Image of Novotel Coralia Luxor Hotel

Novotel Coralia Luxor Hotel

8 of 13 hotels in Luxor

4 out of 5 from 10 reviews
4 stars

10 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    7
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
9 years 9 months ago
The Iberotel (Novotel) was a poor hotel around eight or nine years ago. Now it's clean, well organised and the food is fabulous for a relatively cheap hotel. Breakfast is a delight with some really good variety and good salads etc. The staff changed about eighteen months ago and renovations took place.
Perfect position, just on the edge of the Nile within ten minutes walk from Luxor Temple. In-house restaurants (e.g. Mandarin) are fabulous on lazy days when you don't feel like leaving the hotel the Chinese kitchen staff do a wonderful range of dishes. An Italian restaurant, as well as the Mandarin (Chinese), is in the grounds, which are wonderful in themselves with a very pleasant terrace overlooking the Nile, swimming pool and giant chess board. Nile view rooms are fantastic - pay the extra if you're able to?
Power boats can be obtained directly from the hotel grounds, if needed, but walking is fabulous as the Iberotel is at one end of the Corniche and in a perfect position, in my opinion. The floating swimming pool is fabulous and we were happy with everything from laundry to room service and the staff are fairly well organised and cater to almost all nationalities.
The only problem is the daily influx of tourists who come from Nile cruises or day trips and flood the hotel and restaurants but even that can be tolerated as they only stay for an hour or two and then they're on their way again.
Drinks are VERY expensive - from water, coffee to cocktails, be aware - take in your own water? Last seen at
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
11 years 7 months ago
Just returned from what is now the Iberotel in Luxor and Wow, what great experience.

The floating pool in the Nile is the perfect place to relax and watch all the boats sail past.

A Nile room view is a MUST, amazing views across to the valley of the Kings and Queens.

Hotel is immaculate and the staff the most friendly we have encountered any where in the world. So much to see and vist, we intend returning next year.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Panaroma

Recommended
Adrian
12 years 4 months ago
Iberotel, Luxor, was Novotel until March 2005 and I can find no reviews under the new name.

The whole staff seems to have been taken over in the change to new ownership as they welcom returning guests like old friends- embraces and kisses. All the staff are friendly and anxious to please.

Iberotel has an ideal position at the edge of the Nile with meticulously tended gardens going down to its "pool", a barge floating in the river. It is at the south end of the riverside Corniche where most of the Nile cruise boats moor, and within walking distance (10 mins) from Luxor temple.

The unprepossessing entrance leads into an impressive if bland atrium five stories high. Balconies for the Nile view rooms have a superb view. The air conditioning barely contends with the harsh afternoon sun, but the rooms are well equipped with mini fridge and satellite TV and are clean and comfortable. Perhaps a little short of 5* but the position makes up for it.

Buffet breakfasts offer a generous variety of fruits, pastries etc but no bacon or other ham products of course. Delicious omelettes are made to order One can eat outside on the terrace or in the a/con dining room. If you are going on a sunrise outing, they will make up a box breakfast if advised the night before. The Italian restaurant is open for dinners good in quality and reasonable in price.

Having checked out the other hotels I would come back to this one for its best combination of location and comfort.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Hayes & Jarvis

Recommended
12 years 9 months ago
The advantage to this hotel is the location. A Nile view room is a must. Whilst clean, the rooms are really not up to 4 star western standard but a 3 star and the fittings look tired. Although the main reception area is fairly impressive. There was no entertainment whatsoever during the period we stayed (8 Dec to 22 Dec).

Unfortunately the breakfasts varied greatly and it didn't seem to matter what time you took breakfast! The "hot" food was invariably cold, many items ran out and you gave up waiting for the buffet to be replenished and trying to get a coffee or tea was extremely difficult each morning bar one. The staff always said they'd be back but after 15 mins you had to try again. Many people either gave up or resorted to filling up their own coffee/tea cups if they could find a cup and the tea/coffee pots.

The Pizza restaurant in the grounds was very good and reasonable. The pub was closed, the banqueting facility was closed, the additional two restaurants were closed, the disco was closed, we never found the advertised gym. We didn't eat in the main restaurant as fellow guests advised us not to!

Stay here for the central location and Nile view, not for the entertainment or food. There are many good restaurants within walking distance.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland

Recommended
13 years ago
Generally a really nice hotel which was probably in the best location for the resort.

The food
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Panorama

Recommended
Jenny German
13 years 1 month ago
The Novotel is the best located hotel in luxor being on the edge of the Nile and within 10 minutes walk of Luxor temple and close to the Nile Shopping centre.

A marble palace it isn't but the rooms are clean and comfortable and the staff greet returning guests like family members. We have returned on four occasions.

The breakfast is extensive and the Italian restaurant is both good and inexpensive. There used to be an outdoor Egyptian restaurant which was superb but disappeared three or so years ago.

Pool staff are friendly and helpful and the floating pool on the Nile gives good views across to the Valley of the Kings.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland

Recommended
13 years 2 months ago
The Novotel is, like most hotels in Luxor, a little basic in room standard.
It is without question the best situated hotel in Luxor. It is the closest hotel to tourism spots which is situated on the Nile.

The floating pool is adequately sized although you can feel it move whenever cruise ships pass.

The staff are all, without exception, absolutely fantastic. Incredibly friendly and helpful, although not without reason. As everywhere else in Luxor you are expected to tip, although about the equivalent of 50p to
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Panorama

Recommended
Lynda Holmes
13 years 5 months ago
In our party was myself my husband also our daughter who is in her twentys,the room we had was very clean, the bathroom was spotless everything worked including the air conditioning, the beds ,bedding and pillows are all extremely clean.

Wherever you walk in this hotel is the same high standard of cleansliness.the food is lovely, they have a wide variety to choose from, from fresh bread to cooked breakfast, to toast or fruit juice, there is something to suit everyone, the meals at evening are just as good.

The hotels location is fantastic, from the back gardens you look onto and across the nile to the west bank where the mountains of the valley of the kings are, the gardens themselves are large and colourful with plenty seating.

At the front of the hotel are shops, all the transport you could wish for,luxor temple and the museum are within walking distance, there are many more shops also in walking distance, this hotel has much to offer and one really good thing for anyone like myself it has a lift to all room floors.

The staff are very polite, very friendly, always have a smile, and very helpful, the entertainment is alright depending on what you want, we found that when we had been up early (5.30 6.00 clock) to have breakfast then on an excursion with the heat we did not bother about any evening entertainment, we love this hotel, this was our second holiday here, we went first time in april 2002, when we got back this year we had only been back 7 days and we booked another fortnight for april 2005.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: hayes and jarvis

Recommended
Tony Hammond
14 years 2 months ago
although not a 'marble palace' it is clean comfortable & you can't beat its locatiom!staff were excellent-i damaged my back & they found me a masseur who put it right for me ,they even got him to refund some of the money as they thought he had overcharged me. the grounds are excellent and kept to a very high standard,breakfast is excellent
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: self organised

Recommended
D.holt
14 years 5 months ago
We stayed at the Novatel the location is great.

Food was always warm. The waiters were very helpful and pleasant.

Rooms were cleaned every day.

The pool area was brilliant clean pool and good bar service.

We were there from 4 April till 18th April 2005.

We will be going back. And would recommend this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: panarama

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.