Image of Skala

Skala Holidays

4 out of 5 from 57 reviews

Hotels in Skala, Greece

Image of Aeolos Beach Hotel
3 of 19 hotels in Skala
1 Review
Image of Anassa Hotel
1 of 19 hotels in Skala
3 Reviews
Image of Apollo Apartments
13 of 19 hotels in Skala
1 Review
Image of Apostolata Island Resort & Spa Hotel
18 of 19 hotels in Skala
2 Reviews
Image of Asteris Aparthotel
6 of 19 hotels in Skala
2 Reviews
Image of Captains House Hotel
2 of 19 hotels in Skala
2 Reviews
Image of Elisa Apartments
3 of 19 hotels in Skala
1 Review
Image of Liana Apartments
17 of 19 hotels in Skala
1 Review
Image of Louis Apostolata Hotel
19 of 19 hotels in Skala
1 Review
Image of Melidron Apartments
8 of 19 hotels in Skala
3 Reviews
Image of Nine Muses Hotel
9 of 19 hotels in Skala
8 Reviews
Image of Nirithes Studios & Apartments
16 of 19 hotels in Skala
8 Reviews
Image of Paspalis Hotel
7 of 19 hotels in Skala
5 Reviews
Image of Pelagos Bay Hotel
10 of 19 hotels in Skala
13 Reviews
Image of Porto Skala Hotel
15 of 19 hotels in Skala
5 Reviews
Image of San Giorgio Hotel
5 of 19 hotels in Skala
9 Reviews
Image of Socrates Studio Apartments
13 of 19 hotels in Skala
1 Review
Image of Tara Beach Hotel
11 of 19 hotels in Skala
2 Reviews
Image of Zephyros Hotel
11 of 19 hotels in Skala
2 Reviews

57 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    11
  • Very Good
    30
  • Good
    13
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Eating Out
  • Nightlife
  • Beaches
Jon Clark
5 years 8 months ago
Great resort, plenty of bars and tavernas, suitable for families and young and old couples alike.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
John And Julie
5 years 9 months ago
Nice beach and facilities.The beach bar was clean and reasonably cheap.The locals were genuinley friendly and helpful.There was entertainment but it was mainly from the hotels fronting the beach further along.The resort had plenty of restaurants and a few bars, most did english breakfasts.If you want a relaxing holiday Scala is perfect and one of the better resorts on the island.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Rachael
5 years 10 months ago
The beach is mostly shingle and shelves away steeply so not ideal for small children- it was however very very quiet- even in July. The village is cute- if a little british for our tastes- but has a great selection of tavernas and a lovely square and main road closed to traffic at night.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Chris And Donna
5 years 10 months ago
skala is really clean and tidy,well ,it is only used for 6 months of the year,beach is shingle but there are sandy ones if you want to look for them.entertainment is limited to a couple of bars,nero`s bar had a good female singer who seemed to have her own fan club!already looking to go back,fantastic weeks holiday.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Ackroyd
5 years 11 months ago
Every restaurant we ate in was spotless and we never had a bad meal.The beach was also spotless and the sunloungers were the most comfortable we have ever had. 2 sunloungers,umbrella and a table for 5 euros a day.
It was also safe enough to be able to leave your gear there whilst you went for lunch without the threat of someone stealing it. Again we can not fault anything.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Djs
6 years ago
Suffering from all the road works at present! Get away from them and discover the real Skala.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Ann Harrison
6 years ago
Opposite was a very shingley beach, but if you walked along further it was much better, enjoyed our meals at all the restraunts, especially at Flamingos, the Lamb Shank was fabulous, not much for kids to do in the night, they did have a lovely childrens park, but our 8 year old wasn't very interested, they had a mini golf course which was always empty. Lovely place much better than Lassi, although being a wheelchair user I may be biased.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Jean Robb
6 years 7 months ago
The transfer from the airport took just short of 1 ½ hours as we were first taken in the opposite direction for 4 drops in Lassi. Skala is quite a large village with one main street and several narrow side streets. There are about 3 supermarkets, several bars and enough tavernas to last about 2 weeks. There are a couple of gift shops, 2 jewellers, bakeries, travel agents and car-hire agents. There is not much doing at night time although it was late in the season and some bars/tavernas had closed. The beach opposite the Paspalis is quite narrow and inclines steeply once you are in the water. If you go further up into the village the beach is wider and the sand looks nice and there are plenty of sunbeds.

I did a lot of research before going, trying to find out the most Greek tavernas. We thought the Paspalis was excellent.We ate there twice. The spetsofai was delicious, the stifado and the lamb in clay pot were great too. We went to the Apostolis twice, the waiter there was a lovely guy, very friendly and always shaking hands. The food was great and a bit cheaper than elsewhere. We were also given a free glass of wine each after the meal. The kalamari was delicious, as were the stuffed peppers.

We went to the Gougouris Grill as we had heard about the super gyros. It was very quiet, the food was good but he kept us waiting over an hour for the gyros plates while he was busy serving every Tom, Dick and Harry who came in for a take-away. The waitress eventually apologised, I think she was embarrassed. I can see he has to look after his regulars but we wouldn't recommend the place.

We also were looking forward to the Manolis Grill, which was very quiet. The service was very pleasant but again very slow and the food was unremarkable. Just a bit disappointing really. We have visited Greece loads of times and expect to wait but when there is hardly anyone in the place it makes you think they are taking the whatsit.

I had seen mixed reviews for The Pines and the fact that the special on Sundays was roast beef and yorkshire pudding put me off. Who the heck goes to Greece to eat that? Obviously quite a few people. Anyway hubby wanted to go there so we did and it was excellent. They had very nice table linen and we were given free water. The food itself was very nice and the service was good. I had the halloumi cheese and bacon starter and kleftico, hubby had soup and mixed grill. With the bread and wine the bill came to €33. You would have paid about £50 over here for the same thing.

I don't believe the Greeks have put their prices up, its just a poor exchange rate. The sunbeds were €6, ice-creams €1.50, large draught €2 - €3, spirits €4 - €4.50. Our evening meals for 2 courses each with bread and wine was from€25 - €32. Cheaper than some places in Greece I am sure.

We hired a car for 3 days from Greekstones and were very pleased with the experience. We paid €100 for a Hyundai Atos for 3 days. It was a new car and they really wanted to make sure we enjoyed seeing the best of the island, recommending the best places and showing us on a map where to park in Argostoli for free or how to pay for a ticket to park. They also explained the changed priority at roundabouts. It takes a while to get anywhere in Kefalonia because the roads are bendy and hilly. The scenery is fantastic though. Fiskardo is a long way but it was worth it. It's absolutely gorgeous if a bit expensive. We also visited Assos, Myrtos Beach, Aghia Efimia, Sami and Katelios. We thought Melissani Lake was a rip-off at €7 each so we didn't bother with Drogarti Caves. The waterfront and the shops were good in Argostoli. We also went to Gerassimos Monastery which was beautiful and the Robola Winery. The snack bar (Kastro) just outside the Castle of St George was the highlight of the week. The service was so pleasant and cheerful. They bring you water and the baguettes we had were superb at €4 each.

Kefalonia is a quiet island which we would hope to return to in the future and the Paspalis Hotel was good value.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Grahame Gould
6 years 8 months ago
Skala is a lovely resort and still very 'greek' there are lots of restaurants and small bars and plent of supermarkets for self caterers. The roads are not up to much, while we were there we had quite a bad thunder storm which left large puddles of water on teh roads, greek drivers don't think to slow down when driving through them so the unwary can expect a good soaking. The beach is shingle and pebbles so plastic footwear is a must to get in and out of the sea.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Luluyorks
6 years 9 months ago

Had fantastic holiday and have fallen in love with Kefalonia! Apartments just opposite Nero's bar so that's were we started every evening!
Had some lovely meals and the tavernas that stand out were Ta Pitharia, Mikelatos family and a little place that did the most gorgeous gyros plate- think it was Gourgios but not sure. Desserts at the Sugar Lemon are to die for! Skala beach is lovely, big enough to get your own little cove for the day or loads of sunbeds on main part.
Hired car from Greekstones and within 10 minutes of driving got flat tyre, Antonis was brilliant, sorted it in no time and couldn't do enough to help.
Loved Myrtos, Antisammos and Assos. Would recommend boat trip to Ithaka with Captain Vangelis, had fab day and kids loved jumping off boat into crystal clear water.
After driving round island im glad we chose to stay in Skala, theres just the right amount and mix of bars and tavernas. Beach was gorgeous even though you come out of sea on your hands and knees in some pebbly areas!
All in all we had brilliant holiday and would definitely recommend Kefalonia to others.
Louise x
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Recent reviews
Image of Pelagos Bay Hotel
Pelagos Bay Hotel
Skala, Greece
We will not be visiting again!
Image of Nirithes Studios & Apartments
Nirithes Studios & Apartments
Skala, Greece
Apartments were far enough away from resort to be …
Image of Tara Beach Hotel
Tara Beach Hotel
Skala, Greece
A basic Greek 2* at a 2* price. A wonderful value…
Image of Nine Muses Hotel
Nine Muses Hotel
Skala, Greece
This was the best holiday we have ever had.This is…
Image of Paspalis Hotel
Paspalis Hotel
Skala, Greece
Myself and my family stayed at the Paspalis in May…
Image of Zephyros Hotel
Zephyros Hotel
Skala, Greece
Good value and very friendly welcome from Andreas,…
Image of Anassa Hotel
Anassa Hotel
Skala, Greece
Wonderful hotel! Stayed here for 2 weeks in a sel…
Image of San Giorgio Hotel
San Giorgio Hotel
Skala, Greece
Stayed in apartments. Steep and lots of steps to …
Image of Apostolata Island Resort & Spa Hotel
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa Hotel
Skala, Greece
The hotel cannot decide wether it is All Inclusive…
Image of Porto Skala Hotel
Porto Skala Hotel
Skala, Greece
The hotel is in a lovely location overlooking the …
Other popular destinations
Image of Sidari
Sidari
Corfu
Image of Pefkos
Pefkos
Rhodes
Image of Stalis
Stalis
Crete
Image of Malia
Malia
Crete
Image of Kalamaki
Kalamaki
Zante
Image of Faliraki
Faliraki
Rhodes
Image of Kardamena
Kardamena
Kos
Image of Hersonissos
Hersonissos
Crete
Image of Kavos
Kavos
Corfu
Image of Roda
Roda
Corfu