Image of Mimosa Hotel

Mimosa Hotel

40 of 49 hotels in Sidari

4 out of 5 from 24 reviews
2 stars
Sidari, 49081, Greece
Suits couples and families looking for a hotel close to the beach but also minutes from the centre of Sidari. The Mimosa Hotel was one of the first built in Sidari and is therefore situated in a prime location right in the heart of lively Sidari.

24 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    6
  • Very Good
    5
  • Good
    7
  • Average
    3
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Karen
Excellent hotel with friendly staff
5 years ago
We have just returned from a two week stay at the Mimosa and loved every minute of it and can't wait to return next year.

The food is excellent, a choice of four starters, four main and three desserts, with a mixture of Greek, English and a vegetarian option. Breakfast is a self service buffet, with toast, choice of cereals, Greek yoghurt, fruit salad, and two hot dishes which alternate each day, between bacon, scrambled eggs, mushrooms, tomatoes, sausages, fried eggs. The food always arrived hot and well presented. We did actually eat out twice on an evening, but only because the hotel is so cheap you can afford to sample other eating places, and we enjoy trying different foods.

The location of the hotel cannot be beaten, just a stones throw from the beach. If you leave the hotel and turn right you have the main strip with bars and restaurants, who all do lots of tribute acts and some of them are really good, leave the hotel and turn left you have Canal D'Amour with quieter bars and very picturesque scenery.

The hotel consists of three blocks, we stayed in the front block with a sea view, we never had an issue with the noise, as there are shutters on the balcony doors which are very effective at blocking any noise. The bars have to turn their music down after midnight and police do drive round ensuring this is done, we were never kept awake during our whole fortnight.

The hotel has swimming pools at both the front and rear of the hotel, and are very clean. We did prefer the pool at the back as it was more private and slightly larger for swimming. The pools were cleaned every morning.

The staff are just so friendly and helpful. We had clean towels every day and our bed was changed every other day. The new entertainment manager was really good, we spent more nights in the hotel having a good laugh than we have ever done on a holiday. We even played bingo and won, which is well worth winning.

All in all, we had a brilliant time at the hotel and will be returning next year.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
5 years 10 months ago
I stayed at this hotel with my friend and her parents. It is a half board hotel. The food is good, you get a choice of 4 starters, 4 main courses and then the dessert of the day. The food was quite repetitive, during our stay the dessert of the day was Creme Caramel 5 times!

The hotel staff are absolutely amazing giving credit to the 2 Georges in the restaurant and the 2 ladies on reception. They are all very friendly.

The location is ideal with the hotel being situated directly opposite the beach and on the edge of all the shops and bars, although it can be noisy when you are trying to sleep.

The hotel do offer an entertainment programme but it isn't supported by many of the guests as the hotel is so close to the beach / bars.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Glenn Family
8 years 9 months ago
We booked this holiday as a late booking due to the poor weather here in the UK!!
The hotel was clean.
However the rooms are very basic.
There were 2 single beds and bunk beds in our room. Bathroom was on the small side too.
Aircon didn't seem to have a lot of power, which was extra as was the safe.
Food was not great, therefore we ate out most of the time.
I would recommend if you are using the pool area you purchase your soft drinks and crisps and snacks from the local supermarket. The hotel charge 1.50 euro's for a can of Fanta and the same for a bag of crisps.
The co-op around the corner charged 1.99 for 4 cans of fanta!
The pools were clean and you could always get a sun bed. If using the pool at the front of the hotel, you will get the sun in all areas at some point in the day. The hottest part is against the wall running along the front of the hotel.
The location is excellent, we had no problems with noise. The bars are forced to close for 10 days if they are found to be playing loud music late at night.
The beach is across the road and is great. Very shallow and we did see a life guard.
We found most of the reception staff are english and were helpful when required.
Waiting staff were all friendly.
Entertainment is not great, and they do all travel around the different bars!
This hotel is ideal for a week, I would not want to stay for 2 weeks due to the rooms being basic, and on the small side.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Carol And Family
8 years 10 months ago
we stayed half board at this hotel, the food was hot, there was a chioce of 2 starters 2 main courses and 2 puddings, this was all served to your table, not buffet style. stopped me over eating, the food was basic but we always found something to eat.the waiters were very nice, we left just one tip at the end of the holiday.
the hotel is kept fairly clean, although the mattresers were very stained, the bed squeeked every time you turned over, my son had to sleep on a very very old fold up bed.the balcony had not been brushed for a long time. the bathroom was basic.
we paid extra for the air conditioning, it was very niosy but did drown out the niose of the road at night.
there are 2 parts to this hotel the part above the reception has been refurbished, but the rest of the rooms are in need of some work.
the staff were quite nice and helpful.
the hotel is situated across the road from the
beech.
the entertainment is basic, but we found the entertainment better in the many bars.
i would not visit this hotel again unless it had all been refurbished.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Kerry
9 years 8 months ago
I must say looking at all the different reviews on this hotel i was worried but these fears where not not to have worried about!

I visited Sidari 10 years ago and I must say it has changed dramatically!! Very built up and commercialised if you want a more authentic holiday then I would recommend Kassiopi!!

The hotel itself was very very clean the maids were there everyday and very polite!! The bar staff and waiters were not the happiest Greek people I have ever met but then what do you expect when they work all the hours god sends for pennies!! Spiros the little waiter was lovely and also very good with entertaining my 3 year old daughter!

The food was either very very nice or not to my taste so a few nights we dined out but then that's all part of the holiday experience!

The pool at front of the hotel was cleaned every day and very nice!!

We paid extra for a sea view room and we did get it but it was directly above the hotel bar!! Very noisy and not the best with a 3 year old but we made the most of that situation!!

When out and about the town, the Three Little Pigs restaurant is a must and also Shakers bar - excellent for kids, there is a large play area out the back!! Also make sure you visit Cala d'amour it is a 10 minute walk and breathtaking!!!!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Jo And Maxine
9 years 10 months ago
On arrival was shown to a tiny room with a double bed, which was not appropriate for two single girls. Back at reception when we said that we were not happy we were promptly moved to a different room.

From there on in things only got better, apart from the air conditioning unit (for which you had to pay extra) which continued to leak all over the floor despite repeated attempts to have it fixed.

Food was ok, staff were very friendly and at the end of the day you get what you pay for and it was a cheap holiday.

Wouldn't recommend you stay here without a sturdy pair of earplugs!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Steph
9 years 10 months ago
After reading some of the reviews before travelling to Hotel Mimosa I didn't know what to expect as it was a varied selection of review.

Upon my arrival the receptionist was very unpolite and did not tell us when breakfast and dinner was, I just put it down to it being so late. From then on to me it seemed to get worse, the room was small and a tiny bathroom, when I got told it was only a basic room I didn't think it would be so literally.

The food at breakfast was a good selection I thought personally, thats if you like toast and English breakfast. For dinner I thought the starters were nice but didn't enjoy the main course.

The entertainment was aimed at the older visitor as there was bingo and an older comedian.

Also if you like DVD's and CD's you won't mind the street sellers that come round to the hotel while your relaxing trying to sell you anything and everything.

If you are looking for a cheap last minute get away this is the place to go but if you have been saving up I wouldn't recommend this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Mark & JacQui
9 years 11 months ago
A last minute deal, booked before I read the previous reports from 2005. I have always found the reports on this site to be very good.....but...I'm glad to say not this time.

We were in two rooms overlooking the fountain with the pool to the right and the sea about 100 yards away. We have travelled alot, including Barbados, and I can honestly say that this was one of the best value for money holidays ever.

The food, waiters, rooms and location were great. Mike the owner, Alan entertainment organiser, Stella on reception and George the assistant manager were extremely friendly and helpful. The waiters always had a smile, even at breakfast in the morning. If you wanted a full cooked breakfast is was
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Karen & Arthur
9 years 11 months ago
We did'nt expect much from this hotel after reading other reports on it, but I can only say, if you get a chance to stay there then go for it!

All the staff were really friendly and helpful, from the cleaners up to the owner. The hotel facilities are excellent and the food is lovely, if you stay half board, on the evening menu you have a choice of 5 starter, 5 main courses and 5 deserts, and there is something for everyone, from english to italian, and of course.. greek. If there is a night and you don't like anything, they will happily give you something from the main hotel menu.

We could'nt fault the location of the hotel. We are definately going back next year!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
KYLIE DAVIS
10 years 9 months ago
We went to the Mimosa for our honeymoon and wished we hadn't bothered. The evening meals were not good at all and often cold and if you are a vegetarian I think you would rather starve then eat what they have to offer. We didn't bother getting the breakfast there if it was anything like dinner not worth the hassle.

The apartment was ok for a base, apart from the cockroach nest in the stool. The bins were changed daily and the shower mopped but we had no clean towels or bed sheets for our whole stay.

The balcony was not that good either overlooked the miniature crazy golf course at the hotel.

I work for a travel agents and will definitely not be recommending this hotel to anyone.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: