Image of Highland Beach Resort

Highland Beach Resort

31 of 39 hotels in Candolim

3 out of 5 from 38 reviews
3 stars
Candolim, North Goa
This attractive and charming resort hotel offers everything you could need for your Goan holiday. The palm shaded sun terrace and welcoming swimming pool is a great place to relax or alternatively the golden sands of Candolim Beach are just a short walk away.

38 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    14
  • Good
    11
  • Average
    9
  • Poor
    2

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Brenda Walker
Will definitely go again
3 years 9 months ago
We had a lovely room or rooms - 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, kitchen and living room, 2 balconies. It was lovely to have so much space. The second bedroom only had a double bed, dressing table and bedside table, no wardrobe which would have been awkward if any more than 2 people were staying there as the wardrobe in the first bedroom was only big enough for 2 people, the usual Goa size wardrobe.

Our room overlooked the pool but we were on the top floor and had 60 steps to our room so wouldn't have suited some people. There was no problem with luggage though as the boys took it up there and brought it down again when we left. Breakfast was eaten around the pool, eggs anyway you liked them with toast and jam/marmalade. It was nice that the jam and marmalade were homemade and not the bright red variety. The hotel was in a great position for restaurants and the staff were all lovely.

Reception was very efficient. It was good that safety deposit boxes were provided free in a secure area as this saved a considerable amount of money on a 3 week holiday.

The only thing we were disappointed with was the spa. We went for a manicure and pedicure and they didn't even have any nail polish remover and attempted to proceed to file my old nail polish off with a nail file much to my horror. It took them an hour just to file my toe nails and clean my feet. We promptly left after the nail polish removal attempt and definitely wouldn't go back. The girls on the beach do a much better job. There is a band on 2/3 times a week in the restaurant area.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Jackie,
6 years 7 months ago
We stayed in a clean and big 2 bedroomed room.
could not complain about anything.
very peaceful area.
food good.
very friendly staff
good positon for beach and local restaurants.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
6 years 9 months ago
We spent 2 weeks B&B and have no complaints, the rooms were spotless although dated, the staff were all very good to us and really friendly, the food we had was ok, the breakfast is basic eggs anyway you like and bread, butter ,toast,jam orange or pineapple juice,tea and coffee, cornflakes and potato bajis etc were available at a small charge, but most people just got along with what there was there.
The pools were constantly cleaned and the pool service was good, all in all I would give 9 out of 10 overall, we will return to this hotel again, most people who have been to india or africa before would be quite happy with this hotel I would expect, all rooms have TV, Fridge freezer and aircon.
Entertainment was ok, but most people go out, so it is a waste really, but makes a nice atmosphere in the evenings.
Just to add, we went to a dentist just at the bottom of the road next to the bending bamboo pub, 5 star treatment, Dr Sharmila Mascarenhas she is Goan and has practised there for over 7 years, she is open 12 months of the year and works alone, ensuring you always have her for your treatment, all customers appeared to be repeat, so that speaks for itself.
Also don't take too many clothes and no high heels, you will never use them, but above all ENJOY !!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Bev
7 years 5 months ago
hotel is very nice,and kept really clean,rooms have two bedrooms and two bathrooms,maid cleaned them every day.food was really nice highland salad was nice and pancakes which the kids enjoyed.staff were friendly and were really helpfull ,we went to breakfast in the mornings with our on cereal which we brought from the super market up the road ,they did not mind,as it was just toast and eggs every day,but was nice.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Daniel Lane
7 years 7 months ago
booked on bed & breakfast basis via first choice hollidays. Stayed for 14 days in standard accomadation.
Rooms were dated looking the fittings becoming worn and ready for replacement. I would only give the rooms a 1 star rating definatly not a 3 star. The pools seven in total all needed a good clean you could see sediment on pool floors and grease marks from suntan oil around water line. food for breakfast was eggs or toast any way you wanted by far the worst breakfast I've had to endure on any holliday, I complained to rep from first choice but she was thought it was good for indian standards, Ive stayed in india several time it's not most hotel provide excellent food here. The staff were all very good and realy friendly, the hotel poor standards and management and quality control let them down a good refurbishment of room and management would turn this around.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Emma
7 years 7 months ago
Although our room was larger than expected with 2 bathrooms, 2 bedrooms, 2 balconies, a kitchen and a lounge; it was very shabby, dated & basic. On closer inspection the room itself was reasonably clean but the towels & sheets were stained & old including the fresh ones we requested during the week. The showers or should I say shower heads were situated in the middle of the bathroom resulting in the toilet, the toilet roll, any towels on the towel rail & anything else within the bathroom being soaked through. Luckily because we did have 2 bathrooms we we able to use 1 as a shower room & 1 for everything else. Breakfast was appalling. Call us naive but we weren't expecting toast & eggs, we ate it out of necessity. Disappointingly fresh fruit was not an option unless we bought it ourselves from Newton's a shop down the road. We did occasionally eat at the hotel restaurant but the quality of food was poor & we wouldn't recommend it. There was also a number of feral flea ridden cats & dogs openly begging around the poolside & drinking from the bowels of water & showers (meant for cleaning feet before entering the swimming pools). The bar staff & the guys that cleaned our room were all very friendly & helpful as was our rep; but there were some that were not so pleasant including the guys manning the safe deposit box room & some of the maintenance workers. There was a signing in & out book for the safety deposit room & we pointed out to our rep that you had to put down your room number & your box number which we didn't think was a very 'secure' idea. Our rep did question this with the staff & they were fine with him & explained it away but they not very pleasant to us on subsequent days & often stood over us to make sure we did write in the book. The swimming pools weren't very clean but we did use the best one, located opposite/behind the main spa entrance, which we later found out mainly served the privately owned apartments within the complex, hence why it was probably the cleanest. The location was reasonable; it was only a 5-10 minute walk to the beach and a 5 minute walk to the main shopping streets. At night we did catch some of the entertainment from our balcony. It wasn't something we would normally choose to listen to but it was entertaining nevertheless; there was a young band doing covers of anything from Chris Rea to Boyzone, an older band doing pretty much the same, and a country & western band. We weren't expecting luxury but the holiday brochure was very deceptive & we were disappointed, this feeling wasn't helped by the fact that we were taken through a fabulous hotel the Cidade de Goa during one of the day trips we went on. If you want a basic, budget holiday & are rarely in your hotel then this is fine. If you want a quite relaxing holiday the Cidade de Goa is where we would recommend.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
7 years 7 months ago
This was the 3rd year we have stayed at the Highland Beach Resort. We hsve always found it most agreeable. The staff are friendly and try hard to please. We were lucky to be given an apartment with 2 bedrooms, 2 shower rooms and 2 balconies the last time we were there. It was great. You get used to the hard beds, but the breakfasts do get boring. There are a lot of shops/stalls in the street leading to the Resort. All the owners greet holidaymakers with such warmth, year after year. It is a must to visit Tiffanys, the jewellers, opposite the hotel. Hafeez (Baba) has an excellent shop, is very knowledgeable and friendly. He is helpful and will make unique pieces on request.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
7 years 8 months ago
Awfull, dirty, smelly building site are the words that spring to mind.
Disgusting and dirty rooms, filthy towels when you had any!
Same bed sheets for 2 weeks
compaints ignored
never cleaned
insects left on stairs and on floors in the room
no lights in the eve so can't walk back safely

DUMP AN ABSOLUTE DUMP NEVER TO RETURN BE WARNED!!!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
7 years 8 months ago
we have been going to goa for the past ten years and have stayed at the highland beach for the past seven years.Although basic it has been clean and we have had two bedrooms and two bedrooms and a large sitting area which has been very good.The staff are friendly and we have made very good friends who treat us as family inviting us to their own homes insisting on cooking for us and providing great food.We have had no complaints at the hotel and are booked again for next year.It all depends what you are looking for if its luxury dont go to goa but if its for relaxing great food weather and making life long friends then its the holiday for you.You can get things you need from sues shop which is just outside the hotel and her and her family have become our great friends always keeping in touch with us when we are back home another great friend is Hafeez who is situated opposite sue atTiffanys jewellers where you can get really good jewellery at great prices People ask us why we keep going back but we would miss not seeing our great friends and the wonderful weather and food
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Bill
7 years 9 months ago
Stayed in this hotel on recomendation. the rooms was tidy and clean but the beds are rock hard. i resorted to taking the cushions off the setees and putting them along the length of the bed and sleeping on them.

The room boys even made the bed up with these under the bed sheet (top lads)the breakfast was eggs any way you wanted them or for a supplement bacon /beans etc could be purchased we didnt have any evening meals in the hotel but had snacks in the afternoon by the pool waiter service was good always polite.

The hotel is situated down a side road (150 mts)just off the main road (where all the restaurants are)and about a 10 min walk to the beach we didnt stay in for a full evenings entertainment but from what we saw it was pretty dire they sounded like a bad kareoke turn,

The hotel had a rep virtually on site all the time and was really good she always said good morn and made a point of seeing if all was ok the staff were all really good till the day of departure when there was a mix up with the payment of some compo regaurding delays we were allowed 500 rp to spend on a meal and because the fax hadnt got through the hotel manager wanted us to all wait till it was sorted (even if it meant missing flights) he was very abusive and demeaning to the rep which was out of order all other staff scored 5 he got 1
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below: