19 independent reviews of the Butlins Holiday Park
Address: Ingoldmells, Skegness, Lincolnshire PE25 1NJ
Butlins Holiday Park
Butlins Holiday Park Location
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Skegness


4/5
Butlins Holiday Park Butlins Holiday Park is rated 3.79 out of 5 from 19 Reviews
74% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (19 reviews)

Cleanliness 4 stars
Entertainment 4 stars
Food 4 stars
Service 3 stars
Location 4 stars

Butlins Holiday Park Reviews

1/5
1
"disgusting"
mandy stayed at Butlins Holiday Park, Skegness, England in July 2013
For such a name as Butlins they need to spend a lot of money to bring it up to date. My apartment hasn't been cleaned since the place was built disgusting would never go again avoid, I wish could show you the photos horrific ,dirty glad i didn't have a toddler carpet was disgusting and bed of nails comes to mind avoid!!

Tour Operator: sun hols

Recommended: No
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4
"Way too expensive for what you get"
Kerrie stayed at Butlins Holiday Park in June 2010
We went to Skegness Butlins and we did enjoy ourselves. We stayed in the standard apartments and found them to be bright and breezy but most important they were clean, no complaints. Allot of people were saying how uncomfortable the beds were, all I can say is my bed must be bad because I had the best weeks sleep ever!

The food was nice and is all you can eat with lots of choice from soups and rolls, salads, pasta dishes, roast dinners and fish and chips all though it was repetitive. Breakfast was the usual full English, toast yogurts, cereals, fruit juice, tea and coffee.

The staff in the bars, all I can say there was more life in a urgent note, none of them really knew what they were doing apart from the one in the pavilion.

Entertainment was good ...
as I always find in Butlins. The only reason we went to Butlins this year was we couldn’t really afford to go abroad this year so opted for this holiday but to be honest the kids got bored with the fairground and once they had tried the go-carts at £5 ago for ten minutes well that was that! The fair had lost its sparkle altogether but our kids are teenagers and I think that why they got bored easily but all that said the money we spent and the cost of the holiday we really could have gone abroad for the money.

As I said we did enjoy our holiday at Skegness but I think our kids have outgrown Butlins. Would I go back? Yes but only if they lowered their prices.

Read More

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5

maxine gill visited the Butlins Holiday Park, Skegness in February 2009
cheap weekend away just right for kids

Tour Operator: butlins

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Harlowgirl had a holiday at Butlins Holiday Park Hotel in August 2008
Stayed in a silver apartment, half board. for one week from 08/08/08

A five minute walk to the beach gate, the top floor apartment was situated overlooking the sea.

Stairs leading to the apartment, and about 8 stairs leading to the actual apartment once inside the front door.

Two fair size bedrooms, clean, with one wardrobe in each, two bedside cabinets & a dressing table in the double, and one bedside cabinet with mirror above in the twin. One negative point was the beds...very hard & uncomfortable, never that bad even in the standard accommodation.

Living space compact with a tv, & medium sized kitchenette with cooker, fridge, microwave, toaster & table & chairs.

Double aspect windows, small one looking out with a sea view, the other end, small opening window & small french doors (with protective bars, so your kids are safe ...
when open !)..one fault...because the top floor french doors are smaller sized, they are in an alcove...both me & hubby banged our heads several times after going to open them as the alcove is almost eye level. & you forget you cant stand straight up ! All windows have restrictive openings for safety which you can open them out further if wished (but is safe so small kids cant do it)

Resort was clean, entertainment plenty. One gripe is that main venues are too small & you have to que for at least 1-2 hours for a table...we did this in shifts..or its standing room only.

Food was plentiful and nice...negatives are that from midweek only 1 manned ice cream factory was open leading to a very long que....orange squash ran out for 3 days & many of the toasters in the morning are rubbish ..white bread warmed up ! do your homework and look for the toasters which turn out better toast..& get that before you get your main brekkie...saves your egg getting cold !

Shows were good, but found illusion & magic acts were very intent on selling their wares after the show, & towards the end of the act would say something like \"Now kids...who wants a magic set ? \"

All in all a good holiday, a

Read More

Tour Operator: own car

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
3 stars

3/5
3

anonanon stayed at Butlins Holiday Park Hotel, Skegness in May 2008
Should be called Buglins not Butlins, resort was dirty and dinner hall was like an animals tea party, 6 out of 8 of us caught a terrible sickness bug and heard others talk of it aswell.

My sister-in-law has gone this week and had to come home early due to getting a bug the place is dirty and they can't keep bugs under control on the reviews people are reporting illness from as far back as 2005 any yet its still dirty.

The toilets in the entertainment bar were smelly and dirty and there wasn't much to do except drink and I don't.

Tour Operator: booked online
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

vickie had a holiday at Butlins Holiday Park, Skegness in May 2008
Had a great time at butlins went for the bank holiday weekend, the kids had the time of their lives, there was loads to do, they enjoyed all the activites, spent most afternoons in the pool, the only money we spent during they day was for the go carts.
We had breakfast and dinner included in our holiday this worked out to be value for money as you could eat as much as you wanted, so we made sure we had a big breakfast and that would do us for the rest of the day, kids were to busy to think about food.
Entertainment was great very child orientated, we found reds best of an evening and all enjoyed the shows.
My only gripe is that i would agree with others and the place does seem very dirty,especially the skyline area,i no butlins ...
operates 52 weeks of the year but i think the whole site and accomadation does reflect this and certain area could do with a good clean, our apart menr in cluded the bathroon and kitchen surfaces were clean, fresh sheets on the bed, but i don\'t no when it last saw a duster, the wardrobes were filthy, and we wouldnt even sit on the sofa that was disgusting!. they definatley let them selves down in certain areas.

Read More

Tour Operator: butlins

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Nigel + Samuel Lockwood had a holiday at Butlins Holiday Park in May 2008
Our apartment was old and very basic but was spotlessly clean. even had a fresh lick of paint.
one bedroom with a shower room but tidy and with all the facilities needed i.e tea/coffee making facilities and a large colour tv (even if you couldn\'t get bbc1)
channel 1 of the tv showed what was happening that day - very useful
The guest relations team were very good as they managed to get a message to me from my wife who was at home working all week and neded to get hold of me urgently.

Tour Operator: self

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

stampcollection stayed at Butlins Holiday Park Hotel, Skegness in September 2007
Stayed in Gold apartment
Novovirus outbreak reported the previous week. We saw no one being ill and did not suffer ourselves. All the areas were very clean and Butlins had obviously worked hard to clean everything.



Tour Operator: own

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
3 stars

5/5
5

JOHN, KATHY, JASMINE visited the Butlins Holiday Park Hotel, Skegness in August 2007
We visited butlins on the 24 august 2007 we stayed in a silver room half board. We stayed at lobster court and there was 2 clean and freshly painted rooms and a bath room that was spotless.
we were realy suprised at the amount of things to do on site,we went for three days and there wasnt enough time to cram every thing in. The resort is very modern with things to do for young and old the spa looked very nice and the treatments were a very good price. The the skyline pavillion is excellent there is an abundance of things to do.
The resort is situated next to a beutiful beach with bouncy castles for the kids.
The entertainment was excellent both for the adults and children the shows were very professional.
We went on a half board basis and the breakfast ...
time was 8.00 till. 10.00 and the dinner was 4.00 till 6.00 which we found to dinner to be a little early. There was a very good selection of food for breakfast,cereals,toast full english, vegitarian, fuit, tea ,coffee, fruitjuices etc.
Dinner was roast dinner, chips, breaded fish, spagetti bolognase, curry, choice of desert,kids choices,ice cream , tea, coffee,juice etc.
there was also a few different food outlets pizza, fish and chips, Kebabs, bakery, pancakes etc.

the town center is excellent, the beach is excellent, Skegness is a brilliant place lots and lots of thing to do and both butlins and Skegness are spotless. We will deffinately be returning to butlins it was excellent we all enjoyed it 1oo%

Read More

Tour Operator: own transport

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

The Reynolds had a holiday at Butlins Holiday Park Hotel in July 2007
We decided to book Butlins because, as the TV ads say \"Kids love it\". Well I can honestly say my 2 did.
The apartment was clean and well presented (Silver grade)with everything we needed ie beds and bathroom.
Food was alright, something for everyone.

Entertainment was varied, but queues to get into reds began at 515pm and it didn\'t open till six, and with the exeption of when Chico was on, we got a table alright going in at 7.

The only downside was the pool, while it was well equipped with slides etc, the changing area was too small and it only opened from 10-5.

All in all a good holiday and we may go again one day

Tour Operator: Booked Direct

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

2/5
2

norfolktraveller visited the Butlins Holiday Park Hotel in September 2006
Awful ...simply awful.

Apartment was not clean. Apartments above were occupied by loud mouthed people still screaming from their balcony at 3am and resort security did not do anything.

Not sure if the huge metal fence was to keep out non guests or prevent people from escaping.

Left early.....couldn't stand to stay another minute

Tour Operator: n/a
Review Rating

Cleanliness
2 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
3 stars

3/5
3

Taylor visited the Butlins Holiday Park Hotel, Skegness, England in August 2006
We stayed in The Turtle Bay Chalets, in Silver Accommodation.

This was adequate for us, the room was perfect for us, and our accommodation was ideally placed within the resort.

The only down side to our room, I prepaid for a ground floor chalet. Big mistake, wish we hadn

Tour Operator: Butlins Directly

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
2 stars

5/5
5

Mercedes had a holiday at Butlins Holiday Park Hotel in June 2006
I stayed in Gold Aparment which was Gorgeous Also you got to eat in The Yacht Club where the food was lovely. Although I went back for a Girlie Weekend with my Best Friend 2 Weeks later and went Silver which was just as nice and food was better, did book apartment and not a room though.

We basically paid a lot more for gold to get a maid you dont need and a 32\' screen and Dvd player (Never watched this the whole time was there)

The Entertainment at Butlins is Fantastic, my kids are 6 11 & 12 and they loved this holiday and No they didnt join the kids clubs either. Splash is Great and so is the Funfair Kids will love it here.

On my Girlie Weekend we went to Jaks everynite which was great and shots

Tour Operator: Butlins

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

D. Ellis visited the Butlins Holiday Park Hotel, Skegness, England in June 2006
We stopped in a self catering standard apartment, lower floor, on Ocean point.

The room was filthy, the carpets were heavely stained, the bathroom floor was brown around edges of utilities, the fridge was rusty,the pillow cases were ripped, and the rooms smelt heavely of smoking.

We reported this all to security, but were told to speak to guest services the next day. We wanted a refund so we could return home, but was told there was nothing that could be done till the next morning, and if we left we could lose all our money. There were also no rooms left to swap to.

We provided photos to show guest services, the next day, and were then moved, the only problem being it had spoiled our first night of a three day break!

Standard, means standard accoodation, not filthy!

Tour Operator: none
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

EMMA had a holiday at Butlins Holiday Park in September 2005
We booked Half board apartment which was a bargain, It was really clean but a bit of a difference to the silver half board we stayed in last time. We only booked standard.

Our problems started as soon as we arrived. I had paid to guarantee a low floor and they had put us on the 2nd floor. I had paid for a cot and they said I had not booked one.

We booked a birthday party for our little boy and we did not get what we paid for, we only got the basic party when we had upgraded to a better type. The highlight of the party was when the manager of the ocran drive restaurant told my partner to \"go cook your own food\" when he complained about no food being out and a 10 minute wait for chips and gravy amongst other things.

Tour Operator: THOMAS COOK

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Paul Carver visited the Butlins Holiday Park, Skegness in May 2005
The resort was well signposted and easy to get to, and helpfull staff on arival booking in was very easy and quite fast. The accomadation was very clean and well decorated.The food was well cooked and well presented with a good selection and the portions were as big or little as you wanted, the staff in the restarant were very helpfull. The entertainment was very good with very profesional entertainers, not as in the past when it was with Red Coats trying very hard but still the amateurs. The only complaint was the cost of drink and crisps ect in the bars this was very expensive , but the local shops and off licence do a very good trade out of it. but a very good holiday and yes i would go again.

Tour Operator: Butlins Direct

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

emma visited the Butlins Holiday Park Hotel, Skegness, England in May 2005
I booked this half board.

I was very impressed with the standard of the rooms but would definitely recommend paying the

Tour Operator: midlands co - op travel

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

jenifer stayed at Butlins Holiday Park, Skegness in July 2004
We stayed in a Butlins silver room, and we were very impressed with the standard of cleanliness that you find on arrival. The maids clean the rooms every day except Weds and Sundays, which is nice if you want a lay in.

The food is just lovely, I'm vegetarian, my hubbie eats meat, but is very fussy, and our little girl is perhaps even fussier, and we all found something nice to eat. Lots of choice. Breakfasts, bacon, eggs, sausages, hash browns, toms, beans, cereals, fruit juices, porridge, toast, everything you could ask for, even kippers some days, evening meals were brilliant too. I recommend that you try the vegetarian lasagne, it

Tour Operator: none

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

Harlowgirl stayed at Butlins Holiday Park Hotel in June 2004
We booked this holiday on site at Butlins the previous year. The promise was half price holidays, so we booked the same 2 weeks starting on the same date as in 2003.

It all started out fairly good. However on allocation of our standard room, alough clean, a disposable razor had been left in the bathroom, and the quilt covers looked worn and old, and had holes in them.

The food was lovely, and plentiful, however half way through the holiday I made the mistake for daring to ask for 2 hash browns one egg and beans, I was told that I could not have 2 hash browns as people were putting too much on their plates...well to a size 16 plus woman that is an insult.

On the Monday of the second week a family from hell moved into our row of ...
chalets, we had the both sides of us and they took up about 4 chalets.

They fought & swore, a kid spat in my then 4 year olds face. Nights were the worst, were all we heard was banging and crashing.

We noticed that there were new sideshows such as a bouncy castle and go cart things for kids (all payable) On one occasion there were kids vandalizing the carts trying to get the money out of them.

The entertainment was down on the previous year. We had kept the entertainment brochure from the previous year. It was all centered round Billy Bear. By the end of the holiday the kids were sick of him too.

One of the swimming pools has now been turned into some adult spa thing (now payable). The year before you could enjoy a quiet swim in peace away from the crowded waterworld.

One day we discovered that the pavilion had no entertainment because the floor was being dug up for the benefit of the higher paying guests in the summer a notice said "for your further enjoyment".

On most nights the entertainment finished by about 9 in the pavilion anyway, compared to the 11pm the year before. One night the show finished at 8.30pm. Disco music then was played for the remainder of the time. Most people got up and either went elsewhere or back to the chalet again.

On our first night, we went to Reds which also finished about 9-ish. We listened to the dj playing music AGAIN & he kept on joking about a colleague who had the runs, he kept on saying where

Read More

Tour Operator: Butlins Brochure
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
4 stars
Share