Image of Butlins Holiday Park

Butlins Holiday Park

2 of 2 hotels in Skegness

4 out of 5 from 19 reviews
Ingoldmells, Skegness, Lincolnshire PE25 1NJ

19 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    5
  • Very Good
    8
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Norfolktraveller
11 years 1 month ago
Awful ...simply awful.

Apartment was not clean. Apartments above were occupied by loud mouthed people still screaming from their balcony at 3am and resort security did not do anything.

Not sure if the huge metal fence was to keep out non guests or prevent people from escaping.

Left early.....couldn't stand to stay another minute
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: n/a

11 years 2 months ago
We stayed in The Turtle Bay Chalets, in Silver Accommodation.

This was adequate for us, the room was perfect for us, and our accommodation was ideally placed within the resort.

The only down side to our room, I prepaid for a ground floor chalet. Big mistake, wish we hadn
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Butlins Directly

Recommended
Mercedes
11 years 4 months ago
I stayed in Gold Aparment which was Gorgeous Also you got to eat in The Yacht Club where the food was lovely. Although I went back for a Girlie Weekend with my Best Friend 2 Weeks later and went Silver which was just as nice and food was better, did book apartment and not a room though.

We basically paid a lot more for gold to get a maid you dont need and a 32' screen and Dvd player (Never watched this the whole time was there)

The Entertainment at Butlins is Fantastic, my kids are 6 11 & 12 and they loved this holiday and No they didnt join the kids clubs either. Splash is Great and so is the Funfair Kids will love it here.

On my Girlie Weekend we went to Jaks everynite which was great and shots
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Butlins

Recommended
D. Ellis
11 years 4 months ago
We stopped in a self catering standard apartment, lower floor, on Ocean point.

The room was filthy, the carpets were heavely stained, the bathroom floor was brown around edges of utilities, the fridge was rusty,the pillow cases were ripped, and the rooms smelt heavely of smoking.

We reported this all to security, but were told to speak to guest services the next day. We wanted a refund so we could return home, but was told there was nothing that could be done till the next morning, and if we left we could lose all our money. There were also no rooms left to swap to.

We provided photos to show guest services, the next day, and were then moved, the only problem being it had spoiled our first night of a three day break!

Standard, means standard accoodation, not filthy!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: none

EMMA
12 years 1 month ago
We booked Half board apartment which was a bargain, It was really clean but a bit of a difference to the silver half board we stayed in last time. We only booked standard.

Our problems started as soon as we arrived. I had paid to guarantee a low floor and they had put us on the 2nd floor. I had paid for a cot and they said I had not booked one.

We booked a birthday party for our little boy and we did not get what we paid for, we only got the basic party when we had upgraded to a better type. The highlight of the party was when the manager of the ocran drive restaurant told my partner to "go cook your own food" when he complained about no food being out and a 10 minute wait for chips and gravy amongst other things.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: THOMAS COOK

Recommended
12 years 5 months ago
The resort was well signposted and easy to get to, and helpfull staff on arival booking in was very easy and quite fast. The accomadation was very clean and well decorated.The food was well cooked and well presented with a good selection and the portions were as big or little as you wanted, the staff in the restarant were very helpfull. The entertainment was very good with very profesional entertainers, not as in the past when it was with Red Coats trying very hard but still the amateurs. The only complaint was the cost of drink and crisps ect in the bars this was very expensive , but the local shops and off licence do a very good trade out of it. but a very good holiday and yes i would go again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Butlins Direct

Recommended
Emma
12 years 5 months ago
I booked this half board.

I was very impressed with the standard of the rooms but would definitely recommend paying the
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: midlands co - op travel

Recommended
Jenifer
13 years 3 months ago
We stayed in a Butlins silver room, and we were very impressed with the standard of cleanliness that you find on arrival. The maids clean the rooms every day except Weds and Sundays, which is nice if you want a lay in.

The food is just lovely, I'm vegetarian, my hubbie eats meat, but is very fussy, and our little girl is perhaps even fussier, and we all found something nice to eat. Lots of choice. Breakfasts, bacon, eggs, sausages, hash browns, toms, beans, cereals, fruit juices, porridge, toast, everything you could ask for, even kippers some days, evening meals were brilliant too. I recommend that you try the vegetarian lasagne, it
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: none

Recommended
Harlowgirl
13 years 4 months ago
We booked this holiday on site at Butlins the previous year. The promise was half price holidays, so we booked the same 2 weeks starting on the same date as in 2003.

It all started out fairly good. However on allocation of our standard room, alough clean, a disposable razor had been left in the bathroom, and the quilt covers looked worn and old, and had holes in them.

The food was lovely, and plentiful, however half way through the holiday I made the mistake for daring to ask for 2 hash browns one egg and beans, I was told that I could not have 2 hash browns as people were putting too much on their plates...well to a size 16 plus woman that is an insult.

On the Monday of the second week a family from hell moved into our row of chalets, we had the both sides of us and they took up about 4 chalets.

They fought & swore, a kid spat in my then 4 year olds face. Nights were the worst, were all we heard was banging and crashing.

We noticed that there were new sideshows such as a bouncy castle and go cart things for kids (all payable) On one occasion there were kids vandalizing the carts trying to get the money out of them.

The entertainment was down on the previous year. We had kept the entertainment brochure from the previous year. It was all centered round Billy Bear. By the end of the holiday the kids were sick of him too.

One of the swimming pools has now been turned into some adult spa thing (now payable). The year before you could enjoy a quiet swim in peace away from the crowded waterworld.

One day we discovered that the pavilion had no entertainment because the floor was being dug up for the benefit of the higher paying guests in the summer a notice said "for your further enjoyment".

On most nights the entertainment finished by about 9 in the pavilion anyway, compared to the 11pm the year before. One night the show finished at 8.30pm. Disco music then was played for the remainder of the time. Most people got up and either went elsewhere or back to the chalet again.

On our first night, we went to Reds which also finished about 9-ish. We listened to the dj playing music AGAIN & he kept on joking about a colleague who had the runs, he kept on saying where
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Butlins Brochure

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

What's nearby

Welcome to Holiday Truths

Register to contribute in our forum, leave your holiday reviews and enjoy exclusive offers from your favourite travel brands.

By registering, you agree to us sending personalised emails offering holiday advice and travel deals from our travel partners. By clicking Continue, I agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Statement.