Image of Alor Grande Hotel

Alor Grande Hotel

37 of 39 hotels in Candolim

3 out of 5 from 20 reviews
3 stars
Near Health Centre, Candolim, Goa, 403515, India
Alor Grande Holiday Resort is situated just 500 meters away from the beautiful Candolim beach of Goa with its silvery sands.

20 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    5
  • Good
    6
  • Average
    6
  • Poor
    3

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Mrs A Lumbis
7 years 5 months ago
My husband and i have just returned from Goa , which we have fallen in love with since our first visit november last year . The hotel was as we expected , very basic , which suited us fine , the problem was the continuous noise throughout the night ! The entertainment finishes at a reasonable time , but the staff only have one volume , loud ! The rooms have no sound proofing whatsoever and it is like the staff are in your room.Drunken guests steadily stream in all through the night , loudly , the security seems to ignore this ! We were woken at quarter past five one morning by the cleaners cleaning a neighbouring room , noisily !So if you want to have any sleep on your holiday , do not stay at alor Grande ! you have been warned.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Sweth
7 years 9 months ago
I had been to Alore Grande in september'08, After going thru some of the review, i was bit worried, however made up my mind to vist the hotel.
Well my worries proved to be wrong,

1)Room were clean and it was cleaned everyday.
2)Find food on par with other hotels.
3)location is good, clean and calm
4)Find hotel staff very co-operative, and they were ready to offer help

If i happen to visit goa again...for sure i will consider to stay in this hotel
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
TAMIL RAJAN
8 years 1 month ago
We literally had a bad experience with this Hotel during our stay in May'08. Hygienically, it was not good and the staff attitude was pathetic. The staff were very unfriendly and do not even respond. It took over an hour for some one even to give a bath soap and drinking water..... Wont recommend to anyone
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Vivien Baptiste
8 years 2 months ago
I posted a listing for here in March 2007 - saying I wouldn't go back - I did as there were just the two of us.

The room was better than last time but still poor. Stairways were dirty and more than twice saw plates with half eaten food left out for more than 24 hrs. The bar staff etc are great - reception doesn't seem
to understand anything and I was amazed their English was so poor compared to bar staff etc. or were they just pretending?

we met two couples on the beach who had stayed there last year separately - and both had money and items taken on the last day.

By this time we thought we had a magical bedroom - my specs disappeared to return 3 days later on pillow
case - and my husband's mobile disappeared and reappeared within 24 hrs - in a different place - we at that time thought we had forgotten where it was put. However on the last night i noticed that my passport holder in drawer had been opened - as a luggage ticket kept in it was on the floor.

In the morning the phone had gone again - as we were
leaving we couldn't report it to the police and the management were not interested. Aalso and bizarre - my friends had done a birthday thing for me - including a pair of pink fairy wings - these also disappeared on the last day.

Been going to Goa for years never had anything stolen
couldn't find a rep at airport.

Pool is still nice - but I wouldn't ever go back to this hotel. Shame as it could be so nice - it needs a good shake. They seem to be going towards the Indian market
which is no problem except semi-naked men in underpants on the stair ways. Interesting
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Phil
8 years 5 months ago
Very clean hotel, rooms cleaned daily and towels changed. Friendly and helpful staff.

Breakfast ok with enough choice.

Hotel location is good although we found hiring a scooter a real bonus to travel around Goa, all Goans were friendly and helpful.

Entertainment at the hotel was not the best but we would certainly stay there again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Rachel And Claire
8 years 5 months ago
we stayed in this hotel january 2008 its basic, clean, friendly helpfull staff. our room was better than expected, room overlooked the pool, two weeks airconditioning at no extra charge, entertainment was great, we ate in the hotel on 'steak night' one week was fantastic the next week was not as good. from the people we spoke to it seems its pot luck which room you get, some are great some not as good. i would go there again the location is fantastic. the hotel taylor is excellent and very reasonable prices. this was our first time in Goa and we were very impressed if you want 5 star luxuary you have to pay for it, dont book budgit and then expect five star!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
SNV
8 years 7 months ago
Hi All,
I strongly suggest everyone not to stay in Alor grande, Candolim in goa.
We had taken a package to stay there for 2 nights, and the package had included pick up and drop to the airport/station, wine, bed coffee etc etc.
Please do not take this package as you will not get any of the above mentioned unless and until u probe in and ask for, thts too at the cost of their convience and not your convience. The pick up and drop to the station is fixed irrespective of your train/bus /flight timings, which made us waste 4 hrs .
There was no wine bottle kept in the room. Room is barely clean, not worth of the money we paid for.
After asking them for 5-6 times, we got the wine bottle.
The manager is so rude, and he spoke to us as though he is doing us a favour by giving us a drop to the station.
The receptionist mis-guided us saying that there are no buses to the candolim after 7pm, but there are buses till 8:30 PM from panaji.
His intention was to get a taxi for us from panaji.
People are not at all friendly in the hotel.
Most important of all is this hotel is not for family or couples . Its like a market wen u enter this place.
Overall, I strongly suggest not to waste your money on this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Laura
8 years 7 months ago
Arrived at hotel with much aprehension after reading other reports, but got shown straight to our room (347) which over looked the pool. The room was clean and there was everything you needed other than a bottle opener. The pool area is ok, it needs a real good clean and the
sun beds are very uncomfortable, but who goes to india to sit around the hotel pool??? There were alot of indians in the hotel, due to it being Dwali. The hotel staff were really friendly and couldnt do enough for you, unfortunatley the management were not so friendly. The breakfast was eggs done any way you requested and toast. The ceiling fans in the hotel were adequate as they wanted
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Lesley
8 years 7 months ago
we've just returned from 2 weeks at the Alor Grande, Candolim and we loved it. Our room was overlooking the pool it was clean with air con and fan at no extra charge. it was cleaned daily and towels changed daily, bed sheets every other day.The room had a kitchen area with housed the wardrobe and fridge. didnt think the hotel food was any good but then there were too many other places to try. most of the staff were helpful and friendly especialy the waiters and cleaners. the swimming pool area wasnt great needed more sunbeds and the steps into the pool were a bit dangerous but then again we spent most of our time on the beach. all in all a good place to base yourself
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Vivien Baptiste
9 years 3 months ago
After booking realised this was the old notorious Dom Francisco - but went with open mind!

Good points: swimming pool has separate child's section and was clean with life guard and towels.

Food: don't normally eat in hotels but as had 4 year old with us sometimes easier - had a couple of meals. Goan food excellent - Indian good - steak night surprisingly excellent. Breakfast normal Goan stuff but self service so no long wait.

Staff in general very friendly.

Bad points: Only pool and downstairs refurbished - general
stairways and rooms in dire need of maintenance and redecoration - a lot of people complaining - when we did complain we were offered other rooms - as the rooms were in a good spot we asked for the problems to be sorted -which they were eventually. Hotel for some reason attracts some very drunk people of all nationalities which caused problems - also accommodates conference accommodation which really doesn't mix with holiday makers in swim wear!
A real shame as this could be a top hotel.

The rooms are really big. It was very hot when we were there but only needed to use fan - although had a/c option.
Also encountered more mozzies than usual.

Would not use again unless rooms refurbished.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: