57 independent reviews of Skala, Greece
Skala Location

4/5
Skala is rated 4 out of 5 from 57 Reviews

Skala Hotels

Skala Reviews

5/5


Freeps visited here on July 2007
Scala is a lovely resort very quiet and peaceful and just the place to chill out and relax, the beach is of a very high standard but the sea does get deep very quickly so be careful.
The transfer is about 1hr 30 from the airport but it\'s a nice trip which gives to a chance to see the island.
It\'s full of nice Taverna\'s and bars the only one we didn\'t like too much was the Chinese Restaurant because the Owner is the only miserable greek that you will meet in Scala, the rest are brilliant, our advise would be go without the chinese for the week and don\'t give him your money, he doesn\'t deserve it, if you do you ...
have been warned.....
To sum up Scala is a great little resort and i\'ll definitely be going back.

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
5 stars

4/5


Steve visited here on July 2007
Skala is a lovely place, there are plenty of resturants and bars but none of the usual Irish theme bars and other such trashy bars you would find in Faliraki and other places.

I would not recommend this resort for singles rather for families and couples.
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
4 stars
Hot Holidays

4/5


Fletcher visited here on June 2007
There are a few nice restaurants in Scala but the town is very small, expect to travel elsewhere if you are looking for livelier nightlife but there is enough to keep you occupied otherwise.
Also don\'t get caught out by the one cash machine that from asking around, never works!
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
3 stars

4/5


DANNY visited here on June 2007
A CLEAN RESORT WITH PLENTY OF NICE PLACES TO EAT AND DRINK. IDEAL FOR FAMILIES OR COUPLES LOOKING FOR A FAIRLY LAID BACK HOLIDAY. BEACH WAS VERY GOOD WITH SUN LOUNGERS A PLENTY, WATERSPORTS WAS EXCELLENT WITH DO NUTS, BOATS TO HIRE ETC...
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
4 stars

3/5


Ian Wilson visited here on June 2007
This was our second visit to Skala there is quite a bit of low key building work going on and feel that in a few years it will end up like a lot of other busy holiday resorts so go now. Watch out for the mosquitos as they will eat you alive. Take plenty of spray.
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
4 stars

4/5


The Simpsons visited here on June 2007
The resort is so lovely beacause of all the lovely restaurants that are there The pines was our favoutie the food is superb so is the wine list!!!
The puddings were to die for
Symposium was also very special the piano player was great and such a relaxing place to eat.
The supermarkets are great and really do cater for the British as its a british resort more upmarket British though no lager louts or rowdy people very classy
I think the resort caters for older people like the hotel which makes it a lovely peaceful relaxing holiday.
The beach is very long but is quite shingly we stayed by the hotel pool it was so nice.
A must is the glass bottom boat ...
there are many trips going to Zante. Fiskardo etc the guy who owns it is great and gives you a little commentry on your way to your destination.
Perfect holiday perfect place. Cant fault the islanders they are so friendly everyone has a smile for you.

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
5 stars
Beaches
3 stars

4/5


Jason visited here on June 2007
The resort mainly seems to be for couples and families.
Although do not confuse that with a \"Benidorm\" approach to family holidays.
The beaches are clean, spacious , clear waters with fish swimming around your ankles.
A great advantage to the town was the distinct lack of noisey bars and annoying teenagers trying to drag you into a bar .
If you are looking for an amusement park - loud bars and 2 for 1 drinks this is defiantly not for you, however if you are looking a peaceful holiday, ideal for younger children and couples i opt for here.
There\'s enough choices of places to eat , with local and British dishes on offer , a couple of nice bakeries and local super markets.
Entertainment ...
for children is there, just not on the scale of what you would expect in a \" Benidorm \" location.

I would visit here again without question

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
4 stars

3/5


John visited here on May 2007
Skala is a small resort with limited entertainment, but plenty of eating places. It was clean and well organised and there is a long sandy beach with beds and umberellas for hire. All the usual shops, an ATM machine and pharmacy. I prefer to be out of resorts so can only offer limited comments but overall it fealt safe and happy and seemed to cater for most tastes.
I would visit again, certainly to eat in any of the restaurants.
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
2 stars
Beaches
3 stars

3/5


3 girls and a boy visited here on May 2007
The resort of Scala is beautiful. You do need a car though as the whole island is breath taking. This was our second visit to the Island, though our first time staying in Scala. I would definitely recommend the resort. The beach was nice but too many cigarette ends for my liking.

We tried most of the Taverna\'s and restaurants down the main road and couldn\'t fault any of them, our favourites were down near the main square. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. We really enjoyed La Luna, Flamingo and the Pines, and the Garden Bar\'s chocolate cake! Though you could not fault any of the ones we tried.

Definitley ...
good idea to try and stock up at Lidl near Argostoli, things much cheaper than the resort supermarkets. Argostoli is really nice though not as clean as when we first visited 4 years ago, there is a lot of vandalism and graffitti. Fiskardo is gorgeous as is Ag Efemia. Try it for yourself, we were worried the children would be bored but they loved it too.

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
1 stars
Beaches
3 stars

3/5


Steve visited here on May 2007
The hotel is a very short walk to the centre,which is very clean.
There are no clubs or discos that I saw or heard just music bars,many good restaurants.

Pleasant if slightly stoney beach the hotel served drinks and food to you via a golf cart

Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
1 stars
Beaches
4 stars

4/5


robin freestone visited here on April 2007
Skala, is like it says in the brochures a little village. It has one main street with tavernas, supermarkets, little trinket shops and 2 bakeries.
It is so interesting because of its slow pace of life and the best bit??? No lager louts, no \'get your English breakfast or Sunday lunch here\' The supermarkets are amazing they are not the usual Spar shop. If you went self catering there is everything, everything you could think of in them and they are only small!!!
Most of the villages are like this. We are going again in May!!!!
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
5 stars

4/5


michael visited here on July 2006
The resort is nice but didnt take our breath away a little too commercialised, but we did go in August so it was busy as expected.

Entertainment wise very low key not for clubbers. The occasional English type bars mixed with Greek tavernas meant something for most people.

The beach was good we only visited it once, as we had young child and the water does steep down suddenly with strong under currents. The water is a nice blue with fish around your feet
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
4 stars

5/5


Kernaghan visited here on July 2006
Skala is a nice enough little place that is clean and tidy with quite a number of lovely places to eat and drink. It also has the usual shops catering to the tourist\'s needs.

Although we were there in high season, it appeared to be relatively quiet, which suited us just fine.

Skala beach is lovely and kept clean and tidy.
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
5 stars
Beaches
5 stars

4/5


Jacqueline visited here on June 2006
Skala is a lovely resort, very clean ,safe and it has a beautiful shingle beach.Lots of great restaurants to eat in and the night life is low key.It is best to hire a car to visit the rest of the island as there is not much to do in the resort itself, apart from the beach. The roads are all quiet and there are some beatiful places to visit, all within a short distance from Skala itself. This is the second time we have been and we will certainly be going back.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
5 stars

4/5


David and Valerie Bell visited here on May 2006
Everything being relative, Skala is an excellent resort for all ages. Probably the best on Kefalonia of the larger ones, as we had heard. We were allocated on arrival, and as we visited each resort by car later, we were pleased to have been given Skala.

Skala is a beach village with a centre unlike say Lassi which seems to be just a sprawl of hotels and bars. Within the resort there are no great climbs for the less able, and a quite attractive central piazza with plenty of seats.
Entertainment would be centred on the beach, which could never get crowded, and has good firm sand, unusual on the island.

It is easy to find your own private sheltered spot if ...
you wish, and several decent-looking cafes/restaurants just yards off the beach for lunch.

It is not a \"tacky\" place, relatively speaking, certainly compared with Canaries or Balearic resorts, though there is significant development of new accommodation going on, particularly along the coast road.
This is a prime area for tourist expansion, and the resort will be very much bigger in 10 years time.

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
4 stars

5/5


Jill Thompson visited here on April 2006
Skala is one of the prettiest islands I have ever visited. It is exceptionnaly clean and caters for most age groups. I would not recommend this if you are looking for a Benidorm style holiday as entertainment is very limited. We wanted a quite, relaxing holiday with bars and tavernas near to where we stayed and that is what we got. The beach is excellent and not overcrowded. The best thing about Skala is that is it unspoilt and you really feel you are on holiday out of the UK. No lager louts to be found anywhere! We are in the process of booking again for next year as we were that impressed with kefalonia.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
5 stars

4/5


Dave & Janet Brown visited here on August 2005
If like us you want a quiet, clean resort with qualty restaurants then Skala is ideal. If you want a bustling resort with plenty of nightlife then you will be disapointed. The organised trips around the island available from holiday reps or shops in the village are varied & good value. Otherwise if you want a change from lying by the pool at the hotel then the beech is clean with ample sunbeds & umbrellas (although there is a small charge for these)and the sea is clear and inviting.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
4 stars

4/5


Jill visited here on July 2005
The resort is normal for a small Greek town, loads of shops, Tavernas and bars etc.

Loads of choice for food, even a local take away if you get fed up with sit down meals...The beach is very very long and has the normal watersports and boat trips.

Take care if you hire a car as the roads are a bit on the dodgy side and the local drivers are a little mad - but then they know the roads and we don\'t.
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
4 stars

5/5


Richard,Kate and Thomas visited here on June 2005

Skala is a quiet resort suitable for romantic couples and families with small children in particular. There are a number of good restaurants including our favourite \"The Pines\" where we ate every evening.
There are a number or bars serving the ususal Mythos beer and a cocktail bar which serves both alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks. Children were welcome everywhere and most people expect to eat late so kids out and about at 11pm is not unusual.
There was one \"English bar\" which served John Smiths beer and steak and kidney pies to our disappointment. But no Mac Donalds or other chain restaurants evident to out relief.

Try the Kefalonian meat pie and cheese pies whilst there they are to die for but ...
heavy on the calories. What are holidays for hey?

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
5 stars

4/5


deborah steele visited here on June 2005
the relaxing town of skala is very clean quite a few bars &
restaurants all good food .
the beach was clean & quite long.
overall i find this resort very very relaxing & am able to completly recharge.
i am about to return for the 3rd year & cant wait.
having travelled all over greece i think i have now found my future holiday destination for the forceable future
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
5 stars
Quick hotel find:
5/5
Aeolos Beach Hotel  stars Aeolos Beach Hotel
The Aeolos Beach Hotel and Studios has a fantastic hillside location with stunning sea and mountain views that will make relaxing by the pool even more special. It has a modern and light atmosphere and is popular with couples of all ages.

Latest Review: Jun 2008

Ranked #1 of 20 hotels in Skala

5/5
Anassa Hotel  stars Anassa Hotel
Address: Skala Beach Παραλία Σκάλα, 28082, Greece

Latest Review: Jun 2009

Ranked #1 of 20 hotels in Skala

4/5
Apollo Apartments  stars Apollo Apartments
Address: Skala, Σκάλα, 28082, Greece

Latest Review: Jun 2008

Ranked #10 of 20 hotels in Skala

3/5
Apostolata Island Resort & Spa Hotel  stars Apostolata Island Resort & Spa Hotel
Address: Skala, Kefalonia, Greece

Latest Review: Aug 2008

Ranked #17 of 20 hotels in Skala

5/5
Asteris Aparthotel  stars Asteris Aparthotel
Address: LG/ Skala, Kefalonia 28086, Greece

Latest Review: May 2006

Ranked #5 of 20 hotels in Skala

3/5
Captains House Hotel  stars Captains House Hotel
Address: skala kefalonia, 28086, Greece

Latest Review: Jun 2008

Ranked #17 of 20 hotels in Skala

5/5
Elisa Apartments  stars Elisa Apartments
The Elisa Apartments are located just a short walk from the beach and approximately 1.5km from the resort centre. The rooms have basic kitchen facilities and some have a balcony or terrace. There is not a swimming pool on site but guest have the use of a few pools nearby.

Latest Review: Jun 2007

Ranked #1 of 20 hotels in Skala

3/5
Liana Apartments  stars Liana Apartments
The Liana Apartments are in a busy area of Skala and bars and restaurants can be found just 5 minutes away. There is also a quiet and relaxing beach approximately 15 minutes away. All rooms have a fan, basic kitchen facilities.

Latest Review: Jul 2007

Ranked #16 of 20 hotels in Skala

1/5
Louis Apostolata Hotel  stars Louis Apostolata Hotel
The Louis Apostolata Hotel is set on a hillside with some amazing views. Their rooms are well equipped and also have heat and air-conditioning. There are 2 restaurants, 3 bars and a swimming pool. 2 km from the hotel is the villa of Skala and a just further 1 km is beach.

Latest Review: May 2004

Ranked #19 of 20 hotels in Skala

4/5
Melidron Apartments  stars Melidron Apartments
These charming apartments enjoy an enviable setting just moments from the beach and within a short walk of the resort centre of Scala. Modern and spacious throughout, each self-catering apartment is comfortable furnished.

Latest Review: Jun 2006

Ranked #7 of 20 hotels in Skala

4/5
Nine Muses Hotel  stars Nine Muses Hotel
These attractive studios and rooms are set in a village style complex surrounded by trees. They are maintained to a very high standard and enjoy beautiful sea views, creating a retreat for couples looking for a relaxing holiday.

Latest Review: May 2010

Ranked #8 of 20 hotels in Skala

3/5
Nirithes Studios & Apartments  stars Nirithes Studios & Apartments
On the quiet outskirts of Scala, just a few minutes from the its beach and tavernas, this simple complex of studios and apartments offers good standards of accommodation and lies in attractive grounds, featuring a pleasant and relaxing pool terrace.

Latest Review: Jul 2010

Ranked #15 of 20 hotels in Skala

4/5
Paspalis Hotel  stars Paspalis Hotel
Address: Skala, Σκάλα Κεφαλλονιάς, 28082, Greece

Latest Review: Apr 2010

Ranked #6 of 20 hotels in Skala

4/5
Pelagos Bay Hotel  stars Pelagos Bay Hotel
Address: Skala, Σκάλα, 28082, Greece

Latest Review: Apr 2012

Ranked #9 of 20 hotels in Skala

3/5
Porto Skala Hotel  stars Porto Skala Hotel
Set in attrctive gardens with outstanding sea views, this recently refurbished complex boasts great facilities for adults and families. A short walk away, steps lead to a small, secluded beach, whilst Scala beach offering paragliding, and water-skiing.

Latest Review: Jul 2008

Ranked #14 of 20 hotels in Skala

5/5
San Giorgio Hotel  stars San Giorgio Hotel
Address: 280 82, Skala, Kefalonia - Ionische Inseln, Greece

Latest Review: Aug 2008

Ranked #4 of 20 hotels in Skala

4/5
Socrates Studio Apartments  stars Socrates Studio Apartments
The Socrates studios all have sea or mountain views and have been modernised. On site there is a taverna run by the owners serving many home cooked dishes. The beach of Skala is just a 10 minute walk away where you will find many bars and restaurants.

Latest Review: Jun 2008

Ranked #10 of 20 hotels in Skala

4/5
Tara Beach Hotel  stars Tara Beach Hotel
Address: Skala Beach Παραλία Σκάλα, Skala/Kefalonia 28082, Greece

Latest Review: Jun 2010

Ranked #10 of 20 hotels in Skala

4/5
Zephyros Hotel  stars Zephyros Hotel
Address: Skala, Σκάλα Κεφαλονιάς, 28082, Greece

Latest Review: Apr 2010

Ranked #10 of 20 hotels in Skala
Share