I went to this hotel in 2006 and was worried before we went by some of the reviews and then there where some good ones, what can I say. We had a fantastic time we all loved the hotel and the food.

The staff are first class as was the rep from first choice. all I can say is that i can't wait for the next visit.

I sometimes wonder what people want when they are abroad if they don't want Egyptian food then stay at home.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.