38 independent reviews of the Highland Beach Resort
Address: Candolim, North Goa
Highland Beach Resort
Highland Beach Resort Location
Ranked #31 of 40 hotels in Candolim


3/5
Highland Beach Resort Highland Beach Resort is rated 3.13 out of 5 from 38 Reviews
68% of users recommend this property
Review Overview (38 reviews)

Cleanliness 3 stars
Entertainment 2 stars
Food 3 stars
Service 3 stars
Location 4 stars

Highland Beach Resort Reviews

5/5
5
"Will definitely go again"
Brenda Walker visited the Highland Beach Resort Hotel, Candolim, India in December 2012
We had a lovely room or rooms - 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, kitchen and living room, 2 balconies. It was lovely to have so much space. The second bedroom only had a double bed, dressing table and bedside table, no wardrobe which would have been awkward if any more than 2 people were staying there as the wardrobe in the first bedroom was only big enough for 2 people, the usual Goa size wardrobe.

Our room overlooked the pool but we were on the top floor and had 60 steps to our room so wouldn't have suited some people. There was no problem with luggage though as the boys took it up there and brought it down again when we left. Breakfast was eaten around the pool, eggs anyway you liked them with toast and ...
jam/marmalade. It was nice that the jam and marmalade were homemade and not the bright red variety. The hotel was in a great position for restaurants and the staff were all lovely.

Reception was very efficient. It was good that safety deposit boxes were provided free in a secure area as this saved a considerable amount of money on a 3 week holiday.

The only thing we were disappointed with was the spa. We went for a manicure and pedicure and they didn't even have any nail polish remover and attempted to proceed to file my old nail polish off with a nail file much to my horror. It took them an hour just to file my toe nails and clean my feet. We promptly left after the nail polish removal attempt and definitely wouldn't go back. The girls on the beach do a much better job. There is a band on 2/3 times a week in the restaurant area.

Read More

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

jackie, had a holiday at Highland Beach Resort, Candolim in February 2010
We stayed in a clean and big 2 bedroomed room.
could not complain about anything.
very peaceful area.
food good.
very friendly staff
good positon for beach and local restaurants.

Tour Operator: thomas cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Julie stayed at Highland Beach Resort in December 2009
We spent 2 weeks B&B and have no complaints, the rooms were spotless although dated, the staff were all very good to us and really friendly, the food we had was ok, the breakfast is basic eggs anyway you like and bread, butter ,toast,jam orange or pineapple juice,tea and coffee, cornflakes and potato bajis etc were available at a small charge, but most people just got along with what there was there.
The pools were constantly cleaned and the pool service was good, all in all I would give 9 out of 10 overall, we will return to this hotel again, most people who have been to india or africa before would be quite happy with this hotel I would expect, all rooms have TV, Fridge freezer and aircon.
Entertainment was ok, but most people go out, so it is a ...
waste really, but makes a nice atmosphere in the evenings.
Just to add, we went to a dentist just at the bottom of the road next to the bending bamboo pub, 5 star treatment, Dr Sharmila Mascarenhas she is Goan and has practised there for over 7 years, she is open 12 months of the year and works alone, ensuring you always have her for your treatment, all customers appeared to be repeat, so that speaks for itself.
Also don\'t take too many clothes and no high heels, you will never use them, but above all ENJOY !!!

Read More

Tour Operator: first choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

bev had a holiday at Highland Beach Resort, Candolim in April 2009
hotel is very nice,and kept really clean,rooms have two bedrooms and two bathrooms,maid cleaned them every day.food was really nice highland salad was nice and pancakes which the kids enjoyed.staff were friendly and were really helpfull ,we went to breakfast in the mornings with our on cereal which we brought from the super market up the road ,they did not mind,as it was just toast and eggs every day,but was nice.

Tour Operator: thomas cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
3 stars

2/5
2

daniel lane stayed at Highland Beach Resort, Candolim in February 2009
booked on bed & breakfast basis via first choice hollidays. Stayed for 14 days in standard accomadation.
Rooms were dated looking the fittings becoming worn and ready for replacement. I would only give the rooms a 1 star rating definatly not a 3 star. The pools seven in total all needed a good clean you could see sediment on pool floors and grease marks from suntan oil around water line. food for breakfast was eggs or toast any way you wanted by far the worst breakfast I\'ve had to endure on any holliday, I complained to rep from first choice but she was thought it was good for indian standards, Ive stayed in india several time it\'s not most hotel provide excellent food here. The staff were all very good and realy friendly, the hotel poor standards and management and quality ...
control let them down a good refurbishment of room and management would turn this around.

Read More

Tour Operator: first choice / thompson
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
2 stars

2/5
2

Emma visited the Highland Beach Resort Hotel, Candolim in February 2009
Although our room was larger than expected with 2 bathrooms, 2 bedrooms, 2 balconies, a kitchen and a lounge; it was very shabby, dated & basic. On closer inspection the room itself was reasonably clean but the towels & sheets were stained & old including the fresh ones we requested during the week. The showers or should I say shower heads were situated in the middle of the bathroom resulting in the toilet, the toilet roll, any towels on the towel rail & anything else within the bathroom being soaked through. Luckily because we did have 2 bathrooms we we able to use 1 as a shower room & 1 for everything else. Breakfast was appalling. Call us naive but we weren\'t expecting toast & eggs, we ate it out of necessity. Disappointingly fresh fruit was not an option unless ...
we bought it ourselves from Newton\'s a shop down the road. We did occasionally eat at the hotel restaurant but the quality of food was poor & we wouldn\'t recommend it. There was also a number of feral flea ridden cats & dogs openly begging around the poolside & drinking from the bowels of water & showers (meant for cleaning feet before entering the swimming pools). The bar staff & the guys that cleaned our room were all very friendly & helpful as was our rep; but there were some that were not so pleasant including the guys manning the safe deposit box room & some of the maintenance workers. There was a signing in & out book for the safety deposit room & we pointed out to our rep that you had to put down your room number & your box number which we didn\'t think was a very \'secure\' idea. Our rep did question this with the staff & they were fine with him & explained it away but they not very pleasant to us on subsequent days & often stood over us to make sure we did write in the book. The swimming pools weren\'t very clean but we did use the best one, located opposite/behind the main spa entrance, which we later found out mainly served the privately owned apartments within the complex, hence why it was probably the cleanest. The location was reasonable; it was only a 5-10 minute walk to the beach and a 5 minute walk to the main shopping streets. At night we did catch some of the entertainment from our balcony. It wasn\'t something we would normally choose to listen to but it was entertaining nevertheless; there was a young band doing covers of anything from Chris Rea to Boyzone, an older band doing pretty much the same, and a country & western band. We weren\'t expecting luxury but the holiday brochure was very deceptive & we were disappointed, this feeling wasn\'t helped by the fact that we were taken through a fabulous hotel the Cidade de Goa during one of the day trips we went on. If you want a basic, budget holiday & are rarely in your hotel then this is fine. If you want a quite relaxing holiday the Cidade de Goa is where we would recommend.

Read More

Tour Operator: Thomas Cook
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
2 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

Rita McNicholas-Gumm visited the Highland Beach Resort, Candolim in February 2009
This was the 3rd year we have stayed at the Highland Beach Resort. We hsve always found it most agreeable. The staff are friendly and try hard to please. We were lucky to be given an apartment with 2 bedrooms, 2 shower rooms and 2 balconies the last time we were there. It was great. You get used to the hard beds, but the breakfasts do get boring. There are a lot of shops/stalls in the street leading to the Resort. All the owners greet holidaymakers with such warmth, year after year. It is a must to visit Tiffanys, the jewellers, opposite the hotel. Hafeez (Baba) has an excellent shop, is very knowledgeable and friendly. He is helpful and will make unique pieces on request.

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
5 stars

2/5
2

sharon visited the Highland Beach Resort Hotel, Candolim, India in January 2009
Awfull, dirty, smelly building site are the words that spring to mind.
Disgusting and dirty rooms, filthy towels when you had any!
Same bed sheets for 2 weeks
compaints ignored
never cleaned
insects left on stairs and on floors in the room
no lights in the eve so can\'t walk back safely

DUMP AN ABSOLUTE DUMP NEVER TO RETURN BE WARNED!!!!!


Tour Operator: first choice
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
3 stars

3/5
3

chris pallett had a holiday at Highland Beach Resort, Candolim in January 2009
we have been going to goa for the past ten years and have stayed at the highland beach for the past seven years.Although basic it has been clean and we have had two bedrooms and two bedrooms and a large sitting area which has been very good.The staff are friendly and we have made very good friends who treat us as family inviting us to their own homes insisting on cooking for us and providing great food.We have had no complaints at the hotel and are booked again for next year.It all depends what you are looking for if its luxury dont go to goa but if its for relaxing great food weather and making life long friends then its the holiday for you.You can get things you need from sues shop which is just outside the hotel and her ...
and her family have become our great friends always keeping in touch with us when we are back home another great friend is Hafeez who is situated opposite sue atTiffanys jewellers where you can get really good jewellery at great prices People ask us why we keep going back but we would miss not seeing our great friends and the wonderful weather and food

Read More

Tour Operator: first choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

bill visited the Highland Beach Resort, Candolim, India in December 2008
Stayed in this hotel on recomendation. the rooms was tidy and clean but the beds are rock hard. i resorted to taking the cushions off the setees and putting them along the length of the bed and sleeping on them.

The room boys even made the bed up with these under the bed sheet (top lads)the breakfast was eggs any way you wanted them or for a supplement bacon /beans etc could be purchased we didnt have any evening meals in the hotel but had snacks in the afternoon by the pool waiter service was good always polite.

The hotel is situated down a side road (150 mts)just off the main road (where all the restaurants are)and about a 10 min walk to the beach we didnt stay in for a full evenings entertainment but from what we saw it ...
was pretty dire they sounded like a bad kareoke turn,

The hotel had a rep virtually on site all the time and was really good she always said good morn and made a point of seeing if all was ok the staff were all really good till the day of departure when there was a mix up with the payment of some compo regaurding delays we were allowed 500 rp to spend on a meal and because the fax hadnt got through the hotel manager wanted us to all wait till it was sorted (even if it meant missing flights) he was very abusive and demeaning to the rep which was out of order all other staff scored 5 he got 1

Read More

Tour Operator: thomas cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
2 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

shirleyv stayed at Highland Beach Resort Hotel, Candolim, India in December 2008
we stayed here over Xmas and we really enjoyed this hotel, all the staff from check in to check out were very friendly and helpful.

You are only a couple of mins walk from Candolim Beach Road so the olocation is great, there is a shop on the corner just by the the hotel, run by Sue, a great little emporium for bits n bobs, cheap ciggies and she takes in laundry very cheaply.

The rooms at the highland Beach are very well equipped ours had 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms , 2 balconies !!

I found the breakfast to be slightly better than come other Goan hotels we visited, just the usual eggs, toast , coffee , but all very good.

We didn\'t stay in the hotel much as we go out every evening , but I noticed quite a few people were having ...
meals by the pool area and they had live sitar music, looked very nice too.

Will definitely stay here again I am sure.

Read More

Tour Operator: first choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Mrs Vickers visited the Highland Beach Resort in November 2008
We stayed at this hotel for the first time in December 08 for 2 weeks. Staff,even security, very helpful and friendly. Rooms very big, we had 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and 3 balconies! The rooms were cleaned and beds and towels changed daily and if you asked the roomboys for extra towels with a 100 rupee tip then you got these everyday. we didn\'t eat at the restaurant of the hotel, but did have room service twice and the food was absolutely gorgeous and so cheap. To prove how good this hotel is we have just booked to return this December but for 3 weeks.

Tour Operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
4 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

3/5
3

papa stayed at Highland Beach Resort in March 2008
Our second time to the Highland Beach and it is much the same as last time.For Goa this is a reasonable 3 star.Breakfast as stated is eggs eggs eggs but we rarely bothered preferring to get down to the beach.

Our room was at the back of the hotel and was adequate and very peaceful.

One thing that is good about this hotel is they have no problem about you bringing your own things into the hotel for example drinks for the fridge which every room has.Having been to Egypt and suffered searches coming back into the hotel the Indians attitude to free enterprise is quite refreshing.

This is a good central location in Candolim and although we hired a scooter to get around there is no need.

We would go back.Just lower your expectations a bit this is Goa.

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
4 stars

1/5
1

Steve & Angela+Howard & Tracy had a holiday at Highland Beach Resort, Candolim in March 2008
We stayed at this hotel for two weeks in march this year. We travelled First Choice holidays and arrived at 09:30 indian time after a long flight from Manchester. With the time differance and jet legg we all needed some sleep, However when we got to the rooms we had a bit of a shock.

The rooms looked nothing like the ones we thought we had booked. Damp and uncleaned, Dirty bed cloths and to say the bed was hard was an understatment. We when spoke to the manager he was very rude and told us "That is all First Choice pay us for and that is all you are getting".

We rang the rep and asked him to sort it out. He told us that the hotel was full so we would have to stay put for a few days. ...
We asked to be moved to a new hotel but got the reply that yes he could move us but wanted

Read More

Tour Operator: First choice
Review Rating

Cleanliness
1 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
1 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
3 stars

4/5
4

Dave and Liz had a holiday at Highland Beach Resort, Candolim in March 2008
Having travelled to Goa since 1998, we have found this hotel to be, by far, the best for a mid-range hotel. Location was excellent, with a brand new supermarket just around the corner and a short walk to the beach. Good money exchange (the Elephant Shop) opposite the supermarket. We had a great room, which was always kept very clean, overlooking the side road, and the balcony allowed great people watching (far better than a boring pool view)! Staff were the most obliging we have come across and nothing was too much trouble, even down to someone hanging a tyre to a palm tree to stop it banging against the wall of the hotel ensuring you were not disturbed. The hotel is expanding and from what we have seen, it\'s looking great. We did ...
not eat in the hotel during our stay, but heard some very good reports, which is why we have given this score. We found the evening entertainment excellent. Have you ever heard a Goan trying to sing Roxanne, by the Police!! They try so hard to get it right! Reading some of these reviews, it is clear that some people need to accept Goa for what it is, if not, they should go back to Spain, Goan accommodation will never match European standards. You cannot critisize the passion of the Goans and their need to make sure you have a great time. We are going back again this Christmas and New Year (and probably March). Unfortunately, we were not able to get into the Highland Beach, which was our first choice.

Read More

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
4 stars
Food
3 stars
Service
5 stars
Location
5 stars

4/5
4

Jo Jones visited the Highland Beach Resort, Candolim in February 2008
We stayed in an apartment on the hotel grounds. Two double rooms, two bathrooms, cleaned every day.Fresh towels every other day, sheets/pillowcases changed once the whole 2 weeks we were there. We did have a bit of an issue with a pile of rubbish being left on a stairwell for at least a week and someone had left their dirty crocks on a stairwell windowsill - that was just plain laziness on the guests part!
There were 4 pools and we witnessed them and the surrounding areas being thoroughly cleaned every day.
The breakfast were not just \"eggs eggs eggs\"; there was a selection of Indian breakfasts, coffee, juice, toast and omelettes made while you waited to your specifications. We also had a three of meals at the hotel - two were superb but one, a Valentine\'s Special was poor - ...
well, the vegetarian option was!
We went off the resort most evenings, but on the occasion that we didn\'t we were entertained by an Asian C & W band - not up to UK standards but it was better than just staring into space!
The staff were lovely - we always got a smile and a \"hello\" - even from the secuiryy guards at night!

Read More

Tour Operator: Independant

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Food
4 stars
Service
4 stars
Location
4 stars

4/5
4

Alan & Lesley Lythe had a holiday at Highland Beach Resort in January 2008
It was our first visit to Highland Beach but our third visit to Candolim.

It was our friends first visit to Goa.

We were very happy with our room which was in the main block on the fourth floor. We had two very big double bedrooms with two bathrooms. The room was cleaned every day, the towels and sheets every second day, which in our opinion is very good (no-one changes their sheets so often at home!!)

Our friends wernt quite so happy as they were at the back of the complex and their room did seem a little big dark and dismal, but they settled with it and soon adapted.
The breakfast was fine at the begining but there is only so many eggs you can eat in three weeks. At the later end of the holiday we did start venturing out ...
for breakfast.

The staff were very polite and helpfull at all times.

The main pool is lovely to look at,but is in the shade all day so no swimming or sunbathing for us. We did have choice of three other pools so that was fine.

We didnt stay in the hotel at night, but do know they did have entertainment most nights but it did finish around 10pm as thats the new law in Candolim.

We would definatly stay at the Highland Beach again and would recommend it.

Read More

Tour Operator: First Choice

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
5 stars
Entertainment
3 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
5 stars

3/5
3

sue and jeff westerman visited the Highland Beach Resort Hotel, Candolim, India in December 2007
We found this hotel very poor in most catagories.

The food was mainly cold and there was always ants on the table in resturant.

The hotel is in quite a good location, not far from resturants and beach.

I didn't find the hotel staff very friendly at all never wanted to speak to you exept the odd few.

I can't comment on the entertainment as we never stayed in the hotel in the evening.

The beds where so hard we had trouble sleeping and the room boy wasnt very helpful.

We were booked into the highland beach for 2 weeks but after one week we went to a different hotel where we had stayed previous year.

Tour Operator: thomas cook
Review Rating

Cleanliness
2 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
4 stars

2/5
2

Grant Duncan visited the Highland Beach Resort, Candolim in December 2007
we stayed over christmas and new year and although very basic i would definately recommend it staff were great, never ate there apart from breakfastwhich was egg or eggs and was ok .

Tour Operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended: Yes
Review Rating

Cleanliness
3 stars
Service
3 stars
Location
1 stars

2/5
2

Deb David stayed at Highland Beach Resort Hotel in February 2007
This hotel was meant to be a higher star which included a/c and tv as basic. The tv reception is very bad and our a/c extremley noisy. The basic layout of rooms are ok but do vary so if you are not satisfied insist to change.

The hotel food is the usual you would expect from any hotel in Goa.

Location is fine, off the main road/centre of Candolim.

The hotel had no daytime actvities not even any music being played. Evening entertainment was sparadic and awful not worth staying in for at all.

The staff were unfriendly, unhelpful, our group had a few problems which were not sorted out although we tried on numerous occasions to do so, we were just being lied to and fobbed off.

Towels are not changed regulary just folded up to be re-used. Same for the sheets. When ...
we rang for new towels took a day.

The menu states the prices for all food and drink, plus on top a service charge which you are charged EVEN if you get your own drinks from the bar and on many occasions were charged more than listed prices.

I have been coming to Candolim for years and enjoy it immensely but staying at this hotel has totally spoiled nearly all of our 23 strong parties holiday and would not stay at Highland Beach resort if you paid us! This totally my personal opinion

Read More

Tour Operator: First Choice
Review Rating

Cleanliness
2 stars
Entertainment
1 stars
Food
2 stars
Service
1 stars
Location
3 stars
Share