14 independent reviews of the Thomas Bay Hotel
Address: San Stefanos, Corfu, Greece
Thomas Bay Hotel
Thomas Bay Hotel Location
Ranked #5 of 14 hotels in San Stefanos


4/5
Thomas Bay Hotel Thomas Bay Hotel is rated 4.36 out of 5 from 14 Reviews
93% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (14 reviews)

Cleanliness 5 stars
Entertainment 3 stars
Food 4 stars
Service 5 stars
Location 5 stars

Thomas Bay Hotel Reviews

5/5
5
"Excellent!"
Brian & Joyce had a holiday at Thomas Bay Hotel, San Stefanos in May 2011
Just returned from our 4th visit to the Thomas bay, needless to say the hotel is excellent. The food this year was the best it has been over the last 4 years. We will of course return next year.

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Marilyn stayed at Thomas Bay Hotel, San Stefanos in May 2010
We stayed half board and the food was excellent.The evening meal always had a Greek option which we took and we were never disapointed.The breakfast was my only disapointment as you got a minimum of two pieces of toast,Yoghurt with honey a glass of orange juice and a cup of coffee or tea.It was brought to you at your table.The rooms were clean,the hotel staff were very friendly,but one of the staff would walk round the pool area to make sure you didnt bring in drinks from outside,even water.There was entertainment on everynight with something to please everyone.The hotel location was excellent as no matter where you were you didnt have far to walk back to the hotel.I would go back to this hotel

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

debbie spiller had a holiday at Thomas Bay Hotel, San Stefanos in July 2008
Wow what can I say, this hotel was so clean you could eat your meals off the floor. The tradional Greek food was amazing, so much healthier than our processed foods. The breakfast was nice, fresh fruit was the best choice for me, you can have a cooked breakfast for 2 euros, which I had on the last day and it was lovely, eggs so fresh I am sure they had just been laid. The location of the Hotel is situated centrally so you are in easy reach of other Tavernas and entertainment if you should require it.
The hotel staff are friendly and spoke excellent English, we got to know the staff very well as they are very open, we had several Greek lessons as we wanted to be able to thank them in Greek, which they really appreciate. We ...
are thinking about having Greek lessons in the uk so we can converse in the future. The hotel resturant manager always made you feel welcome and was always laughing and having a joke with you. Bar Staff delivered wonderful cocktails and loved to chat to you.
Entertainment was limited to Bingo, Karaoke, Quiz nights and Dancing but it made a change from loud nightclubs. The Bar staff and waiters even put on a show of Greek dancing which was amazing.
We would definetely go back to this hotel and would highly reccomend it to others.

Read More

Tour Operator: thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

alison & dave had a holiday at Thomas Bay Hotel in June 2008
I feel I must reassure people travelling to the Thomas Bay after reading the previous report and wondering if they were in for problems. The Thomas Bay is spotless, we sat by the windows for almost every meal, glad of the breeze through the open windows, and didn\'t see one dead fly. There may have been some on the surface of the pool but they would swiftly be removed by the delightful birds swooping once the pool was empty. We enjoyed most of the food on offer in the evening, even my partner who is rather picky. I do agree that I would have liked rather more typically Greek food, but the choice and taste couldn\'t be faulted. Yes the breakfast was rather sparse, but I frequently found myself amazed by the amount, and choice on offer for the meagre ...
amount the hotel must receive per person for food and board.
Most of the staff are wonderful, and their English is superb, not just text book English but colloquiolisms as well. The Greek dancing on quiz nights is not to be missed.
We were however rather disappointed by the entertainment on offer, not just in the Thomas Bay, but in the resort in general,though the Condor over the road was good most evenings.
Safety Deposit Boxes were cheap, and being in reception, extremely safe, much better than the safes in the wardrobe I have experienced before.
All in all we thouroughly enjoyed the hotel but don\'t think we would return as we were disappointed by the lack of (advertised) watersports on the beach, though if we could transport the hotel to a different location we would have no questions about returning.

Read More

Tour Operator: thomsons

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Barbara stayed at Thomas Bay Hotel in May 2008
On arrival at the hotel we were very impressed with the cleanliness and spaciousness of the reception & lobby area. Our room was also very clean but also very compact. As we normally go self-catering, which would include a kitchenette area, we found our room at the Thomas Bay to be rather cramped but that\'s a very minor point as we didn\'t intend to spend much time there. The staff weren\'t overly friendly to start with but as the week went by they were great fun and everyone staying there seemed to enjoy thermselves. Consequently we tended to stay in the hotel on an evening rather than go to local clubs which were \'dead\' in comparison. Some of the hired entertainment was not very good but the waiters there put on some the of the ...
best entertainment. Although I have said we wouldn\'t stay here again it is mainly because we prefer self-catering and the food covered by half-board was rather boring even though there was plenty of choice. By the end of the week we were getting rather fed up with potatoes or rice with everything. Also, I would have preferred a more traditional Greek menu whereas most meals were geared for the English.

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

Steve & Carol stayed at Thomas Bay Hotel, San Stefanos in May 2008
This Hotel advertises a Continental Breakfast, however, their idea of a Continental Breakfast (for two people) is two White Bread Rolls, two slices of Toast, two small portions of Butter, two small portions of Jam and a choice of a very small bowl of (inedible) Corn Flakes or a bowl of Fruit Salad or a bowl of Yoghurt and Honey, a very small pot of hot water, two tea bags, two packets of Sugar and two little plastic containers of Milk. There are no fillings whatsoever for the bread Rolls or even something to put on your toast. The only thing you have is the Strawberry Jam. Where is the Eggs, Ham, Cheese, Salami etc?
You can however ask for a (what they call) a Full English Breakfast, this is extremely small and not worth the 4 Euros cost.
The size of ...
the meals in this Hotel is ridiculous, they definately give childs portions. We thought it might have been a ploy by the Hotel management to keep the guests hungry so that you will eat in the Hotel at Lunch times.
The evening meals were always swimming in grease/oil, so much so that the potatoes were always grease/oil sodden, also there was always a portion of rice on the plate with the potatoes, we have no idea where they got that idea from, potatoes AND rice on the same plate. The meals were always tasteless and after a few mouthfulls at every meal you were totally bored with what you were eating.
We had no choice but to eat at other establishments every day to keep the hunger away, we could have ate at the Hotel, but the food was that bad we didn\'t want more than we had to eat on our half board basis. The food in this Hotel was terrible.
The dining room is a temporary type conservatory building, anyone with any sense sat down the middle of the room as there are windows on three sides and the window sills are covered in dead flies, if you sit near the windows you were either fighting off the flies trying to get at what small amounts of food you had to eat or you were baking in the sun which was coming through the windows because there are no blinds/curtains to shield you from the heat.
There are no fans or air conditioning in the dining room and the heat during the night time dinner builds up to a ridiculous temperatures.
Anybody reading this review is advised to sit towards the back of the dining room because the kitchen is open to the dining room and the chef comes out of the kitchen and stands at the door and chain smokes in full view of the guests blowing his smoke into the dining area, and this was always in full view of the owner who is always behind the bar.
There are also no insect repellant machines in the dining area.
The rooms in the Hotel are not a bad size, but there is no bath in the rooms, only a shower base with a plastic curtain.
There are no smoke alarms in the rooms (we thought this would have been illegal).
If the heat gets too much in the rooms you can ask reception for a fan for around 6 euros or you can have the air conditioning turned on for 24 euros , we thought this was pointless as the rest of the Hotel does not have air conditioning, so as soon as you left the room you would immediately break out into a sweat.
There was never any hot water in the room after 5.00pm, so it was always a cold shower before going to dinner.
The last thing to mention about the room is regarding the position. If you are given a room on the right hand side of the Hotel between the Hotel and the Barras Apartments you should ask for a move, as you will be continually woken throughout the night by the Frogs, running down the right hand side of the Hotel is a small river that runs right through to the beach. We didn\'t realise that frogs could make so much noise, aparently last year the frogs were gassed to kill them off, but this year nobody this has not been done so the guests will have to put up with the noise.
During the mornings on reception there is a young woman who has no time whatsoever with the guests, she is the most ill-mannered, ignorant, rude and aggressive woman we have ever known to work on a reception desk, everybody we spoke to said the same about her. The afternoon receptionist (an older lady) and the evening receptionist are both ok.
On our last day we were not going to be picked up until 6.55pm for transfer to the airport, we asked about keeping our room from 12.00noon until 6.00pm, we were asked for 20 euros, we thought that was a ridiculous figure for just 6 hours and declined the offer.

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomsons
Review Rating

Cleanliness
2 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Kim and Pat had a holiday at Thomas Bay Hotel in April 2008
We have just come back from a fabulous weeks stay at Thomas Bay Hotel.

It is a superb hotel, the rooms are great, very clean with the maid coming in everyday and clean sheets and towels every day. The restaurant and food are spectacular, a choice of 4 starters, 4 main and several deserts with waiter service. The staff are the best, the pool area is great although we didn\'t go in as it was very cold.

I can\'t wait to go back.

Tour Operator: Thompson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Derek/Tina stayed at Thomas Bay Hotel, San Stefanos in August 2007
All hotel staff were 1st class. All meals waiter service with a good choice of menu, English breakfast 2euro extra.

Reception staff full of knowledge. Cleanliness A1 towels changed daily, bedding twice during the week.

Hotel location in the heart of the resort,5 mins.flat walk to clean beach,plenty of local shops,bars and tavernas. Really good thing not over commercialised.

Entertainment of some sort every night from outside entertainers to bar staff doing local dancing. We would certainly go back to hotel and resort again.

Tour Operator: Thompson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Keith & Janet Dann had a holiday at Thomas Bay Hotel in July 2007
The food was excelent, as was the standard of cleanliness and hygeine at the hotel. The hotel is situated in the centre of the resort within easy reach of all the amenities, and just a short walk to the lovely beach. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The evening entertainment was O.K., but could do with having a bit more \"Greek\" imput.

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Williams visited the Thomas Bay Hotel in April 2007
What can I say I read the reviews before going and the Hotel lived up to them all.

The only tip I can add is as it is waiter service and a menu with three choices to get best choice go early other than that I cannot fault it at all.

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5

Maggie Morse had a holiday at Thomas Bay Hotel, San Stefanos, Greece in September 2005
We found this hotel some 7 years ago and are now to return for our 16th visit.

We were completely bowled over by the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff, and one of our friends who is wheel- chair bound has been with us 3 times and has been exceptionally well catered for.

The hotel offers excellent value for money and the choice of menu is as good as anywhere - it is possible to have special diets catered for - you only have to ask.

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

martin visited the Thomas Bay Hotel, San Stefanos in June 2005
Just got back from this hotel, had a great time nice and clean well run and very friendly.

Some rooms do have aircon but tends to be only on rooms that get a lot of sun (this is payable locally at 6 euros a day) but fans for hire 20 euros a week. They do direct booking and when I asked was told rate of 50 euros a night which is for double room and half board.

Food was of a decent standard but a fairly limited choice 4 starters, 4 main courses and various sweets. Hotel is reasonable priced for snacks and drinks we ran a tab and everything we had to drink plus snacks, water and lunches came to 260 euros and that included wine at meals lots of gin and vodka and numerous cocktails.

The staff are ...
ultra friendly and cannot do enough to help and they seem to love their work and all join in the entertainment (kareoke, bingo, greek night and different quizzes, sounds a bit naff but was done well. We went out during karaoke and bingo but was always full when we came back)

5 mins from beach on a nice gentle stroll, nice pool at hotel and plenty of loungers.

If we go back to Corfu would definitely go back here.

Read More

Tour Operator: thompson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

Tony & Linda had a holiday at Thomas Bay Hotel, San Stefanos in September 2004
The Thomas Bay was a very nice clean couples / family Hotel, not so special in terms of the building, but very special in terms of the friendly staff. Nice rooms. No air-con - fan hire available. The Breakfasts are mainly continental type, but you can upgrade to full english for a small fee.

The tuna salad for lunch is recommended. The evening meals were ok and to a good standard - but to a price - so quite good but not great and yes I would eat there again. Good pool. Evening entertainment is friendly, feel-good stuff.

Karaoke twice a week and feels comfortable and fun. Greek night is very good plus quiz nights etc. Almost opposite the Condor Music Bar - so family entertainment easy to find. Well placed - 5 min walk to the beach, shops etc.

A very nice ...
Hotel that I am considering booking again this summer as I write.

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

a richards had a holiday at Thomas Bay Hotel, San Stefanos, Greece in August 2003
We have been to Thomas Bay 2 years on the trot and we love it there. We relaxed from the time we got there to the day we left. The staff are great,they make you feel so welcome, even the first time we went they made you feel as though you were old friends.

Its abditioning but fans can be rented at the shop next door. We are hoping to get a late deal for July 05, but if we don`t we are definitely going next year, can`t wait.

Tour Operator: thompson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars
Share