50 independent reviews of Arpora, India
Arpora Location

3/5
Arpora is rated 3 out of 5 from 50 Reviews

Arpora Hotels

Arpora Reviews

4/5


Ang,Andy,Bex visited here on December 2007
The resort around the hotel is quiet but its not far to restaurants.The taxi rank outside the hotel will take you any where you want, Candolim has lots of restaurants and a lovely beach with a laid back atmosphere.Baga is buzzing with lots of restaurants, bars,stalls and beach shacks.The beach at Baga is great, there are lots of venders but a no thanks does the trick. Silver Sands beach shack is a great place if you want good food and service Sammy and John will look after you and keep you entertained. We went to Silver Sands last year and just love it when the sun goes down the tables come out and you can have a lovely meal under ...
the stars,it is just where the shuttle bus drops you off near Brittos. A good bar is Shooters on Baga road next to Subway have a good laugh with the lads,Christmas eve was great , fancy dress and fire works till 4.30 am!There lots of trips to do and most can be done independently and booking a taxi for the day.We booked a taxi to the water falls ,it is a nice day but a long way 2 hours each way,go on a Sunday when the roads are quieter.When you get to the jeeps there is only one toilet where a woman stands on gaurd when you have given her 10rps she hands you 2 pieces of loo roll (very annoying).Also the jeeps are made for 6 but like us only 5 on went on but we still had to pay for 6,all cameras and videos are charged for so just say you have 1 if you have more,The monkeys are cute and love being fed,not a trip if you have walking difficulties.Another we did was a boat trip from Silver Sands 10 of us went and filled the boat,went on to Arambol beach and had a mud bath(different to Turkish ones) had a meal at the shack sunbathed then on to Ashwem for a walk round,a really good day and saw loads of dolphins and fish.Goa is fantastic and i would recommend the Marinha Dourada to anyone,we are booking to go back next Xmas.

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
4 stars

3/5


Steve Thompson visited here on December 2007
Resort cleanliness was so-so, but this is Goa. Being here for Xmas and New Year we expected there to be a fair bit of noise from nightclubs. Baga has one of the better beaches in the North with a good selection of beach shacks serving reasonably priced food and drink.
Have been to Baga twice now and would have no problem with coming back.
Review Rating

Eating Out
2 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
4 stars

4/5


lynn mcdavitt visited here on November 2007
The hotel is in Arpora which is just about a 15 mins taxi ride from the baga or calangute beach 100 rupees, there is loads to do in Arpora some really nice resturants/bars and loads of fantastic place\'s in and around baga and calangute.
The beach was clean and loads of good waves. It was\'nt as busy with as many beach sellers as usuall, we kind of missed this, we like all there banter.
I can wait to go back 13 weeks and counting
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
1 stars
Beaches
5 stars

3/5


Matt visited here on March 2007
Anyone who has been to this part of Goa before knows that it is not a \'clean\' area as you imagine clean to be, please remember that it is a third world country. But, the people there do their best and whilst the area is dusty and there is \'dirt\' about this is what makes Goa what it is.

The beach is as we remember it, quite lively with people milling about and it is surprisingly clean considering the use it gets. There are of course quieter beaches to the north but we enjoy Baga beach due to the people there and we would really like to thank the lads at oceanique for a really good 2 weeks, they made us laugh!
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
4 stars

3/5


Scruffyish visited here on March 2007
Arpora village is not exactly a tourist resort, but I liked it there and preferred it to the coastal resorts of Baga/Calangute, there are a few general stores and a chemist and a surprising number of restaurants and local bars there. No nightlife as such (which suited us fine!) We particularly enjoyed our meals at All Spice, and spent many a lunch time at Starlight which is always packed out with locals, the food is simple fresh and very cheap and the staff are lovely. The nearest beach is Baga which other than our ritual morning walk from Baga to Candolim via the waters edge we didn\'t really frequent, it was too crowded for us personally but seemed reasonably clean for the amount of tourists using it!
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
3 stars

2/5


Jackie & Ken visited here on March 2007
Arpora is a quiet resort compared to the others, we have stayed at them all now. Apart from this hotel and a couple others there really isn\'t that much, so if you want peace and quiet then this is it.

The same goes for entertainment, apart from the music at the weekly market there is only Mojos across the road, which seems to be dying on it\'s feet. The owner never moves from the stool at the bar, the boys who work there are tremendous though.

As for the resort itself it would be the hotel that really attracts us if we decide to come back again.
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
1 stars
Beaches
1 stars

2/5


Dave & Claire visited here on February 2007
Apora has retained some original village feel despite having three hotels and several restaurants.
Personal favourites Starlight for Indian, Oven Spice for non Indian and liquer coffee !
The only entertainment is eating out or visiting the LaGoa Azul or Repton Manor hotels... personally I wouldn\'t bother.
The resort has less rubbish than other locations but it is far from spotless.
It\'s a good location to tour from and to visit the local beach resorts.Great location for bird watching too !
Baga and the beach is 45-60 minutes walk, Mackies market 20-30 minutes, Anjuna beach and market 2 hours. For the less energetic a taxi ride is quick and cheap.
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
1 stars

3/5


Mark Donkin visited here on February 2007
Arpora is in a good spot if you have your own transportation but could get a little tiresome if you have to get a taxi everywhere. Arpora itself has lots of good restaurants and little shops.

No beach in arpora closest is Baga about 7mins away on a scooter. I\'ll rate baga beach a 3.
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
3 stars

3/5


Gemma33 visited here on February 2007
The hotel is a short taxi drive away from the main hustle and bustle of Baga and Calangute. So the surrounding area is very tranquil and a spectacular setting. I much prefer this to being right in the centre of a resort. However, not far into the biz of Baga. Plenty of pubs and restaurants in Baga/Calangute/Candolim to enjoy. Taxis are plentiful outside the hotel to take you wherever takes your fancy.
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
1 stars

4/5


Jayne & Steve Smith visited here on December 2006
The beach was not on the doorstep of the hotel but you were told that in the brochure,but there were plenty of taxi\'s outside the hotel it cost no more than a pound to go to the beach. we chose to walk most of the time which took us about twenty minutes and we didn\'t feel unsafe at any time. the people,shacks and food were all very good no matter where we went unlike some of the places we have been in.But our favourite was the silver sands beach shack which is situated in Baga. the staff are absolutely brilliant nothing is to much trouble. all in all a very relax holiday.Because the holiday was made so enjoyable, relaxing,fun one ...
of the best, we were both gutted to have to come home.

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
4 stars

1/5


GeeDubya visited here on November 2006
There\'s not much to tempt you up to Arpora except All Spice restaurant and a few basic shops.

The riverside on the way to Baga Beach had some nice eating places but Baga itself we thought a bit too hectic.

Arpora is a good base for nicer, quieter beaches further up the coast - Vagator, Mandrem, Ashvem, etc..
Review Rating

Eating Out
1 stars
Nightlife
2 stars
Beaches
1 stars

4/5


graham & heather visited here on November 2006
The grounds in the hotel are swept and watered daily , the pools are cleaned at least once every day which is a very thorough operation.
There is entertainment just about every night and although we are very rarely in the hotel in the evening time is varied and sounded good.
The nearest beach is Baga Beach which is about a 30 minute walk away and it is excellent with plenty of beach shacks with very good food.
Review Rating

Eating Out
5 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
5 stars

3/5


Chris & Claire visited here on November 2006
Arpora is a nice quiet place with nothing to do but pass through as you come and go from the hotel.... it\'s a small quiet place, that\'s all I\'ll say.

Baga beach was fine and albeit busy, it\'s ok for those who want serving everything you can desire without moving off your deck chair.
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
1 stars
Beaches
4 stars

3/5


Nigel(Foxy) visited here on September 2006
Arpora is a good base from which to explore Northern Goa, you are close to Anjuna (for the market) and also the quieter northern beaches.

The Village itself is really just a \"local Village\" and not very touristy - which is great as you get to see some of the real Goa. I

t is a but scruffy in places - but that's part of the charm I guess. there are several bars, 3 or 4 restaurants and a goo's shop called bits n bobs - useful for buying snacks, cards and Ice creams if you are out for a stroll.

The nearest beach is Baga(7 Min's by taxi or a VERY long walk) - which can get busy! - but ...
keep walking away from Baga headland and its soon gets quieter, we were impressed with most of the beach shacks in Baga they all offer free sunbeds (with Towels) and every inexpensive drinks and food.

Lots of beach sellers but a firm no thanks sees of any of the unwanted ones - but everything's so cheap - its rude not to buy!!

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
2 stars
Beaches
4 stars

3/5


Jennie & Keith visited here on March 2006
The resort is busy, plenty of shops in Baga, many good resturants such as,All spice and Apple Pie.

The beach is fairly busy, many traders showing their wares, a polite no thank you is usually enough if your not interested, Mackies Saturday night market is not far, some interesting things to buy.

Then theres Ingos market also Saturday night, much more to see and buy, lots of hippies and music. Gato loco restaurant and the jazz house in Candolim are a must for good food.
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
3 stars
Beaches
4 stars

4/5


Heather Morgan visited here on March 2006
There\'s nothing in Arpora, all the action and the nearest beach was around BAGA, great food, nightime entertainment and friendly staff. You can walk all the way along the beaches, through calangute right down to the end, where there is an old Russian shipwrecked liner near the shore! Beach shacks playing music and serving food. Some places had fire throwers and tightrope walkers, most places had free firework displays after their BBQ night. Eating a whole Tuna on the beach with rice and veg for a couple of pound is brilliant. We travelled all over the place on that moped, we explaored all the beaches, I recommend Vagator beach for the least hassle from the beach sellers and good waves ...
(the sea is not blue and the current is very strong, beware). Oh by the way, if you do take a Moped, say you have \"borrowed\" it from a friend and wear a crash helmet on the Highway as we got fined a coup,eof times by the police. On our middle week, we took an internal flight for 200 to Delhi then travelled by train to Agra for the Taj Mahal and to Rajestan (it\'s not necessary to go to Rajestan, not alot there really but we had time to kill). Over all a brilliant and VERY cheap holiday. The monsoon starts in May, so you can\'t go there then really but we had excellent sunshine all the time, it gets dark early though!!.

Read More
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
4 stars
Beaches
3 stars

3/5


mr and mrs B visited here on March 2006
Baga/ Arpora is just nicely situated in my opinion. Lovely and peaceful at the hotel, but with enough hustle and bustle going on to make it interesting. We loved Baga beach with all the shacks and beach sellers but would not be everyones cup of tea as very hectic and can be too much some days.The sea is quite rough to swim in, strong currents are a hazard, but lots of large rock pools to swim and paddle in.The beach is lovely and clean , comes to life even more at night. All the shacks have lamps lit and the atmosphere is great.There is something for everyone here, come enjoy.
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
2 stars
Beaches
4 stars

2/5


Bev & Nigel visited here on January 2006
Resort very clean and not as littered as other Goa resorts, limited restauants and entertainment but within taxi travel distance of Baga, Canlangute and Candolim. Nearest beach is 3kms away. I wouldn\'t vist the resort again because of its away from the beach,
Review Rating

Eating Out
4 stars
Nightlife
2 stars
Beaches
1 stars

3/5


Joan & Ken visited here on February 2005
Apora is not really a holiday resort it is just a local village. Good choice of restaurants in village centre and couple of good local bars but for more lively nightlife and wider range of restuarants you would need to visit Baga, Calangute or Candolim which are only a few minutes in a taxi.

Apora doesn\'t have a beach so have rated the beach at Baga which is the nearest beach to Apora
Review Rating

Eating Out
3 stars
Nightlife
2 stars
Beaches
4 stars
Quick hotel find:
4/5
Lagoa Azul Resort Hotel  stars Lagoa Azul Resort Hotel
Address: Little Baga,Arpora, Bardez, Goa 403518, India

Latest Review: Feb 2012

Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Arpora

3/5
Marinha Dourada Resort Hotel  stars Marinha Dourada Resort Hotel
Address: 200 Tambudki Road, Arpora Baga, Goa, 403518, India

Latest Review: Mar 2011

Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Arpora

5/5
Riviera Hermitage Hotel  stars Riviera Hermitage Hotel
With beautiful lakeside and mountain views the new Riviera Hermitage is in a great location. The modern complex has beautifully decorated spacious rooms with mosaic style bathrooms, you can sample the on-site international cuisine.

Latest Review: Feb 2011

Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Arpora

2/5
Sea View Cottages Apartments  stars Sea View Cottages Apartments
Located next to Baga Beach the location of Seaview Cottages is one to savour. Boasting lovely views, the beach located just 50 metres from the hotel. A wide variety of restaurants, lively bars are right on your doorstep.

Latest Review: Dec 2007

Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Arpora

4/5
Sun Village Hotel  stars Sun Village Hotel
Address: Baga Arpora, Goa 403518, India

Latest Review: Nov 2007

Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Arpora
Share