20 independent reviews of the Alor Grande Hotel
Address: Near Health Centre, Candolim, Goa, 403515, India
Alor Grande Hotel
Alor Grande Hotel Location
Ranked #37 of 40 hotels in Candolim


3/5
Alor Grande Hotel Alor Grande Hotel is rated 2.65 out of 5 from 20 Reviews
45% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (20 reviews)

Cleanliness 2 stars
Entertainment 2 stars
Food 2 stars
Service 3 stars
Location 4 stars

Alor Grande Hotel Reviews

2/5
2

Mrs A Lumbis visited the Alor Grande Hotel, Candolim in January 2009
My husband and i have just returned from Goa , which we have fallen in love with since our first visit november last year . The hotel was as we expected , very basic , which suited us fine , the problem was the continuous noise throughout the night ! The entertainment finishes at a reasonable time , but the staff only have one volume , loud ! The rooms have no sound proofing whatsoever and it is like the staff are in your room.Drunken guests steadily stream in all through the night , loudly , the security seems to ignore this ! We were woken at quarter past five one morning by the cleaners cleaning a neighbouring room , noisily !So if you want to have any sleep on your holiday , do not stay at alor Grande ! you have been warned.

Tour Operator: Thompson
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Sweth had a holiday at Alor Grande Hotel in September 2008
I had been to Alore Grande in september\'08, After going thru some of the review, i was bit worried, however made up my mind to vist the hotel.
Well my worries proved to be wrong,

1)Room were clean and it was cleaned everyday.
2)Find food on par with other hotels.
3)location is good, clean and calm
4)Find hotel staff very co-operative, and they were ready to offer help

If i happen to visit goa again...for sure i will consider to stay in this hotel

Tour Operator: Country wide

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

2/5
2

TAMIL RAJAN had a holiday at Alor Grande Hotel, Candolim, India in May 2008
We literally had a bad experience with this Hotel during our stay in May\'08. Hygienically, it was not good and the staff attitude was pathetic. The staff were very unfriendly and do not even respond. It took over an hour for some one even to give a bath soap and drinking water..... Wont recommend to anyone

Tour Operator: Travelguru
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
2 stars

2/5
2

Vivien Baptiste visited the Alor Grande Hotel in April 2008
I posted a listing for here in March 2007 - saying I wouldn't go back - I did as there were just the two of us.

The room was better than last time but still poor. Stairways were dirty and more than twice saw plates with half eaten food left out for more than 24 hrs. The bar staff etc are great - reception doesn't seem
to understand anything and I was amazed their English was so poor compared to bar staff etc. or were they just pretending?

we met two couples on the beach who had stayed there last year separately - and both had money and items taken on the last day.

By this time we thought we had a magical bedroom - my specs disappeared to return 3 days later on pillow
case - and my husband's mobile disappeared ...
and reappeared within 24 hrs - in a different place - we at that time thought we had forgotten where it was put. However on the last night i noticed that my passport holder in drawer had been opened - as a luggage ticket kept in it was on the floor.

In the morning the phone had gone again - as we were
leaving we couldn't report it to the police and the management were not interested. Aalso and bizarre - my friends had done a birthday thing for me - including a pair of pink fairy wings - these also disappeared on the last day.

Been going to Goa for years never had anything stolen
couldn't find a rep at airport.

Pool is still nice - but I wouldn't ever go back to this hotel. Shame as it could be so nice - it needs a good shake. They seem to be going towards the Indian market
which is no problem except semi-naked men in underpants on the stair ways. Interesting

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomas Cook
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

Phil visited the Alor Grande Hotel, Candolim, India in January 2008
Very clean hotel, rooms cleaned daily and towels changed. Friendly and helpful staff.

Breakfast ok with enough choice.

Hotel location is good although we found hiring a scooter a real bonus to travel around Goa, all Goans were friendly and helpful.

Entertainment at the hotel was not the best but we would certainly stay there again.

Tour Operator: Thomson

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

rachel and claire had a holiday at Alor Grande Hotel, Candolim, India in January 2008
we stayed in this hotel january 2008 its basic, clean, friendly helpfull staff. our room was better than expected, room overlooked the pool, two weeks airconditioning at no extra charge, entertainment was great, we ate in the hotel on \'steak night\' one week was fantastic the next week was not as good. from the people we spoke to it seems its pot luck which room you get, some are great some not as good. i would go there again the location is fantastic. the hotel taylor is excellent and very reasonable prices. this was our first time in Goa and we were very impressed if you want 5 star luxuary you have to pay for it, dont book budgit and then expect five star!

Tour Operator: direct holidays

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

1/5
1

SNV visited the Alor Grande Hotel in November 2007
Hi All,
I strongly suggest everyone not to stay in Alor grande, Candolim in goa.
We had taken a package to stay there for 2 nights, and the package had included pick up and drop to the airport/station, wine, bed coffee etc etc.
Please do not take this package as you will not get any of the above mentioned unless and until u probe in and ask for, thts too at the cost of their convience and not your convience. The pick up and drop to the station is fixed irrespective of your train/bus /flight timings, which made us waste 4 hrs .
There was no wine bottle kept in the room. Room is barely clean, not worth of the money we paid for.
After asking them for 5-6 times, we got the wine bottle.
The manager is so rude, and he spoke to ...
us as though he is doing us a favour by giving us a drop to the station.
The receptionist mis-guided us saying that there are no buses to the candolim after 7pm, but there are buses till 8:30 PM from panaji.
His intention was to get a taxi for us from panaji.
People are not at all friendly in the hotel.
Most important of all is this hotel is not for family or couples . Its like a market wen u enter this place.
Overall, I strongly suggest not to waste your money on this hotel.

Read More

Tour Operator: Own
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
2 stars

2/5
2

laura stayed at Alor Grande Hotel in November 2007
Arrived at hotel with much aprehension after reading other reports, but got shown straight to our room (347) which over looked the pool. The room was clean and there was everything you needed other than a bottle opener. The pool area is ok, it needs a real good clean and the
sun beds are very uncomfortable, but who goes to india to sit around the hotel pool??? There were alot of indians in the hotel, due to it being Dwali. The hotel staff were really friendly and couldnt do enough for you, unfortunatley the management were not so friendly. The breakfast was eggs done any way you requested and toast. The ceiling fans in the hotel were adequate as they wanted

Tour Operator: thomas cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
2 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

lesley stayed at Alor Grande Hotel, Candolim, India in November 2007
we\'ve just returned from 2 weeks at the Alor Grande, Candolim and we loved it. Our room was overlooking the pool it was clean with air con and fan at no extra charge. it was cleaned daily and towels changed daily, bed sheets every other day.The room had a kitchen area with housed the wardrobe and fridge. didnt think the hotel food was any good but then there were too many other places to try. most of the staff were helpful and friendly especialy the waiters and cleaners. the swimming pool area wasnt great needed more sunbeds and the steps into the pool were a bit dangerous but then again we spent most of our time on the beach. all in all a good place to base yourself

Tour Operator: sunset

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

Vivien Baptiste visited the Alor Grande Hotel, Candolim in March 2007
After booking realised this was the old notorious Dom Francisco - but went with open mind!

Good points: swimming pool has separate child's section and was clean with life guard and towels.

Food: don\'t normally eat in hotels but as had 4 year old with us sometimes easier - had a couple of meals. Goan food excellent - Indian good - steak night surprisingly excellent. Breakfast normal Goan stuff but self service so no long wait.

Staff in general very friendly.

Bad points: Only pool and downstairs refurbished - general
stairways and rooms in dire need of maintenance and redecoration - a lot of people complaining - when we did complain we were offered other rooms - as the rooms were in a good spot we asked for the problems to be sorted -which they were eventually. Hotel for some reason attracts some ...
very drunk people of all nationalities which caused problems - also accommodates conference accommodation which really doesn\'t mix with holiday makers in swim wear!
A real shame as this could be a top hotel.

The rooms are really big. It was very hot when we were there but only needed to use fan - although had a/c option.
Also encountered more mozzies than usual.

Would not use again unless rooms refurbished.

Read More

Tour Operator: sunset(Thomas cook)
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

1/5
1

Linda and tom stayed at Alor Grande Hotel in March 2007
Arrived at the Alor Grande in Candolim at 9 30, shown to our room, took one look and went down to the desk and said this room was not any good, because there was cardboard instead of glass in the window, and newspaper covering the glass above the door. The room itself was not very clean. They took us to another room which was a little better, only just though, when we opened the wardrobe door which was in he kitchen it was crawling with all sorts of bugs. Qe have been to Goa before so we knew it was basic but this hotel was less than basic, I would rate it only a half star.

We did not stop at the Alore Grande we found our self somewhere else to stay and went on to have a great holiday, would not ever tell anyone to stay there

Tour Operator: Thomas cook
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
1 stars

1/5
1

jenny miller stayed at Alor Grande Hotel, Candolim, India in March 2007
Alore Grande, Candolim, filthy stairwells and stairways leading to dirty rooms and bathrooms, not fit for inclusion in any decent company\'s brochure. Only booked as it said it was being re-furbished in 06, it was like being in a slum tenement block what a dump!

Tour Operator: sunset/thomascook
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
1 stars

4/5
4

Sian had a holiday at Alor Grande Hotel, Candolim in February 2007
The hotel is in an excellent location in the centre of Candolim which is why I choose it having visited Candolim previously. It is supposed to have been refurbished for this season (was previously the Dom Fransisco). Whilst the pool area and reception etc have been, the same cannot be said of the room we had. It was OK - typical basic Goa 2 star really, but in need of a little TLC. I had read some bad reports on another forum and was expecting the worst so although had the usual ancient wardrobe and no drawer space at all, was actually quite pleasantly surprised as was expecting the pits. We had a fridge, ceiling fan and air conditioning which was a big plus. This is the first hotel in Goa that I ...
have stayed in where the toilet has been separate from the shower which was welcome! The shower was excellent.

Our room was cleaned every day except one day to a good standard and generally the pool area was well kept. But I did hear more than one person complaining at reception that their rooms had not been cleaned despite leaving the sign on the door. One couples room was not cleaned for 6 days out of 14.

The staff were very friendly and my only (small) criticism is that it sometimes took ages to get the bill. We did not eat at the hotel other than breakfast which was the usual toast, jam, boiled eggs etc. I have rated the hotel food as 3 as the restaurant was always fairly busy each evening and everyone I spoke to seemed happy enough with food they had.

Every night there was some entertainment - usually an Indian band singing English songs, not my cup of tea but was quite amusing at times!

Overall I would stay here again as although the room wasn\'t great we were in there such a small amount of time it made no odds to us, the location more than made up anything else.

Read More

Tour Operator: Cosmos

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

2/5
2

Joanne stayed at Alor Grande Hotel, Candolim, India in February 2007
Arrived at Alor Grande 8.00am Friday morning. Check in isn\'t until 12.00 Pool and breakfast area very nice they have 2 life guards that do a really good job.

Shown our room just after 12 we were expecting basic but it was terrible apart from being dark dingy and dirty it was next to 2 large generators, the noise was horrific.

After showing the rep who agreed the room was unacceptable we were put in another room no better, but without the generator noise, just for the night. 4pm Saturday afternoon we were allocated basic but acceptable rooms.

Tour Operator: Thomas Cook
Review Rating

Cleanliness
2 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

Klaire and Paul visited the Alor Grande Hotel in December 2006
Basic hotel located centrally in Candolim with good access to beach, shops and restaurants.

Good pool area, clean and usually enough sunbeds, although we rarely used them with such good beaches to explore along the coast.

Rooms are basic, but cleaned every day as long as you hand your key in, with clean towels and clean sheets daily. We did change rooms twice before we settled in, the first room was dingy and the second unfinished, not all of the refurbishment work was finished, but the staff were friendly and helpful and there was no problem when we asked to be moved. So if you\'re not happy with a room just say.

Breakfast is the usual toast and jam with eggs or cereal, tea and coffee. We didn\'t eat at the hotel in the evenings as there are so many nice places to ...
eat close by and in Calangute/Baga.

Overall the hotel was fine for us we just use it as a base to explore and would return again for the price we paid.

Read More

Tour Operator: Manos

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

simon teague had a holiday at Alor Grande Hotel in December 2006
The Alor Grande was a comfortable hotel, we did have problems with our first room as we had a broken window in the bathroom. The taps turned round in the basin and the shower flooded the bathroom, so we asked for another room and this was no problem. Our new room overlooked the new pool area and was clean and tidy, we had a ceiling fan, air con (at extra charge) but we didn\'t need it, satalite tv. The room was cleaned every day with new sheets and towels, all the rooms could do with upgrading but are ok for 2 star in Goa

The pool, restaurant and lobby are all new and good, the staff are all helpful.

We were told the rooms are to be upgraded in the coming year but there is no work going on at the moment.

Tour Operator: thomascook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

Candybabe visited the Alor Grande Hotel, Candolim, India in December 2006
The was our second time at this hotel, first stayed there in 2005 when it was Dom Francisco. Returned because we heard it was being updated. Very disappointed - our room, at the back, was dingy with broken windows and the only view was the room block opposite. We never got a decent nights sleep as awoken either by druken revellers returning up to 5 am or with noisy neighbours. I would not return to the hotel again. There are other budget hotels in the area that are far better.

Tour Operator: Direct/MyTravel
Review Rating

Cleanliness
2 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

dave and nicky stayed at Alor Grande Hotel, Candolim in November 2006
The hotel foyer is quite welcoming spotless and modern.the check in was quick,the bell boys on the cases like a flash, we were on the 3rd floor so well worth the pound tip!!

When got to the room which was large but very basic the beds were hard but ok the bathroom was a wet room basic but clean, infact the whole place throught the 2 weeks was cleaned every day towel and sheets done daily if wanted
breakfast was eggs in varying forms and toast with jam.

The tandoori nights are very good the rest of the menu is ok the service is somewhat slow, so dont try to rush anywhere after dinner.

The waiters tend to try to hang on to the change so you may have to ask for it entertaiment very mediocre give it a miss.

Tour Operator: thomas cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

Candybabe stayed at Alor Grande Hotel, Candolim, India in January 2006
Stayed there last year (when Dom Fransisco) and was hoping for same or better following refurbishment.

Cannot comment on breakfast - only bothered once - it was OK but nothing special if you liked eggs.

Entertainment seemed poor but only experienced it as we walked through to get to our room.

Our room was well away from the pool and very very basic. TV did not work, neither did the fridge but this was changed when we complained. Mattress on bed very thin and hard and the pillows were like rocks. No bedside lights so reading in bed was difficult when the other half wanted to sleep. Bathroom and toilet windows broken, doors of both would not shut properly. We did have a kitchen which consisted of sink, fridge and wardrobe!

Very noisy as the hotel has a ...
lot of people from other states staying, plus drunken guests a few 18-30 brigade and we did not get one night\'s unbroken sleep with so many people returning in after a nights drinking up to 5.30 am.

I have tried this hotel twice now but never again.

Read More

Tour Operator: Directt Holidays
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
3 stars

2/5
2

J & J stayed at Alor Grande Hotel, Candolim, India in January 2006
We stayed at the Alor Grande for 2 weeks from just before the new year, this was our 1st time in Goa but friends of ours had been to the resort before & warned that accomodation can be basic .Unfortunately the room we got was made basic seem like luxury , the room was dark & dingy & the beds like concrete slabs & the pillows were even harder!! Above all the biggest problem there was the noise at night , drunken guests coming back at 5 in the morning, if someone slams a door on gound floor everyone in a 100yd radius heres it i\'m no prude & i\'m certainly not back in bed early but it was horrendous , the only descent nights sleep we got was when we stayed overnight on the jungle trip ( highly recommended ...
)& the hotel reception didn\'t want to know. The breakfast is edible but basic if you like eggs you\'ll love it if you don\'t you\'ve got a problem because thats your lot. The pool area isn\'t too great but hey you don\'t go to Goa to stay by the pool . the only good points are that the staff are polite ( but not to useful) & its located in a good spot in Candolim, we are \'our glass is half full kind of people\' but this hotel is awful . I wouldn\'t recommend this place as a prison never mind a hotel , its a real pity as the resort itself nice. All the best J & J

Read More

Tour Operator: first choice
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
5 stars
Share