Image of Ave Maria Guest House

Ave Maria Guest House

36 of 39 hotels in Candolim

3 out of 5 from 20 reviews
1 star

20 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    5
  • Good
    6
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    4

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Jacquelyn Scott
8 years ago
I have just returned from goa and after 10 lovely years spent there at xmas, this year was the pits. The Ave Maria should be avoided at all costs whilst there the rep warned us not to eat there and then the next day he had the kitchen closed down because of the filth. The lady that runs the ave maria is not one bit interested in giving her guests at least an enjoyable time the bar was not even open on Xmas eve or any other time for that matter. I am surprised that a large well known company like Jewel in the Crown has assosiated itself with such a run down dump. It was more like a home for the aged only it was run by then also. Disgracful is all I can say.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
O'dell
8 years ago
Stayed at the Ava maria 2, There were several problems with the pool, and this only got sorted when the rep intervened. We seemed to have more power cuts than anyone else. The main lady who was supposed to be in charge, did nothing but hassle for money. At one time I caught her eating crisps and spitting out the contents in the breakfast area, Table cloths were never changed, until I complained. The two room boys seem to be the only two that did any work, we cannot fault them in any way, they cleaned rooms well and changed linen and towels everyday. Kitchin was condemned whilst there which says it all. The pool was open to outsiders but there were no facilities for them, i.e. toliet or changing area. We were there for xmas, no decorations, or bar open. very dissapointing.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Kate
8 years 8 months ago
After a long 10 hour flight and a one hour drive from the airport we were dumped outside the ave maria 1. First impressions was that it looked more like a hostel then guest house!

In a room upstairs somebody was vomiting very loudly, the place looked run down and tatty. We were took to our room which was basic we didnt expect anything much any way but it was dirty and the doors didnt fit the door frame, we had to carry a padlock with us if we wanted to go out it was horrible.

After 10 minutes in there we left to stay else were. Ok it was a 1* hotel but it should be at least clean and safe I wouldn't recommend this place
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
8 years 9 months ago
After reading some negative reports about the Ave maria I wasn't sure what to expect but we absolutely loved it. I stayed in Ave Maria 2 with my 10 year old daughter and we couldn't fault the place. The hotel is up a small lane behing Candolim beach road. Lovely location very close to everything but far enough away to be quiet at night. It was so laid back and friendly. All 12 rooms overlook the pool and we had a lovely big room with large balcony. The rooms though basic were perfectly adequate and kept spotlessly clean. We didn't have AC but found the 2 fans were enough. The pool was lovely, clean and very quiet. Breakfast the usual toast, tea/coffee and juice though the toast was pretty decent by Goan standards. The boys who run the place were all very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. My only criticism would be that the bar and restaurant are at Ave Maria 1 so everytime we ordered drinks one of them had to jump on his scooter and go and fetch them. Other than that no problems at all. Would definiteley return and found it excellent value for money.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Lorraine & Jay
9 years 9 months ago
We stayed at the Ave Maria 2 which was very basic but then so is everywhere in goa! the room was small but we had no intentions of staying in the room all day so it didnt matter, room was clean and was cleaned regular! the staff there were so friendly they couldnt do enought to help you! This guest house is on two levels and all rooms have a balcony/terrace over looking the pool!

The pool was great and not many places have pools so this is a real treat if you like to cool of after a day on the beach or walking round!

I had a look round a few guest houses whilst there ready for my visit next year and i have to admit the Ave Maria 2 was the one i'd go back to!

The location of this place was near the beach and near the bars and resturants but tucked nicely down a quiet road(well more like a dirt track).

The Ave Maria 1 is in desperate need of 'doing up' but the Ave Maria 2 although a fairly new build it has been redecorated and each room has a fan on the celling and when the room is dark, stars and moons shine from the celling! This is a great place but go with an open mind!!!

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Irene Critchley
9 years 9 months ago
stayed in ave maria2 had grate time there, rooms where
cleaned every day all the staff were realy nice.
my son and his girlfriend stayed in a big hotel in
candolim and had to complian to get their room cleaned. liked ave maria that much going back this
november 08
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Selena+craig
10 years 8 months ago
Stayed at Avia Maria last April. Having visited Goa many times for 13yrs now found the accomodation just right.

Clean comfortable and chilling, what more do you need in Goa!

Staff cool and very helpful. Yeah would visit again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Roy
10 years 9 months ago
Awful wouldn't be paid to stay here again.

The rooms have bed bugs BEWARE !!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Michael And Carol Rogers
10 years 11 months ago
We stayed at the Ave Maria 2 for 1 month the standards obviously are not comparable to Britain and the med however by Goan standards although basic its kept clean it is well located, has a useful pool and the staff typical of Goa are genuinly friendly and helpful.

Entertainment was not supplied which suits us though there are plenty of restaurants nearby some offering entertainment.

All in all good value.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Alan And Janet
10 years 11 months ago
We have stayed at Ave Maria hotel several times,we love the place.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: