Image of Butlins Holiday Park

Butlins Holiday Park

2 of 2 hotels in Skegness

4 out of 5 from 19 reviews
Ingoldmells, Skegness, Lincolnshire PE25 1NJ

19 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    5
  • Very Good
    8
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Mandy
disgusting
3 years 1 month ago
For such a name as Butlins they need to spend a lot of money to bring it up to date. My apartment hasn't been cleaned since the place was built disgusting would never go again avoid, I wish could show you the photos horrific ,dirty glad i didn't have a toddler carpet was disgusting and bed of nails comes to mind avoid!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Kerrie
Way too expensive for what you get
6 years 2 months ago
We went to Skegness Butlins and we did enjoy ourselves. We stayed in the standard apartments and found them to be bright and breezy but most important they were clean, no complaints. Allot of people were saying how uncomfortable the beds were, all I can say is my bed must be bad because I had the best weeks sleep ever!

The food was nice and is all you can eat with lots of choice from soups and rolls, salads, pasta dishes, roast dinners and fish and chips all though it was repetitive. Breakfast was the usual full English, toast yogurts, cereals, fruit juice, tea and coffee.

The staff in the bars, all I can say there was more life in a urgent note, none of them really knew what they were doing apart from the one in the pavilion.

Entertainment was good as I always find in Butlins. The only reason we went to Butlins this year was we couldn’t really afford to go abroad this year so opted for this holiday but to be honest the kids got bored with the fairground and once they had tried the go-carts at £5 ago for ten minutes well that was that! The fair had lost its sparkle altogether but our kids are teenagers and I think that why they got bored easily but all that said the money we spent and the cost of the holiday we really could have gone abroad for the money.

As I said we did enjoy our holiday at Skegness but I think our kids have outgrown Butlins. Would I go back? Yes but only if they lowered their prices.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Maxine Gill
7 years 5 months ago
cheap weekend away just right for kids
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Harlowgirl
7 years 11 months ago
Stayed in a silver apartment, half board. for one week from 08/08/08

A five minute walk to the beach gate, the top floor apartment was situated overlooking the sea.

Stairs leading to the apartment, and about 8 stairs leading to the actual apartment once inside the front door.

Two fair size bedrooms, clean, with one wardrobe in each, two bedside cabinets & a dressing table in the double, and one bedside cabinet with mirror above in the twin. One negative point was the beds...very hard & uncomfortable, never that bad even in the standard accommodation.

Living space compact with a tv, & medium sized kitchenette with cooker, fridge, microwave, toaster & table & chairs.

Double aspect windows, small one looking out with a sea view, the other end, small opening window & small french doors (with protective bars, so your kids are safe when open !)..one fault...because the top floor french doors are smaller sized, they are in an alcove...both me & hubby banged our heads several times after going to open them as the alcove is almost eye level. & you forget you cant stand straight up ! All windows have restrictive openings for safety which you can open them out further if wished (but is safe so small kids cant do it)

Resort was clean, entertainment plenty. One gripe is that main venues are too small & you have to que for at least 1-2 hours for a table...we did this in shifts..or its standing room only.

Food was plentiful and nice...negatives are that from midweek only 1 manned ice cream factory was open leading to a very long que....orange squash ran out for 3 days & many of the toasters in the morning are rubbish ..white bread warmed up ! do your homework and look for the toasters which turn out better toast..& get that before you get your main brekkie...saves your egg getting cold !

Shows were good, but found illusion & magic acts were very intent on selling their wares after the show, & towards the end of the act would say something like "Now kids...who wants a magic set ? "

All in all a good holiday, a
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Anonanon
8 years 2 months ago
Should be called Buglins not Butlins, resort was dirty and dinner hall was like an animals tea party, 6 out of 8 of us caught a terrible sickness bug and heard others talk of it aswell.

My sister-in-law has gone this week and had to come home early due to getting a bug the place is dirty and they can't keep bugs under control on the reviews people are reporting illness from as far back as 2005 any yet its still dirty.

The toilets in the entertainment bar were smelly and dirty and there wasn't much to do except drink and I don't.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
8 years 2 months ago
Had a great time at butlins went for the bank holiday weekend, the kids had the time of their lives, there was loads to do, they enjoyed all the activites, spent most afternoons in the pool, the only money we spent during they day was for the go carts.
We had breakfast and dinner included in our holiday this worked out to be value for money as you could eat as much as you wanted, so we made sure we had a big breakfast and that would do us for the rest of the day, kids were to busy to think about food.
Entertainment was great very child orientated, we found reds best of an evening and all enjoyed the shows.
My only gripe is that i would agree with others and the place does seem very dirty,especially the skyline area,i no butlins operates 52 weeks of the year but i think the whole site and accomadation does reflect this and certain area could do with a good clean, our apart menr in cluded the bathroon and kitchen surfaces were clean, fresh sheets on the bed, but i don't no when it last saw a duster, the wardrobes were filthy, and we wouldnt even sit on the sofa that was disgusting!. they definatley let them selves down in certain areas.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
8 years 2 months ago
Our apartment was old and very basic but was spotlessly clean. even had a fresh lick of paint.
one bedroom with a shower room but tidy and with all the facilities needed i.e tea/coffee making facilities and a large colour tv (even if you couldn't get bbc1)
channel 1 of the tv showed what was happening that day - very useful
The guest relations team were very good as they managed to get a message to me from my wife who was at home working all week and neded to get hold of me urgently.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Stampcollection
8 years 10 months ago
Stayed in Gold apartment
Novovirus outbreak reported the previous week. We saw no one being ill and did not suffer ourselves. All the areas were very clean and Butlins had obviously worked hard to clean everything.

Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
JOHN, KATHY, JASMINE
8 years 11 months ago
We visited butlins on the 24 august 2007 we stayed in a silver room half board. We stayed at lobster court and there was 2 clean and freshly painted rooms and a bath room that was spotless.
we were realy suprised at the amount of things to do on site,we went for three days and there wasnt enough time to cram every thing in. The resort is very modern with things to do for young and old the spa looked very nice and the treatments were a very good price. The the skyline pavillion is excellent there is an abundance of things to do.
The resort is situated next to a beutiful beach with bouncy castles for the kids.
The entertainment was excellent both for the adults and children the shows were very professional.
We went on a half board basis and the breakfast time was 8.00 till. 10.00 and the dinner was 4.00 till 6.00 which we found to dinner to be a little early. There was a very good selection of food for breakfast,cereals,toast full english, vegitarian, fuit, tea ,coffee, fruitjuices etc.
Dinner was roast dinner, chips, breaded fish, spagetti bolognase, curry, choice of desert,kids choices,ice cream , tea, coffee,juice etc.
there was also a few different food outlets pizza, fish and chips, Kebabs, bakery, pancakes etc.

the town center is excellent, the beach is excellent, Skegness is a brilliant place lots and lots of thing to do and both butlins and Skegness are spotless. We will deffinately be returning to butlins it was excellent we all enjoyed it 1oo%
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
9 years ago
We decided to book Butlins because, as the TV ads say "Kids love it". Well I can honestly say my 2 did.
The apartment was clean and well presented (Silver grade)with everything we needed ie beds and bathroom.
Food was alright, something for everyone.

Entertainment was varied, but queues to get into reds began at 515pm and it didn't open till six, and with the exeption of when Chico was on, we got a table alright going in at 7.

The only downside was the pool, while it was well equipped with slides etc, the changing area was too small and it only opened from 10-5.

All in all a good holiday and we may go again one day
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

What's nearby