Image of Skiathos Town

Skiathos Town Holidays

4 out of 5 from 28 reviews

Hotels in Skiathos Town, Greece

Image of Alkmene Studios
7 of 11 hotels in Skiathos Town
1 Review
Image of Alkyon Hotel
4 of 11 hotels in Skiathos Town
2 Reviews
Image of Asimina Studios
2 of 11 hotels in Skiathos Town
1 Review
Image of Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
5 of 11 hotels in Skiathos Town
6 Reviews
Image of Costas & Mary Hotel
1 of 11 hotels in Skiathos Town
3 Reviews
Image of La Piscine Art Palace Hotel
10 of 11 hotels in Skiathos Town
2 Reviews
Image of Marthas House
7 of 11 hotels in Skiathos Town
1 Review
Image of Mouria Hotel
7 of 11 hotels in Skiathos Town
1 Review
Image of Oasis Studios & Apartments
6 of 11 hotels in Skiathos Town
2 Reviews
Image of Swallow Studios
11 of 11 hotels in Skiathos Town
1 Review
Image of Villa Ariadni Hotel
2 of 11 hotels in Skiathos Town
1 Review

28 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    9
  • Very Good
    16
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Eating Out
  • Nightlife
  • Beaches
Barbara
6 years 10 months ago
Skiathos town is a busy, cosmopolitan town during the summer months. Walking along the quayside in the evening is lovely as there are some amazing boats owned by the very wealthy. Many rich and famous people are often in the town. There is a vast array of tavernas and restaurants from which to choose. Our favourite, for a special evening, is the Windmill Restaurant. This is reached by climbing up a lot of steps but this is worth doing for the stunning views of the town at night and the harbour. Transprt to beaches is easy - there's a regular and frequent bus service and a water "taxi" which will take you to a number of beaches along the south coast. The lovely beaches on the north coast can only be accessed if you hire a car but this is well worth it.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Polly
7 years ago
We absolutely loved Skiathos, it was our second visit to the island. The previous time we stayed in Kolios and much preferred to stay in the town and catch the bus out to different beaches each morning, rather than stay out of town and try to catch the bus in for the evening.
The only downside we could say about the town is the motorbikes/scooters that scoot up and down the alleyways.

We stayed close to the top of Papadiamantis Street so it was very convenient for bars and restaurants as well as bus stop no 4 to get to the beaches along the coast.
We ate at some really good restaurants, including:
Asprolithos – great lamb/beef stiffado
Liminaki – Moussaka to-die-for

As it was only the second week of the season, a lot of the beaches didn’t have their sunbeds out – including Banana Beach.
So we caught the bus to bus stop 16 (Ag. Paraskevi) and went to the beach near the Skiathos Princess Hotel. This was very quiet and we were allowed to use the hotel sunbeds for free if we bought a drink or two – not sure that this will be the same at busier times.
The hotel’s own taverna wasn’t open, they were getting it ready for opening towards the end of our stay.
There’s a really nice taverna right at bus stop 16 called Orsa, we left the beach and had lunch there most days.
Great spag bol, Moussaka, soutzoukakia (although this came with frozen chips which was a shame), typically paid around €21 to €23 for 2 main courses, litre of house wine and a beer.

The town is made up of winding alleyways that are great to explore.

In town some of the bars were very quiet, we often had drinks at a restaurant called Dino’s which was smack in the middle of Pap Street and great for people watching.
The people who ran it were great.

We would definitely choose to return to Skiathos but would always want to stay in the town.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Aish
7 years 8 months ago
Skiathos Town is gorgeous. Loads of shops, restaurants and bars. One of the classier Greek islands and caters for all ages nightlife-wise. Lovely harbour for walks and there's the forest walk also, at the other end of town. Will be back for sure. Having been to more than a dozen Greek islands so far and enjoyed them all I'd certainly recommend Skiathos for a first time Greek island goer and for those who did the usual island hopping of the more basic islands in their youth Skiathos is the next step up.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Linda & Charles Kirby
7 years 9 months ago
Skiathos where ever you go is a wonderful island, the apartments are very basic, but very clean. The people in Skiathos are very friendly and I would go back there again and again. What a lovely place to holiday and wind down.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Hazel
7 years 10 months ago
Skiathos town is a great base to stay.Its easy to take a water bus or bus/taxi to everywhere from there.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Oneill
7 years 11 months ago
beach is clean not over crowded few tavernas on the beach just at the end of the beach there is a taverna that is very reasonable priced nice food at lunch times there are a few tavernas and bars couple of karaoke bars n one sports bar we travelled on 11th june its still pretty quiet but gets much busier in july august n september if you like a good meal n quiet drink you will love it here or a 10 minute bus ride will bring you to skaithos town that has everything shops rooftop bars and restaraunts selling fresh fish on the harbour overlooking the bay contemporay bars with beautiful leather settees and chandeliers you can sit in a little taverna and watch the planes land truly an adrenalin rush they practically land infront of you but be ware when they take off the engine blast can knock you over its a very small island but we hired a quad bike and went into the mountains beautiful scenary would definatly go back but the worlds a big place and want to see more of it
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Ebony
8 years 8 months ago
Skiathos is a fantastic island! It was our first visit and Skiathos had been recommended to us by my parents!
We stayed in Skiathos town, there are endless amounts of taverna's, all serving excellent food and lots of bars/lounges with comfortable seating, overlooking the old and new harbour!
There are so many beaches to visit around the island. We hired a 600cc crosser motorbike for the week costing just over £90, and what a great week we had!
There are so many car/bike rental places to choose from, or taxi boats are also a great way to travel...or if you don't fancy either of those, there are bus stops all the way around the island offering a regular bus service! If you collect a free Skiathos map from the airport, you can't go wrong!
We went on a boat trip for a day and visited some amazing places to swim, we also enjoyed wine and a buffet lunch. It was very relaxed atmosphere,there were only 10 people in total on the boat and we had a great time! We sailed to a beach that can only be reached by boat, where last week "Mamma Mia" was filmed!
We had great weather all week but on the last night there was a big thunderstorm, we had to run home in bin liners!
We visited both monestry's and most beaches, we would recommend Koukounaries beach for watersports! All are picturesque but some are easier to get to than others! The views are spectacular!
Skiathos is a very classy, traditional Greek island with lots to offer for all! Highly recommended!
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Mrs Helliwell
8 years 9 months ago
Food, restaurants, people and beaches were all excellent. The Roof Top Bar is a must. The owners are from Huddersfield? Very frienly and welcoming and love to chat with visitors from home and if you like John Smiths beer then definatley go there. Dinos is another must, such lovley people. Second time we have been although eight years inbetween visits but just as beautiful as I remembered it the first time. Wont be eight years before we go back thats for sure!
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Nigel & Joanne
8 years 10 months ago
A beautiful resrt & Island. We would not hesitate to reccomend Skiathos & Skiathos Town. Great beach (Megli Amos), Great Bars on the old harbour front & in the old port side of town (Rooftop Bar, King & Queen, The iold Port House, & also numerous resteraunts, Including Marias where you may have a wait for a table but the food & wine was excellent.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Linda And Geoff
9 years ago
The resort of Kolios is small, it was very quiet when we were there, with not a lot going on, some of the hotels and apartments were still closed. It was very handy being by bus stop 13, but because we went early in the season the buses were running to a winter timetable, but there is a very good taxi service which cost us 4 euros to Skiathos Town and 5 euros to Koukanaries Beach. If you stand at the bus stop the taxis just pull up and say 'special price!' The beach at Vromolinos and Kolios were a short walk away about 10 mins but no facilities early season. There is a nice walk around Kanapitsa peninsula by bus stop 12 about a 2 hour walk. The resort is approximately half way between Skiathos town and Koukanaries, making it convenient to visit anywhere on the island. We hired a jeep for 3 days, but wouldn't think this necessay in the main season when the buses and running more regularly. We would visit this resort again, this was our second visit to Skiathos.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Recent reviews
Image of Villa Ariadni Hotel
Villa Ariadni Hotel
Skiathos Town, Greece
Perfect for relaxing
Image of Costas & Mary Hotel
Costas & Mary Hotel
Skiathos Town, Greece
Cleanest hotel ever!
Image of Alkmene Studios
Alkmene Studios
Skiathos Town, Greece
We stayed at the Alkmene Studios in Skiathos Town …
Image of Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Bourtzi Boutique Hotel
Skiathos Town, Greece
Brilliant location with shopping, restaurants and …
Image of Oasis Studios & Apartments
Oasis Studios & Apartments
Skiathos Town, Greece
We actually stayed at the Sunrise Apartments below…
Image of Alkyon Hotel
Alkyon Hotel
Skiathos Town, Greece
The Alykon Hotel is in an exellent location just m…
Image of La Piscine Art Palace Hotel
La Piscine Art Palace Hotel
Skiathos Town, Greece
4* NO maybe 3* staff unfriendly, unhelpful, unles…
Image of Marthas House
Marthas House
Skiathos Town, Greece
Marthas House is located just a few minutes from t…
Image of Mouria Hotel
Mouria Hotel
Skiathos Town, Greece
The Mouria is a family-owned taverna located on th…
Image of Asimina Studios
Asimina Studios
Skiathos Town, Greece
We have been to these apartments 3 times now and h…
Image of Swallow Studios
Swallow Studios
Skiathos Town, Greece
The studios are on the front, just off the church …
Other popular destinations
Image of Sidari
Sidari
Corfu
Image of Pefkos
Pefkos
Rhodes
Image of Stalis
Stalis
Crete
Image of Malia
Malia
Crete
Image of Kalamaki
Kalamaki
Zante
Image of Faliraki
Faliraki
Rhodes
Image of Kardamena
Kardamena
Kos
Image of Hersonissos
Hersonissos
Crete
Image of Kavos
Kavos
Corfu
Image of Roda
Roda
Corfu