13 independent reviews of the Stefanos Apartments
Address: Dimokratias 120, Malia 70007, Greece
Stefanos Apartments
Stefanos Apartments Location
Ranked #36 of 43 hotels in Malia


3/5
Stefanos Apartments Stefanos Apartments is rated 2.62 out of 5 from 13 Reviews
23% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (13 reviews)

Cleanliness 2 stars
Entertainment 3 stars
Food 2 stars
Service 2 stars
Location 5 stars

Stefanos Apartments Reviews

0/5
0
"Malia great, this hotel, not great"
Janay stayed at Stefanos Apartments in July 2011
I went to Malia in 2011 with 5 friends I and my friend shared a room in Stefanos and the others stayed at another called Pygros when I arrived I was asked to give my passport which I assumed would be given back the same day which it wasn't in fact not till the end of the holiday my friends in the other hotel had there's checked and given back immediately which I thought was odd.

Anyways the rooms when we went in were tidy however we noticed a few stains on sheets. The room was cleaned about once when we stayed there not properly either just tidied a little. We were given just 2 towels and because they were slightly dirty we were asked to give 30 euros which I was livid about.

Malia being a party island at ...
time we did come home a bit drunk and loud which did not go down well as the owner woke up shouted at us and threw a mosquito repellent can at us. I urge no one to waste money in this apartment I don't usually write reviews but I don't want anyone to make the same mistake we did, but overall though Malia is amazing!!!!

Read More

Recommended: No
Review Rating

Cleanliness
2 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
2 stars
Location
5 stars

2/5
2

Girl group holiday stayed at Stefanos Apartments, Malia in July 2010
As a group of 7 girls we felt stefanos apartments would be an ideal place mainly due to location and the fact we were told it was a 18-30s place.

However, as soon as we arrived we ALL were forced to give 50euros deposit incase any damage was caused to our room. Therefore all week we ensured that the room remained in the same condition. The rooms were basic and clean, although we had to hold the shower head ourselves but we wernt particularly fussed as it was all we needed to get by for the week. The cleaner comes in everyday but only emptys the bins, and only have one towel for the week.

The hotel staff were the huge problem, the security guards were very touchy and creepy towards some of us girls and made us feel uncomfortable and ...
tried to just get away from them. The manager and staff are complete cons and were extremely aggressive were they threatened to\'chop u into little bits and throw us out the hotel\' and for us to sleep on the beach as they said we were too loud at 12 at night, despite them all up in the loud bar next to us.. and when we arrived back in the morning. Of course we wernt the quietest but we were hardly loud at all but this was supposed to be a 18-30s hotel.

The manager had made us speak to him the next day and was very intimidating and threatning towards us, as we didnt want to get kicked out of the hotel we did not want to argue much. This occured every night were he said he nearly lost his job with all the nose going on which was a complete lie.

Anyway on our last day we heard other people did not get their deposit back due to the noise-when it should be based on the damage of rooms! also we heard that they even cut up peoples passports as they argued about getting the deposit back. Therefore, we didnt get our deposit back despite arguing about the fact they based it on the \'noise\' and didnt even check the rooms! but the staff were very threatning we decided we just had to leave as they could have been capable of anything!

Do not go to this hotel i warn u! the only good thing about this hotel was the pool area owned by an english guy who were lovely!

Read More

Tour Operator: co-op
Review Rating

Cleanliness
2 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
4 stars

2/5
2

cleaver stayed at Stefanos Apartments Hotel in June 2010
worse place ever ,you pay 50 euros deposit but no one ever gets it back we cleaned the room thoroughly cleaner than when we arrived excuse not to give deposit back was towel was slightly dirty and bin not emptied staff were agressive avoid this place at all costs even witnessed member of staff being beaten up which was very distressing for us and swore at by staff please please avoid this place cant believe travel companies are sending people there spoke to reps and apparantly this is normal for this hotel but seem people didnt want to divulge to much info about the place

Tour Operator: imperial travel
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
5 stars

0/5
0

catherine had a holiday at Stefanos Apartments Hotel, Malia, Greece in August 2009
*Admin edit. This review has been removed as it has been posted from Greece. To ensure our reviews remain unbiased we do not allow posts from the country where the accommodation is situtated.

If you are posting whilst on holiday please resubmit on your return*



Tour Operator: Thomsons
Review Rating


5/5
5

Hannah visited the Stefanos Apartments Hotel, Malia in August 2009
I Loved Everything About Stefanos its close to the beach its got a lovely pool area and the staff are so friendly. the malia strip is amazing, im defo going back next year. would recommed this to anyone

Tour Operator: First Choice Twentys

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

kathryn visited the Stefanos Apartments Hotel, Malia in July 2009
Ive just returned from stefanos 2 days ago. When we arrived instead of being greeted politely and made to feel welcomed we were brought to a very rude and agressive man who demanded 55 enuros of each of us as a deposit which was promised to be returned at the end of the holiday, however the majority never got this back for apparantly loosing a towel!!
the staff are rude and clearly dislike english people.. while we were out there they were constantly looking for reasons to take money of us. they were never polite or once asked us how are holiday was going.
We were give 1 kinfe, 2 forks and 1 spoon for a three bedroom apartment! in the 2 weeks we stayed there the cleaner never changed our sheets once!
However the pool is fantastic with a great atmosphere as ...
it is run by seperate english owners not the same people who run the apartments.
The location is brilliant however.. 2 mins from the beach a minute away from restaurants and the main nightlife!
Overall i had an amazing 2 weeks in malia, but i would not recomend these apartments to anyone.

Read More

Tour Operator: first choice
Review Rating

Cleanliness
2 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
5 stars

2/5
2

Katy had a holiday at Stefanos Apartments, Malia, Greece in August 2008
Where do i start with this appartments!! We arrived at 4am but Malia is buzzing so we unpacked and went into the hotel bar which wsnt bad, however we all sat outside chatting and were greeted with a scary rude security man who sat and starred at us until we moved.

When we checked in we had to give a 50 euro deposit each which we didnt no about. Also the hotel kept our passports and didnt give them back to us for the whole week.

Around the pool was fine and the staff at the pool bar was awesome!! But they dont really have anything to do with the actual hotel staff as they are owned by the bar down the road called squeeze..squeeze is a wicked bar, good 2 start a night out at, laid back, pool table, ...
indie club..met some wicked people there..

Anyway the maid at the stefanos didnt clean anything...she changed the bins once, and when your not allowed to put toilet paper down the loo that wasnt pleasnt! The sheets and towels were not changed once! Also the bathroom is like a walk in wet room but is tiny, the shower head you have to hold up yourself and you could pratically sit on the loo and shower at the same time!!

Seeing as it is a twentys holiday we were not allowed to make any noise!! we were shouted at once by the owner saying he was trying 2 sleep and the security guard came up to our room once and said to us \" if you make any more noise you will be sleeping in bits\"!!!! NOT a nice guy!

When we checked out they kept 20 euros from our 150 deposit because one of the towels had supposedly gone missing which it hadnt. So when they go to check the rooms go with them!!

As we had to check out at 11am and our transfer wasnt till 11.45 we had to sit with our suitcases all day, this annoyed the manager.

I definatly would NOT recomend this hotel.

Read More

Tour Operator: First choice
Review Rating

Cleanliness
2 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

Laura visited the Stefanos Apartments, Malia, Greece in July 2008
Arrived at hotel we were put in a tiny room with no balcony just a window that looked out onto a corridor! we were surpose 2 have a room with a balcony!
Sheets & Towels were changed 2days before we came home they are surpose to be changed twice a week! we got 20e taken off us for having a dirty towel when we left!
Had 2 pay to lay around the pool in the day! Its a 2wentys hotel and you had to pay 30euros to have anyone back, wernt allowed in hotel if u were paraletic & u wernt allowed to make any noise whne you came in at night! Its a 2wentys hotel what do they expect??
air con is 50euro a week, saftey deposit box is in recpetion whats always open also have to pay 50 euros each deposit on arrival!


Tour Operator: First choice (2wentys)
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

Emma visited the Stefanos Apartments, Malia, Greece in July 2008
Well...I have never ever stayed in a worse place! The staff are rude and obnoxious and they do not care at all, considering this was a 2wentys holiday and i dont think there was anyone there over 21, we was not alowed to make any noise. Me and my friend got kicked out twice in one week all because we were drunk and made a bit of noise..even though everyone was awake anyway because they had all just got back from a night out. The security guard made us sleep on the beach..YES the beach. We had to give a 100 euro deposit at the beggining and onlyy got 40 euros back at the end because they charged us 60 euros for 4 dirty towels. The maid came in every day but i dont actually think she did anything because ...
our sheets didnt get changed, our towels wernt changed and the floors wernt washed. They didnt give us any basics at all including toilet roll??? a cloth to washup?? kettle?? teatowel?? we had 1 fork for the 2 of us and 1 bowl...we had a stupid little bed pushed together to make a double which lets face it, wasnt very comfortable...O and if you met a guy or girl on a night out, you couldnt take them back to your room (considdering it was a 2wentys holiday) else you were charger 30 euros...for tax reasons. The apartments are the worst ive ever seen and they just rip you off big time!

Read More

Tour Operator: First choice - 2wentys
Review Rating

Cleanliness
2 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

bear had a holiday at Stefanos Apartments Hotel, Malia in July 2008
where do i start? we arrived at about 6 in the morning.. we were greeted with a lovely welcome. the men carried our bags to our room. we had to pay 50 euros for deposit each incase we broke anything which i thought fair enough.

the rooms were pretty basic... big enough for 2. with the kitchen we got 1fork 2knives and a spoon with 1 bowl and 2 plates?! bit random. nothing to clean or dry up with. no toilet paper. the towels were disgusting and dirty when we arrived. we didn't use these except for drying up. we didn't bother getting air conditioning as it was another lot of money and to be fair it was quite cool when we left the balcony door open.

the pool was ok. but u had to buy a drink to sit ...
by it... not allowed to bring any of your food or drink down by the pool including bottled water or u get chucked out. drinks here were quite expensive..

the foods alright though. the girl staff were lovely the guy staff were not esp the PR. me and a friend got kicked out twice and got told to go the beach just two girls... just for coming out our room and being loud when everyone else is up? the beach is not safe at night. if u do get kicked out (i hope u don't) do not sleep on the beach. at least go to the beach and go for a swim but don't shut ur eyes for one second! anyways the bar down stairs is quite alright and the town itself is amazing!!!

the people are lovely and you will have a wicked night no matter what mood ur in. it is LUSH! the beach is alright. but if u go further up to the dark blue sunbeds then u can sit on them for free instead of paying 3 euros. the 20\'s package deal is a rip off. the Malia mile u don't need to do because u can just tag along. the booze cruise isn't all that either as u have nowhere to sit. the safety box is in the little hut office so i wouldn't trust it. men beware because u will get chased by a laser gun if u cause mischief.

if u can find another hotel to stay in i would recommend it soo much. if this is the last place on earth then just be careful and make sure by the end of ur holiday that ur rooms - walls are clean and towels are cleanish and no glass bottles or nothing broken or missing and u will hopefully get ur deposit back in full.if u don't pay they wont give ur passports bk or they call police and say ur doing drugs. overall Malia awesome.

Read More

Tour Operator: first choice
Review Rating

Cleanliness
2 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
5 stars

2/5
2

Sarah Smith visited the Stefanos Apartments in July 2008
When we first arrived we were greeted by some \'over-friendly\' who were basically just pervy PR\'s who worked in the hotel bar. Our passports were taken along with a 50 Euro deposit, which never found its way back to us.
The rooms were tiny, with hardly any facilities. We had a bowl and a spoon, no pots or pans to cook anything with. The bathroom...well..you could shower and use the loo at the same time! It was like a tiny walk in shower...with a loo and a sink in it! Oh and also you have to buy your own toilet roll. You have to pay a ridiculous amount for air con...so we ended up covered in bites from havin to leave the door open! The maid comes in about 2 hours after you have just got to sleep! She changed the ...
bins weekly and our sheets and towels never got changed for our 2 week stay...and then we got charged at the end for having dirty towels!

The pool is about the size of my bathroom tub..the higlight of the entertainment was the slippery pole above the pool...Oh and don\'t forget the music that was blasted into out ears. It was repeated the same everyday...but if you wanna hear song about
******* a dog in the *** repeatdly thats fine! We thought it would be alrite because we could just listen to our ipods...but this isn\'t allowed! Also if you bring your own drinks in from the shop they will get thrown over the wall! Because they want to make money from their own bar.

If you want to get along with the hotel staff you have to drink in the hotel bar (Electrabar) which was pricey and quite frankly not very good. Because we decided not to drink at the bar for a few nights we were rudely treated.

The security guard was some huge scary greek man who wouldnt let anyone into you room...and would come up into your room and shout at you if you made too much noise (considering its a twenties hotel you would have thought they would expect a bit of noise).

On leaving we were left to carry our suitcases down three flights or stairs on our own. Because we basically had no maid we were had to frantically clean our rooms the night before ready to be \'inspected\' in the morning. When our rooms got inspected we were expected to pay money on top of our deposit because our towels were dirty. We ended up having a huge argument with the hotel manager, where he got quite aggressive at swore at us...at this point we just wanted to leave..and we had no choice to pay as they had our passports.

We are just a group of young girls who were out for a good time, we are not particularly fussed about the hotel but this was a joke!

Apart from this hotel we had a wiked time! Make sure you eat at Red Lion, Sirtaki, and sticky fingers...and you have to go to the all you can eat all you can drink chinese/indian buffet...the foods not amazin but its alot of fun! The best clubs are Zig-Zag, candy and if you like a bit of bump and grrrrrrrind check out Apollo!

Malias a great destination but just dont stay at this hotel!!!!!!!!

Read More

Tour Operator: Firstchoice
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
4 stars

5/5
5

lee visited the Stefanos Apartments Hotel, Malia, Greece in June 2007
Stefanos Apartments are bloody brillient!!!

Yes some of the rooms are quiet small but when your trying to fit 30000 people into one strip of bars and hotels they have to be!!
But remember if your in the room for more than 3 hours a day then may i recomend blackpool, i hear its nice this time of year

The pool bar crazy is brill!! The Staff are friendly and they have a laugh. Slippery pole comp every day, flowing beer, plenty on show (for the lads) and on a night one the best bars on the stip at your door step \'Electra\'!! This is run by the hotel and the mananger is well a nutter!! He\'s the star of the holiday. Start your night year, leave drunk and head off down the strip.

I\'m going back next year it was that ...
good.

Remember though its a twenties hotel and the reps will try to rip you off so you just have to learn to say no

I give this one a 9/10

Read More

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Katharine had a holiday at Stefanos Apartments in September 2005
Room was absolutely tiny and had a tiny bathroom bedding or towels never got changed and there was one plug.

The staff were great but the room was just too basic and cramped not a good place for lots of girls getting ready!

Would not go back.

Tour Operator: Thomas cook/2wentys

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars
Share