Image of Thomas Bay Hotel

Thomas Bay Hotel

5 of 14 hotels in San Stefanos

4 out of 5 from 14 reviews
3 stars
San Stefanos, Corfu, Greece
Situated in the heart of San Stefanos village, the friendly atmosphere created by the staff at the Thomas Bay ensures a great holiday and many guests return here every year. The comfortable hotel is only 300m from the fantastic stretch of beach.

14 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    6
  • Very Good
    7
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Excellent!
5 years ago
Just returned from our 4th visit to the Thomas bay, needless to say the hotel is excellent. The food this year was the best it has been over the last 4 years. We will of course return next year.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Marilyn
5 years 11 months ago
We stayed half board and the food was excellent.The evening meal always had a Greek option which we took and we were never disapointed.The breakfast was my only disapointment as you got a minimum of two pieces of toast,Yoghurt with honey a glass of orange juice and a cup of coffee or tea.It was brought to you at your table.The rooms were clean,the hotel staff were very friendly,but one of the staff would walk round the pool area to make sure you didnt bring in drinks from outside,even water.There was entertainment on everynight with something to please everyone.The hotel location was excellent as no matter where you were you didnt have far to walk back to the hotel.I would go back to this hotel
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Debbie Spiller
7 years 9 months ago
Wow what can I say, this hotel was so clean you could eat your meals off the floor. The tradional Greek food was amazing, so much healthier than our processed foods. The breakfast was nice, fresh fruit was the best choice for me, you can have a cooked breakfast for 2 euros, which I had on the last day and it was lovely, eggs so fresh I am sure they had just been laid. The location of the Hotel is situated centrally so you are in easy reach of other Tavernas and entertainment if you should require it.
The hotel staff are friendly and spoke excellent English, we got to know the staff very well as they are very open, we had several Greek lessons as we wanted to be able to thank them in Greek, which they really appreciate. We are thinking about having Greek lessons in the uk so we can converse in the future. The hotel resturant manager always made you feel welcome and was always laughing and having a joke with you. Bar Staff delivered wonderful cocktails and loved to chat to you.
Entertainment was limited to Bingo, Karaoke, Quiz nights and Dancing but it made a change from loud nightclubs. The Bar staff and waiters even put on a show of Greek dancing which was amazing.
We would definetely go back to this hotel and would highly reccomend it to others.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Alison & Dave
7 years 10 months ago
I feel I must reassure people travelling to the Thomas Bay after reading the previous report and wondering if they were in for problems. The Thomas Bay is spotless, we sat by the windows for almost every meal, glad of the breeze through the open windows, and didn't see one dead fly. There may have been some on the surface of the pool but they would swiftly be removed by the delightful birds swooping once the pool was empty. We enjoyed most of the food on offer in the evening, even my partner who is rather picky. I do agree that I would have liked rather more typically Greek food, but the choice and taste couldn't be faulted. Yes the breakfast was rather sparse, but I frequently found myself amazed by the amount, and choice on offer for the meagre amount the hotel must receive per person for food and board.
Most of the staff are wonderful, and their English is superb, not just text book English but colloquiolisms as well. The Greek dancing on quiz nights is not to be missed.
We were however rather disappointed by the entertainment on offer, not just in the Thomas Bay, but in the resort in general,though the Condor over the road was good most evenings.
Safety Deposit Boxes were cheap, and being in reception, extremely safe, much better than the safes in the wardrobe I have experienced before.
All in all we thouroughly enjoyed the hotel but don't think we would return as we were disappointed by the lack of (advertised) watersports on the beach, though if we could transport the hotel to a different location we would have no questions about returning.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Barbara
7 years 11 months ago
On arrival at the hotel we were very impressed with the cleanliness and spaciousness of the reception & lobby area. Our room was also very clean but also very compact. As we normally go self-catering, which would include a kitchenette area, we found our room at the Thomas Bay to be rather cramped but that's a very minor point as we didn't intend to spend much time there. The staff weren't overly friendly to start with but as the week went by they were great fun and everyone staying there seemed to enjoy thermselves. Consequently we tended to stay in the hotel on an evening rather than go to local clubs which were 'dead' in comparison. Some of the hired entertainment was not very good but the waiters there put on some the of the best entertainment. Although I have said we wouldn't stay here again it is mainly because we prefer self-catering and the food covered by half-board was rather boring even though there was plenty of choice. By the end of the week we were getting rather fed up with potatoes or rice with everything. Also, I would have preferred a more traditional Greek menu whereas most meals were geared for the English.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Steve & Carol
7 years 11 months ago
This Hotel advertises a Continental Breakfast, however, their idea of a Continental Breakfast (for two people) is two White Bread Rolls, two slices of Toast, two small portions of Butter, two small portions of Jam and a choice of a very small bowl of (inedible) Corn Flakes or a bowl of Fruit Salad or a bowl of Yoghurt and Honey, a very small pot of hot water, two tea bags, two packets of Sugar and two little plastic containers of Milk. There are no fillings whatsoever for the bread Rolls or even something to put on your toast. The only thing you have is the Strawberry Jam. Where is the Eggs, Ham, Cheese, Salami etc?
You can however ask for a (what they call) a Full English Breakfast, this is extremely small and not worth the 4 Euros cost.
The size of the meals in this Hotel is ridiculous, they definately give childs portions. We thought it might have been a ploy by the Hotel management to keep the guests hungry so that you will eat in the Hotel at Lunch times.
The evening meals were always swimming in grease/oil, so much so that the potatoes were always grease/oil sodden, also there was always a portion of rice on the plate with the potatoes, we have no idea where they got that idea from, potatoes AND rice on the same plate. The meals were always tasteless and after a few mouthfulls at every meal you were totally bored with what you were eating.
We had no choice but to eat at other establishments every day to keep the hunger away, we could have ate at the Hotel, but the food was that bad we didn't want more than we had to eat on our half board basis. The food in this Hotel was terrible.
The dining room is a temporary type conservatory building, anyone with any sense sat down the middle of the room as there are windows on three sides and the window sills are covered in dead flies, if you sit near the windows you were either fighting off the flies trying to get at what small amounts of food you had to eat or you were baking in the sun which was coming through the windows because there are no blinds/curtains to shield you from the heat.
There are no fans or air conditioning in the dining room and the heat during the night time dinner builds up to a ridiculous temperatures.
Anybody reading this review is advised to sit towards the back of the dining room because the kitchen is open to the dining room and the chef comes out of the kitchen and stands at the door and chain smokes in full view of the guests blowing his smoke into the dining area, and this was always in full view of the owner who is always behind the bar.
There are also no insect repellant machines in the dining area.
The rooms in the Hotel are not a bad size, but there is no bath in the rooms, only a shower base with a plastic curtain.
There are no smoke alarms in the rooms (we thought this would have been illegal).
If the heat gets too much in the rooms you can ask reception for a fan for around 6 euros or you can have the air conditioning turned on for 24 euros , we thought this was pointless as the rest of the Hotel does not have air conditioning, so as soon as you left the room you would immediately break out into a sweat.
There was never any hot water in the room after 5.00pm, so it was always a cold shower before going to dinner.
The last thing to mention about the room is regarding the position. If you are given a room on the right hand side of the Hotel between the Hotel and the Barras Apartments you should ask for a move, as you will be continually woken throughout the night by the Frogs, running down the right hand side of the Hotel is a small river that runs right through to the beach. We didn't realise that frogs could make so much noise, aparently last year the frogs were gassed to kill them off, but this year nobody this has not been done so the guests will have to put up with the noise.
During the mornings on reception there is a young woman who has no time whatsoever with the guests, she is the most ill-mannered, ignorant, rude and aggressive woman we have ever known to work on a reception desk, everybody we spoke to said the same about her. The afternoon receptionist (an older lady) and the evening receptionist are both ok.
On our last day we were not going to be picked up until 6.55pm for transfer to the airport, we asked about keeping our room from 12.00noon until 6.00pm, we were asked for 20 euros, we thought that was a ridiculous figure for just 6 hours and declined the offer.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Kim And Pat
8 years ago
We have just come back from a fabulous weeks stay at Thomas Bay Hotel.

It is a superb hotel, the rooms are great, very clean with the maid coming in everyday and clean sheets and towels every day. The restaurant and food are spectacular, a choice of 4 starters, 4 main and several deserts with waiter service. The staff are the best, the pool area is great although we didn't go in as it was very cold.

I can't wait to go back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Derek/Tina
8 years 8 months ago
All hotel staff were 1st class. All meals waiter service with a good choice of menu, English breakfast 2euro extra.

Reception staff full of knowledge. Cleanliness A1 towels changed daily, bedding twice during the week.

Hotel location in the heart of the resort,5 mins.flat walk to clean beach,plenty of local shops,bars and tavernas. Really good thing not over commercialised.

Entertainment of some sort every night from outside entertainers to bar staff doing local dancing. We would certainly go back to hotel and resort again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Keith & Janet Dann
8 years 9 months ago
The food was excelent, as was the standard of cleanliness and hygeine at the hotel. The hotel is situated in the centre of the resort within easy reach of all the amenities, and just a short walk to the lovely beach. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The evening entertainment was O.K., but could do with having a bit more "Greek" imput.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Williams
9 years ago
What can I say I read the reviews before going and the Hotel lived up to them all.

The only tip I can add is as it is waiter service and a menu with three choices to get best choice go early other than that I cannot fault it at all.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: