23 independent reviews of the Colonia Santa Maria
Address: Cobravaddo, Calangute
Colonia Santa Maria
Colonia Santa Maria Location
Ranked #4 of 12 hotels in Baga


4/5
Colonia Santa Maria Colonia Santa Maria is rated 4.04 out of 5 from 23 Reviews
91% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (23 reviews)

Cleanliness 5 stars
Entertainment 3 stars
Food 3 stars
Service 4 stars
Location 5 stars

Colonia Santa Maria Reviews

4/5
4
"We have no hesitation in recommending this hotel"
ashley visited the Colonia Santa Maria, Baga in December 2010
Stayed at CSM from 3 Dec until 18 Dec. On B&B basis.

The first room we were offered was outside the main gates. We said it wasn't suitable and was offered another inside. This was much much better.
The apartment was clean and tidy. The room boys did a good job keeping it that way. Nothing seemed to much trouble for them.

Breakfast was excellent. A wide and varied choice daily. We had 2 evening meals in the hotel restaurant during our stay. Again the menu was varied, pretty much catering to all tastes and the food really couldn't be faulted.

All the staff were friendly and helpful. Except one.

Sometimes having no entertainment is better than bad entertainment. It was very poor.

My partner and I would have no hesitation in recommending Colonia Santa Maria. We will certainly return.


Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

Lynnette Cowburn visited the Colonia Santa Maria in February 2009
Just returned from another holiday in Goa, This time we actually managed to book the CSM - What a fantastic hotel. I cannot fault anything here....clean sheets and towels every day, really reasonable mini bar rates as well as in the main bar, Breakfast was excellent I recommend the freshly made Fried eggs or omelettes made by the excellent and friendly chef Jack. All staff were polite, courteous and nothing was ant trouble. We had our 3 year old son and the location was great, morning by the pool and a short walk to the beach for his afternoon playtime and siesta.
Thanks to Peter and his team, especially John, Anita and Guru on reception, Concy and the waiters

Tour Operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
5 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Ian & Esme had a holiday at Colonia Santa Maria, Baga in February 2009
2nd time in Goa flight ok plenty of leg room, had read all the reports on the hotel and it sounded just what we all wanted, almost on the beach and secure.

We know what to expect in Goa so we were very disappointed when we were allocated our rooms, we were given 2 double rooms in block 6 which is outside the complex (they have security guards at each of the access points)but our rooms were near the taxi rank.

Our room was just one room with a bathroom all of which looked dirty, the balcony was about 2 foot wide covered in bird droppings and no furniture, not that you would have been able to get any on.

There were massive gaps under the doors, the safe deposit box was loose, the a/c was so loud as was the fridge and ...
there was some very dubious stains on the bed covers, the bathroom sink only had a cold water tapand the toilet flush was a dirty bit of string.

we arrived early morning so we spoke to our rep that eavening and said we wanted a move only to be informed there was nothing until the next day.

next day they said the only rooms which were available were 2 with sea views but we would have to pay extra, we even asked to move Hotels but decided to have a look at the sea view rooms, On walking to the rooms the girl off reception said I don\'t know why you want to move all the rooms are the same!!

The new rooms were great, nice and clean,different again even had a flat screen TV on wall at bottom of bed.

Now the crunch, it would cost each couple about

Read More

Tour Operator: Thompson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Noel stayed at Colonia Santa Maria, Baga in December 2008
Stayed in CSM in Dec on our second trip to Goa, the hotel was fantastic, no complaints whatsoever. Room (86) was clean and spacious, towels and bedding changed every day and nothing was too much trouble to the room boys. Anything we asked for;extra pillows, chair, was provided instantly.The only problem we had was the lock on our door jammed one night and we couldnt get into our room.When we notified reception, someone was there immediately, changed the lock and we were in our room in less than 10 mins.
All the staff from Reception, cleaning, restaurant and security were extremely friendly and helpful.
The food in the restaurant was good and varied.
The most appealing feature of CSM is its location, few mins walk from the beach and in the centre of everything. Taxis were always available at the entrance, though we ...
always used Harry who parks at the top of CSM road. A very friendly and honest young man who took us wherever we wanted to go. Would recommend him to anyone.
All in all we had a fantastic trip to Goa and will return in the near future

Read More

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

bobthebus visited the Colonia Santa Maria, Baga, India in February 2007
We have stayed at the CSM 3 times and would not hesitate to do so again !!

The rooms were cleaned every day and clean bedding every day, the room cleaning boys were very efficient and friendly. There was always hot water for showering etc, unlike some countries!! There was the occasional power cut but the CSM have their own generator, which cuts in after about 3 minutes, if the proper power has not returned.

There are electronic safes in the rooms (new addition), which is free of charge as is the A/C.

The food has improved quite a lot at breakfast time, it now includes eggs done one way or another with some sort of accompaniment. There is also toast, cereal, fruit, orange and lemon juice, and of course tea & coffee. There has been some bad press about the way food ...
is kept warm. well it is done by putting the food in containers and keeping it warm over a spirit heater, some thing that is done all over India, and indeed in a lot of Indian restaurants in the UK. NOTHING WRONG WITH THAT !!

New this year is internet access.

We found the management to be helpful (although we didn\'t ask for much) and very pleasant.

As we never stay at the hotel in the evening, because we like to eat in as many different restaurants there are in the Baga and Calangute area, I can\'t pass comment on the food served in the evening. I would say however, if it has not improved since last year 2006, then there will be room for improvement. The same goes for the entertainment, we didn\'t stay in to see it.

Read More

Tour Operator: monarch

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Stewbacca had a holiday at Colonia Santa Maria, Baga, India in December 2006
Returned to the CSM, as it is the best hotel we have stayed in on our Goa visits. Hotel location is the biggest plus, A very short walk to the beach.

Staff really friendly as with all hotels, Room service - cleanliness second to none, clean sheets & towels every day (extra towels when requested). the two room boys who looked after our rooms were the same as we had in April & once again really looked after us.

The security guards were also very pleasant & made us feel very safe. My only gripes were the entertainment was not great & the food seems to have taken a nosedive in respect of choice & also quality.

There is a new owner & on the gala night at Christmas there seemed to be very little thought/organisation as we were told we ...
did not have to book a table & on arrival found all the best tables seemed to be taken by people who were staying elsewhere.

This was not the best idea they had as there were people there who were on there first visit & up until that point were quite satisfied with the hotel in general. Just hope the new owner sorts it out & remembers that the customer should always come first.

I will still stay there again as the positives out weight the negatives.

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

2/5
2

maxine law stayed at Colonia Santa Maria Hotel, Baga in December 2006
The food was cold and recyled. Left for hours on small gas light to keep warm.

The hotel was generally clean.

The location is great few min walk from the beach.

Most of the staff was new as the hotel had been brought by someone from dehli and had brought the staff with him.

The staff that had been with the hotel for years were very helpfull and understanding.

First choice stated entertainment 4 times a week.The only entertainment we saw in 2 weeks were a guy on a organ once and christmas night had good entertainment

I would never visit this hotel again,or advise any one to do so.

Tour Operator: First Choice
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Kerry had a holiday at Colonia Santa Maria Hotel, Baga in December 2006
We arrived at the hotel in the early hours of the morning. The staff were there to meet and greet us and could not do enough to help us.

The rooms were spotless and very comfortable. They had a fridge(stocked daily with water, pop and beer - prices are extremely cheap), a shower room, air conditioning and a tv (not that you\'d have time to what it!)

A traditional Goan breakfast is eggs, which is why they always lay on different egg dishes for breakfast. they also had fresh juice, cereal, toast, fruit tea and coffee which was more than enough. We ate lunch and dinner at the hotel a few times and always found the food to be fantastic. I did hear a few people moaning about the food, but I think they thought they were in England still and ...
wanted steak and chips! (which you could get if you paid a little extra)
However, you should definitley try to sample some of the many restaurants around the hotel.

The evening entertainment was OK - a couple of singers per week.

The hotel is literally 2 minutes walk to the beach - which is beautiful. If you\'ve never been before, don;t be alarmed by the Goan locals selling on the beach if you are polite and say no thank you they do leave you alone. You should definitely try some of the fruit that they sell though.

We flew with first choice and paid for the premium seats. I have to say it wasn\'t really worth it. The premium seating was full up and the reast of the plane was half empty! You can upgrade your in-flight entertainment for

Read More

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

michael&lesley visited the Colonia Santa Maria, Baga, India in November 2006
Hotel had been taken over by people from Delhi and the atmosphere changed even whilst we were there.

The food was on more than one occassion cold and with very little choice and one night a lot of the guests revolted and demanded fresh hot food with more choice. Many repeat guests we met at the hotel said that the standards and attitude of the staff had deteriorated as only a handful of the original staff were still there. By the end of our 3rd week we were the only people in the place one night with the longer serving staff shaking their heads at the way the hotel was being run by the new owners. Such a shame as the hotel is in an excellent position but even that would not entice us to go back again because of the arrogance of the new owners.

Tour Operator: somak
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Stewbacca visited the Colonia Santa Maria Hotel, Baga, India in April 2006
The CSM is probably the best Hotel we have stayed in on our visits to Goa, We found the Food was brilliant, excellent variety of choice both for meat eaters & vegeterians. The Breakfasts were excellent too.

The Housekeeping was to a very high standard & the laundry service was first class.

Room boys were also first rate, extra pillows & towels if asked for.

Only downside was the entertainment!

Tour Operator: Thomas cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Joanne stayed at Colonia Santa Maria in March 2006
Anyone worrying about staying at this hotel - DON\'T!
It\'s in a fantastic location, I would say the best in Calangute and Baga area. Gardens are kept lovely.

Rooms have good air con, cleaned everyday.

Only ate in the hotel once, so I can\'t really pass judgement on that.

The hotel is like a holiday village with cottages on either side leading down to the beach.

We ate at Bosco\'s beach shack which was great, all the lads that work there were lovely.

The pool is small but kept very clean, people don\'t really tend to stay round the pool as you don\'t get the breeze as you do on the beach.

We will be returning next year and definitely staying at the CSM!!

Hope you enjoy at much as we did!!

Tour Operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Richard & Sharon + 2 had a holiday at Colonia Santa Maria in December 2005
Basic but clean , whatch out for the lads who do minnie bar they ripped me off 4 times (

Tour Operator: Frist choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Peter visited the Colonia Santa Maria, Baga, India in November 2005
This was our second stay at CSM in 6 months and it was just as good as the first time.

The staff are very helpfull the hotel is kept very clean. Edward the reasturant manager goes out of his way to make you feel at home and gives you lots of good advice about the best places to make your purchases and not be over charged to much.

We will definitely stay there again next year.

Tour Operator: Somak

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

thomas roberts visited the Colonia Santa Maria in November 2005
The hotel is brilliant stayed here 4 times the only thing that let it down this time was the buffet meals all the time and it was 95% indian food.

Hotel spotless location nearly on the beach staff spot on sibby made us some great toast we would stay again only bed and breakfast.

Tour Operator: somak

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Paul Davis had a holiday at Colonia Santa Maria Hotel, Baga in April 2005
When we arrived I found the room to be very basic and needing a few cosmetic changes. In fact it was a bit of a culture shock but after a few days you learn to get use to it.

The room had no air conditioning, just a fan. There was a TV shelf with aerial but no TV, still I didn\'t go on holiday to watch TV! I also did not like the fact the room was locked by a padlock. The room was cleaned each day and kept very clean. All the staff are very friendly from the top down.

Food: Breakfast is continental style; you pay extra for cooked breakfast. Dinner was paid for by a daily voucher, which you receive when you arrive - its value is RS250 and pays for the buffet, or you can choose ...
from a set menu. Drinks are extra.

Entertainment was limited but we arrived just out of season so this might explain why.

Hotel is next to the beach with all the beach shacks easily accessible.

In conclusion, although not perfect the pros far more outweigh the cons.

Read More

Tour Operator: Hayes and Jarvis

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Peter Palmer stayed at Colonia Santa Maria, Baga in April 2005
The hotel suite was basic but comfortable with a lounge bedroom and shower room. The rooms were cleaned every morning and the bed sheets changed, the public areas were cleaned on a continuous basis.

The food was very good with a reasonable menu.

The location was brilliant only 2 minutes from the beach and security guards at frequent locations around the hotel ground to insure safety.

The staff were all extremely helpful and pleasant.

We had no entertainment while we were there.

We will definitely be going there again.


Tour Operator: Somak

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Lloyd Foster stayed at Colonia Santa Maria Hotel in December 2004
Stayed at the CSM for xmas and new year and our only regret was having to come home! Fantastic location,staff are wonderful and we had a great two weeks.

Tour Operator: Somak

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

ward had a holiday at Colonia Santa Maria Hotel, Baga in February 2004
friendly and very helpful staff
have been using Colonia Santa Maria for last seven years and find the service just seems to improve with time
Food is great and always a great choice available
staff recognise repeat visitors and always provide a great welcome
security is excellent
beach access makes this a popular location
Each time we visit we introduce new friends to the hotel and they love it

Tour Operator: somak

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Chris had a holiday at Colonia Santa Maria in January 2004
I have stayed at this hotel twice and we are due to stay again in January 2006.

The hotel has a good standard of cleanliness and is better than you would think for a two star hotel.

The food is very good and you do not have to have the buffet meals if you do not want to.

The hotel is in a superb location right next to the beach and the number of shacks there are plentiful.

The staff at the CSM are excellent, especially the girls on reception and Nick behind the bar.

The only downfall is the entertainment which is not really geared up to western standards, however there is plenty nearby if you want that type of thing.

This is a very popular hotel and if you get the chance to book it do so as it will offer an ideal introduction to Goa.

Tour Operator: Hayes and Jarvis

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

5/5
5

margaret @ laura visited the Colonia Santa Maria in December 2003
We stayed for 4 weeks when it should of been 2 weeks as I had a bad ear. The people at this hotel are so caring and looked after us.

The rooms are basic like all in Goa and the rooms are kept clean by the boys, they will do anything for you. There is a fridge and we had a tele with Uk programmes.

The restaurant was so good with the different food you could have, and chef would always do the best he could if you wanted anything different from the menu. The lads that waited on were ace!!!

Nothing was 2 much trouble for anyone.

The hotel is right on the beach you fall out of the hotel straight on the beach! There is also security looking out for you.

There

Tour Operator: hates and jarvis

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
5 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars
Share