Image of Ioannis & Dannys Apartments

Ioannis & Dannys Apartments

7 of 9 hotels in Alikanas

4 out of 5 from 19 reviews
3 stars
Alykanas 29100, Greece
This complex is great for independent families and couples who want simple, friendly accommodation with an easygoing atmosphere. Peacefully positioned within an Olive grove setting, the Ioannis and Danny's is just 900 metres from the sandy beach.

19 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    9
  • Very Good
    4
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
BEEM
6 years 8 months ago
We've just returned from our 3rd stay at Dannys. The first 2 we really enjoyed.This time was spoiled when a pair of new trousers went missing from my wardrobe,I reported this to the owner who contacted the maid.She then escorted me to the room where the maid was waiting ,we looked in the wardrobe only to find the trousers had been returned and were scrunched up under my cardigan.I had only ironed them the night before and they were brand new and I would not treat them like that.Besides, my husband and I had emptied the wardrobe out onto the bed and they were not there.I was told by the owner I was a bad lady for suggesting they had been stolen and she got quite abusive,and made me very upset,I cried for a long time.
I always keep the same clothes I travel out in to travel back home, so on the night before we were due to return I looked for my t-shirt only to find it was missing.This was the only t-shirt I had taken ,all the rest being vest tops,and everyone had seen it on me when we travelled so there was positively no mistake.I never had an apology,but was made to feel I was in the wrong.If the trousers had been an old pair I might not have noticed and if the t-shirt wasn't the one I had used for travelling and I had taken more than one I wouldn't have known. I will never stay there again,I am disgusted at the way I was treated.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Sarah
6 years 11 months ago
I have just returned back from this wonderful part of Zante! These apartments are basic but the maid would come almost every day and the floor was always mopped. The staff were always friendly and I am sure if you needed any help they would be very obliging (although we didn't). If you expect basic facilities then you will not be dissapointed as the room has the beds, a small kitchen and a seperate bathroom. There is not much room in the kitchen area but you can manage for breakfast and making some rolls etc for dinner.

The location is excellent and only a small walk away from the tavernas, and one in particular is fabulous - Vagi's next to DNA, Nikos the owner is brilliant!

The area around the apartments are very well kept and colourful and the pool was lovely. Met some great people there and would definately visit again, in fact, looking for September already!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Graham
7 years 7 months ago
the apartment was cleaned once in the week i was there i had 2 clean it myself the rest of the week susan the bar maid was great but i wont comment on the rest of the bar staff i really didnt like them entertainment what entertainment are other guests talking about would go back but would go back to the resort which is beautifull i loved it just not this apartment and glad to say will be back just never never these apartments go give ita try but if you like to get out and about you wont fit in here they (the owners)dont like it and if you go after reading this then more fool you you have been warned.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Kim
7 years 8 months ago
we stayed at the ioannis & dannys i found the hotel very clean and tidy, the staff were excellent they could not do enough for you nothing was any trouble. the entertainment at Dannys Bar was brilliant something on every night from quizzes to pool competitions to karaoke so something for everyone. the greek night was brilliant and def not to be missed and only 7 euros you cold not ask for better entertainment and food plus the staff were lovely. so if your there pop in and have a drink with stellios, aphrodite and susan trust me you will def go back again.
i have only been home for 2 days and i miss the place managed to hold it together on my last night and didnt cry.
will def be back there next year just someone try to stop me!!!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Gary
8 years 8 months ago
the rooms were clean but very basic,towels changed 3 times a week and also beds,air conditioning fab,lovely poolside view,plus view of olive groves the other side,easy walk to the beach and close to all bars and restaurants,bbq and greek dancing on a monday night was well worth the 7 euros we paid food fantastic would go back any day.the staff were the best nothing was too much trouble miss them already.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
LINA JONES
8 years 8 months ago
We were a family group of 13. 11 of us (7 adults 4 children) travelled from Leeds,2 of our party had already been in Alykes for 2 weeks prior and were to meet us at our new appartment Ioannis & Dannys in Alykanas.

This was my 6th holiday in Zante (normally Alykes), we decided to try Alykanas for a change and hired jeeps so we could tour the island at our leisure and visit our many Greek friends in Alykes. Can i also point out that i love Zante which is the reason i have visited so many times and will continue to visit despite having a holiday from hell!!


After spending 2 weeks at the appartments i can honestly say i have never experienced such a stressful & dirty holiday!!

In all the previous appartments i have stayed at in Alykes the bed sheets and towels are changed every 2 days. The bed sheets were changed after the first 2 days and then they were left for 4-5 days. The towels on the second week were changed once, and so we were having to use the beach towels when showering.

The floors were run over with a mop, never were they swept and the balcony was only cleaned 3 days before we left - this was only because we were in the room when the cleaner arrived!! The balcony table and side cabinets were never wiped and had cup marks on them from the previous family who had stayed in the room. We had ants climbing all over our things and i had to buy some insect repellent and spray this everywhere in our room (including the shower tray, plug holes and around both doors). My daughter woke one morning to find ants climbing on her toothbrush (this was immediatley thrown away)!!! We ended up keeping everything we used for hygenine purposes in the fridge along with the food. My partner had been in the bathroom and noticed they had thrown bleach on the floor, he only noticed because it had bleached his socks. When i went in you could feel a powdery substance on the floor which must have been the bleach, it had not been mopped properly. Im just glad my daughter had not walked in there with nothing on her feet. She had a cut on her toe and i can only imagine what the pain would have been like if she had got bleach in it.

My brother and his daughter did not receive any clean towels or bed sheets until he mentioned it to the rep.

A few days into the holiday we were told that my 2 of our party were not supposed to be at the appartments and we had to show all our booking tickets and passports to the rep. This was eventually settled until the end of the first week.

Altogether we had 4 rooms, 3 booked in one name and the 4th was booked in another name. The 4th room was the only room that had not wanted air conditioning, we had paid for 2 weeks in the other 3 rooms which was 70 euro per room. After the first week we were then told 2 of our rooms had only paid for one week! Again we all had to go down to the shop to sort this out as all together we had paid 210.00 euro for 3 airconditioning units for 2 weeks. After explaining this in the shop they again said 2 of our party should not be in the appartments and again we had to go and get our passports and booking tickets. Our rep told us 'well im in the middle youl have to sort it out yourselves with the owners!!'.

We were warned about making too much noise and a rep came into our room and was extreamly rude. Saying if we didnt keep the noise down we would be asked to leave. This was on the second night!! The first evening 2 of our party had had a few drinks and were loud which we discussed and agreed to keep the noise level low. The second evening my brother had had words with his 16 year old daughter and she had stormed out of the room. After this we kept quiet and kept to ourselves.

What they didnt seem to mind was other families arguing in their rooms. They also didnt mind other families coming into the appartment block at 2,3 sometimes 4 on a morning drunk and making loads of noise. They also didnt mind the noise level from the bar at 2 and 3 on a morning. We were on the top floor in the appartments furthest from the bar and we could hear them.

We also reported to the rep that the owner had taken it upon himself to use his master key and go into our rooms whenever he wished. We were told this was because they thought we had 2 people in the rooms that had not paid and this would no longer happen. It would have made more sense if they had asked us and sorted the situation out at the beginning rather than just wondering into our room. One of these times my 16 year old niece and her friend were alseep in bed, luckily they were wearing pjs. Another time he came in when i had only just finished getting changed.

When visiting the shop my sister in law had yet another heated discussion with the owner, she had cashed a 200 euro travellers cheque and they had given her 95 euro short!! Luckily she had re counted this out in front of them before leaving the counter. They insisted they had given her the correct money, until she asked them to get the travellers cheque out and give her it back. They then gave her the other 95 euro. My niece also visited the shop and purchased a drink for 2 euro. She paid with a 20 euro note and they gave her 8 euro change, she also had a heated discussion until they gave her the correct change. This all happened in the first few days!! Then they tried to get us to pay for another weeks air condidioning that we had already paid for. My parnter went for milk, the lady in the shop insisted he had the incorrect milk and tried to get him to buy another brand that was dearer. Hence the reason that after the first few days we kept well away from the shop and took our business elsewhere.

If you ever stay in Ioannis & dannys and hire a car, Do Not drive through the front enterance where there is a sign that says parking. Make sure you find the rear enterance other wise the owners will make it clear it is not acceptable. We were told eventhough their is a drive way leading to the car park and a sign pointing you to the car park that says 'parking' on it, that we had to go round the back. This however did not stop the owners from letting all other cars hired by holiday makers drive through that way without batting an eyelid.

From the overall impression i received i would say if you are staying at the ioannis & dannys and are prepared to spend all day every day at the pool and spend your money in the shop, they go out of their way to make you feel welcome and at home. If however, you are wanting a more packed holiday and like us spend days seeing the sights, visitng the beaches they i would say stay clear as they will insist your a problem.

After all this i do have to say that the staff in the bar and the pool bar were nice and the pool is lovely. I do have to point out out though - steer clear of the free nuts from the bar. The bowls are re-filled every so often weather you have eaten them all or not. They are not re-filled with fresh nuts but with ones from other peoples tables, who have been eating them!! Not suprised some of us fell ill.

Would i return? Definately, as i said before i have lots of friends both Greek and English in Zante and i love the island. Would i return to Ioannis & dannys -definatley not!! Holidays are supposed to be relaxing, after all we work all year just to pay for it. A time for fun, laughter, relaxation with family and friends, not stress and dirt. If id have wanted stress i could have saved my hard earned money and stayed at home.

Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
8 years 8 months ago
I don't see how people can complain about this hotel. it was clean, maids in everyday. Pool area was spotless along with the rest of the hotel.
we went self catering altho you can have snacks throughout the day from the snack bar next to the pool, the food here was good and reasonably priced.
We couldnt have wished for a better location, 2 minute walk from all the bars and restuarants yet not right in the middle of town so you couldnt sleep, and the beach was only a 10 minute walk away.
The staff here couldn't help you more, they make you feel very welcome as soon as you arrive, the bar staff especially. The Greek night is not to be missed, its the best one i have been to.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Porter
8 years 8 months ago
It is the best place we have ever been to the only place we have ever been twice. We found uot our names in greek thanks to yanis and Louise and i hope we can come back next year love Rhiannon
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Ian And Sarah
8 years 9 months ago
good hotel staff more than friendly.entertainment got a bit boring after a bit. beware of the pool competition will be up until 5 in the morning if you are lucky eneogh to get to the final. overall good holiday but resort to small.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Kelvin Evans
8 years 10 months ago
The rooms were very basic as most are in Greece but were comfortable and clean.

Sheets and towels were changed three times a week. Pool area was spotless, cleaned every morning, good size and with a nice poolside bar for snacks and drinks.

Dannys bar was great and the greek night and bbq was excellent value. The on sight supermarket has everything you need and everything is run from here.

All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. All shops, bars, resteraunts and the beach were just a five minute walk away.

Having read many different reports on this hotel we were a bit worried prior to our holiday, but our minds were soon put to rest when we arrived.

We will certainly be returning to this resort and will stay at this hotel. check out www.dannyshotel.com.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: