19 independent reviews of the Venus Hotel
Address: Kalamaki Beach, Kalamaki 29100, Greece
Venus Hotel
Venus Hotel Location
Ranked #8 of 26 hotels in Kalamaki


4/5
Venus Hotel Venus Hotel is rated 4.16 out of 5 from 19 Reviews
95% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (19 reviews)

Cleanliness 5 stars
Entertainment 3 stars
Food 4 stars
Service 5 stars
Location 5 stars

Venus Hotel Reviews

4/5
4
"Chilled out "
Lyn Snart had a holiday at Venus Hotel, Kalamaki, Greece in August 2012
We have been to Kalamaki before and booked direct with the Venus hotel. It was very easy to book via e-mail and the hotel arranged transport from the airport. The hotel is in a spot just a couple of minutesí walk from the main bar/shopping area and ten minute stroll to the beach. The hotel is kept very clean and the rooms are big enough. As we booked direct, safe and air conditioning were included in the price. The buffet style breakfast was good and staff were happy to cook you an omelette or fried eggs when you asked. The bar snacks were very good and reasonably priced. If I have one negative, it is that the air conditioning was not always on in the bar in the evenings which made it very uncomfortable as the temp didn't drop much ...
below 30 even at night. Overall I would recommend this hotel but be aware that there is nothing for children other than the pool.

Read More

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5
"Highly recommend and will return"
shirley h and hubby had a holiday at Venus Hotel in August 2011
Well, what can I say? The Venus certainly lived up to its reputation. I did my research before going and the hotel was being praised to the hilt.

After a friendly welcome and swift check-in we were pointed in the direction of our room. We were on the second floor and as there was no lift my hubby lugged 2 large suitcases up the marble staircase. This was the one and only negative (if you can call it that) of the Venus.

I'd requested a double bed by e-mail and that's what we got, along with a dressing table, 2 bedside cabinets, a huge wardrobe with plenty of drawers and a TV. A hairdryer and tea making facilities were also supplied. We had a smallish balcony with table and 2 chairs and we looked inwards towards the garden.

The bathroom was well ...
decorated with a bath and over-bath shower.

We had to pay extra for the air conditioning, safe and fridge as we booked through an agent rather than direct with the hotel (we already knew this before hand).

Daily maid service was excellent. Clean towels every day and bed sheets every 3 days.

The pool was of average size with plenty of sun loungers available in the sun and under a nice shady area. You had to pay 6 Euro a week for the mattresses.

We regularly purchased lunch from the pool snack bar and the menu was really varied and the food delicious. The bar was well stocked and the drinks prices were the same as a lot of the bars in the resort.

The reception/bar area was large and airy and the hotel put on a variety of entertainment during the fortnight eg live singer, quizzes and bingo.

The Venus's location was spot on- just down a side street which led to the beach but not far from the main road which was lined with bars and restaurants.

If we were to visit Zante again, I would definitely stay in this hotel again.

I can highly recommend it, along with the loads of return visitors that frequent the place.

Read More

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5
"Excellent location, food and rooms"
Kevin & Helen Thomas visited the Venus Hotel, Kalamaki, Greece in August 2011
The Venus is located in an excellent position, down a side road off the main Kalamaki strip. The staff are very helpful & pleasant, and the comfort of visitors is important.

All public areas are kept spotlessly clean, and everything is well maintained. The rooms are a reasonable size, and there is plenty of cupboard and drawer space. Sheets and towels are changed regularly and there is a daily maid service. If booked through the tour operator then you have to pay extra for air con, safe and fridge, but if booked independently these are included in the price.

The pool area is immaculate with plenty of shade if needed. There is a charge of 7.50 Euro a week for mattresses for the sunbeds which are plentiful.
For Greece the breakfast is excellent, with bacon, sausages, eggs, pancakes, continental meat, cheese and ...
olives. Food at the snack bar is varied, and is served quickly. The bar is well stocked, and for a hotel, prices are competitive.

There is occasional evening entertainment, quizzes, bingo and BBQ night.
We found the Venus to be excellent value for money.

Read More

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Gayle Thompson stayed at Venus Hotel, Kalamaki in August 2009
This is our 6th visit to the Venus and it didn\'t disappoint. Booking direct with Nick is simple and straight forward.

The staff in the hotel work hard and this is reflected in cleanliness. They are a great credit to Nick

There is a huge choice at breakfast and the staff are always so cheerful. The food at the snack bar is reasonably priced and delicious.

The bar is where most people start and finish off the evening so friendships are made here and the atmosphere is great, as well and the fabulous cocktails. Donna and Spiro should be on stage with their double act!!

Looking forward to going back

Tour Operator: Independant

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Nikki visited the Venus Hotel, Kalamaki in May 2009
The Venus hotel had LOTS of \"fantastic\" reviews, and yes it is a lovely hotel and it is clean and the staff are pleasant but its no different to any other 3star hotels i have stayed at before.

The pool was nice, if a little cold in May!! Food was nice and reasonably priced at the hotel snack bar. There was always plenty of sunbeds, annoyingly though you have to pay a euro for each \"sunbed mattress\" that are quite clearly not new anymore!

The breakfast food and room were both very nice. Lots of food available and always being topped up.

The rooms in the hotel were very small and cramped and the balcony was also very small.

As a young(ish) couple i\'d say we were a bit out of place here, the other people staying at the Venus were either ...
older couples or families.

Wouldn\'t return for any special reason other than a cracking deal in price if there ever was one. Lots of hotels in Kalamaki appeared to be just as nice as the Venus.

Pleasent enough stay though.

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

phil visited the Venus Hotel, Kalamaki in July 2008
First time at this hotel, second time in resort. Booked direct, easier than we thought, gained 10% discount had aircon, fridge, safe free.
We thoughly enjoyed ourselves, hotel more central that previous stay at Bitzaro Palace.
We will certainly go direct again.
All staff we helpful, sheerful, even in that heat.

Tour Operator: direct booking

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

adrian markam stayed at Venus Hotel, Kalamaki, Greece in July 2008
booked this hotel private over the internet nick was right on the ball walk out the airport there was my taxi which is included in the price we booked a pool vue which was nice rooms clean aircon was good dident know it was on breakfast was also good staff was helpful food around the pool was fantastic i would recomend all people to book private at the venus hotel every thing is included aircon fridge taxi safe i must say nick is the main man at this hotel you doing a great job we will be going back to the venus in the very near future markham familey leicester

Tour Operator: private

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

margaret baker stayed at Venus Hotel, Kalamaki, Greece in May 2008
Excellent hotel with first class staff and management . This is our second visit and would always go back. Very clean and brilliant service. a magical place in paradise!!!

Tour Operator: booked direct with hotel

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

phillips had a holiday at Venus Hotel, Kalamaki, Greece in September 2007
this was our first visit to this hotel which we booked direct as you get all the extras in plus a members card giving you 10% of all you buy within the hotel. The membership is for life so next time you book direct you get 10% off
Nike and the rest of the team are there for you and try to solve any problems you may have. We only had to ask about changing our room due to the postion it was in and we were given another room else where in the hotel.
Breakfast is very basic but you can buy a full english breakfast for 4 euro and still have the other as well.
We would come back to this hotel when we can get some cheap flights.

Tour Operator: direct booking

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Gayle Thompson had a holiday at Venus Hotel in September 2007
This is our second time to the Venus and can\'t recommed this hotel enough.

We have now become Club members which entitles us to 10% off purchases and booking.

We had a triple room which was big enough for us as our daughter is only 8. Cleaner was in daily doing a great job. She always arranged: nightware, pillows and my daughters dolls differently each day much to her delight. There were more towels than you could shake a stick at.

Hotel staff were great. Poor Maria at the pool snack bar keep us fed and watered - not an easy feat as there was 7 of us altogher.

Nick & the reception team were brilliant as were Donna and Danny on the bar.

Tour Operator: Direct

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Sarah HT Admin visited the Venus Hotel, Kalamaki in August 2007
Having read many reviews of this accommodation, we thought we would try it for ourselves. This was our 4th visit to Zante and our 1st to Hotel Venus.

We had hired a car which we picked up at the airport, we arrived quickly at the hotel, parked and checked in, the check in was very efficient.

We were allocated a room on the first floor. Our room was an adequate size and spotlessly clean as was the bathroom. The shower was amazing, I don\'t know why we never get the same amount of water pressure at home.

Beds were comfortable, although my sons bed was a camp bed, he\'s getting a little big for camp beds now, at 15 he\'s 6\'2\". We hired the aircon

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Kaz visited the Venus Hotel, Kalamaki in June 2007
This is a first class hotel and one we have stayed in on many occasions.

Rooms are pristine and very comfortable and a reasonable size with a good balcony and loads of wardrobe space, fridge and aircon.

The hotel has been refurbished in the public areas resulting in a fresh and modern feel. Some rooms have been refurbished with the remainder due to be done in the closed season.

Food from the snack bar is excellent and reasonably priced as are the drinks from the bar. The pool is a great place to relax on those days when the walk to the beach is just too much to think about, although its only 10 minutes away.

There is entertainment which we usually give a miss as we don\'t like karaoke, quizzes and the like but a lot ...
of people do! There is a good singer mid week which was worth going back early for.

All in all we love it at the Venus and the friendly owners and staff make it feel like coming home each time.

Read More

Tour Operator: independant traveller

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Richard & Sue Clarke visited the Venus Hotel, Kalamaki in July 2006
Just returned from two wonderful weeks at the Venus.

The Staff is so friendly and will go out of their way to make sure you have an excellent holiday.

The room is above standard for rooms in Greece, and if you book direct you get Air-con, Fridge & Safe thrown in at no extra charge!!

Will be returning next year


Tour Operator: Independent

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

steve whitfield stayed at Venus Hotel in May 2006
Hi just returned from first holiday in greek islands. Thompson flight on time take off and landing. Transferred to hotel about ten at night.

Staff on arrival friendly and quick.Went to room second floor which was not as basic as previous rooms in other countries,tv tea coffee kettle etc. Room was clean and tidy.

In daylight the hotel looked even better, nicly kept clean and a lot of effort to keep a friendly touch. It was well positioned for shops bars and resterants a couple of minutes walk away.

We had a very enjoyable stay and look forward to returning.

Highly reccomended.

Tour Operator: thompson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Clare Haddrell stayed at Venus Hotel, Kalamaki in May 2006
Hotel was great for our long weekend stay. Ideally situated: only 5 minutes from the airport and 5 minutes walking from bars, restaurants and shops. Room was clean and towels were changed every day. Entertainment good (i.e. Bingo which we won!!) and the continental breakfast was okay. Hotel staff were really friendly. Had a good giggle with Donna and Spiro, hope to visit them again one day. Thanks guys for making us laugh!!

Overall, a really nice hotel with a good pool. Would definitely visit again.

Tour Operator: Thompson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Kaz had a holiday at Venus Hotel, Kalamaki, Greece in September 2005
We stayed at the Venus in June and September 2005 and had stayed there the previous year as well. We were impressed by the overall atmosphere of the hotel which is a credit to the owners and staff. The rooms are very comfortable and kept spotlessly clean. The staff are welcoming and happy to help in anyway. We are returning in 2006. We book direct with the hotel and it is a simple process which works well.

Tour Operator: independantly booked

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Helen & Jon visited the Venus Hotel, Kalamaki, Greece in June 2005
Have just returned from 10 days at the Venus Hotel - for findings, please read on:

HOTEL
The Venus Hotel was a very nice, relaxing place to stay. The staff are super friendly (particularly Nick), and they are more than happy to do anything they can to help you. Our room had a fairly dire view, but the service manager offered to change it for us after we got chatting to him one night - although to be honest we weren\'t fussed as it was nice and near to the bar!!

The rooms aren\'t as basic as some Greek hotels I\'ve stayed in. Our room was cleaned daily by a very efficient maid, and towels/sheets were also changed each day. We didn\'t need the air conditioning (end of June), but I suspect it would be a must come the ...
end of August. TV in the room was all Greek channels, and we didn\'t have tea/coffee facilities in our room, though I believe they are available on request (we weren\'t fussed).

The hotel doesn\'t have a restaurant as such, just the pool snack bar (open 10am - 6pm), which served very good food at reasonable prices, and a bar (open 6pm - 2am) where typical prices were 2 Euros for a beer and 2.50 Euros for a cocktail. Breakfast each day was buffet style, and with a choice of orange juice, tea, coffee, bread, jam, cake, ham, cheese, peaches, yoghurt with honey, cereals, sausages/eggs (every other day) or pancakes with syrup. We found the breakfast fine - you can pay extra to have a Full English if you want to.

The pool was on the small side compared to some hotels I\'ve stayed at, but on the plus side, it was very clean, and there was NEVER a problem getting a sunbed each day. The hotel kittens were an added attraction! The beach was about a 15 minute walk away, and the main Kalamaki strip was about 2 mins walk.

The only real entertainment in the hotel was the quiz night, the Greek night (good value at only 8.50 euros) and a karaoke night. This is a small run family hotel, and not really the place to come if you like to be entertained each night like in the large Superfamily hotels.


Only real complaint about the hotel was that it was rather noisy at night, due to various drunken people staggering in during the wee hours of the morning along marble corridors (why can\'t people be considerate?!). However, we had come prepared with earplugs, and so weren\'t unduly bothered by this.

MISCELLANEOUS

It\'s possible to book to stay at the Venus directly, via their website www.venushotel.gr. If you do this, you get safe, air conditioning, and fridge thrown in as standard. Nick apparently makes it very simple to book directly - and many people seem to go back year after year. You can even join Club Venus if you are likely to go back time after time, which qualifies you for a 10% discount on all sorts of things.


Overall, a good holiday was had by all, and we would recommend the Venus to anyone, so long as you don\'t expect 5 star luxury - this is Greece, after all!

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

Nicola, louise, laura, emma, becky and kate had a holiday at Venus Hotel, Kalamaki in July 2004
My friends and I, went to this hotel for one week. We were never up early enough for the breakfast, but on one occasion we tasted it and decided never to again! Although the food from the poolside bar was very nice and reasonably priced.

As we are only 17 we wanted to be in the thick of the action in the resort of Lagana of a night, but during the day it was nice to be away from all that in quieter Kalamaki! Lagana was literally a 5 minute cab ride away, and the cabs would always get to us within 5 minutes.

We had such a brilliant time in Zante and would definatley visit the island again. Unfortunately, we did not manage to see the infamous Loggerhead Turtles during our stay, but the excellent nightlife and glorious weather kept ...
us occupied.

One week is not enough time here, so I would recommend that you stay here for 2 weeks. The hotel staff were very friendly, especially Spiro, who we loved! Also Danny. Anyone who was staying here at the same time as us, will remember us and also our karaoke rendition of the Spice Girls on our last night! Some of the other hotel guests loved us, other didn\'t, but you can\'t win them all as they say!

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

0/5
0

georgeyb visited the Venus Hotel, Kalamaki in June 2002
We went to The Venus in September last year, and it was a pretty good all round holiday. Nice and clean and tidy, nearby to everything we needed. The only thing I might say is that the staff were a little miserable, apart from Ailsa, who was mega. Wouldnt rule out going back, especially if the staff could manage at least a smile!!


Tour Operator: Thompson
Review Rating

Share